Kodak Ektachrome Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) User-Review

6

Paint the life with the most unreal colors :)

It is well-known that all those Tungsten films are adjusted to the tungsten color temperature (3200K) and should be e-6 processed. But in Lomography we couldn’t care less because of the passion to experiment and to get surprises from the most unexpected colors. And if so – this film was a very safe bet.

While in the dark clubs we are getting simply saturated colors, the daylight story is completely different. We are getting the craziest mixture of vivid colors with dominant cyan and yellow tints.

Try this film (even if it’s outdated by 3 years like mine) and don’t forget to gently balance the colors in case the scanner software wasn’t sophisticated enough to make it the right way.

written by breakphreak on 2010-03-12 in #reviews #unreal #lc-a #kodak-t64 #psychodelic

6 Comments

  1. fancholland2
    fancholland2 ·

    Great gallery! I just got some pics from the same film (expired as well) and got more purple/blue colours when xpro. I really love the grain of that film.

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    well, it's all about the right color balance. usually pink is with Fuji Tungsten, this is Kodak. but anyways, my rule is that if everything looks of the same color then it is not balanced properly. in a photo analogue lab there are correcting color filters, in photoshop (and every scanning software) we have the "color balance" tool - if you'll tweak it - you'll see the colors you won't believe :) don't use it aggressively, though - always retain the analogue film character.

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Very nice film and amazing gallery!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Fantastic shots !!! Very impressive !

  5. paramir
    paramir ·

    I love the outdoors images! amazing freaky colors...

  6. gnarlyleech
    gnarlyleech ·

    I just got some of this that expired in 1992. I can't wait to try it out

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Fresh from the Lab: Shooting an Expired Roll of Kodak Ektachrome EA ISO 50 with the Horizon Perfekt

    written by hervinsyah on 2014-09-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Shooting an Expired Roll of Kodak Ektachrome EA ISO 50 with the Horizon Perfekt

    The photos were underexposed maybe because the film I used was already expired. But I'll try again and again, and will never stop trying new film.

  • Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-13 in #news
    Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    Turn ordinary scenes into cinematic moments with the new Lomography Cine400 Tungsten Film. Made from authentic cine material that we specially treated for use with 35mm cameras, this Color Negative film will produce photos that look like stills from a movie.

    1
  • Shop News

    110 Experiment Kit

    110 Experiment Kit

    With this bundle, you can choose a camera, film and accessories to spice up your 110 shooting experience!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-04 in #gear #reviews
    Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    Raymond Wong of Mashable got his hands on the Lomo'Instant Camera. He experimented with Light Painting, Filtered Flash, and also dabbled with the lenses. Find out about the verdict after the jump!

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • The Daily Hex: Cerulean Blue

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-06 in #news
    The Daily Hex: Cerulean Blue

    Paint your lomographs with the color of the bluest sky with Cerulean Blue.

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini Flash Bundle

    Diana Mini Flash Bundle

    Ready to dive into the world of Lomography? This Bundle will provide you with all that you need: a Diana Mini, a Diana flash, a flash adaptor and you're ready good to go!

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Watch: Joseph Petzval's Life In Vienna

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-03 in #news
    Watch: Joseph Petzval's Life In Vienna

    If you loved the Petzval Lens, we have Joseph Petzval to thank for. The mathematician/inventor/physicist was born in Hungary, but spent most of his life in Vienna. As a tribute, we visited some of the most significant places in his life, armed with our cameras and the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens. Watch the video below!

  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8