Colorsplash Flash Review – The Smaller the Better

2

I like to carry things with me. Like a camera, flash, a small umbrella, bottle of water, spare film, sometimes a small tripod. When you carry many things, you begin to appreciate lighter and smaller things.. and that’s why I like Colorsplash!

When I bought my Diana Mini and got into Lomography, I decided to get a flash too. I bought Diana flash because it looked good, but I never liked it. It didn’t feel sturdy enough to be carried in my bag with all the other stuff. I felt it was too tall to be handy and it made a high pitched noise when it was on. I came across Colorsplash and immediately ordered it. I was afraid that it’s going to have same problems that the Diana flash had, but I was wrong.

The best thing is the size! It’s not tall like Diana flash and it seems to be much sturdier. It fits nicely to the Diana Mini and looks surprisingly good even though the design of these two apparatuses are from different centuries. I’ve seen photos where Colorsplash goes over cameras knobs and winders, but with Diana Mini this isn’t a problem.

Being powered by single double A battery, I think this flash is surprisingly powerful and fast to load again. With Diana Mini and ISO200 film inside, I can light thing up to 2 meters, which is usually more than enough for me… and the best thing there’s only a quiet high pitch noise in Colorsplash.

Another great thing is the Lomo fitted color filters inside the flash! I hate to have filters with me in my bag, because they are small and get lost easily. There are four slots where you can put four filters of your 10 filter selection. Turning the color filter compartment works great and it easy to use.

I usually find something bad in any product, but with this one it’s hard. It’s great small flash with innovative design. It suits perfectly to my Lomography gear and will stay there as long as it breathes.

Credits: jutei

written by jutei on 2013-07-23 in #reviews #lomography-flash-color-colour-colorsplash-coloursplash-diana-mini-f-f-small

2 Comments

  1. kelseyrj
    kelseyrj ·

    Hello! First off, I love these photos and this is a fantastic review! I just had one question for you however, I have a Diana Mini and am interested in purchasing the Colorsplash Flash but am wondering if I am lacking a necessary attachment that I need to make the flash work? (I never purchased the Diana flash, just the camera alone). If you could message me back and let me know it'd be greatly appreciated! This looks like an awesome little flash and the review sold me on it :)

  2. crowdizzle
    crowdizzle ·

    kelseyrj, in an above photo of the mini there is this accessory between the camera and flash. what ive come to realize is that anyone who has a diana (excluding the baby 110), needs this piece if they wish to use flash. i believe its called a diana flash adaptor. not sure if its available alone. hope this helps clearify things for you.

More Interesting Articles

  • The Gevabox of Wonders

    written by stratski on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    The Gevabox of Wonders

    Sometimes you see a camera and you just have to have it. I felt that way about this lovely little box camera. Looks don't mean a thing, I know, but in this case, the looks didn't deceive me.

    1
  • Lomography Day Trips: Bandung, Indonesia, Part 1 - Join Our Lomowalk!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-08 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Bandung, Indonesia, Part 1 - Join Our Lomowalk!

    Where do I begin? Believe me, I know many places in Bandung. From a cozy cafe to where the famous street food and maybe even drinks can be found, to places for lomowalks, it would be my pleasure to show you all around Bandung - the city I love and the city of love!

  • Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-12-10 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    The people of a city, to me, speak volumes about its culture and sense of community. And that is why I sought out the people who make Denver that much more interesting after the initial period of settling down. My search lead to a few establishments that have contributed to making Denver what it is today. In the second story on Transient Living, I present to you two of such establishments: The Craftsman & Apprentice, and A Small Print Shop.

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-05-19 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    Sometime between 6,000 and 10,000 years ago, a boy in northern Afghanistan was born with a gene mutation that hindered his eyes from producing melanin and thus from turning brown. He had blue eyes. If you see someone with blue eyes today, he is a descendant of this unlucky fellow. I am one of those weird folks and apart from feeling like a mutant and being Angelina Jolie’s secret sister, I am sensitive to light like an ISO 6,400 film.

    5
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Newcomer of the Week: treizedeath

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-02 in #world #library
    Newcomer of the Week: treizedeath

    Séverin Boonne considers photography as his most intimate way of expression. Aside from revealing things about himself, creating images with his trusty cameras helps calm his nerves and keeps him relaxed. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from France talks more about his humble beginnings, passion for shooting film, and more.

    2
  • Kino Stories: Dream of a Mermaid by anya-barkauskas

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #world #lifestyle
    Kino Stories: Dream of a Mermaid by anya-barkauskas

    Have you ever wondered what mermaids dream about?

  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #gear #news
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    Have a look at these bright and beautiful medium format photographs from the community shot with the Lomography Color Negative 400 for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own CN 400 (120) snaps be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Sertacy is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-02 in #world #news
    Sertacy is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to sertacy for winning Home of the Day!

  • Vintage Gallery: Aged Daguerreotypes

    written by kenaz on 2015-08-02 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Gallery: Aged Daguerreotypes

    Louis-Jacques-Mandé Daguerre's invention made possible photography that is literally and figuratively one of a kind. For every shot fired, the photographer can only do one print. And though the marred by stains, a daguerreotype has the long-lived charm of a museum relic.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Instant Back+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #people
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Instant Back+

    Bring your Diana F+ experience to instant photography territory with the Diana Instant Back+! Curious? Here's a selection of community-written reviews for you to peruse.