Colorsplash Flash Review – The Smaller the Better

2

I like to carry things with me. Like a camera, flash, a small umbrella, bottle of water, spare film, sometimes a small tripod. When you carry many things, you begin to appreciate lighter and smaller things.. and that’s why I like Colorsplash!

When I bought my Diana Mini and got into Lomography, I decided to get a flash too. I bought Diana flash because it looked good, but I never liked it. It didn’t feel sturdy enough to be carried in my bag with all the other stuff. I felt it was too tall to be handy and it made a high pitched noise when it was on. I came across Colorsplash and immediately ordered it. I was afraid that it’s going to have same problems that the Diana flash had, but I was wrong.

The best thing is the size! It’s not tall like Diana flash and it seems to be much sturdier. It fits nicely to the Diana Mini and looks surprisingly good even though the design of these two apparatuses are from different centuries. I’ve seen photos where Colorsplash goes over cameras knobs and winders, but with Diana Mini this isn’t a problem.

Being powered by single double A battery, I think this flash is surprisingly powerful and fast to load again. With Diana Mini and ISO200 film inside, I can light thing up to 2 meters, which is usually more than enough for me… and the best thing there’s only a quiet high pitch noise in Colorsplash.

Another great thing is the Lomo fitted color filters inside the flash! I hate to have filters with me in my bag, because they are small and get lost easily. There are four slots where you can put four filters of your 10 filter selection. Turning the color filter compartment works great and it easy to use.

I usually find something bad in any product, but with this one it’s hard. It’s great small flash with innovative design. It suits perfectly to my Lomography gear and will stay there as long as it breathes.

Credits: jutei

written by jutei on 2013-07-23 in #reviews #lomography-flash-color-colour-colorsplash-coloursplash-diana-mini-f-f-small

2 Comments

  1. kelseyrj
    kelseyrj ·

    Hello! First off, I love these photos and this is a fantastic review! I just had one question for you however, I have a Diana Mini and am interested in purchasing the Colorsplash Flash but am wondering if I am lacking a necessary attachment that I need to make the flash work? (I never purchased the Diana flash, just the camera alone). If you could message me back and let me know it'd be greatly appreciated! This looks like an awesome little flash and the review sold me on it :)

  2. crowdizzle
    crowdizzle ·

    kelseyrj, in an above photo of the mini there is this accessory between the camera and flash. what ive come to realize is that anyone who has a diana (excluding the baby 110), needs this piece if they wish to use flash. i believe its called a diana flash adaptor. not sure if its available alone. hope this helps clearify things for you.

More Interesting Articles

  • The Gevabox of Wonders

    written by stratski on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    The Gevabox of Wonders

    Sometimes you see a camera and you just have to have it. I felt that way about this lovely little box camera. Looks don't mean a thing, I know, but in this case, the looks didn't deceive me.

    1
  • Lomography Day Trips: Bandung, Indonesia, Part 1 - Join Our Lomowalk!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-08 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Bandung, Indonesia, Part 1 - Join Our Lomowalk!

    Where do I begin? Believe me, I know many places in Bandung. From a cozy cafe to where the famous street food and maybe even drinks can be found, to places for lomowalks, it would be my pleasure to show you all around Bandung - the city I love and the city of love!

  • Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-12-10 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    The people of a city, to me, speak volumes about its culture and sense of community. And that is why I sought out the people who make Denver that much more interesting after the initial period of settling down. My search lead to a few establishments that have contributed to making Denver what it is today. In the second story on Transient Living, I present to you two of such establishments: The Craftsman & Apprentice, and A Small Print Shop.

    2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-05-19 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    Sometime between 6,000 and 10,000 years ago, a boy in northern Afghanistan was born with a gene mutation that hindered his eyes from producing melanin and thus from turning brown. He had blue eyes. If you see someone with blue eyes today, he is a descendant of this unlucky fellow. I am one of those weird folks and apart from feeling like a mutant and being Angelina Jolie’s secret sister, I am sensitive to light like an ISO 6,400 film.

    5
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Q0_0p is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-28 in #world
    Q0_0p is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to q0_0p for winning Home of the Day!

  • Abstract Visions and Phantasmic Monochromes by Ian Llewelyn

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-08-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    Abstract Visions and Phantasmic Monochromes by Ian Llewelyn

    As a wildlife cameraman and photographer, Ian Llewelyn has worked on a number of television projects. The UK-based lensman breaks free from the strict confines of his profession by engaging in monochrome photography. His personal work is a plethora of abstract and experimental imagery, created in a style distinctly his own. Llewelyn is an ardent user of a Leica Monochrom camera, on which he mounted the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Lens, producing the most imaginative, phantasmic results.

    1
  • Behind the Picture: The First Photo of Machu Picchu

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-28 in #world #lifestyle
    Behind the Picture: The First Photo of Machu Picchu

    Although its existence has always been known among locals, it was only in 1913 when the rest of the world was introduced to the Inca site of Machu Picchu through an expedition headed by Yale University and professor Hiram Bingham.

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Summer Hotspots: My Holiday in a Camping Beach

    written by sirio174 on 2015-08-28 in #world #lifestyle
    Summer Hotspots: My Holiday in a Camping Beach

    Last month, I went to a camping site lined by stretches of water and surrounded by a pine forest. I had vast spaces for leisure as there were only a handful people about.

  • LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-28 in #world #news
    LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    If the LC-A+ and LC-Wide were to compete in a head-to-head match, which side would you be on?

    5
  • Giles Clement: The Wayfaring Tintyper

    written by jacobs on 2015-08-27 in #people #lifestyle
    Giles Clement: The Wayfaring Tintyper

    Reminiscent of traveling photographers of the 19th century, Giles Clement tours through the country with his assistant, Zeiss (an Irish Terrier), offering everything from portrait sessions to wildly creative photographic projects for magazines and companies. And although his mode of transportation may have evolved with the times, his photographic method and gear have changed very little compared to the photographers of days past. Now, with over 3 years of tintyping experience under his belt and an impressive list of clients, he's carved a name out for himself as an accomplished tintyper and continues to spread his passion for this ages-old technique everywhere he goes.

    4