Colorsplash Flash Review – The Smaller the Better

2

I like to carry things with me. Like a camera, flash, a small umbrella, bottle of water, spare film, sometimes a small tripod. When you carry many things, you begin to appreciate lighter and smaller things.. and that’s why I like Colorsplash!

When I bought my Diana Mini and got into Lomography, I decided to get a flash too. I bought Diana flash because it looked good, but I never liked it. It didn’t feel sturdy enough to be carried in my bag with all the other stuff. I felt it was too tall to be handy and it made a high pitched noise when it was on. I came across Colorsplash and immediately ordered it. I was afraid that it’s going to have same problems that the Diana flash had, but I was wrong.

The best thing is the size! It’s not tall like Diana flash and it seems to be much sturdier. It fits nicely to the Diana Mini and looks surprisingly good even though the design of these two apparatuses are from different centuries. I’ve seen photos where Colorsplash goes over cameras knobs and winders, but with Diana Mini this isn’t a problem.

Being powered by single double A battery, I think this flash is surprisingly powerful and fast to load again. With Diana Mini and ISO200 film inside, I can light thing up to 2 meters, which is usually more than enough for me… and the best thing there’s only a quiet high pitch noise in Colorsplash.

Another great thing is the Lomo fitted color filters inside the flash! I hate to have filters with me in my bag, because they are small and get lost easily. There are four slots where you can put four filters of your 10 filter selection. Turning the color filter compartment works great and it easy to use.

I usually find something bad in any product, but with this one it’s hard. It’s great small flash with innovative design. It suits perfectly to my Lomography gear and will stay there as long as it breathes.

Credits: jutei

written by jutei on 2013-07-23 in #reviews

2 Comments

  1. kelseyrj
    kelseyrj ·

    Hello! First off, I love these photos and this is a fantastic review! I just had one question for you however, I have a Diana Mini and am interested in purchasing the Colorsplash Flash but am wondering if I am lacking a necessary attachment that I need to make the flash work? (I never purchased the Diana flash, just the camera alone). If you could message me back and let me know it'd be greatly appreciated! This looks like an awesome little flash and the review sold me on it :)

  2. crowdizzle
    crowdizzle ·

    kelseyrj, in an above photo of the mini there is this accessory between the camera and flash. what ive come to realize is that anyone who has a diana (excluding the baby 110), needs this piece if they wish to use flash. i believe its called a diana flash adaptor. not sure if its available alone. hope this helps clearify things for you.

More Interesting Articles

  • The Gevabox of Wonders

    written by stratski on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    The Gevabox of Wonders

    Sometimes you see a camera and you just have to have it. I felt that way about this lovely little box camera. Looks don't mean a thing, I know, but in this case, the looks didn't deceive me.

    1
  • Lomography Day Trips: Bandung, Indonesia, Part 1 - Join Our Lomowalk!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-08 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Bandung, Indonesia, Part 1 - Join Our Lomowalk!

    Where do I begin? Believe me, I know many places in Bandung. From a cozy cafe to where the famous street food and maybe even drinks can be found, to places for lomowalks, it would be my pleasure to show you all around Bandung - the city I love and the city of love!

  • Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-12-10 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    The people of a city, to me, speak volumes about its culture and sense of community. And that is why I sought out the people who make Denver that much more interesting after the initial period of settling down. My search lead to a few establishments that have contributed to making Denver what it is today. In the second story on Transient Living, I present to you two of such establishments: The Craftsman & Apprentice, and A Small Print Shop.

    2
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    written by dermanu on 2014-03-19 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    Just recently I asked myself why I would want to write about a film like the Fuji Instax Mini, because usually this film is the only one available for Fuji Instax cameras. But then it hit me! It can be an alternative to many other instant films, since I can load almost any film into my Diana F+, other medium and 135 format cameras, and of course the Fuji Instax Mini.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • My Vinyl Paradise

    written by goonies on 2014-03-16 in #lifestyle
    My Vinyl Paradise

    “I would like to buy a jukebox.” I've said this many times, so 4 years ago my ex-girlfriend went to my home with a little package. "It's a present for you," she said. I opened it and found a 12" vinyl disc, the single "Woman" by Wolfmother. It was wonderful. "If you will finally buy a jukebox, you shouldn't miss playing this song," she said.

    3
  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Lomo'Instant Splitzer Idea: How To Shoot Super-Cool, Surreal Instants

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo'Instant Splitzer Idea: How To Shoot Super-Cool, Surreal Instants

    The Lomo'Instant Splitzer allows you to do crazy stuff with your Lomo'Instant photos. Ever imagined pairing your bestfriend's face with your pet dog's body? Oh, the possibilities! It only takes a few steps to do it, and we're happy to show you how.

  • Lomo'Instant Splitzer Idea: How To Shoot Colortastic Splitzed Shots

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo'Instant Splitzer Idea: How To Shoot Colortastic Splitzed Shots

    Turn your instant photos into bizarre snapshots with this super-easy tip, using the Lomo'Instant Camera with the Lomo'Instant Splitzer! This Tipster will show you how to create fun, sliced-and-diced instant photos with vibrant splashes of color. Try it on your next party - your friends will love it!

  • Shop News

    Belair Camera

    Belair Camera

    Love medium format? This Belair baby will never fail you to satisfy your cravings for taking photographs in 120 format! Choose among the different variants of Belair cameras that will suit your tastes!

  • Photo of the Day by xsara

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-05 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by xsara

    Who wouldn't be proud to own such a classic camera?

    5
  • Color Photographs by Elliot Erwitt on Exhibit in Cologne

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-05 in #world #news #events
    Color Photographs by Elliot Erwitt on Exhibit in Cologne

    The ongoing exhibit is being held in celebration of the Cologne, Germany-based In Focus Galerie's 25th anniversary.

    1
  • 'Farewell,' A Poignant LomoKino Short Film

    written by Stanley Xu on 2015-03-05 in #world #lifestyle
    'Farewell,' A Poignant LomoKino Short Film

    Stanley Xu, a film student from Singapore, decided to use his LomoKino to shoot a short film during his holiday trip in Taipei.

    2