Colorsplash Flash Review – The Smaller the Better

2

I like to carry things with me. Like a camera, flash, a small umbrella, bottle of water, spare film, sometimes a small tripod. When you carry many things, you begin to appreciate lighter and smaller things.. and that’s why I like Colorsplash!

When I bought my Diana Mini and got into Lomography, I decided to get a flash too. I bought Diana flash because it looked good, but I never liked it. It didn’t feel sturdy enough to be carried in my bag with all the other stuff. I felt it was too tall to be handy and it made a high pitched noise when it was on. I came across Colorsplash and immediately ordered it. I was afraid that it’s going to have same problems that the Diana flash had, but I was wrong.

The best thing is the size! It’s not tall like Diana flash and it seems to be much sturdier. It fits nicely to the Diana Mini and looks surprisingly good even though the design of these two apparatuses are from different centuries. I’ve seen photos where Colorsplash goes over cameras knobs and winders, but with Diana Mini this isn’t a problem.

Being powered by single double A battery, I think this flash is surprisingly powerful and fast to load again. With Diana Mini and ISO200 film inside, I can light thing up to 2 meters, which is usually more than enough for me… and the best thing there’s only a quiet high pitch noise in Colorsplash.

Another great thing is the Lomo fitted color filters inside the flash! I hate to have filters with me in my bag, because they are small and get lost easily. There are four slots where you can put four filters of your 10 filter selection. Turning the color filter compartment works great and it easy to use.

I usually find something bad in any product, but with this one it’s hard. It’s great small flash with innovative design. It suits perfectly to my Lomography gear and will stay there as long as it breathes.

Credits: jutei

written by jutei on 2013-07-23 in #reviews #lomography-flash-color-colour-colorsplash-coloursplash-diana-mini-f-f-small

2 Comments

  1. kelseyrj
    kelseyrj ·

    Hello! First off, I love these photos and this is a fantastic review! I just had one question for you however, I have a Diana Mini and am interested in purchasing the Colorsplash Flash but am wondering if I am lacking a necessary attachment that I need to make the flash work? (I never purchased the Diana flash, just the camera alone). If you could message me back and let me know it'd be greatly appreciated! This looks like an awesome little flash and the review sold me on it :)

  2. crowdizzle
    crowdizzle ·

    kelseyrj, in an above photo of the mini there is this accessory between the camera and flash. what ive come to realize is that anyone who has a diana (excluding the baby 110), needs this piece if they wish to use flash. i believe its called a diana flash adaptor. not sure if its available alone. hope this helps clearify things for you.

More Interesting Articles

  • The Gevabox of Wonders

    written by stratski on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    The Gevabox of Wonders

    Sometimes you see a camera and you just have to have it. I felt that way about this lovely little box camera. Looks don't mean a thing, I know, but in this case, the looks didn't deceive me.

    1
  • Lomography Day Trips: Bandung, Indonesia, Part 1 - Join Our Lomowalk!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-08 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Bandung, Indonesia, Part 1 - Join Our Lomowalk!

    Where do I begin? Believe me, I know many places in Bandung. From a cozy cafe to where the famous street food and maybe even drinks can be found, to places for lomowalks, it would be my pleasure to show you all around Bandung - the city I love and the city of love!

  • Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-12-10 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    The people of a city, to me, speak volumes about its culture and sense of community. And that is why I sought out the people who make Denver that much more interesting after the initial period of settling down. My search lead to a few establishments that have contributed to making Denver what it is today. In the second story on Transient Living, I present to you two of such establishments: The Craftsman & Apprentice, and A Small Print Shop.

    2
  • Shop News

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Get both appealing LomoDices for your home! These cardboard cubes can be used for different things – they make great, stylish seats but you can also stash small items inside and fold them for storing!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Photo of the Day by alexlin

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-31 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by alexlin

    Spot the cat curled up tightly into a cute ball of fur.

    3
  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • Awesome Albums: LC-A+ x Redscale XR x Countryside by Bnjmn

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-31 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: LC-A+ x Redscale XR x Countryside by Bnjmn

    These redscale pictures make us imagine a darkroom out in the sunshine.

    1
  • Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition Winners!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-31 in #gear #news #competitions
    Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition Winners!

    In celebration of the mindblowing solar eclipse we had the other day, we ran a competition and asked you to tag your analogue photos centered around our great big yellow friend! Check out the winners now!

    1
  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-31 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the first of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

    1
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Analog Sounds with Simeon Smith

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-03-31 in #people #lifestyle
    Analog Sounds with Simeon Smith

    Simeon Smith is a musician who recorded the sounds of our film cameras in action and made these samples available as a free download. We couldn't resist interviewing him about this project and taking a look at some of his photos. Meet the man behind the cams here.

  • Kmonk is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-31 in #world #news
    Kmonk is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to kmonk for winning Home of the Day!

  • Россия в картинках (Russia in Pictures): Siberian Delight

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-31 in #world #locations
    Россия в картинках (Russia in Pictures): Siberian Delight

    In his latest travel series, Herr Willie shares a selection of fine photographs from his Russian adventures and tells the stories behind them.