Reviews: The Leica Minilux as a Point & Shoot Street Shooter?

I find that it pays to tell your family, friends, and colleagues that you are still shooting film. For on one fine day, I was rewarded with a Leica camera – a Leica Minilux.

Credits: uncle_jay

A few months ago, when I arrived at work on a bright Monday morning, I was greeted witha surprise. Sitting on my workstation was a Leica Minilux. A colleague left it there. So I called him to inquire about it, thinking that he just wanted me to check out the camera. But he didn’t. He wanted to give it to me. I naturally thanked him and started to research this camera.

Somehow, I came across users talking about the dreaded ‘E02’ problem. According to the camera’s owners, it’s over when the camera’s LCD screen shows this code. Some owners said this could be due to a chip failure or the shutter mechanism. It was a concern as I didn’t want a paperweight. I was hoping to get at least a couple rolls out of the camera. Thankfully, it did.

For some reason, I couldn’t find a review on Lomography.com about this camera. However, I found a great write up by “Ken Rockwell”:http://www.kenrockwell.com/leica/minilux.htm. But I thought it would be great to share with you how the camera feels and performs in the hands of a casual snap shooter like me and not a professional.

First of all, the camera is boxy and large when compared to the LC-A+ or LC-W. This means that it’s a rather nice camera to hold in your hand as you walk the streets, snapping away, even at night.

Credits: uncle_jay

However, if you are not a fan of flash, it takes several steps to turn off the flash. To overcome this, you can just leave the camera powered on, as I did. Besides, it’s faster to keep the camera on and ready when you are street shooting.

Credits: uncle_jay

What was a delight are the dials. You can select your aperture in aperture-priority mode. For me it’s F8 for street photography. But it can go as low as F2.4! And you can also manually preset your distance – ideal for street photography.

Credits: uncle_jay

But my major gripe is the tiny view finder. Only 0.35x, it’s really small. I had a hard time using the viewfinder at times. So I had to rely on the zone focus dial.

Credits: uncle_jay

Verdict? After the initial euphoria of having a Leica in your hands, you will realize that there are better cameras out there. However, with its 40mm f/2.4 lens, it’s a keeper as I like low-light photography. Of course, it doesn’t hurt to know that you have a Leica in your camera library.

written by uncle_jay on 2013-07-20 in #reviews #test #review #leica #film #sunny #40mm #leica-minilux #beach #singapore #color #100 #black-and-white

More Interesting Articles

  • December 17th Advent Offer: It’s Time to Accessorize your Photographic Fun! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-17 in #news
    December 17th Advent Offer: It’s Time to Accessorize your Photographic Fun! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    If you're still on the hunt for the perfect gift for your DIY friends and family, today is your day! With our super Advent deal, you can save a smooth 20% on our range of accessories for the Konstruktor camera, as well as our wide selection of other Accessories. Head over to the Online Shop and bulk up your cameras now!

  • My First Indisposable Project

    written by stitch on 2014-07-24 in #lifestyle
    My First Indisposable Project

    The idea behind this project was to shoot 24 moments in one week's time using a disposable camera. Incidentally, a friend from Seattle sent me two disposable cameras so I was finally able to participate. Disposable cameras aren't sold in Manila anymore. I timed my shoot during the week wherein I had to go out several times, also hoping for good weather.

  • The Pleasure of Shooting Live Music Shows with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    The Pleasure of Shooting Live Music Shows with the Petzval Lens

    There are small pleasures and big pleasures. A small one, like eating a chocolate after lunch, the first day of summer after a cold spring or finally meeting that girl you see every day on your morning commute can be more satisfying than anything else. As for me, shooting live music shows with the Petzval Lens is one of those small pleasures.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-04 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    Here's the third and final part of my Lomography Day Trip features about Ubud. To be honest, there are a lot of places there that are worth visiting, but I just picked some of them to help you make the best of your trip. So prepare your notes or travel books and take note of the must-see places that I'll mention below. Maybe one day you'll visit Ubud.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    6
  • Photographer Michael Ciavolino Tells the Story Behind 'Boat Ride, Rye Beach' (1962)

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Photographer Michael Ciavolino Tells the Story Behind 'Boat Ride, Rye Beach' (1962)

    Photographs with sprocket holes exposed are practically a dime a dozen these days but, of course, this wasn't the case more than 50 years ago. However, former freelance photographer Michael Ciavolino was already able to create one of the earliest examples of this technique back in the early '60s in his groundbreaking photograph called "Boat Ride, Rye Beach." Find out the fascinating story behind this photo, as well as how and why he did it in this exclusive Lomography feature!

  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • 175 Things You'll Never Guess: What Takes 175 Years to Happen and the Mystery Product Unveiling Tomorrow!

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-05-27 in #gear #news
    175 Things You'll Never Guess: What Takes 175 Years to Happen and the Mystery Product Unveiling Tomorrow!

    Have you guessed what we've got in store for you yet? No? Don't worry, the unveiling is happening very, very soon. In the meantime, here are some more teasers and tips to keep you excited!

    8
  • Petzval Amigo : Chloé Vollmer-Lo

    written by annoushka on 2015-05-27 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    Petzval Amigo : Chloé Vollmer-Lo

    Chloé Vollmer-Lo's photos speak for themselves. Every image, whether it's a portrait or a seemingly simple snapshot of a street alley, tells a story. The Paris-based photographer tested the Petzval lens recently, and the results, as expected, speak volumes. She talks about her experience as a freelance photographer - and with the Petzval lens - in this exclusive interview.

  • Mary Ellen Mark Dies at 75

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-27 in #world #news
    Mary Ellen Mark Dies at 75

    The celebrated documentary photographer passed away last Monday in a hospital in New York.

    1