Reviews: The Leica Minilux as a Point & Shoot Street Shooter?

I find that it pays to tell your family, friends, and colleagues that you are still shooting film. For on one fine day, I was rewarded with a Leica camera – a Leica Minilux.

Credits: uncle_jay

A few months ago, when I arrived at work on a bright Monday morning, I was greeted witha surprise. Sitting on my workstation was a Leica Minilux. A colleague left it there. So I called him to inquire about it, thinking that he just wanted me to check out the camera. But he didn’t. He wanted to give it to me. I naturally thanked him and started to research this camera.

Somehow, I came across users talking about the dreaded ‘E02’ problem. According to the camera’s owners, it’s over when the camera’s LCD screen shows this code. Some owners said this could be due to a chip failure or the shutter mechanism. It was a concern as I didn’t want a paperweight. I was hoping to get at least a couple rolls out of the camera. Thankfully, it did.

For some reason, I couldn’t find a review on Lomography.com about this camera. However, I found a great write up by “Ken Rockwell”:http://www.kenrockwell.com/leica/minilux.htm. But I thought it would be great to share with you how the camera feels and performs in the hands of a casual snap shooter like me and not a professional.

First of all, the camera is boxy and large when compared to the LC-A+ or LC-W. This means that it’s a rather nice camera to hold in your hand as you walk the streets, snapping away, even at night.

Credits: uncle_jay

However, if you are not a fan of flash, it takes several steps to turn off the flash. To overcome this, you can just leave the camera powered on, as I did. Besides, it’s faster to keep the camera on and ready when you are street shooting.

Credits: uncle_jay

What was a delight are the dials. You can select your aperture in aperture-priority mode. For me it’s F8 for street photography. But it can go as low as F2.4! And you can also manually preset your distance – ideal for street photography.

Credits: uncle_jay

But my major gripe is the tiny view finder. Only 0.35x, it’s really small. I had a hard time using the viewfinder at times. So I had to rely on the zone focus dial.

Credits: uncle_jay

Verdict? After the initial euphoria of having a Leica in your hands, you will realize that there are better cameras out there. However, with its 40mm f/2.4 lens, it’s a keeper as I like low-light photography. Of course, it doesn’t hurt to know that you have a Leica in your camera library.

written by uncle_jay on 2013-07-20 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomopedia: Nikon SP

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-14 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Nikon SP

    Touted as Nikon's first professional camera, the Nikon SP was one of the most impressive rangefinder cameras one could ever have back in the days. Still, it remains a wonderfully functional and luxurious rangefinder that works smoother and quieter than today's SLR and DSLR cameras.

  • A Salute to the Masters: On the Walls (A Tribute to Brassaï)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-03-10 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: On the Walls (A Tribute to Brassaï)

    This is a homage to another important street and social photographer who captured the essence of the life in Paris. As a multi-faceted and versatile artist, he was involved in street photography, urban details, and experiments in pictorialism. In this article, I pay tribute to this great artist and one of his most important books: "Graffiti." Read more after the jump!

    1
  • December 17th Advent Offer: It’s Time to Accessorize your Photographic Fun! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-17 in #news
    December 17th Advent Offer: It’s Time to Accessorize your Photographic Fun! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    If you're still on the hunt for the perfect gift for your DIY friends and family, today is your day! With our super Advent deal, you can save a smooth 20% on our range of accessories for the Konstruktor camera, as well as our wide selection of other Accessories. Head over to the Online Shop and bulk up your cameras now!

  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • My First Indisposable Project

    written by stitch on 2014-07-24 in #lifestyle
    My First Indisposable Project

    The idea behind this project was to shoot 24 moments in one week's time using a disposable camera. Incidentally, a friend from Seattle sent me two disposable cameras so I was finally able to participate. Disposable cameras aren't sold in Manila anymore. I timed my shoot during the week wherein I had to go out several times, also hoping for good weather.

  • The Pleasure of Shooting Live Music Shows with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    The Pleasure of Shooting Live Music Shows with the Petzval Lens

    There are small pleasures and big pleasures. A small one, like eating a chocolate after lunch, the first day of summer after a cold spring or finally meeting that girl you see every day on your morning commute can be more satisfying than anything else. As for me, shooting live music shows with the Petzval Lens is one of those small pleasures.

  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Picture Perfect Portraits with the Horizon Perfekt

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-02-28 in #gear #tipster
    Picture Perfect Portraits with the Horizon Perfekt

    There is no question as to how the Horizon Perfekt can render a view of a mountain range or sea front breathtaking; that wide panorama and quality lens are proven capable of delivering spectacular scenery. Just put the Horizon Perfekt in front of you, choose the right settings and voila! You’ve got a surefire travelogue-worthy shot. But what about portraits or group photos? Shooting with a Horizon camera entails more creativity and requires more technique, but can be rewarding once you see the results.

    2
  • Shop News

    Change the View in an Instant

    Change the View in an Instant

    Extend the Borders of Instant Photography with the World’s Most Creative Instant Camera System Packed With Fun Features and say hello to the Lomo'Instant Camera! The Lomo'Instant is the perfectly sized Instant Camera to take wherever you go! It’s the most creative way to shoot fantastic photos which you can share anywhere and with everyone in an instant.

  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-04 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    Here's the third and final part of my Lomography Day Trip features about Ubud. To be honest, there are a lot of places there that are worth visiting, but I just picked some of them to help you make the best of your trip. So prepare your notes or travel books and take note of the must-see places that I'll mention below. Maybe one day you'll visit Ubud.

  • Photographer Michael Ciavolino Tells the Story Behind 'Boat Ride, Rye Beach' (1962)

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Photographer Michael Ciavolino Tells the Story Behind 'Boat Ride, Rye Beach' (1962)

    Photographs with sprocket holes exposed are practically a dime a dozen these days but, of course, this wasn't the case more than 50 years ago. However, former freelance photographer Michael Ciavolino was already able to create one of the earliest examples of this technique back in the early '60s in his groundbreaking photograph called "Boat Ride, Rye Beach." Find out the fascinating story behind this photo, as well as how and why he did it in this exclusive Lomography feature!

  • Trending Photos of February 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-27 in #world #news
    Trending Photos of February 2015

    These lomographs were the talked of the town this month of love. Have a look and see if your favorites made it to the list!

    1