Reviews: The Leica Minilux as a Point & Shoot Street Shooter?

I find that it pays to tell your family, friends, and colleagues that you are still shooting film. For on one fine day, I was rewarded with a Leica camera – a Leica Minilux.

Credits: uncle_jay

A few months ago, when I arrived at work on a bright Monday morning, I was greeted witha surprise. Sitting on my workstation was a Leica Minilux. A colleague left it there. So I called him to inquire about it, thinking that he just wanted me to check out the camera. But he didn’t. He wanted to give it to me. I naturally thanked him and started to research this camera.

Somehow, I came across users talking about the dreaded ‘E02’ problem. According to the camera’s owners, it’s over when the camera’s LCD screen shows this code. Some owners said this could be due to a chip failure or the shutter mechanism. It was a concern as I didn’t want a paperweight. I was hoping to get at least a couple rolls out of the camera. Thankfully, it did.

For some reason, I couldn’t find a review on Lomography.com about this camera. However, I found a great write up by “Ken Rockwell”:http://www.kenrockwell.com/leica/minilux.htm. But I thought it would be great to share with you how the camera feels and performs in the hands of a casual snap shooter like me and not a professional.

First of all, the camera is boxy and large when compared to the LC-A+ or LC-W. This means that it’s a rather nice camera to hold in your hand as you walk the streets, snapping away, even at night.

Credits: uncle_jay

However, if you are not a fan of flash, it takes several steps to turn off the flash. To overcome this, you can just leave the camera powered on, as I did. Besides, it’s faster to keep the camera on and ready when you are street shooting.

Credits: uncle_jay

What was a delight are the dials. You can select your aperture in aperture-priority mode. For me it’s F8 for street photography. But it can go as low as F2.4! And you can also manually preset your distance – ideal for street photography.

Credits: uncle_jay

But my major gripe is the tiny view finder. Only 0.35x, it’s really small. I had a hard time using the viewfinder at times. So I had to rely on the zone focus dial.

Credits: uncle_jay

Verdict? After the initial euphoria of having a Leica in your hands, you will realize that there are better cameras out there. However, with its 40mm f/2.4 lens, it’s a keeper as I like low-light photography. Of course, it doesn’t hurt to know that you have a Leica in your camera library.

written by uncle_jay on 2013-07-20 in #reviews #leica-minilux #sunny #review #leica #film #color #test #100 #beach #40mm #singapore #black-and-white

More Interesting Articles

  • December 17th Advent Offer: It’s Time to Accessorize your Photographic Fun! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-17 in #news
    December 17th Advent Offer: It’s Time to Accessorize your Photographic Fun! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    If you're still on the hunt for the perfect gift for your DIY friends and family, today is your day! With our super Advent deal, you can save a smooth 20% on our range of accessories for the Konstruktor camera, as well as our wide selection of other Accessories. Head over to the Online Shop and bulk up your cameras now!

  • The Pleasure of Shooting Live Music Shows with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    The Pleasure of Shooting Live Music Shows with the Petzval Lens

    There are small pleasures and big pleasures. A small one, like eating a chocolate after lunch, the first day of summer after a cold spring or finally meeting that girl you see every day on your morning commute can be more satisfying than anything else. As for me, shooting live music shows with the Petzval Lens is one of those small pleasures.

  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • The Instant Project

    written by suizidekid on 2015-06-23 in #world #lifestyle
    The Instant Project

    It was a cold and cloudy winter day in 2012 when I came up with the idea of compiling photographs of people's faces. I decided that the most personal way to do it is through instant shots. They are one of a kind and you immediately have something in your hands.

    16
  • Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    written by mmxi on 2015-07-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    My friends and I teamed up with Photo Art Pro to spread analog love to the Zaporozhye community. Last month, we hosted a Yeti Scavenger Hunt and had a LomoKino camera as prize. We challenged participants to shoot a roll of film based on a checklist. It was tremendous fun!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-04 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    Here's the third and final part of my Lomography Day Trip features about Ubud. To be honest, there are a lot of places there that are worth visiting, but I just picked some of them to help you make the best of your trip. So prepare your notes or travel books and take note of the must-see places that I'll mention below. Maybe one day you'll visit Ubud.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Win Tickets for Melt! Festival in Germany

    written by petit_loir on 2015-06-29 in #world #competitions
    Win Tickets for Melt! Festival in Germany

    There is nothing more refreshing than escaping one's everyday life for to unpack a camping tent and spend a wonderful weekend with friends for a few days during summer. Some of the coolest festivals are calling and there's a special one in Germany that is a must-see in July: Melt! festival. Win two tickets for this spectacular event to be held from July 17 to 19. Show us your most beautiful festival moments.

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Camera Collections: chrisg35mm and his Admirable Analog Arsenal

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-01 in #gear #lifestyle
    Camera Collections: chrisg35mm and his Admirable Analog Arsenal

    Chris Goodacre has been shooting on film since the late 1970s. At the same time, he also took interest in building an artillery of analog weapons. In this interview, he shares an extensive list of his collection and the fantastic story that come with each of his cameras.

  • Photo of the Day by warboyssnapper

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-01 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by warboyssnapper

    Let's take a nostalgic trip to the countryside.

    1
  • Mitarothanken is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-01 in #world #news
    Mitarothanken is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to mitarothanken for winning Home of the Day!

    1