Lomography Colorsplash - Staff Review

13

The Colorsplash is a 35mm instant camera that allows you to "paint" your pictures with its built-in color flash.

Here’s something for the color lovers. The Colorsplash is a unique compact camera that takes sharp pictures, and gives you the power to wash your images with its integrated colorflash.

This oddly-shaped Lomography camera gives unexpected results, every time. Imagine the interaction of the color flash with your subject, the ambient light, and the exposure time – certainly, your images will be exploding with colors!

So how does it work? The Colorsplash camera comes with 12 color gels – 9 of which can be slipped into two of the four slots of the flash (blue and yellow are already built in; 2 slots are ‘clear’). Simply turn the wheel to choose your desired color, and you’re ready to splash a burst of color into your photos. Don’t forget to load an AA battery, or else your flash won’t fire!

The camera has two exposure controls – Long Exposure and Instant Exposure. During long exposure, the flash will only fire when you depress the shutter button, resulting in color-flashed foregrounds and light-streaky, blurry backgrounds. Instant Exposure gives you an evenly-colored image, as the flash fires in sync with a press of the button.

Pictured below is the On/Off button for the colorflash.

There are so many tricks to try with this camera. It works excellent during nighttime with all the streaks and bursts of colors, but daytime shots look just as impressive – just remember to stay close to your subject, and darker filters work best. Try using some slide film if you want to intensify the colors even further!

Check out the Colorsplash microsite here

written by shhquiet on 2008-07-26 in #reviews #review #lomography #staff #colorsplash-camera

13 Comments

  1. evev
    evev ·

    my third lomographic camera !!!

  2. 007-0815-styler
    007-0815-styler ·

    Colorsplash rulezzz !!!!!

    lomo on and on
    greetzzz
    007-0815-Styler.de

  3. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    ja... cs is a cool cam
    why haven't i used it for such a long time?!?!?

  4. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    color me world!!

  5. missound
    missound ·

    Yeah ! The best one. Always come back to the basic.

  6. bear1973
    bear1973 ·

    A great camera. Simple, clean, elegant with a great design that always raises an eyebrow.

  7. coca
    coca ·

    cool and stylish!

  8. 7samurai
    7samurai ·

    cute

  9. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    oh my very first lomo love! This is the first roll I ever Shot

  10. fab
    fab ·

    The coolest design among all the lomo-cameras!

  11. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    colorsplashin' and fun!!

  12. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    Yeah, I've got one! See my Colorsplash album now.

  13. jaguarwomon
    jaguarwomon ·

    I love this camera. One of my favorites.

More Interesting Articles

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Illuminate Your Life with the Brand New Lomography Light Painter

    written by shhquiet on 2015-07-27 in #gear #news
    Illuminate Your Life with the Brand New Lomography Light Painter

    Think you can’t paint? Well, we think you can….with light! Enhance your photographs with stunning light effects in just a few easy clicks of the Lomography Light Painter. Brand new to the Lomography repertoire, this wonderful gadget is equipped with eight different light variations that allow for ultimate light painting experimentation.

  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #reviews
    Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    Lomo’Instant allows you to shoot limitless multiple exposure instants and our latest accessory Splitzer will just add more fun to it! Just utilize your creativity and some simple skills and you’ll be able to take dozens of crazy and fun pictures. The more you try, the more fun you’ll discover!

    1
  • Introducing Pixelstick — The Light Painting Tool Of The Future

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-12 in #gear #news #videos
    Introducing Pixelstick — The Light Painting Tool Of The Future

    Have you ever dreamed of creating magical scenes with just the wave of your hand? Wish no longer — Pixelstick makes that dream a reality! Packed to the brim with 200 full color, high fidelity LEDs, the 1.8 meter long Pixelstick is your ticket to incredible, mind-boggling light paintings. It's now available for the first time in the Online Shop!

    9
  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Instant Back+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #people
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Instant Back+

    Bring your Diana F+ experience to instant photography territory with the Diana Instant Back+! Curious? Here's a selection of community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-08 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    With features that allow one to be as creative as possible and a size compact enough to bring it anytime, anywhere, the LC-A+ is indeed an embodiment of our 10 Golden Rules. In this week's feature, we list down some of the ways you could up your photography game with this wonderful camera.

    1
  • Lomo'Instant + Splitzer: Anything is Possible!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-27 in #gear
    Lomo'Instant + Splitzer: Anything is Possible!

    The Splitzer is a small slice'n'dice accessory that allows you to do all kinds of crazy stuff with your Lomo'Instant camera. For this gallery, we experimented with splitting faces and the results are quite hilarious!

    2
  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • 50 Electrifying Light Paintings From The Lomography Community

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-08-17 in #gear #news
    50 Electrifying Light Paintings From The Lomography Community

    Light Painting is a cool technique that we love to do when we're in the mood for experimenting with photos. It's super easy and fun, and it only requires a dark room, a friend or two to collaborate with, a camera with long exposure mode and a light painting tool to get started. Check out 50 of the most vibrant light painting photos taken by your fellow Lomographers after the cut!

    5
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8