Lomography Colorsplash - Staff Review

13

The Colorsplash is a 35mm instant camera that allows you to "paint" your pictures with its built-in color flash.

Here’s something for the color lovers. The Colorsplash is a unique compact camera that takes sharp pictures, and gives you the power to wash your images with its integrated colorflash.

This oddly-shaped Lomography camera gives unexpected results, every time. Imagine the interaction of the color flash with your subject, the ambient light, and the exposure time – certainly, your images will be exploding with colors!

So how does it work? The Colorsplash camera comes with 12 color gels – 9 of which can be slipped into two of the four slots of the flash (blue and yellow are already built in; 2 slots are ‘clear’). Simply turn the wheel to choose your desired color, and you’re ready to splash a burst of color into your photos. Don’t forget to load an AA battery, or else your flash won’t fire!

The camera has two exposure controls – Long Exposure and Instant Exposure. During long exposure, the flash will only fire when you depress the shutter button, resulting in color-flashed foregrounds and light-streaky, blurry backgrounds. Instant Exposure gives you an evenly-colored image, as the flash fires in sync with a press of the button.

Pictured below is the On/Off button for the colorflash.

There are so many tricks to try with this camera. It works excellent during nighttime with all the streaks and bursts of colors, but daytime shots look just as impressive – just remember to stay close to your subject, and darker filters work best. Try using some slide film if you want to intensify the colors even further!

Check out the Colorsplash microsite here

written by shhquiet on 2008-07-26 in #reviews

13 Comments

  1. evev
    evev ·

    my third lomographic camera !!!

  2. 007-0815-styler
    007-0815-styler ·

    Colorsplash rulezzz !!!!!

    lomo on and on
    greetzzz
    007-0815-Styler.de

  3. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    ja... cs is a cool cam
    why haven't i used it for such a long time?!?!?

  4. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    color me world!!

  5. missound
    missound ·

    Yeah ! The best one. Always come back to the basic.

  6. bear1973
    bear1973 ·

    A great camera. Simple, clean, elegant with a great design that always raises an eyebrow.

  7. coca
    coca ·

    cool and stylish!

  8. 7samurai
    7samurai ·

    cute

  9. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    oh my very first lomo love! This is the first roll I ever Shot

  10. fab
    fab ·

    The coolest design among all the lomo-cameras!

  11. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    colorsplashin' and fun!!

  12. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    Yeah, I've got one! See my Colorsplash album now.

  13. jaguarwomon
    jaguarwomon ·

    I love this camera. One of my favorites.

More Interesting Articles

  • How to Load and Unload Film with the Horizon Kompakt

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-16 in #lifestyle
    How to Load and Unload Film with the Horizon Kompakt

    Due to its built, getting your film into the Horizon Kompakt is a little different than in your usual 35mm camera. Not that it's tricky - allow us to show you how in this tutorial!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Colorsplashing For Dummies

    written by shhquiet on 2014-05-09 in #gear #tipster
    Colorsplashing For Dummies

    Colorsplashing can do wonders to your image. It can alter the mood of your image, enhance colors, or introduce a totally new perspective! Advanced photography skills are not required here; all it takes is a Colorsplash Camera (or Flash) and your imagination. "Paint" your dog green, dye your friend's face with pink light ... the possibilities are endless! Here's a list of Colorsplashing techniques to try from daytime to nighttime.

  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    12
  • December 16th Advent Offer: Save 20% on Accessories Today! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-16 in #news
    December 16th Advent Offer: Save 20% on Accessories Today! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    Today is the day to make sure your Lomo LC-A & LC-Wide are happy snappers! With our Advent deal of the day, you can save a smashing 20% on accessories for the camera that started the Lomography movement, in addition to our vast selection of other accessories. Move into a new realm of analogue photography with a flashy lens or a colorful flash!

  • Out-of-this-world snaps taken with the Colorsplash Flash

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-09 in #lifestyle
    Out-of-this-world snaps taken with the Colorsplash Flash

    Flashed out and full of colors, that’s the way to go when you attach the Colorsplash Flash to your favorite analogue shooter.

  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Lomography X-Pro 200: A Dream to Cross Process

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-03-21 in #reviews
    Lomography X-Pro 200: A Dream to Cross Process

    Lomography X-Pro 200, a film with colors that pop, is amazing for cross-processing. Whether in medium-format or 35mm, you won't be disappointed with the colors.

    3
  • Analogue Archives: The Chakras of Colorsplashing, Revisited

    written by shhquiet on 2014-05-09 in #lifestyle
    Analogue Archives: The Chakras of Colorsplashing, Revisited

    Chances are you've seen plenty of color-drenched photographs while browsing through the Photos section. Faces painted blue, pets tinted green, and foliage splashed with pink light. It's called "Colorsplashing," one of Lomography's earliest techniques for giving your shots a quick color boost. We dug through the Lomography archives to revisit "The Chakras of Colorsplashing," a special project created by Lomography and Staple Design six years ago.

  • Introducing The Fujifilm Instax Share SP-1

    written by shhquiet on 2014-03-14 in #news
    Introducing The Fujifilm Instax Share SP-1

    Now there’s an even more fun and easy way to share instant memories with friends. The new Fujifilm Instax Share SP-1 is a portable printer that allows you to print the images directly from your smartphone as super cool instant photos, using the free Instax Share App. We have very limited quantities, so don’t miss the chance to get this very exclusive item!

  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!