Kodak Ektachrome 100G (120, 100 iso) User-Review

6

One dream city. One dream camera. One dream film. One hell of a Lomo-Trip. A Tale of love, Kodak E100G and good coffee.

Earlier on this year, I was lucky enough to be able return to a city that had taken my heart from the very first step I took there, from the very first coffee I drank and the very first photograph I took. Seattle. Not because of the city’s history, technology, music, art or shopping possibilities, even though I do appreciate a great coffee at anytime, at every corner and whenever I feel like one, no. Simply because of the rain. Yes, the weather. The weather and its many different forms, which my Holga (one of my reality-distorting-eyes-opening-beasts) seems to capture so incredibly well and beautiful on my precious film. My weapon of choice: Kodak Professional Ektachrome Film E100g. Fifteen rolls of medium format, a year and a half out-of-date and cross-processed E100G I should say, in case you were wondering about the colour shifts and variations of the images.

Well, before I write on, I should let you know that this is not just going to be a story about expired and/or cross-processed film, or even plastic cameras. Nor will it be about a fantastic and great location. Nope. This is a photo story about a-monster-of-a-film that produces beautiful results whenever you’re in the studio or on location, results that are virtually grainless. “The grain your art deserves.”, to quote Kodak’s website.

I could inform you now about the specifications and technical data of this fantastic medium, but I won’t. I rather tell you about the journey my Holga and I took in order to capture the images you see. I do however strongly recommend you visit Kodak’s website and check out what stands behind their product I love and write about, as it can be very useful – and you never know – you might need the information one day, even if it is just be a well informed photographer. Once you load your camera with expired slide film and cross-process it, you get hold of unique and very different results, every time you press the shutter. I love this “development” right from the beginning, when I load the camera, through the developing process and time in the film dryer, up to the end, when the film lies on my scanner and I’m about to see final results.

Back to Seattle and the rain clouds, which – I have to be honest with you – helped to give my images such varying and interesting colours and defiantly helped my mood when shooting. There is nothing more fascinating than going out on location, not sure whether it is going to start raining and never stop, if you going be surrounded and exist in “wet air” the whole day or if it is just a quick shower. I do however like the moments just after a shower when the sun breaks through the clouds and produces gorgeous effects on film – if you pressed the shutter at the right time. And loaded your camera with the right stuff – and believe me E100G is perfect for such moments. So there I was, usually with a coffee in one hand, the camera around my neck and my finger on the shutter, walking through the city in search for the right moment(s). With E100G having an ISO of 100 (and effectively “smoother” image results) you might want to make sure you have enough light available to you when you press the button, but you probably know that already being in love with photography. Mentioning that, if you are –as I was- after images that show those magic moments before, during and after rainy hours and days, Kodak’s E100G is the film to go for! What you see through the viewfinder is what you’ll get on your slides (or negatives, if cross-processed). So if you have the chance to get your hands on a few rolls of E100G, go out and give it a try – no matter what weather condition!

Well, and there you go a story about my love for E100G, my Holga, film photography, great coffee and Seattle. And one day –hopefully in the not too distant future- I will be going back to shoot again, and believe me, I cannot wait for that day to come!

written by futuregirl on 2010-03-03 in #reviews

6 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Ooh, that's gonna be a piggypoints pic in the next newsletter for sure.

  2. violet_rayy
    violet_rayy ·

    Great review. Such faithful colours.

  3. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    i agree with @lomosexual_manboy

  4. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    ooooo - classic tones!

  5. gurkenprinz
    gurkenprinz ·

    what lomosexual_manboy said +1. super review!

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent review ! Super shots !

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-19 in #lifestyle
    Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    Lomography has previously shown you the kind of shots that one could take with the new Lomo LC-A 120. Now, with the first batch already shipped out and arriving to their lucky owners, it's the community's turn to show everyone what they've been shooting with this awesome camera!

    7
  • Fellow lomographer makes an illustration book about Lomography

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-18 in #news
    Fellow lomographer makes an illustration book about Lomography

    How much do you love lomography and film photography? For one of our fellow lomographers, the lomo-love is so great that she thought of making a book out of it as a follow-up for a previous project!

    13
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Cinematic Combo with the Lomo LC-A and Cine200 Tungsten Film

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-25 in #lifestyle
    Cinematic Combo with the Lomo LC-A and Cine200 Tungsten Film

    The classic Lomo LC-A is a great camera that deserves equally astounding film. Load a roll of Cine200 Tungsten Film in your LC-A and fall in love with this lovely analogue combo!

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    2
  • Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    written by odio-et-amo on 2014-09-10 in #lifestyle
    Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    Durham is a beautiful but tiny university city in the north of England famous for its amazing cathedral, which is one of Britain's best loved buildings. When I was studying at the university, I loved to go for crisp, autumnal walks around the cathedral and the river, kicking the leaves and basking in the golden glow of the season. The Lomography Redscale film perfectly captures the beauty of this time of year.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Kekskonstrukt and her Fisheye One

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-08 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Kekskonstrukt and her Fisheye One

    Back in 2010, while looking for a small camera to take with her on a short trip to London, Helene chanced upon the wonderful Fisheye One. Despite having zero knowledge of shooting about shooting with fisheyes, she gave in to her instincts and bought the camera. Let's all find out how Helene's First Lomo Affair with the Fisheye One got her deeper into analogue photography!

    1
  • Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    Adi, Ekeu, and I did a lomowalk around downtown Bandung last Saturday, the beginning of November. We planned to use our Lubitel cameras with only one roll of film each. We were inspired by the One Roll of Film Project by four Tokyo-based photographers with their Hasselblad cameras. This is about the one roll of film I shot with the Lubitel 166U, which made me love shooting in medium format even more.

    8
  • A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #lifestyle
    A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    In 1958 the great photographer Robert Frank took a series of images of New York's street life with a Leica camera from a bus window, as in these series of photos that I took in my city Como with my trusty Lomo LC-A loaded with a Kodak Tri-X film. This is a tribute to a great camera and to a great photographer! Read more after the jump!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Jürgen Bürgin Discovers the French Provence with a Lomo LC-A+

    written by zonderbar on 2014-07-30 in #people #lomoamigos
    Jürgen Bürgin Discovers the French Provence with a Lomo LC-A+

    Jürgen Bürgin finds pleasure in strolling through the hustle and bustle of the world's biggest cities and shooting street photographs without being recognized. For Lomography, however, the Film PR agent and photographer from Berlin took a different path, literally! We gave him a Lomo LC-A+ camera for his journey to the French Provence and waited in anticipation for his travel pictures away from the big city.

  • A Political Rally in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-18 in #lifestyle
    A Political Rally in Como

    In the week preceding the elections for the European Parliament, several political rallies were held in Como. As with all other public events in my city I documented one of these rallies, this time using a Russian film camera Zorki 6 loaded with a black and white film roll. Take a look!

    1
  • Happenings on Film: The Festival of the Hands in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-09-22 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: The Festival of the Hands in Como

    Last Saturday my city, Como, hosted a festival dedicated to the hands called the Mani-Fest. With my lovely Minox GT-S camera and an expired 3200 ISO film roll, I documented this event which took place just below the windows of my room. Take a look after the jump!