Kodak Portra 800 (120, 800 iso) User-Review

4

Everyone says your Holga loves the sun, but with this 800 iso film, it's time to take it indoors and take some low light lovelies. Love that grain!

I live in grim and grey Bradford where the chance of a sunny day is pretty slim. My first experiments with my Holga where pretty poor with a carefree approach to using the bundled electrical tape and a misunderstanding of the wind on mechanism and bafflement at those little numbers in the counter window, I got back an underexposed and overlapped waste of film from the processors. Couple of wasted rolls later and still no prints to speak off, I re-read the instructions and came across a pack of expired Kodak Portra 800 and thought I’d give it a try and take down a roll to my friends’ band last gig.

The first roll was a bit better, but still unfortunately no prints as the definition between shots was not strong enough for the digital scanner/printer to pick up at the lab and I’d forgotten to take the lens cap off a couple of times, but then I realised that electrical tape is not to be sniffed at, and indeed is your Holga’s best friend. Light leaks could wait, and indeed, literally, the lens cap could get lost too. I taped up my Holga, went to an all day gig with some Portra 800 and have been content with my Holga ever since.

And oh it’s prints galore now! I’ve shot a fair few rolls of it and it’s easily my favourite film, and I almost load my Holga with some when going to a gig now. Though it’s a 800 iso film, the combination I think of 120’s high definition and the professional emulsion, leave a pretty usable grain. The stock I’ve used is a couple of years out of date, so I can’t be completely accurate but I find it a very lowly saturated, but with a nice strong contrast film. The low saturation might be almost rude in Lomography terms, but here it leaves a lovely vintage washed out, almost Polaroid-esque feel. I’ve only got 5 rolls left in my fridge and it’s pretty scary, so perhaps now isn’t the time for me to be singing its praises.

It’s all mine, MWHAHAHAAHA!

written by nicolas_noir on 2010-03-06 in #reviews #low-light #kodak-portra-800 #800-iso #expired #los-campesinos #120 #sky-larkin #kong #live-music #holga-120cfn #dolphins

4 Comments

  1. dazb
    dazb ·

    Oooh cool shots. I just finished a roll in my LC-A and hope itcomes out this well.

  2. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Excellent!! It's one of my favorite films, also.

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Great concert shots! are the playing punk rock?

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Top 5 Analog Tricks For An Aged Photo Look

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Top 5 Analog Tricks For An Aged Photo Look

    Film has soul, that second layer of grain and haze. It is a time capsule if we're sentimental, a happy pill if nostalgic. But what if we exaggerate this time-worn look? Imperfection becomes a creative element.

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    3
  • Photo of the Day by miket

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-04 in #news
    Photo of the Day by miket

    Overexposing your film is a big no-no to some but not for miket. It's exactly what he did, along with cross processing to drench this photograph with eye-catching colors and wild grain!

    1
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Going Monochrome with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-06-26 in #gear
    Going Monochrome with the Lomo'Instant

    If you've ever used the Lomo'Instant camera, you know that the Fujifilm Instax Mini film ensures amazing and sharp results with vivid colors and natural skin tones. And although we love it the way it is, we also love to experiment. This time we ventured out with monochrome on our minds and got some pretty crazy results — check it out!

    1
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle #videos
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.

  • Top Photo Likers of August 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-04 in #world #news
    Top Photo Likers of August 2015

    Like a pat in the back, liking photographs goes a long way in encouraging one to continue shooting.