Kodak Portra 800 (120, 800 iso) User-Review

4

Everyone says your Holga loves the sun, but with this 800 iso film, it's time to take it indoors and take some low light lovelies. Love that grain!

I live in grim and grey Bradford where the chance of a sunny day is pretty slim. My first experiments with my Holga where pretty poor with a carefree approach to using the bundled electrical tape and a misunderstanding of the wind on mechanism and bafflement at those little numbers in the counter window, I got back an underexposed and overlapped waste of film from the processors. Couple of wasted rolls later and still no prints to speak off, I re-read the instructions and came across a pack of expired Kodak Portra 800 and thought I’d give it a try and take down a roll to my friends’ band last gig.

The first roll was a bit better, but still unfortunately no prints as the definition between shots was not strong enough for the digital scanner/printer to pick up at the lab and I’d forgotten to take the lens cap off a couple of times, but then I realised that electrical tape is not to be sniffed at, and indeed is your Holga’s best friend. Light leaks could wait, and indeed, literally, the lens cap could get lost too. I taped up my Holga, went to an all day gig with some Portra 800 and have been content with my Holga ever since.

And oh it’s prints galore now! I’ve shot a fair few rolls of it and it’s easily my favourite film, and I almost load my Holga with some when going to a gig now. Though it’s a 800 iso film, the combination I think of 120’s high definition and the professional emulsion, leave a pretty usable grain. The stock I’ve used is a couple of years out of date, so I can’t be completely accurate but I find it a very lowly saturated, but with a nice strong contrast film. The low saturation might be almost rude in Lomography terms, but here it leaves a lovely vintage washed out, almost Polaroid-esque feel. I’ve only got 5 rolls left in my fridge and it’s pretty scary, so perhaps now isn’t the time for me to be singing its praises.

It’s all mine, MWHAHAHAAHA!

written by nicolas_noir on 2010-03-06 in #reviews #800-iso #low-light #sky-larkin #live-music #kong #holga-120cfn #kodak-portra-800 #dolphins #120 #expired #los-campesinos

4 Comments

  1. dazb
    dazb ·

    Oooh cool shots. I just finished a roll in my LC-A and hope itcomes out this well.

  2. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Excellent!! It's one of my favorite films, also.

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Great concert shots! are the playing punk rock?

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Top 5 Analog Tricks For An Aged Photo Look

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Top 5 Analog Tricks For An Aged Photo Look

    Film has soul, that second layer of grain and haze. It is a time capsule if we're sentimental, a happy pill if nostalgic. But what if we exaggerate this time-worn look? Imperfection becomes a creative element.

    3
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    2
  • Photo of the Day by miket

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-04 in #news
    Photo of the Day by miket

    Overexposing your film is a big no-no to some but not for miket. It's exactly what he did, along with cross processing to drench this photograph with eye-catching colors and wild grain!

    1
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • Summer Fun With the Fisheye Sub

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Summer Fun With the Fisheye Sub

    It's time to take your Fisheye One or Fisheye No.2 Camera out for a swim! But make sure that it's encased in its swimsuit - the Fisheye Submarine Case. This transparent case allows you to take photos 20m (65 ft) beneath the water surface! See the gallery below to see some cool photos taken by your fellow Lomographers!

  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ Starter Pack

    LC-A+ Starter Pack

    With the LC-A+ Starter Pack, Pair the LC-A+ with a 35mm; whatever combo you end up selecting, they're sure to be mindblowing!

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    It may take a while for some lomographers to figure out the perfect combination of camera, film, and accessory that suit their needs. But, Wessel de Haas, aka wesco, has been extremely lucky to find his early on his journey to Lomography. Find out what film and accessory he likes pairing his La Sardina 8Ball with in this edition of My First Lomo Affair!

    2