Reviews on Rewind: Widepan Pro II

For this week's edition of Reviews on Rewind, we focus on a camera that not a lot of Lomographers have, but constantly dream about. Say hello to the Widepan Pro II!

During ye olden days of Lomography, this was the dream camera to have. If you had one around your neck, the women around you would scream and swoon, men shy away for being not worthy, and old masters of the Lomographic martial arts bob their heads and stroke their mustaches in agreement. That’s how special the Widepan was. However, it was worth an arm and maybe even two legs, so not a lot of Lomographers had the chance to shoot with it. So for this week, we will feature 2 reviews of the Widepan – the only ones in the whole website!

Widepan Pro II - The Panoramic Monster by lomodirk

So why the Widepan Pro II? It`s heavy, big and definitely not as handy as a Horizon is. But the results are amazing, brilliant shots, panoramas in medium format you can boost up to wallpapers. I`ll never regret choosing this camera because of the diversity of possibilities it opens to me.

Widepan Pro II - Heavy Duty by tveden

If you’re into monsters and working out, look no further. This 2 kg monster is exactly what you need, it will eat 120, 220 and 35mm and it’s hungry. After 6 snaps your 120 film will be finished and 10 snaps with a 35mm, so be sure to have plenty of ammunition before you take it into action.

written by cruzron on 2013-07-06 in #reviews #widepan #reviews #panoramic #lomography #rewind

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • 3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: I Still Shoot Film, Subway Book Review, and Animals Talking in All Caps

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-06 in #world #lifestyle
    3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: I Still Shoot Film, Subway Book Review, and Animals Talking in All Caps

    In this week's edition, we have something to cater to fans of analog photography, books, and animals talking animatedly.

  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • A Review of the Bronica S2A

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-22 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Bronica S2A

    Big, big fish we have here. But this heavy, noisy body hides a sensitive heart which just needs a bit of light to open itself.

    1
  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part II)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-07 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part II)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the second part of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

    1
  • 3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: Photographs Rendered in Play-Doh, RPJL and Snaps and Cigarettes

    written by anamartaml on 2015-07-12 in #world #lifestyle
    3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: Photographs Rendered in Play-Doh, RPJL and Snaps and Cigarettes

    Every week we will be selecting three Tumblr blogs with exciting, more often than not photography-related content. For this week's selection, we have a little bit of everything: from double exposures and breathtaking scenery in film to a play-doh artist inspired by photography. Three very different blogs that are equally fascinating!

    7
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-30 in #world #locations
    In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    Fueled by wanderlust, a sense of wonder, and curiosity, lomographers have been through all corners of the world to explore and capture on film everything it has to offer. Lomographers have arguably seen it all—and by all we mean not just the beautiful vistas, but also those places that only the brave ones venture into. Here are but a few of them.

  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    1
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • A Talk With Bitbanger Labs: The Guys Behind the Pixelstick

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-01 in #people
    A Talk With Bitbanger Labs: The Guys Behind the Pixelstick

    Duncan Frazier and Stephen McGuigan are focused on creating niche technology that inspires. Founders of Bitbanger Labs, a Brooklyn-based outlet for their ideas, the two friends developed a revolutionary light painting device — Pixelstick. We talked to them to find out more about their work and about this unique and beautiful way to take photos!

  • Petzval Lomographer of The Week: spiritedly

    written by anamartaml on 2015-07-13 in #world #lifestyle
    Petzval Lomographer of The Week: spiritedly

    We continue with the selection of Lomographers that showed a fine use of the Petzval Lens on their photography. This time, our Petzval Lomogapher of the Week is spiritedly!

    2
  • Trending LomoKino Movies of October 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-10-31 in #world #news #videos
    Trending LomoKino Movies of October 2015

    Creating a movie, no matter how short it is, requires a certain amount of discipline. For it to be coherent, one must keep his focus throughout the entire process - from shooting the scenes to editing the clips. With that, we are truly grateful for the effort that these lomographers put into making these LomoKino movies.

    4