Weekend Album Review: Parallel Lines

Parallel Lines is the album that paved the way for the Blondie’s acceptance into mainstream, thanks to the irreverently catchy hooks that are evident through the lyrics and instrumentation.

Photo via sleevage

In tribute to Ms.Debbie Harry , who celebrated her birthday earlier this week, our handpicked album for this week’s Weekend Album Review is none other than Blondie’s third studio album, Parallel Lines.

THE COVER
We all have to admit that Ms. Harry’s star quality and smothering sex appeal were all instrumental in boosting the new wave post-punk pop rock band’s popularity, so it comes as a surprise that Blondie’s scowling yet gorgeous vocalist stands out in a strapped white dress while the guys wear goofy grins, matching black suits, and whatever footwear was available.

The black and white outfits against the black and white stripes create the illusion that the band’s members are fading in and out of the background.

THE TRACK LIST
1. Hanging on the Telephone
2. One Way or Another
3. Picture This
4. Fade Away and Radiate
5. Pretty Baby
6. I Know But I Don’t Know
7. 11:59
8. Will Anything Happen
9. Sunday Girl
10. Heart of Glass
11. I’m Gonna Love You Too
12. Just Go Away
13. Brick Red

THE ARTIST
Blondie was founded by Debbie Harry and guitarist Christ Stein in 1974. With Clem Burke on drums, Jimmiy Destri on keyboards and bassist Gary Valentine, they started out as a new wave and punk band in the mid-1970’s. Due to their strong punk and new wave musical influences which manifested in their music, Blondie was considered an underground band in the United States up until the release of Parallel Lines.

THE MUSIC
Parallel Lines was released in 1978 and is considered as the band’s biggest commercial breakthrough. It is also the album that paved the way for the band’s acceptance into mainstream, thanks to the irreverently catchy hooks that are evident through the lyrics and instrumentation.

The album starts on the right note with a cover of a Jack Lee song. ”Hanging on the Telephone” is the type of song that pumps up your adrenaline and makes you hanker for more. _”One Way or Another” is the perfect follow up and both punk-driven tunes can produce enough energy and aggression and to make you stomp while humming them for days.

It slows down with ”Fade Away and Radiate,” and then ”Pretty Baby” stirs a bit of excitement once again with touching lyrics personally written by Debbie Harry.

If I were to say that Blondie is sweeter the third album around, I would say that only upon listening to ”Sunday Girl.” The lyrics are sugary alright and for the first time, Harry deploys more cuteness instead of that edgy sexiness of hers. Don’t think they’d just melt to Carpenters mode though, because the guitar riffs will remind you that you are still listening to a rock ‘n roll band.

And then there’s “Heart of Glass,” the only disco track in the album that will make you——yes, believe it or not——dance. Well don’t expect to do the rhumba but do expect those hips and shoulders to sway from side to side.

Parallel Lines is a brave and very successful attempt at becoming a better sounding band. So yeah, the band doesn’t sound as angry or forceful as usual, but so what, the songs are pretty damn good anyway. It is a bundle of timeless tunes that even listeners of this generation would easily appreciate.

Trust me, this is an album worth listening to. Till next week’s Weekend Music Review!

Like this article? Read more from our Weekend Album Review series. You might also like our Put Your Headphones on Friday playlists!

written by jillytanrad on 2013-07-05 in #lifestyle #weekend-album-review #analogue-photography #music #debbie-harry #album-cover #blondie

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Top 5 Ways to Make Your Photos More Cinematic

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-13 in #world #lifestyle
    Top 5 Ways to Make Your Photos More Cinematic

    The auteurs and maestros of world cinema are lined up at Cannes 2015, and we are utterly inspired. Directorial flair makes still photographs move in that illusory, story-driven way. Are your lights and cameras ready for action?

    9
  • Hands-on Experience with the Lomo'Instant

    written by sanamiii on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    Hands-on Experience with the Lomo'Instant

    What I got is the Lomo'Instant Black Edition. Its texture and finish is quite simple, and could work as creative space for someone who's into DIY and decorations. In terms of form, it is very handy and acceptable in size. I also love the camera strap that makes it easy to carry.

    1
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • The Lomography Konstruktor F and the Konstruktor Flash Accessory Kit: Born to Be Together

    written by alienmeatsack on 2015-01-21 in #reviews
    The Lomography Konstruktor F and the Konstruktor Flash Accessory Kit: Born to Be Together

    The original Konstruktor is a fun camera to build and takes wonderful photos. But what would make it better? A way to add flash and even a few of your existing Lomography flashes into the mix, perhaps? Thank you, I’ll be having that.

    5
  • Take a Trip to Paris Photo in November with Shift and Lomography!

    written by efrost on 2014-10-09 in #competitions
    Take a Trip to Paris Photo in November with Shift and Lomography!

    Are you in need of a holiday? Then we have something spectacular for you from the Shift School of Photography and Lomography. With your photos you can win a four-day trip to Paris for a long weekend full of photography including a giant Lomography package! We want to see your best work displaying your travel destinations so we know that you can turn a weekend getaway into an artistic and educational trip!

    2
  • My First Lomo Affair: Waggrad00 and the Diana Mini

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-02 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Waggrad00 and the Diana Mini

    Who would've thought that a camera as petite as the Diana Mini can make such a big impact on Julia's life? This sweet camera helped rekindle her love for photography and paved the way for her to meet new friends. Read on to know more about waggrad00's first lomo affair with the Diana Mini!

    6
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-12 in #world #news #competitions
    Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    When it’s cold outside and the rain is pouring, it can be the perfect time to sit down and build something. Lomography UK has teamed up with Technology Will Save Us, a company that makes build-it-yourself electronic kits, to bring you the perfect DIY Rumble. Get the chance to win a Konstruktor camera and a DIY Instrument Kit. Read on for details on how to enter this fab competition.

    7
  • Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    written by edwinchau on 2015-03-25 in #world #events
    Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    Lomography Singapore plays host to Parallel Planets’ first exhibition, "Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition," featuring all-analog photography: a sea of black and white film portraits. This exhibition serves as a platform where both local and international photographers can express themselves by injecting individual perspectives into their craft. It also encourages viewers to look through the lens of the photographers, to see the subjects as who they are – flawed, alive, and breathing – and to also see beyond the façades we all choose to don.

    5
  • $750,000 Stretch Goal Announcement for the Lomography New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens!

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #gear #news
    $750,000 Stretch Goal Announcement for the Lomography New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens!

    Just five days into our latest Kickstarter campaign and we've easily hit three stretch goals, thanks to your overwhelming support. We're inching our way to the next one at $750,000, and if we hit this mark, we have another awesome reward in store for all our backers!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.

  • Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    written by ldelaurentiis on 2014-11-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    Going away for the weekend is always fun, especially if, like me, you live abroad and go back to visit your home city! For my walk through Milan, I decided to bring with me the Lomo’Instant because well, I just love it! Here are my thoughts after this special weekend!

  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.