Weekend Album Review: Parallel Lines

Parallel Lines is the album that paved the way for the Blondie’s acceptance into mainstream, thanks to the irreverently catchy hooks that are evident through the lyrics and instrumentation.

Photo via sleevage

In tribute to Ms.Debbie Harry , who celebrated her birthday earlier this week, our handpicked album for this week’s Weekend Album Review is none other than Blondie’s third studio album, Parallel Lines.

THE COVER
We all have to admit that Ms. Harry’s star quality and smothering sex appeal were all instrumental in boosting the new wave post-punk pop rock band’s popularity, so it comes as a surprise that Blondie’s scowling yet gorgeous vocalist stands out in a strapped white dress while the guys wear goofy grins, matching black suits, and whatever footwear was available.

The black and white outfits against the black and white stripes create the illusion that the band’s members are fading in and out of the background.

THE TRACK LIST
1. Hanging on the Telephone
2. One Way or Another
3. Picture This
4. Fade Away and Radiate
5. Pretty Baby
6. I Know But I Don’t Know
7. 11:59
8. Will Anything Happen
9. Sunday Girl
10. Heart of Glass
11. I’m Gonna Love You Too
12. Just Go Away
13. Brick Red

THE ARTIST
Blondie was founded by Debbie Harry and guitarist Christ Stein in 1974. With Clem Burke on drums, Jimmiy Destri on keyboards and bassist Gary Valentine, they started out as a new wave and punk band in the mid-1970’s. Due to their strong punk and new wave musical influences which manifested in their music, Blondie was considered an underground band in the United States up until the release of Parallel Lines.

THE MUSIC
Parallel Lines was released in 1978 and is considered as the band’s biggest commercial breakthrough. It is also the album that paved the way for the band’s acceptance into mainstream, thanks to the irreverently catchy hooks that are evident through the lyrics and instrumentation.

The album starts on the right note with a cover of a Jack Lee song. ”Hanging on the Telephone” is the type of song that pumps up your adrenaline and makes you hanker for more. _”One Way or Another” is the perfect follow up and both punk-driven tunes can produce enough energy and aggression and to make you stomp while humming them for days.

It slows down with ”Fade Away and Radiate,” and then ”Pretty Baby” stirs a bit of excitement once again with touching lyrics personally written by Debbie Harry.

If I were to say that Blondie is sweeter the third album around, I would say that only upon listening to ”Sunday Girl.” The lyrics are sugary alright and for the first time, Harry deploys more cuteness instead of that edgy sexiness of hers. Don’t think they’d just melt to Carpenters mode though, because the guitar riffs will remind you that you are still listening to a rock ‘n roll band.

And then there’s “Heart of Glass,” the only disco track in the album that will make you——yes, believe it or not——dance. Well don’t expect to do the rhumba but do expect those hips and shoulders to sway from side to side.

Parallel Lines is a brave and very successful attempt at becoming a better sounding band. So yeah, the band doesn’t sound as angry or forceful as usual, but so what, the songs are pretty damn good anyway. It is a bundle of timeless tunes that even listeners of this generation would easily appreciate.

Trust me, this is an album worth listening to. Till next week’s Weekend Music Review!

Like this article? Read more from our Weekend Album Review series. You might also like our Put Your Headphones on Friday playlists!

written by jillytanrad on 2013-07-05 in #lifestyle

More Interesting Articles

  • Hands-on Experience with the Lomo'Instant

    written by sanamiii on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    Hands-on Experience with the Lomo'Instant

    What I got is the Lomo'Instant Black Edition. Its texture and finish is quite simple, and could work as creative space for someone who's into DIY and decorations. In terms of form, it is very handy and acceptable in size. I also love the camera strap that makes it easy to carry.

    1
  • Most Popular LomoWalls of February 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-03-08 in #news
    Most Popular LomoWalls of February 2014

    Creating an album is not enough. To grab the Community's attention, you have to raise your game a notch. Experiment with that space you've been given. Collect and arrange your best photographs into LomoWalls and get someone hooked on your Homes!

    4
  • Lomography x Zenit New Petzval Lens Artist Interview: Sid Ceaser

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-03-12 in #people #lomoamigos
    Lomography x Zenit New Petzval Lens Artist Interview: Sid Ceaser

    Sid Ceaser is a portrait photographer who specializes in studio and location work for bands and musicians who are in need of images to use for publicity, press kit, cd/album artwork, and promotional purposes. His work is clean, crisp and compelling. Through this interview, he shares his experience with the Lomography x Zenit New Petzval Lens.

    1
  • Shop News

    Belair Camera

    Belair Camera

    Love medium format? This Belair baby will never fail you to satisfy your cravings for taking photographs in 120 format! Choose among the different variants of Belair cameras that will suit your tastes!

  • The Lomography Konstruktor F and the Konstruktor Flash Accessory Kit: Born to Be Together

    written by alienmeatsack on 2015-01-21 in #reviews
    The Lomography Konstruktor F and the Konstruktor Flash Accessory Kit: Born to Be Together

    The original Konstruktor is a fun camera to build and takes wonderful photos. But what would make it better? A way to add flash and even a few of your existing Lomography flashes into the mix, perhaps? Thank you, I’ll be having that.

    2
  • My First Lomo Affair: Waggrad00 and the Diana Mini

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-02 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Waggrad00 and the Diana Mini

    Who would've thought that a camera as petite as the Diana Mini can make such a big impact on Julia's life? This sweet camera helped rekindle her love for photography and paved the way for her to meet new friends. Read on to know more about waggrad00's first lomo affair with the Diana Mini!

    5
  • Take a Trip to Paris Photo in November with Shift and Lomography!

    written by efrost on 2014-10-09 in #competitions
    Take a Trip to Paris Photo in November with Shift and Lomography!

    Are you in need of a holiday? Then we have something spectacular for you from the Shift School of Photography and Lomography. With your photos you can win a four-day trip to Paris for a long weekend full of photography including a giant Lomography package! We want to see your best work displaying your travel destinations so we know that you can turn a weekend getaway into an artistic and educational trip!

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • PYHOF: The White Buffalo

    written by cheeo on 2014-03-28 in #lifestyle
    PYHOF: The White Buffalo

    This week’s PYHOF instalment is all about baritone vocals, deep-cutting lyrics and tunes that are so western that you’d feel like you need to dust off your shoulders since you got back from the saloon. Ladies and gents, presenting the White Buffalo.

  • Show Off the 'Teenage' in You Rumble Results

    written by ciaravesely on 2014-04-29 in #competitions

    It is after childhood but before becoming full-blown adults, that we go through that confusing, tumultuous stage of being teenagers. And we thank all of you who joined this competition, and for letting us see the teenager in you.

    5
  • Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-12 in #world #news #competitions
    Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    When it’s cold outside and the rain is pouring, it can be the perfect time to sit down and build something. Lomography UK has teamed up with Technology Will Save Us, a company that makes build-it-yourself electronic kits, to bring you the perfect DIY Rumble. Get the chance to win a Konstruktor camera and a DIY Instrument Kit. Read on for details on how to enter this fab competition.

    6
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Awesome Albums: Californication by samajo17

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-25 in #news
    Awesome Albums: Californication by samajo17

    You can tell that someone had a fun and memorable road trip just by looking at his or her travel photos, and today's awesome album is a testament to that! If you're not yet planning for a summer road trip, you sure will be after flipping through the photos you'll find after the jump!

  • Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    written by ldelaurentiis on 2014-11-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    Going away for the weekend is always fun, especially if, like me, you live abroad and go back to visit your home city! For my walk through Milan, I decided to bring with me the Lomo’Instant because well, I just love it! Here are my thoughts after this special weekend!

  • Back to School Soho Store Sale! This Weekend

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-23 in #events
    Back to School Soho Store Sale! This Weekend

    It sure is a mouthful but this weekend we are having a Back to School Soho Store Sale! Simply pop into the Soho Store from Thursday - Sunday and you can get a 30% discount on selected items. Read on for more information!