Lomography Supersampler - Staff Review

7

Lightweight and low-maintenance, the Supersampler is a four-lensed camera that takes four panels of panoramic images in one print.

One look at the quirky-looking Supersampler camera and you know that it’s capable of producing unique images. The plastic camera perfectly fits in your hand, with four beady lenses nestled in front. There is a ripcord at one end of the body, and a tiny button at the other.

So what does the Supersampler do? The 4 panoramic 20mm plastic lenses, at a push of the button, fire in succession to slice your subject in four panoramic panels. Best results if your subject is in hyperactive motion, or if you prefer to shoot non-moving objects, you can do the moving! Pictures can then be uploaded to Lomography.com, and then you can turn them into a mini-movie.

There are two speeds available – 4 photos in 2 seconds (.50sec/photo) or 4 photos in 0.2 seconds (.05sec/photo). There is no need to fuss with focus settings – it has a fixed focus of 0.3 meter (1’) to infinity. It uses all kinds of 35mm film, 100 ASA for bright outdoor shots, and a higher ASA (800) is recommended for all lighting conditions, because it doesn’t have any flash.

With its portability and convenience, the Supersampler makes a fun camera to use for spontaneous shooting.

written by shhquiet on 2008-07-17 in #reviews #35mm #staff #review #supersampler #lomography

7 Comments

  1. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    i cannot add images
    "error: server does not respond"

  2. atari_fear
    atari_fear ·

    me too.. hmm..

  3. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    my new favorite camera, supersampler forever!!!!

  4. weechonghooi
    weechonghooi ·

    it's my 1st lomo camera.. and those Supersampler shots presented many awards to me.. =)

  5. tiger--tiger
    tiger--tiger ·

    does the super sampler have a hot shoe? I've just bought myself one and was wondering if I can use my colour splash flash with it.

    any replies welcome.

  6. cruzron
    cruzron ·

    hola tiger! sorry but the supersampler doesnt have a hotshoe :)

  7. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Ooops... sorry, I forgot that I already uploaded these supersampler pics....! Sorry for the double upload... :((

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • How To Bring Your Images To Life

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-07-08 in #gear #tipster

    Learn how to make a minimovie out of your favorite picture! It works best with Multi-lensed cameras like the Oktomat or Pop9, where you have many images on one single print.

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Shop News

    La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack

    La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack

    The La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack allows you to take dynamic, wide-angled flash-infused photos on the go!

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    With your overwhelming support, we have run out of Belair Instant Backs! We'll restock it in April, but don't worry because the Belair Instant Camera is readily available to satisfy your instant cravings!

  • Storytelling with Petzvals: Alex Timmermans and the Art of Collodion

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-03 in #people #lifestyle
    Storytelling with Petzvals: Alex Timmermans and the Art of Collodion

    Not long after Alex Timmermans purchased his first digital camera at the turn of the century, he quickly realized the trappings of digital photography couldn't fulfill his personal photographic desires. He then began searching for a more challenging process — one that wasn't so predictable. His journey eventually landed him back at the roots of analogue photography, specifically employing the wet plate collodion process using original Petzval lenses. This antique photographic process found in him a renewed inspiration and has since become his passion, which is evident in both his words and his images.

    13
  • Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-04 in #gear #reviews
    Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    Raymond Wong of Mashable got his hands on the Lomo'Instant Camera. He experimented with Light Painting, Filtered Flash, and also dabbled with the lenses. Find out about the verdict after the jump!

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.