Redscaled Film Reviews: Sunny ISO 200 35mm Color Film! Now This is What I like to See

This film pleasantly surprised me when I redscaled it. It had the lighter and slightly washed out colours that I was looking for.

Credits: uncle_jay

Initially, I thought the result was due to my mistake in re-rolling it into a faster film canister rated at ISO 400. When I realised my mistake, I thought that the film will be further overexposed. But my local lab told me it really doesn’t matter as all C41 films have the same processing time. So this means that the film has the inherent qualities I was looking for in a film that I can redscale.

Credits: uncle_jay

I had no expectations when I redscaled this roll of Sunny 200 film. I loaded it into my Olympus XA3 and set it to ISO25. Tip: The Olympus XA3 will automatically set the ISO speed by reading the film’s DX code. To over ride this automatic feature, simply cover the film’s bar code with a post-it note. You can then set the film speed manually.

As it was the Chinese New Year holidays, I naturally chose the colour red as my Lomo walk theme.

Credits: uncle_jay

When I got back my photos I really thought I found the key to getting the type of redscale colours that I was looking for.

Credits: uncle_jay

The funny thing about this redcaled film is that most people I showed liked the results but did not realise that it was redscaled.

Credits: uncle_jay

I too wouldn’t have thought it was redscaled. It had the vintage look.

Credits: uncle_jay

I like this film redscaled. Unfortunately I only have a roll left in my film chest.

Credits: uncle_jay

See the album here

written by uncle_jay on 2013-07-06 in #reviews #iso-25 #sunny-200 #diy #singapore #redscaled-films-requested-posts-for-june-2013 #reviews #olympus-xa #test #redscale

More Interesting Articles

  • Playing with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-26 in #lifestyle
    Playing with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200

    What do I like most about the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 film, you ask? Its playful versatility.

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    written by guanatos on 2014-11-14 in #reviews
    Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    The beauty of this film is in how it changes the colors we see. We all know that the big changes happen to the color green, but what about the other colors? Read on to see what I found out!

    2
  • Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-08-13 in #gear #tipster
    Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    Do you love Lomography's Lomochrome Purple XR 100-400 film? Me too! So let's see what it does when we shoot it through an assortment of color filters. I tried to document everything well enough that others could replicate and experiment on their own. I hope you find it useful.

    10
  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Lomography X Das Salz der Erde Competition Winners

    written by petit_loir on 2015-04-27 in #people #competitions
    Lomography X Das Salz der Erde Competition Winners

    On the occasion of the German DVD release of Wim Wenders' latest documentary, "Das Salz der Erde (The Salt of the Earth)," on April 9, we asked you to send us your best black and white photographs. You have done your best and so making the decision was quite difficult. Read on to find out who will be celebrating with DVDs and piggies!

  • Swiss Identity in Pictures

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-27 in #world #lifestyle
    Swiss Identity in Pictures

    With the help of a camera, Igor Ponti searched far and wide to understand his Swiss roots. What he found out goes beyond delectable cheeses, silky chocolates and that world-famous white cross on red.

  • Photo of the Day by orangebird

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-27 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by orangebird

    We got a room for one more happy lomographer to join in this adorable portrait.