Redscaled Film Reviews: Sunny ISO 200 35mm Color Film! Now This is What I like to See

This film pleasantly surprised me when I redscaled it. It had the lighter and slightly washed out colours that I was looking for.

Credits: uncle_jay

Initially, I thought the result was due to my mistake in re-rolling it into a faster film canister rated at ISO 400. When I realised my mistake, I thought that the film will be further overexposed. But my local lab told me it really doesn’t matter as all C41 films have the same processing time. So this means that the film has the inherent qualities I was looking for in a film that I can redscale.

Credits: uncle_jay

I had no expectations when I redscaled this roll of Sunny 200 film. I loaded it into my Olympus XA3 and set it to ISO25. Tip: The Olympus XA3 will automatically set the ISO speed by reading the film’s DX code. To over ride this automatic feature, simply cover the film’s bar code with a post-it note. You can then set the film speed manually.

As it was the Chinese New Year holidays, I naturally chose the colour red as my Lomo walk theme.

Credits: uncle_jay

When I got back my photos I really thought I found the key to getting the type of redscale colours that I was looking for.

Credits: uncle_jay

The funny thing about this redcaled film is that most people I showed liked the results but did not realise that it was redscaled.

Credits: uncle_jay

I too wouldn’t have thought it was redscaled. It had the vintage look.

Credits: uncle_jay

I like this film redscaled. Unfortunately I only have a roll left in my film chest.

Credits: uncle_jay

See the album here

written by uncle_jay on 2013-07-06 in #reviews #redscale #iso-25 #olympus-xa #test #sunny-200 #diy #redscaled-films-requested-posts-for-june-2013 #singapore #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Playing with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-26 in #lifestyle
    Playing with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200

    What do I like most about the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 film, you ask? Its playful versatility.

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    written by guanatos on 2014-11-14 in #reviews
    Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    The beauty of this film is in how it changes the colors we see. We all know that the big changes happen to the color green, but what about the other colors? Read on to see what I found out!

    2
  • Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-08-13 in #gear #tipster
    Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    Do you love Lomography's Lomochrome Purple XR 100-400 film? Me too! So let's see what it does when we shoot it through an assortment of color filters. I tried to document everything well enough that others could replicate and experiment on their own. I hope you find it useful.

    10
  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • Shop News

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last day of the free camera deal today! Grab films now worth 99 EUR/USD/GBP and get your free Diana Mini or Diana F+ Love Letters for free!

  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Photo of the Day by alexlin

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-31 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by alexlin

    Spot the cat curled up tightly into a cute ball of fur.

    3
  • Shop News

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    An analogue camera inspired by Tara Mcpherson, A highly recommended gear for Lomography beginners and visual art lovers! With this edition see how Tara Mcpherson’s art joins the world of analogue cameras. Get it now for a special price!

  • Awesome Albums: LC-A+ x Redscale XR x Countryside by Bnjmn

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-31 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: LC-A+ x Redscale XR x Countryside by Bnjmn

    These redscale pictures make us imagine a darkroom out in the sunshine.

    2
  • Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition Winners!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-31 in #gear #news #competitions
    Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition Winners!

    In celebration of the mindblowing solar eclipse we had the other day, we ran a competition and asked you to tag your analogue photos centered around our great big yellow friend! Check out the winners now!

    2
  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-31 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the first of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

    2