My Review of the Lubitel 166+

The Lubitel 166+ is a good camera for those who want to try shooting medium format film. Read on more after this!

I remember the day when I received my Lubitel 166+. It was the first medium format camera that I ever bought. What drew me to it was its ability to shoot dual formats – either in 35mm (with sprockets) or in 120 film. Plus its lightweight but sturdy construction made it easy to carry around.

Being a twin lens camera, it would take a while in getting used to compose photos in the viewfinder. The images are mirrored meaning that the directions are reversed (up is down, left is right, etc.)

What’s included in the box?

  • Lubitel Camera
  • Lubikin Set (for 35mm film) plus masks
  • A Carrying Strap
  • 120 film
  • Cable Release
  • Camera Manual

When I bought the camera, it was bundled with a free Diana Flash Kit (plus adaptor) which fit perfectly on the Lubitel’s hotshoe.

I loaded a 120 film in it the first day I used it. Having been accustomed to point and shoot type of cameras, the first few rolls were underexposed. The Lubitel 166+ taught me to factor in light, aperture and shutter speeds into consideration. The manual controls forced me to think before I clicked the shutter.

The Lubitel 166+ also comes with a Lubikin Set to modify the camera to take in 35mm films. The Lubitel 166+ can expose around 22 – 23 frames with a regular 36-shot film negative. You can also turn the camera sideways to get horizontal shots.

Thanks for reading! :)

written by astilla on 2013-06-29 in #reviews #lubitel-166-mediumformat-mf-120-35mm-sprockets-astilla-review-camera

More Interesting Articles

  • Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-29 in #lifestyle
    Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    Stephan has more than 20 cameras in his collection but the Lubitel 166+ remains his favorite because of its versatility as a medium format camera. Read on why Stephan Kaps, aka mephisto19, regards the Lubitel 166+ as the perfect camera for his multiple exposure projects, portraiture, and other personal photography experiments in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

  • A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    written by reiga on 2015-01-07 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    For those of you who are still looking for good black and white film, you might want to try aerial film as it offers good contrast and tonality.

    2
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    Adi, Ekeu, and I did a lomowalk around downtown Bandung last Saturday, the beginning of November. We planned to use our Lubitel cameras with only one roll of film each. We were inspired by the One Roll of Film Project by four Tokyo-based photographers with their Hasselblad cameras. This is about the one roll of film I shot with the Lubitel 166U, which made me love shooting in medium format even more.

    8
  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • How to Use the Lubitel 166+

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-31 in #lifestyle
    How to Use the Lubitel 166+

    Whether you're a new Lubitel 166+ user or someone who already shoots with one and just wants to take a refresher on how to use it, this quick tutorial is for you!

    4
  • October Walks and Workshops

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-22 in #events
    October Walks and Workshops

    Lomography Gallery Store Soho has all the workshops you could ever want this October. Learn the basics of the Diana F+, shoot autumn colours with the Lubitel 166+, make your own redscale film, shoot creepy portraits with the Petzval lens and visit our One Must Dash Pop up store. Read on for a full line- up of events and details.

  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #lifestyle
    A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    In 1958 the great photographer Robert Frank took a series of images of New York's street life with a Leica camera from a bus window, as in these series of photos that I took in my city Como with my trusty Lomo LC-A loaded with a Kodak Tri-X film. This is a tribute to a great camera and to a great photographer! Read more after the jump!

  • The LC-A+ Goes to New York Fashion Week with Christopher Logan

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-09-19 in #people #lomoamigos
    The LC-A+ Goes to New York Fashion Week with Christopher Logan

    "When I picked up the Lomo LC-A for the first time. I was truly inspired," says Christopher Logan, who accepted the challenge to shoot NY Fashion week with the LC-A+ Camera. Read more of his experience after the jump and get to know why the LC-A+ is the perfect camera for fashion shows.