Rebranded Agfa APX: Agfa Silvertone (35mm, iso 100) User-Review

10

Cheap rebranded B&W film with lovely results. You must try this one!

Pictures shot with Konica Big Mini BM-201

I recently ordered a dozen rolls of this amazing film with my Piggy Points and it didn’t let me down! It is the Agfa Silvertone! I haven’t shot much with B&W film before and thought it would be nice to try out. I just got my film back from lab and the results were amazing!

With the ISO speed of 100 it needs more light that I was used to (a bit slow for winter in Finland) and the exposure times were long enough to make some blur on the pictures. But I think that just makes the pics more authentic-looking, and I really like that blurry vintage look! Perfect for portraits! And it’s amazing how cheap it is! Only 4€ per roll (36 exposures) or if you buy 10 it’s 2.50€ each. I’d say stop thinking and go for it!

The film has high contrast, huge tone range and deep blacks with very fine grain, and next thing to try is to process it by myself. I’ll let you know about the results!

written by torium on 2010-02-03 in #reviews #black-and-white #agfa #cheap #apx #silvertone #big-mini #film #torium #bargain

10 Comments

  1. moochie_lomo
    moochie_lomo ·

    I love this film! #2 is absolutely stunning. Great work!

  2. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    It really is quite a stunning film. Have fun with the rest of your rolls and good luck with the home developing; it's scary, but quite rewarding. Nice gallery.

  3. nural
    nural ·

    I absolutely loved 2 & 7!!!

  4. torium
    torium ·

    Thanks guys ! :-)

  5. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    I like this film, the photos turn out to be 'soft and smooth' :D

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    Fantastic shots !!!

  7. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    wow, this is some crisp black and white quality =)

  8. paramir
    paramir ·

    beautiful gallery, great review. I'm sure gonna try some of this stuff. thanks!

  9. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    are the 14 and 15 from a museum? which one?

  10. torium
    torium ·

    Thanks !
    @-a-l-b-e-r-t-o-Those are taken from Kiasma. There's a location written by annegreat. It's my favourite spot in the city! www.lomography.com/magazine/locations/2010/01/21/kiasma-mus…

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    written by kikifrenger on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    This film has fine grain, especially when cross-processed in C41. And if you use a Lomo camera, maybe the LC-A or the LC-Wide, the results will be more interesting with strong vignettes in your pictures!

    5
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Make Loading Your Horizon Camera Much Easier with This Simple Tip

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-12-10 in #gear #tipster
    Make Loading Your Horizon Camera Much Easier with This Simple Tip

    Do you love taking photos with your Horizon panoramic camera, but loading the film makes you crazy? Try this tipster to make your favorite Horizon or similar swing lens camera a joy to load and shoot.

    2
  • Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    written by shibuya on 2014-10-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    Sonia pushed the Petzval lens test one step further by shooting with expired black and white film. The results are amazing, and the grain gave life to these beautiful Petzval portraits! Learn more about this photographer and her love for films, and catch a glimpse of her photos, taken in romantic Paris.

  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • October Walks and Workshops

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-22 in #events
    October Walks and Workshops

    Lomography Gallery Store Soho has all the workshops you could ever want this October. Learn the basics of the Diana F+, shoot autumn colours with the Lubitel 166+, make your own redscale film, shoot creepy portraits with the Petzval lens and visit our One Must Dash Pop up store. Read on for a full line- up of events and details.

  • LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 is a regular color negative film which gives fantastic results. Color tones transform from one color spectrum to the next, and in turn, create wild and wonderful outcomes! Let this colorful gallery inspire you to try out our limited-edition film!

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13