Constructing the Konstruktor: Reviews and First Impressions

I told myself to wait. The next shipment of the Konstruktor camera would be in the Singapore Gallery Store in a couple of weeks, and I should just be patient. But looking at the laid out display of all the gears and parts did not help the temptation. Not only did I buy the display right then and there, I assembled it in the shop with my good lomo friend @kernlose. My reviews and initial impression of the Konstruktor assembly follow the jump! So much for patience...

Photos courtesy of Lomography Gallery Singapore

So right off, the Konstruktor looks too good to unpack. All the pieces of the camera are neatly packed and organized accented with the bright blue packaging and bold fonts. I like the labeled plastic holds all the small parts are kept in, which correspond with the labeled instructions in the guide book. This made the assembly much easier by keeping all the smaller parts in order and not confusing similar parts.

The hardest parts to assemble are probably the lens (I had a little fit with fitting two pieces together which led to a bloody thumb), the viewfinder, and just the gauges in the back of the camera. However the instructions are more picture than worded instruction, making the process easier.

One complaint though was the stiffness of the parts. It can’t be helped being that the camera and its plastic parts are brand new. However like what happened to my thumb you may experience some blood loss in the fingers during the process. Always take care! Once you get all the main components (lens, viewfinder, and gears in the back) are all assembled, the process gets easier. You edge closer and closer to the completion of your DIY camera and the excitement builds!

Careful with putting together the B and N mode, its more complicated than you think! You have to hold together the lever in the front and an entire back piece while you screw in the screws to hold it together. Even when you are done with the camera make sure the shutter speed matches the speed displayed on the camera.

When you finally attach the lens to the completed body of the camera you feel mixed emotions of happiness, relief, and excitement. I do like the leather designs that were included, but I do wish that there was a bit more originality in the sticker designs included. But there is no stopping you from creating your own customizations. Personally I put white leather on the front and red leather on the back. I put on little red dots on the shutter button and the N and B switch. Pretty basic but I am looking for inspiration to strike and to continue with the customization. The camera is small and light. It is fun just to look through the mirror and experiment with the camera. The film advancing counter is surprisingly easy to use and most often than not accurate.

Stay tuned for the test roll and sample photos!

The Konstruktor is the world’s first Do-It-Yourself 35mm SLR camera. With it, you can easily build your very own camera from scratch. It’s the perfect tool for having fun whilst learning the exciting mechanics behind how analogue photography works. Get yours from the Online Shop or Lomography Gallery Stores Worldwide. Find out more about the camera on the Konstruktor Site.

written by abigail0605 on 2013-07-02 in #reviews #new #konstruktor #diy #assembly #first #impression #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomo'Instant: How to Make Instant Connections

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle

    Before moving to New York City, I was told that people keep to themselves. Thus, I set forth to put myself out there and create connections with the people in my community, using the Lomo'Instant as an icebreaker! I was proven wrong—if you show an ounce of kindness to anyone, they will overflow in return.

  • Il Giardino dei Tarrochi: A Lomographer’s Delight

    written by Sophia Schmitz on 2015-04-08 in #world #locations
    Il Giardino dei Tarrochi: A Lomographer’s Delight

    Of course, Italy makes a great destination for taking photos. But what if there was a place where you could find stunning motifs, impressive colors, and the ideal mixture of nature and arts all at once? What if I told you that there is a place like that: a garden full of art in the middle of nowhere?

    1
  • My Day in Analogue: Lazy Summer Days at Home

    written by jokelangens on 2014-08-27 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Lazy Summer Days at Home

    Every summer, my soul screams for a lazy, hot day back at my parents' home, for some good food, relaxation, and catching up with childhood friends. This year is no different, so I went back down to my small hometown in the very northeast of Belgium to enjoy a perfect laid back day doing nothing and everything. And of course, I brought my analogue cameras along to eternalize all of these small but grand moments in life.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Pushing Boundaries: So I Heard You Like Multiple Exposures

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-11 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: So I Heard You Like Multiple Exposures

    My name is Amber Valentine and I have a confession to make: I’m not really a photographer. I have a website full of photographs, a bookshelf full of cameras, film waiting to be developed, and a wall full of framed pictures I’ve taken. Even so, I don’t really consider myself a photographer per se. I think that Lomography is more about the experimentation and the fun of film than it is about the photography, and that experimentation is part of the reason I have embraced Lomography so.

    3
  • New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by zonderbar on 2014-11-11 in #reviews
    New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    Two years ago I swore to myself, I'll be coming back soon!" This October my chance finally came and I flew for the second time to New York City to visit my dear colleagues in the Lomography Gallery Store New York. What I didn’t see coming, though, is the opportunity to test a new secret film during my trip.

  • Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-07-16 in #people #lifestyle #locations #events
    Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    Made in Heights is at it again. In May 2015, Alexei Saba Mohajerjasbi and Kelsey Bulkin released their album "Without My Enemy What Would I Do." This album tests the boundaries of genre by pulling from all forms of music to create a paradigm shift of preconceived notions.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-12-10 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    The people of a city, to me, speak volumes about its culture and sense of community. And that is why I sought out the people who make Denver that much more interesting after the initial period of settling down. My search lead to a few establishments that have contributed to making Denver what it is today. In the second story on Transient Living, I present to you two of such establishments: The Craftsman & Apprentice, and A Small Print Shop.

    2
  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    written by billseye on 2015-05-11 in #gear #reviews
    Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    Though I am not a professional, photography is in my genes. My father was a photographer and technician in the Air Force and accumulated a number of cameras during his life. This is a story about one of those cameras, a Yashica 635 TLR. I brought the camera—after being in storage for about 55 years—back to life with a roll of Portra 160 during the golden hour at Bellevue Botanical Gardens in Washington.

    4
  • How to Make Special Aperture Plates for Your Petzval Lens, Halloween Edition

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-29 in #gear #tipster
    How to Make Special Aperture Plates for Your Petzval Lens, Halloween Edition

    Halloween fever is in full swing. Everything ghostly, scary or freakishly extraordinary are either on display or being spoken of in hushed voices through spine-chilling tales. Apart from wearing the scariest costumes and taking photos of of your petrifying selves, why not amplify the Halloween spirit a notch higher by using Halloween-themed aperture plates with the New Petzval Lens? Here's a quick tipster that'll teach you how to make special aperture plates and make the most out of them this Halloween!

  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!