Constructing the Konstruktor: Reviews and First Impressions

I told myself to wait. The next shipment of the Konstruktor camera would be in the Singapore Gallery Store in a couple of weeks, and I should just be patient. But looking at the laid out display of all the gears and parts did not help the temptation. Not only did I buy the display right then and there, I assembled it in the shop with my good lomo friend @kernlose. My reviews and initial impression of the Konstruktor assembly follow the jump! So much for patience...

Photos courtesy of Lomography Gallery Singapore

So right off, the Konstruktor looks too good to unpack. All the pieces of the camera are neatly packed and organized accented with the bright blue packaging and bold fonts. I like the labeled plastic holds all the small parts are kept in, which correspond with the labeled instructions in the guide book. This made the assembly much easier by keeping all the smaller parts in order and not confusing similar parts.

The hardest parts to assemble are probably the lens (I had a little fit with fitting two pieces together which led to a bloody thumb), the viewfinder, and just the gauges in the back of the camera. However the instructions are more picture than worded instruction, making the process easier.

One complaint though was the stiffness of the parts. It can’t be helped being that the camera and its plastic parts are brand new. However like what happened to my thumb you may experience some blood loss in the fingers during the process. Always take care! Once you get all the main components (lens, viewfinder, and gears in the back) are all assembled, the process gets easier. You edge closer and closer to the completion of your DIY camera and the excitement builds!

Careful with putting together the B and N mode, its more complicated than you think! You have to hold together the lever in the front and an entire back piece while you screw in the screws to hold it together. Even when you are done with the camera make sure the shutter speed matches the speed displayed on the camera.

When you finally attach the lens to the completed body of the camera you feel mixed emotions of happiness, relief, and excitement. I do like the leather designs that were included, but I do wish that there was a bit more originality in the sticker designs included. But there is no stopping you from creating your own customizations. Personally I put white leather on the front and red leather on the back. I put on little red dots on the shutter button and the N and B switch. Pretty basic but I am looking for inspiration to strike and to continue with the customization. The camera is small and light. It is fun just to look through the mirror and experiment with the camera. The film advancing counter is surprisingly easy to use and most often than not accurate.

Stay tuned for the test roll and sample photos!

The Konstruktor is the world’s first Do-It-Yourself 35mm SLR camera. With it, you can easily build your very own camera from scratch. It’s the perfect tool for having fun whilst learning the exciting mechanics behind how analogue photography works. Get yours from the Online Shop or Lomography Gallery Stores Worldwide. Find out more about the camera on the Konstruktor Site.

written by abigail0605 on 2013-07-02 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomo'Instant: How to Make Instant Connections

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle

    Before moving to New York City, I was told that people keep to themselves. Thus, I set forth to put myself out there and create connections with the people in my community, using the Lomo'Instant as an icebreaker! I was proven wrong—if you show an ounce of kindness to anyone, they will overflow in return.

  • My Day in Analogue: Lazy Summer Days at Home

    written by jokelangens on 2014-08-27 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Lazy Summer Days at Home

    Every summer, my soul screams for a lazy, hot day back at my parents' home, for some good food, relaxation, and catching up with childhood friends. This year is no different, so I went back down to my small hometown in the very northeast of Belgium to enjoy a perfect laid back day doing nothing and everything. And of course, I brought my analogue cameras along to eternalize all of these small but grand moments in life.

  • New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by zonderbar on 2014-11-11 in #reviews
    New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    Two years ago I swore to myself, I'll be coming back soon!" This October my chance finally came and I flew for the second time to New York City to visit my dear colleagues in the Lomography Gallery Store New York. What I didn’t see coming, though, is the opportunity to test a new secret film during my trip.

  • Shop News

    Build your own analog SLR Camera!

    Build your own analog SLR Camera!

    With a list of fine accessories it´s not only fun to build but also great to shoot with! Check out the enhanced, flash compatible version now!

  • The LomoChrome Purple and How Its Colors Convinced Me in the End

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-07-29 in #reviews
    The LomoChrome Purple and How Its Colors Convinced Me in the End

    I wasn't very impressed when the LomoChrome Purple was first released. At least not so much that I wanted to get my hands on it at once. Of course I liked some pictures but eventually, I wanted to test it and what can I say? It was love at first sight!

    8
  • Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-12-10 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    The people of a city, to me, speak volumes about its culture and sense of community. And that is why I sought out the people who make Denver that much more interesting after the initial period of settling down. My search lead to a few establishments that have contributed to making Denver what it is today. In the second story on Transient Living, I present to you two of such establishments: The Craftsman & Apprentice, and A Small Print Shop.

    2
  • Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    written by neonlights on 2014-07-30 in #gear #tipster
    Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    I want to share with you my experience with some slides when I was in Russia. I'm very sorry for them because I messed them up. They're just ruined and they'll never be the same! But hey, I have thousands of them, so I guess it's not a big deal after all.

    4
  • Shop News

    Zap up your Diana F+ with a Crisp Glass Lens!

    Zap up your Diana F+ with a Crisp Glass Lens!

    Thought you can’t get sharp photos with the Diana F+? Think again! With the Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens, you can shoot crisp and clear images with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana. With our Adaptors you can even make it work on your Nikon & Canon dSLR!

  • How Street Photography is Forcing My Eyes Open

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-14 in #lifestyle
    How Street Photography is Forcing My Eyes Open

    While I have been making attempts to do some street photography in the past two years, I must confess that I've let my introverted side take over countless times, resulting in half-baked (and sometimes half-hearted) snaps. However, once I started letting go of my inhibitions and just immerse myself in the task and experience, I found that street photography forcing my eyes open on so many things.

  • Pentax Auto 110: the undisputed master of 110 photography!

    written by sandravo on 2014-03-19 in #reviews
    Pentax Auto 110: the undisputed master of 110 photography!

    Being an addict of large and spacious 6x6 negatives on 120 film, I never would have thought I'd own a 110 camera someday. But when I came across the Pentax Auto 110 on an auction site, it was just too darn cute not to buy it. So I placed a bid, won the auction, and am now the proud owner of the tiniest SLR ever made!

    2
  • Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    written by dermanu on 2014-03-19 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    Just recently I asked myself why I would want to write about a film like the Fuji Instax Mini, because usually this film is the only one available for Fuji Instax cameras. But then it hit me! It can be an alternative to many other instant films, since I can load almost any film into my Diana F+, other medium and 135 format cameras, and of course the Fuji Instax Mini.

  • Shop News

    Take photos in 3 different formats with the sleek limited edition Belair X 6-12 Trailblazer!

    Take photos in 3 different formats with the sleek limited edition Belair X 6-12 Trailblazer!

    The expansive 6x12 format allows you to capture a vast space that makes for jaw-dropping photos; whether landscape, portrait or anything else you feel like shooting. Wait there’s more; the Belair X 6-12 can also shoot in both square 6x6 and regular 6x9 formats. So whatever shape you’re in, the Belair X 6-12 is ready to match you!

  • How to Make Special Aperture Plates for Your Petzval Lens, Halloween Edition

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-29 in #gear #tipster
    How to Make Special Aperture Plates for Your Petzval Lens, Halloween Edition

    Halloween fever is in full swing. Everything ghostly, scary or freakishly extraordinary are either on display or being spoken of in hushed voices through spine-chilling tales. Apart from wearing the scariest costumes and taking photos of of your petrifying selves, why not amplify the Halloween spirit a notch higher by using Halloween-themed aperture plates with the New Petzval Lens? Here's a quick tipster that'll teach you how to make special aperture plates and make the most out of them this Halloween!

  • Fresh from My Darkroom: Yoga for Africa!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-16 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: Yoga for Africa!

    Last Sunday, a great yoga event was held in Cernobbio, a small tourist town near the city of Como. Local association Breathe Como made a performance of power yoga exercises to raise funds for Africa. I developed the film a few days ago, and today I'll show the photos to you! I call this "Fresh From My Darkroom" because I developed the black and white films by myself! Take a look!

  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!