Constructing the Konstruktor: Reviews and First Impressions

I told myself to wait. The next shipment of the Konstruktor camera would be in the Singapore Gallery Store in a couple of weeks, and I should just be patient. But looking at the laid out display of all the gears and parts did not help the temptation. Not only did I buy the display right then and there, I assembled it in the shop with my good lomo friend @kernlose. My reviews and initial impression of the Konstruktor assembly follow the jump! So much for patience...

Photos courtesy of Lomography Gallery Singapore

So right off, the Konstruktor looks too good to unpack. All the pieces of the camera are neatly packed and organized accented with the bright blue packaging and bold fonts. I like the labeled plastic holds all the small parts are kept in, which correspond with the labeled instructions in the guide book. This made the assembly much easier by keeping all the smaller parts in order and not confusing similar parts.

The hardest parts to assemble are probably the lens (I had a little fit with fitting two pieces together which led to a bloody thumb), the viewfinder, and just the gauges in the back of the camera. However the instructions are more picture than worded instruction, making the process easier.

One complaint though was the stiffness of the parts. It can’t be helped being that the camera and its plastic parts are brand new. However like what happened to my thumb you may experience some blood loss in the fingers during the process. Always take care! Once you get all the main components (lens, viewfinder, and gears in the back) are all assembled, the process gets easier. You edge closer and closer to the completion of your DIY camera and the excitement builds!

Careful with putting together the B and N mode, its more complicated than you think! You have to hold together the lever in the front and an entire back piece while you screw in the screws to hold it together. Even when you are done with the camera make sure the shutter speed matches the speed displayed on the camera.

When you finally attach the lens to the completed body of the camera you feel mixed emotions of happiness, relief, and excitement. I do like the leather designs that were included, but I do wish that there was a bit more originality in the sticker designs included. But there is no stopping you from creating your own customizations. Personally I put white leather on the front and red leather on the back. I put on little red dots on the shutter button and the N and B switch. Pretty basic but I am looking for inspiration to strike and to continue with the customization. The camera is small and light. It is fun just to look through the mirror and experiment with the camera. The film advancing counter is surprisingly easy to use and most often than not accurate.

Stay tuned for the test roll and sample photos!

The Konstruktor is the world’s first Do-It-Yourself 35mm SLR camera. With it, you can easily build your very own camera from scratch. It’s the perfect tool for having fun whilst learning the exciting mechanics behind how analogue photography works. Get yours from the Online Shop or Lomography Gallery Stores Worldwide. Find out more about the camera on the Konstruktor Site.

written by abigail0605 on 2013-07-02 in #reviews #konstruktor #assembly #first #impression #diy #new #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Day Trips: Hangzhou, Zheijang, China

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-08-10 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Hangzhou, Zheijang, China

    Located in the Zhejiang province, Hangzhou is known as one of the most beautiful cities in China. I went there following my aunt’s advice. She studied calligraphy in Hangzhou Arts University (杭州美术大学) and told me, "When I sat by the lake, I just understood Chinese painters. They painted what they see, not less."

  • Il Giardino dei Tarrochi: A Lomographer’s Delight

    written by Sophia Schmitz on 2015-04-08 in #world #locations
    Il Giardino dei Tarrochi: A Lomographer’s Delight

    Of course, Italy makes a great destination for taking photos. But what if there was a place where you could find stunning motifs, impressive colors, and the ideal mixture of nature and arts all at once? What if I told you that there is a place like that: a garden full of art in the middle of nowhere?

  • Pushing Boundaries: So I Heard You Like Multiple Exposures

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-11 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: So I Heard You Like Multiple Exposures

    My name is Amber Valentine and I have a confession to make: I’m not really a photographer. I have a website full of photographs, a bookshelf full of cameras, film waiting to be developed, and a wall full of framed pictures I’ve taken. Even so, I don’t really consider myself a photographer per se. I think that Lomography is more about the experimentation and the fun of film than it is about the photography, and that experimentation is part of the reason I have embraced Lomography so.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Doug DuBois on My Last Day at Seventeen

    written by anamartaml on 2015-09-15 in #people #lifestyle
    Doug DuBois on My Last Day at Seventeen

    Doug DuBois spent five summers photographing the small neighborhood of Russell Heights in Ireland to capture the essence of coming of age: the inevitable loss of youth and the imminent transition into adulthood. Those four years resulted in his latest book, My Last Day At Seventeen. The book is a visual tale told through a collection of photographs and gives an alternative perspective through a comic narrative around the same subject. This creative combination of two distinct narratives in one book not only works wonderfully in visual terms; it also serves as an essential tool that lets the reader dig deeper into the story being told, making one go back to the book over and over again, yet from a new perspective, every single time.

  • Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-07-16 in #people #lifestyle #locations #events
    Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    Made in Heights is at it again. In May 2015, Alexei Saba Mohajerjasbi and Kelsey Bulkin released their album "Without My Enemy What Would I Do." This album tests the boundaries of genre by pulling from all forms of music to create a paradigm shift of preconceived notions.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-12-10 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: The Craft and the Craftsmen of Denver, Colorado

    The people of a city, to me, speak volumes about its culture and sense of community. And that is why I sought out the people who make Denver that much more interesting after the initial period of settling down. My search lead to a few establishments that have contributed to making Denver what it is today. In the second story on Transient Living, I present to you two of such establishments: The Craftsman & Apprentice, and A Small Print Shop.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-08-05 in #gear #tipster
    12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    My 2015 resolution is to do 12 photography projects, one for every month. In July, I tried freelensing or unscrewing the lens from my SLR and holding it in front of the camera body. By tilting the lens slightly I was able to change the focus. For this experiment, I used my Konstruktor and Olympus OM-1.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    written by billseye on 2015-05-11 in #gear #reviews
    Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    Though I am not a professional, photography is in my genes. My father was a photographer and technician in the Air Force and accumulated a number of cameras during his life. This is a story about one of those cameras, a Yashica 635 TLR. I brought the camera—after being in storage for about 55 years—back to life with a roll of Portra 160 during the golden hour at Bellevue Botanical Gardens in Washington.

  • My New York City Bike Ride Through Purple Eyes

    written by cecilialeitinger on 2015-08-14 in #world #news
    My New York City Bike Ride Through Purple Eyes

    What do you do when you don't have much time in a city like New York but you want to see everything, feel the vibe and be part of the community, even for a short time? Jump on a bike and enjoy what trains, buses and cabs can never give you: be part of the city. Take a camera with you to capture the moments and sights you don't want to forget. I did this with my LC-A 120 and LomoChrome Purple film.

  • Lomo'Instant + Splitzer: The Duo at Their Peak!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-30 in #gear #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant + Splitzer: The Duo at Their Peak!

    With a Lomo'Instant Camera and a Splitzer, you can get absolutely funny and creative images. I took it to the highest level and exposed my shots from 4 to 8 times! What you'll see next is an impressive mix of colors, textures, places and people captured in a very surreal way!