Lomography LC-Wide: Initial Review

The Lomography LC-Wide has been on my radar and wishlist for the last couple of years. In this article, I give you a quick review and my first impressions about my new favourite 35 mm camera.

Credits: amytam

My infatuation for wide angle shots are evident in my choices of cameras (i.e. Belair 6-12, Spinner 360, and Sprocket Rocket) and I have wanted to add the Lomography LC-Wide into my growing camera collection for some time now. So at the beginning of the year, I finally made the jump (with the help of my piggies and a 20% coupon code) and made this baby my own.

The Lomography LC-Wide, introduced in 2011, is a take on the original LC-A but with a 17 mm Minigon 1 ultra wide angle lens. This handy little camera measures 108 × 68 × 44.5 mm and weighs 220 grams. The aperture can go up to a maximum of 1:4.5 and the shutter speed, up to 1/500.

The first thing I notied when I received the camera via the Lomography shop is the lovely packaging. The camera comes nicely packed in a beautiful wooden box with its accompanying book filled with stunning photographs taken by other Lomographers with the LC-Wide. It also comes with a wrist strap, shutter release cord and batteries.

Credits: amytam

The camera is relatively easy to use. It has a built in light sensor (hence the batteries), and takes the guess work out of exposure timing and fiddling around with shutter speeds, you just need to set the ISO/ASA setting via the little reel in front of the camera and the camera sets the shutter speed. I love this feature, as I am notorious in forgetting to adjust the shutter speed and am prone to taking photos that are underexposed.

Credits: amytam

My First Impressions:

  • I’ve put a few rolls through this camera (both slide and colour negative) and I’m already loving the results. You can get stunning vignetting where the corners darken and the zone focusing (0.4 to 0.9 and 0.9 to infinity) makes focusing a breeze! All you need to remember is that the lever up is close up and lever down is everything else.
  • The switch for multiple exposure can be found in the bottom of the camera, and you are just a click away from multiple exposures. You can go double, triple or as many times as you want!
  • Unlike my other plastic cameras that take 35mm film, this camera gives me decent control over my shots and is light enough for me to travel with. I’m planning to take this camera with me when I head over to Europe for a month!

Credits: amytam

Keen to Try:

  • This camera has a half/full frame function, meaning that you can save your film and take 72 shots on a single 36 exposure roll or you can be crafty and have some insane overlapping shots. All you need to do is shoot at half frame without inserting the HF plastic frame in the film chamber!
  • My next purchase will be the Instant Back. Mixing instant photography with the cool vignetted wide angle shots would be amazing! I’m also eyeing the Splitzer so I can splice and dice my images :)
  • Square format can also be achieved with this nifty LC-Wide. All you need is to insert a plastic frame in the film chamber (just like the half frame) and you can get square images, because we all know that it’s hip to be square :P

written by amytam on 2013-06-20 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    written by wesco on 2014-11-27 in #reviews
    The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    My brother purchased the new Petzal lens by Lomography and Zenit through the Kickstarter campaign. Last spring, I was able to borrow it for a few weeks. Read on to find out my first impressions of this portrait lens!

    1
  • Italian food by Lomography X-Pro Slide 200

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-26 in #reviews
    Italian food by Lomography X-Pro Slide 200

    On a sunny April Sunday, I decided to load a Lomography X-Pro Slide 200 on my new Lomo LC-A+; both bought few weeks ago from the Lomography Online Shop to take some photos of some Italian food stalls in the center of my city, Como. Here my first impressions about this interesting film.

  • Perfect Combination: Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Kodak BW400 CN

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2014-03-17 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Kodak BW400 CN

    Let it be known: this pairing has to do with love at first click, at the first roll of film, at the first prints. My newest toy, the Yashica Electro 35 GSN, combined with my favorite black and white film, Kodak BW400 CN: this is definitely going to be a long-lasting love.

    2
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Flashing Lights: Taking Photos of Artificial Light Installations with my LC-A+ and Fisheye No. 2

    written by vanfrancis on 2014-03-12 in #lifestyle
    Flashing Lights: Taking Photos of Artificial Light Installations with my LC-A+ and Fisheye No. 2

    My two passions are art and photography. For my first article about art on the Lomography magazine, I decided to visit "The Light Show" exhibition at the Hayward Gallery. I aimed to take as many creative photos of light installations as I can with my Lomo LC-A+ and Fisheye No. 2.

  • Photographer Who Shot Controversial Image in True Detective Opening Credits is a Lomo Community Member (NSFW)

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-02-05 in #people #lifestyle
    Photographer Who Shot Controversial Image in True Detective Opening Credits is a Lomo Community Member (NSFW)

    Last year, news and entertainment portals were abuzz over the rumor that porn-star-turned-DJ Sasha Grey’s image had been used for the opening credits of the hit HBO original series "True Detective." The photographer who took the said photo is Derek Woods, who also happens to be a member of the Lomography community. Woods' ongoing project is "365 Days of Lomography," a year-long initiative that will chronicle the controversial photographer's daily exploits with Lomography cameras.

    2
  • What Tech Websites Are Saying About the Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-29 in #news
    What Tech Websites Are Saying About the Lomo'Instant Camera

    It's only been a couple of days since Lomography launched its first dedicated instant camera via Kickstarter, but it seems to have already caused quite a stir not only here in the community but in other websites as well. See what the press is saying about the new Lomo'Instant camera in this first of two parts of our press recaps!

  • Shop News

    A Very Special Portrait Lens

    A Very Special Portrait Lens

    Photos shot with a New Petzval lens are immediately recognizable for their super-sharp focus areas and wonderful swirly bokeh effect. Each New Petzval lens is crafted from brass (just like the original Petzval lens) and features premium glass optics. Together with Lomography, the lenses have been designed and constructed by a team of optics specialists at the Zenit factory in Russia. Zenit are master lens manufacturers and have the skill to build the Petzval lens for use with today’s SLR cameras.

  • Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-16 in #news
    Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    Recently, we’ve been digging through all our LC-A 120 negatives from when we first started testing the new camera. During this search, we had our very own finding Vivian Maier moment when we unearthed a bunch of photos shot by the super-talented dopic whilst he was on vacation in Japan last year. We totally love these shots and couldn’t resist sharing them with you!

    2
  • Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-19 in #lifestyle
    Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    Lomography has previously shown you the kind of shots that one could take with the new Lomo LC-A 120. Now, with the first batch already shipped out and arriving to their lucky owners, it's the community's turn to show everyone what they've been shooting with this awesome camera!

    7
  • Lomo'Instant First Impressions: mamablue

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant First Impressions: mamablue

    Mamablue has been shooting with her two Polaroid cameras for years. She's no stranger to instant photography but the Lomo'Instant camera challenged her to get even more creative. Have a look at her first Lomo'Instant snapshots and her quick tip on using the camera's close-up feature.

    2
  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • Campfire's Koh Degawa shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by choko3 on 2014-07-02 in #lifestyle
    Campfire's Koh Degawa shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Lomography Japan has been working with CAMPFIRE, one of the country's largest crowdfunding services. In the past year, we have launched three successful projects such as the campaigns for the Lomography Smartphone Scanner, Petzval Lens and the Lomo’Instant, and Campfire has been helping us reach out to our supporters in Japan. Koh, Campfire's Senior Project Manager, has been involved in all three. Also a lomographer,she is no stranger to our products and has even shot with the new Petzval Lens.

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    written by dermanu on 2014-08-31 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand located at the Danish west coast with my brothers and my parents. However, I didn't anymore when I grew up. But in 2012, we hit the road again. It was my first visit there in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In this article, I'm going to present to you the photos I took with my Nikon F-501 SLR.