Lomography LC-Wide: Initial Review

The Lomography LC-Wide has been on my radar and wishlist for the last couple of years. In this article, I give you a quick review and my first impressions about my new favourite 35 mm camera.

Credits: amytam

My infatuation for wide angle shots are evident in my choices of cameras (i.e. Belair 6-12, Spinner 360, and Sprocket Rocket) and I have wanted to add the Lomography LC-Wide into my growing camera collection for some time now. So at the beginning of the year, I finally made the jump (with the help of my piggies and a 20% coupon code) and made this baby my own.

The Lomography LC-Wide, introduced in 2011, is a take on the original LC-A but with a 17 mm Minigon 1 ultra wide angle lens. This handy little camera measures 108 × 68 × 44.5 mm and weighs 220 grams. The aperture can go up to a maximum of 1:4.5 and the shutter speed, up to 1/500.

The first thing I notied when I received the camera via the Lomography shop is the lovely packaging. The camera comes nicely packed in a beautiful wooden box with its accompanying book filled with stunning photographs taken by other Lomographers with the LC-Wide. It also comes with a wrist strap, shutter release cord and batteries.

Credits: amytam

The camera is relatively easy to use. It has a built in light sensor (hence the batteries), and takes the guess work out of exposure timing and fiddling around with shutter speeds, you just need to set the ISO/ASA setting via the little reel in front of the camera and the camera sets the shutter speed. I love this feature, as I am notorious in forgetting to adjust the shutter speed and am prone to taking photos that are underexposed.

Credits: amytam

My First Impressions:

  • I’ve put a few rolls through this camera (both slide and colour negative) and I’m already loving the results. You can get stunning vignetting where the corners darken and the zone focusing (0.4 to 0.9 and 0.9 to infinity) makes focusing a breeze! All you need to remember is that the lever up is close up and lever down is everything else.
  • The switch for multiple exposure can be found in the bottom of the camera, and you are just a click away from multiple exposures. You can go double, triple or as many times as you want!
  • Unlike my other plastic cameras that take 35mm film, this camera gives me decent control over my shots and is light enough for me to travel with. I’m planning to take this camera with me when I head over to Europe for a month!
Credits: amytam

Keen to Try:

  • This camera has a half/full frame function, meaning that you can save your film and take 72 shots on a single 36 exposure roll or you can be crafty and have some insane overlapping shots. All you need to do is shoot at half frame without inserting the HF plastic frame in the film chamber!
  • My next purchase will be the Instant Back. Mixing instant photography with the cool vignetted wide angle shots would be amazing! I’m also eyeing the Splitzer so I can splice and dice my images :)
  • Square format can also be achieved with this nifty LC-Wide. All you need is to insert a plastic frame in the film chamber (just like the half frame) and you can get square images, because we all know that it’s hip to be square :P

written by amytam on 2013-06-20 in #reviews #vignetting #lomography #wide-angle #review #lc-wide #favourite

Mentioned Product

Lomo LC-Wide

Lomo LC-Wide

Capture your life in wide angle with the world's widest 35mm compact camera with a 17mm ultra-wide-angle lens.

More Interesting Articles

  • Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-11-15 in #world #news
    Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2015

    2015 has been another amazing year for Lomography and we wouldn’t have done it without your continuous love and support. Allow us to return the favor, our dear lomographer, by making your Christmas wish come true!

    201
  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Jmcedo and his LC-A+

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-13 in #world #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Jmcedo and his LC-A+

    Joan Manel Cedó is an avid fan of extreme sports. He has been a rock climber for two decades and has also gained interest in kitesurfing over the years. In both sports, he tries to incorporate his passion for photography. In this instalment of My First Lomo Affair, he talks about how he chance upon the carefree style of shooting with the LC-A+ and all the adventures that followed this discovery.

    2
  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    5
  • Lomography X V&A: A Paul Strand Competition

    written by Lomography London on 2016-02-10 in #world #competitions
    Lomography X V&A: A Paul Strand Competition

    Lomography has teamed up with the Victoria and Albert Museum, London to give you the chance to win tickets to see “Paul Strand: Photography and Film for the 20th Century,” the first retrospective of this highly influential photographer in over 30 years. You can also win a Henry Carroll Book and a Lomo’instant Wide.

    8
  • Stunning Views on Lomo LC-Wide (Rumble Competition)

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-07 in #gear #news #competitions
    Stunning Views on Lomo LC-Wide (Rumble Competition)

    Give your best Lomo LC-Wide captures the spotlight they deserve. Enter our new Rumble competition to win piggies and a spot in the Lomography Shop photo showcase.

  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    written by zonderbar on 2015-03-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    Liron Peretz is a talented Berlin-based fashion photographer who has been covering Fashion Week events for the last three years. For Lomography, she took the New Petzval Lens to the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin. Find out how she got along with it in this exclusive interview and see some of her beautiful backstage photos!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    5
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 in #gear #news #lifestyle #reviews
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

  • Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    I have been constantly returning to the Sahara, and my last visit was the fifth in a row. Every visit was full of excitement and surprises. I feel like this place has become my second home. This year, I decided to travel there for a fortnight.

    10