Lomography LC-Wide: Initial Review

The Lomography LC-Wide has been on my radar and wishlist for the last couple of years. In this article, I give you a quick review and my first impressions about my new favourite 35 mm camera.

Credits: amytam

My infatuation for wide angle shots are evident in my choices of cameras (i.e. Belair 6-12, Spinner 360, and Sprocket Rocket) and I have wanted to add the Lomography LC-Wide into my growing camera collection for some time now. So at the beginning of the year, I finally made the jump (with the help of my piggies and a 20% coupon code) and made this baby my own.

The Lomography LC-Wide, introduced in 2011, is a take on the original LC-A but with a 17 mm Minigon 1 ultra wide angle lens. This handy little camera measures 108 × 68 × 44.5 mm and weighs 220 grams. The aperture can go up to a maximum of 1:4.5 and the shutter speed, up to 1/500.

The first thing I notied when I received the camera via the Lomography shop is the lovely packaging. The camera comes nicely packed in a beautiful wooden box with its accompanying book filled with stunning photographs taken by other Lomographers with the LC-Wide. It also comes with a wrist strap, shutter release cord and batteries.

Credits: amytam

The camera is relatively easy to use. It has a built in light sensor (hence the batteries), and takes the guess work out of exposure timing and fiddling around with shutter speeds, you just need to set the ISO/ASA setting via the little reel in front of the camera and the camera sets the shutter speed. I love this feature, as I am notorious in forgetting to adjust the shutter speed and am prone to taking photos that are underexposed.

Credits: amytam

My First Impressions:

  • I’ve put a few rolls through this camera (both slide and colour negative) and I’m already loving the results. You can get stunning vignetting where the corners darken and the zone focusing (0.4 to 0.9 and 0.9 to infinity) makes focusing a breeze! All you need to remember is that the lever up is close up and lever down is everything else.
  • The switch for multiple exposure can be found in the bottom of the camera, and you are just a click away from multiple exposures. You can go double, triple or as many times as you want!
  • Unlike my other plastic cameras that take 35mm film, this camera gives me decent control over my shots and is light enough for me to travel with. I’m planning to take this camera with me when I head over to Europe for a month!
Credits: amytam

Keen to Try:

  • This camera has a half/full frame function, meaning that you can save your film and take 72 shots on a single 36 exposure roll or you can be crafty and have some insane overlapping shots. All you need to do is shoot at half frame without inserting the HF plastic frame in the film chamber!
  • My next purchase will be the Instant Back. Mixing instant photography with the cool vignetted wide angle shots would be amazing! I’m also eyeing the Splitzer so I can splice and dice my images :)
  • Square format can also be achieved with this nifty LC-Wide. All you need is to insert a plastic frame in the film chamber (just like the half frame) and you can get square images, because we all know that it’s hip to be square :P

written by amytam on 2013-06-20 in #reviews #lc-wide #vignetting #wide-angle #review #favourite #lomography

More Interesting Articles

  • The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    written by wesco on 2014-11-27 in #reviews
    The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    My brother purchased the new Petzal lens by Lomography and Zenit through the Kickstarter campaign. Last spring, I was able to borrow it for a few weeks. Read on to find out my first impressions of this portrait lens!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    3
  • Shop News

    The Ultimate Hitchhiker Pack

    The Ultimate Hitchhiker Pack

    The Ultimate Hitchhiker Pack puts together the compact Diana Mini and our City Guides to ensure you enjoy exploring the world in analogue!

  • LomoAmigos: Going Wide with Mogwai

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-03-11 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Going Wide with Mogwai

    Mogwai are a Scottish post-rock band who formed way back in 1995. Last year they released "Rave Tapes," their eighth studio album, and have been touring intensively over the last 12 months. They took the LC-Wide to Japan and chatted with us about the world of Mogwai.

    10
  • Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    written by zonderbar on 2015-03-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    Liron Peretz is a talented Berlin-based fashion photographer who has been covering Fashion Week events for the last three years. For Lomography, she took the New Petzval Lens to the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin. Find out how she got along with it in this exclusive interview and see some of her beautiful backstage photos!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Love: The Sprocket Rocket is the world’s first wide-angle camera dedicated to sprockets. It shoots 18 panoramas on a standard 35mm roll and exposes the whole width of film including sprocket holes. Use its dual winding knobs for easy multiple exposures and generate perfect nighttime shots with the bulb setting.

  • Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-16 in #news
    Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    Recently, we’ve been digging through all our LC-A 120 negatives from when we first started testing the new camera. During this search, we had our very own finding Vivian Maier moment when we unearthed a bunch of photos shot by the super-talented dopic whilst he was on vacation in Japan last year. We totally love these shots and couldn’t resist sharing them with you!

    3
  • Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-19 in #lifestyle
    Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    Lomography has previously shown you the kind of shots that one could take with the new Lomo LC-A 120. Now, with the first batch already shipped out and arriving to their lucky owners, it's the community's turn to show everyone what they've been shooting with this awesome camera!

    7
  • Lomo'Instant First Impressions: mamablue

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant First Impressions: mamablue

    Mamablue has been shooting with her two Polaroid cameras for years. She's no stranger to instant photography but the Lomo'Instant camera challenged her to get even more creative. Have a look at her first Lomo'Instant snapshots and her quick tip on using the camera's close-up feature.

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini Starter Pack

    Diana Mini Starter Pack

    Your first dive into the world of Lomography need not be complicated, this starter pack has all you need: a Diana Mini and a Lomography film pack and you're ready to go! Save upto 10%

  • Campfire's Koh Degawa shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by choko3 on 2014-07-02 in #lifestyle
    Campfire's Koh Degawa shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Lomography Japan has been working with CAMPFIRE, one of the country's largest crowdfunding services. In the past year, we have launched three successful projects such as the campaigns for the Lomography Smartphone Scanner, Petzval Lens and the Lomo’Instant, and Campfire has been helping us reach out to our supporters in Japan. Koh, Campfire's Senior Project Manager, has been involved in all three. Also a lomographer,she is no stranger to our products and has even shot with the new Petzval Lens.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!