User Review: Horizon Perfekt

3

The Horizon Perfekt is a very unique camera! It boasts versatile specifications, yet also has certain limitations. But, at the end of the day, it is still a beast of a camera.

There is truly something special about the Horizon Perfekt. First of all, it is a panoramic camera whose swing lens technology captures 120 degrees of whatever is in front of you. This means it could take gorgeous landscape photos, capturing a lot of details that a normal camera would normally miss.

It is purely mechanical, thus operates without the use of batteries. This is good since you don’t have worry about it being rendered useless when the battery dies in the middle of a shoot. That has happened to me a couple of times when I use battery-operated cameras, and it could surely be a bummer. Sort of a down side is, since it does not have metering, good exposure would really depend on your skills in determining appropriate shutter speed and aperture, given your film’s ISO and the available light conditions. Learning exposure techniques such as the Sunny f16 rule is surely necessary if you are to use the Perfekt.

Credits: renenob

Another thing I love about this camera is the fact that it has multiple shutter speeds and apertures to choose from; hence you are not limited in terms of which lighting condition you should shoot. The aperture runs from f16 to f2.8, while the shutter speed choices are 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/60, 1/125, 1/250, and 1/500. It is notable the shutter speeds 1/15 and 1/30 are missing, possibly due to limitations in the camera’s mechanical space; although it would have been better if they were available. Nevertheless, this can be compensated for by adjusting the aperture to match the available shutter speeds.

Credits: renenob

There is a switch the separates the slower shutter speeds and the higher shutter speeds, and I usually forget to do the switch, which sometime results to shooting at 1/8 in broad daylight, or shooting at 1/250 in a dim lit hallway. If you do not accustom yourself to checking this switch before pressing the shutter, you are bound to waste a couple of frames, miss certain decisive moments.

Another thing that is missing in the camera is focusing. You cannot determine the distance of your subject using the camera. You simply have to rely on the hyperfocal distance that is indicated in the manual. If your aperture is open at f2.8, you will surely get an out-of-focus shot if your subject is a mere meter away. Perhaps, since it is assumed that you will take landscape photos using this camera, focusing was deemed unnecessary. For best results, the minimum distances of the subject are as follows:

  • 1 meter for f16
  • 1.5 meters for f11
  • 2 meters for f8
  • 2.9 meters for f5.6
  • 3.9 meters for f4
  • and 5.5 meters for f2.8
Credits: renenob

Considering its limitations, the Horizon Perfekt remains a beast among cameras. It is heavy by any camera standards, but that is just a small price for the amazing photos it can produce.

Credits: renenob

written by renenob on 2013-06-17 in #reviews #panorama #film #panoramic #lomography #horizon #review #perfekt #camera

3 Comments

  1. clownshoes
    clownshoes ·

    Great shots!

  2. renenob
    renenob ·

    thanks @clownshoes!

  3. ihave2pillows
    ihave2pillows ·

    Great review! I always wonder why my close-ups aren't as sharp as I want. I got a second-hand Horizon Perfekt, wonder if that's the reason my panoramas tend to lose focus on the right hand side, and leaks on the left...

More Interesting Articles

  • Deepfried_goodness and His Weapon of Choice: Horizon Perfekt

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-01 in #lifestyle
    Deepfried_goodness and His Weapon of Choice: Horizon Perfekt

    Fascinated by its distinct swing lens, Keith Attard, more popularly known in the Communiy as deepfried_goodness, regards the Horizon Perfekt as a unique gem. Find out what Keith has to say about this powerful panoramic camera in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-15 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    Bask in the sunshine of panoramic shots with the effortless cool of the Horizon Cameras. Be it with the Perfekt or Kompakt, you’ll never be caught off guard with their mechanical swing lens that captures all the action on 35mm film.

  • What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-12 in #lifestyle
    What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    As the mother of all modern wide-angle lenses, the New Russar+ Lens shoots sharp wide-angle photos bursting with character. The solid yet compact ultra-wide 20mm lens can be used to photograph practically anything, and is compatible with a variety of film and digital cameras. Certainly this is a lens that delivers, but like anything, you can reap its full potential by choosing ideal subjects and shooting from a creative perspective.

  • Shop News

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Street Photography Tips: Use Your Horizon Camera

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-05-13 in #gear #tipster
    Street Photography Tips: Use Your Horizon Camera

    The Horizon Kompakt and Perfekt may be a bit bulkier than your usual compact cameras, but aside from taking photos of beautiful landscapes, they can also be your partners in taking pictures on the streets. Here are a few tips to get you started.

    2
  • Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-29 in #lifestyle
    Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    Stephan has more than 20 cameras in his collection but the Lubitel 166+ remains his favorite because of its versatility as a medium format camera. Read on why Stephan Kaps, aka mephisto19, regards the Lubitel 166+ as the perfect camera for his multiple exposure projects, portraiture, and other personal photography experiments in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

  • Shop News

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    An analogue camera inspired by Tara Mcpherson, A highly recommended gear for Lomography beginners and visual art lovers! With this edition see how Tara Mcpherson’s art joins the world of analogue cameras. Get it now for a special price!

  • Alluring black and white panoramas courtesy of the Horizon cameras

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-14 in #lifestyle
    Alluring black and white panoramas courtesy of the Horizon cameras

    Black and white photography is timeless on its own but what happens if you pair it up with a panoramic camera? The answer is in this series of B&W photographs taken with the Lomography Horizon Cameras.

  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    written by shawnlin on 2014-05-07 in #gear #tipster
    Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    I participated in the Kickstarter campaign and purchased my very own new Petzval lens. I can't wait to use with with my digital camera to experience its wonderful bokeh effect. I also wanted to try its effects when using a film camera but the lens has an EF mount. I didn't have a Canon camera. See what I did with it after the jump.

    8
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    written by wesco on 2014-06-23 in #reviews
    The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    For a lover of panoramic photos, the Horizon Perfekt is one of the most sought after cameras in the market. Through the revolving glass lens, it makes pictures that are sharp right into the corners at an extra wide panorama format. The distortion that can occur gives its pictures a special appearance.

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to Vienna

    written by Andreas Bischoff on 2015-02-06 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to Vienna

    Vienna is the capital and largest city of Austria. It has been mentioned in a myriad of pop culture references in books, music, and film, and is also the home of the Lomography headquarters. The history of Vienna stretches back to a far 500 BC, which is why it’s no surprise that the city is steeped in rich, unique, and fascinating culture and history that has inspired artists of all generations.

    2
  • My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    written by bloomchen on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    The new year is still young, but it seems as if it'll be over quickly. My organizer is already filled with entries until June. 2015 will probably be worse than 2014 when it comes to having time off so I could take some analogue shots. Anyway, there are some photography-related things that I really want to get done. It is probably best to set some goals if I only have very limited time.