Ricoh RZ-900 Review

The Ricoh RZ-900 is a nice camera for your bag when you want a quick point and shoot with a little more.

I was perusing the used section of some of my favorite online camera shops recently. I am looking for a nice M42 camera to replace a broken one. While searching through popular brands that had the M42 mount, I entered Ricoh and one of the offerings under the brand was the RZ-900.

It had a 38-90mm lens and was pretty cheap. I was just thinking about how I did not have a pocket camera with zoom while on a recent hiking trip. It came with a 90 day guarantee and was rated a 9 out of 10 on its condition. I figured I could not go wrong. It arrived 4 days after I ordered it.

It did not come with a manual or a camera strap, but there was a battery inside. A quick internet search provided a manual. Here are some of the basic stats:

  • Lens: 38 mm f4.5—90 mm f7.2 zoom lens 7 elements 7 groups
  • Focus: Multi-Beam Automatic focusing with single AF facility. Distance measuring (shooting) range: 0.5 m—00. subjects between 0.5 m and 0.25 m
  • Self-timer: Built-in electronic type with LED indicator. Operating delay of approx. 10 sec.
  • Shutter speed range: 1—1/400Sec.
  • Film speed range: ISO 64—3200. DX code system. (Non-DX films are set to ISO 100.)
  • Film advance/rewind: Automatic film advance and rewind. Automatic 1st frame setting. Automatic film rewind at the end of film.
  • Built-in flash: Electronic flash automatically activates in dim light and backlight. (up to approximately 10ft.)
  • Other features: Red eye reduction/Soft flash, Flash-on, Flash-off, TV mode, Single ~SPOT’ AF mode.

I used a roll of Fujifilm 200 and Kodak 100Tmax to test some of the features.

First the lens was bright and clear.

Credits: neanderthalis

I tested the zoom standing in the same spot.

Credits: neanderthalis

I tested the flash and was pleasantly surprised.

Credits: neanderthalis

It took nice sunset pictures

Credits: neanderthalis

I tried the macro but I read that the strap length was a guide made to .25 meters. Mine was not included but gave it a try.

Credits: neanderthalis

I noticed that the autofocus fails sometimes, or I need to figure out how to manipulate it better.

Credits: neanderthalis

Lastly I tried it a night with no flash. Hit and miss as minimum speed was 1 second.

Credits: neanderthalis

It was also a little larger than I expected being 5.5″ × 1.5″ × 2.5″ so it will not be easy to throw in my pocket. All in all it is still not a bad camera for under $15. I read somewhere online that this model could be from the early 90’s and cost up to $400. If anyone knows more I would appreciate it.

Aloha.

written by neanderthalis on 2013-06-14 in #reviews #test #autofocus #macro #review #zoom

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-26 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    Pinhole photography is too simple, you say? Shake things up a little and push the limits of your creativity with the Diana Multi Pinhole Operator!

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Lomo takes ONA on the Road

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-29 in #world #news #lifestyle #competitions
    Lomo takes ONA on the Road

    Lomography has been home to a family of handcrafted photography and art tools for decades. That’s why we’re so excited to team up with a line of premium, handcrafted camera bags: ONA, a company making the perfect bag to stow your camera and little mementos.

    6
  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the Fisheye Cameras

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-06 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the Fisheye Cameras

    The Fisheye cameras One and No. 2 are definitely more than your average point-and-shoot cameras. How so? Well, we'll let these tips and tricks do all the talking.

  • Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-02 in #people #competitions
    Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    Film Photography Day 2015 is an exciting event happening on Sunday, April 12. To celebrate this day, Lomography has teamed up with Skillshare to launch a series of FREE classes to help you make the most of your Lomo cameras. To throw in a little more fun, we're also hosting a competition to win a Diana Deluxe Kit and a full year of premium membership to Skillshare to take tons of awesome photography classes. Read on to find out more!

    2
  • Keep Your Gear In Check

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-07 in #gear #news
    Keep Your Gear In Check

    When a scene is yours for the taking, the last thing you need is gear error. And for a few bucks you can easily avoid dropping your camera on solid ground (ouch) and ruining the photo-ready moment.

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    The latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family! Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, Get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #reviews
    Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    Lomo’Instant allows you to shoot limitless multiple exposure instants and our latest accessory Splitzer will just add more fun to it! Just utilize your creativity and some simple skills and you’ll be able to take dozens of crazy and fun pictures. The more you try, the more fun you’ll discover!

    1
  • Meet Your Instant SuperHero - The Lomo'Instant Boston Edition!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-05-08 in #gear #news
    Meet Your Instant SuperHero - The Lomo'Instant Boston Edition!

    Are you looking for a fresh new way to shoot instant photos? Do you want to impress your friends with your creative skills in a swift instant? Look no further – the mighty Lomo’Instant Boston Edition saves the day!

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16