Ricoh RZ-900 Review

The Ricoh RZ-900 is a nice camera for your bag when you want a quick point and shoot with a little more.

I was perusing the used section of some of my favorite online camera shops recently. I am looking for a nice M42 camera to replace a broken one. While searching through popular brands that had the M42 mount, I entered Ricoh and one of the offerings under the brand was the RZ-900.

It had a 38-90mm lens and was pretty cheap. I was just thinking about how I did not have a pocket camera with zoom while on a recent hiking trip. It came with a 90 day guarantee and was rated a 9 out of 10 on its condition. I figured I could not go wrong. It arrived 4 days after I ordered it.

It did not come with a manual or a camera strap, but there was a battery inside. A quick internet search provided a manual. Here are some of the basic stats:

  • Lens: 38 mm f4.5—90 mm f7.2 zoom lens 7 elements 7 groups
  • Focus: Multi-Beam Automatic focusing with single AF facility. Distance measuring (shooting) range: 0.5 m—00. subjects between 0.5 m and 0.25 m
  • Self-timer: Built-in electronic type with LED indicator. Operating delay of approx. 10 sec.
  • Shutter speed range: 1—1/400Sec.
  • Film speed range: ISO 64—3200. DX code system. (Non-DX films are set to ISO 100.)
  • Film advance/rewind: Automatic film advance and rewind. Automatic 1st frame setting. Automatic film rewind at the end of film.
  • Built-in flash: Electronic flash automatically activates in dim light and backlight. (up to approximately 10ft.)
  • Other features: Red eye reduction/Soft flash, Flash-on, Flash-off, TV mode, Single ~SPOT’ AF mode.

I used a roll of Fujifilm 200 and Kodak 100Tmax to test some of the features.

First the lens was bright and clear.

Credits: neanderthalis

I tested the zoom standing in the same spot.

Credits: neanderthalis

I tested the flash and was pleasantly surprised.

Credits: neanderthalis

It took nice sunset pictures

Credits: neanderthalis

I tried the macro but I read that the strap length was a guide made to .25 meters. Mine was not included but gave it a try.

Credits: neanderthalis

I noticed that the autofocus fails sometimes, or I need to figure out how to manipulate it better.

Credits: neanderthalis

Lastly I tried it a night with no flash. Hit and miss as minimum speed was 1 second.

Credits: neanderthalis

It was also a little larger than I expected being 5.5″ × 1.5″ × 2.5″ so it will not be easy to throw in my pocket. All in all it is still not a bad camera for under $15. I read somewhere online that this model could be from the early 90’s and cost up to $400. If anyone knows more I would appreciate it.

Aloha.

written by neanderthalis on 2013-06-14 in #reviews #review #test #zoom #autofocus #macro

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-26 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    Pinhole photography is too simple, you say? Shake things up a little and push the limits of your creativity with the Diana Multi Pinhole Operator!

  • The Analogue Quiz: What Camera are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-09-09 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What Camera are you?

    Ever looked at your camera shelf and asked yourself the existential question: What Lomography Camera best fits my style? Well, here is a quick test to help you find the answer! Just go with your gut and note down the letter for each answer you pick. And try to go with one single answer for each question. So, let's get started!

    9
  • Lomopedia: Ricoh Auto 35 V or Ricohmatic 35

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-17 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Ricoh Auto 35 V or Ricohmatic 35

    The Ricoh Auto 35 V is a curious-looking camera, no doubt about that. It’s all thanks to Japanese ingenuity and product design.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • The LC-A+ Goes to New York Fashion Week with Christopher Logan

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-09-19 in #people #lomoamigos
    The LC-A+ Goes to New York Fashion Week with Christopher Logan

    "When I picked up the Lomo LC-A for the first time. I was truly inspired," says Christopher Logan, who accepted the challenge to shoot NY Fashion week with the LC-A+ Camera. Read more of his experience after the jump and get to know why the LC-A+ is the perfect camera for fashion shows.

  • An Easy Way to Store Instant Pictures

    written by ladland on 2014-11-11 in #gear #tipster
    An Easy Way to Store Instant Pictures

    Here's a handy tip for storing photos using something that you already have in your bag and is good for the environment.

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • The Director's LomoKino Showreel: Walk in the Park

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-02 in #competitions
    The Director's LomoKino Showreel: Walk in the Park

    Going for a quick stroll around your local park today? Be sure to bring the LomoKino with you and film the sights and scenes!

    8
  • Photo of the Day by sadiestoker

    written by chooolss on 2015-01-22 in #news
    Photo of the Day by sadiestoker

    A quick afternoon stroll is not only good for your health. It's the perfect moment to relax and bond with your best bud, too!

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!