Kodak Elitechrome EBX (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

18

If you're not a fan of intense colour, you should probably turn around now...

I had been wanting to use this slide film for a while now. I had seen endless examples of what cross processing does to this beast and simply had to try it for myself! Famous for significant shifts in colour when processed in C-41 chemicals, this film lived up to all of my expectations…and then some!

From my experience, you will get the best results when your subjects are bathed in artificial lighting. Whether you’re on the subway, at a house party, or in a museum looking at dinosaur fossils, this film will transform your shots into neon-glowing rectangles of immense colour! Yellows will go green, whites will go blue, and everything else will be amplified all the way up to 11. One other thing that really stood out to me was the shocking amount of contrast on some of the shots I took using my LC-A. I overexposed a few by one stop, and that really kicks things into overdrive! Don’t let the slow speed fool you, I got some of my best results from this film when I was in darker conditions…just make sure to use a flash if you don’t have a tripod with you (or if you have shaky hands!).

If you need an injection of colour in your world and think that your day-to-day life needs a hefty contrast boost, this film should be stacked high in your fridge!

written by minty on 2010-01-05 in #reviews

18 Comments

  1. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    Nice review!! I like EBX!!! Awesome film!!

  2. disdis
    disdis ·

    Really nice gallery!

  3. takezzo
    takezzo ·

    i often use elitechrome, but never got this color.... i love it.

  4. nural
    nural ·

    I love 7 & 9!!! The colors looks so lively!!!

  5. satomi
    satomi ·

    Wow, you made me fall in love with this film! Love the heart:D Thank you for the awesome review!

  6. falsedigital
    falsedigital ·

    I really dig number 7 and 12.

  7. dazb
    dazb ·

    Great review, love Elitechromes!

  8. adbigmilk
    adbigmilk ·

    So many beautiful shots over here !

  9. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    my fave film!

  10. robotonton
    robotonton ·

    i love picture number 9..its just so full with colors :)

  11. fancholland2
    fancholland2 ·

    Great EBX gallery! This film is just amazing!

  12. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent review ! The last shot in very impressive !

  13. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    always and forever will be my all-time-favourite film!

  14. pennylane316
    pennylane316 ·

    I don't like this... I love it! i can't wait to try this film.

  15. spoeker
    spoeker ·

    I definitely will try this film! Love the colors, thx

  16. basho
    basho ·

    Amazing! Now I'll have to look for a roll of EXB...

  17. jibbins
    jibbins ·

    Definitely have to agree photo 7 is a favorite, I also like the blurriness in 10 it makes it so much more interesting of a shot, I think I need to start making a list of films I'd like to try. This one will be on it for sure.

  18. nlafranchi
    nlafranchi ·

    really nice :) cant wait to shot with mine:) :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2014-11-11 in #gear #tipster
    LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    If you're the happy owner of a Lomo LC-Wide, you are probably overwhelmed and frustrated at not being able to use your three different frames on one film. But this tipster will let you make magic happen!

  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Red and Green Filter Tip

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-04-24 in #gear #tipster
    Red and Green Filter Tip

    If you're lacking in inspiration and are tired of the same journey into work each day fear not! With this simple filter technique you can inject a whole new burst of colour into your photographs. Read on for more information.

    3
  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • December 22nd Advent Offer: Shop Today & Save 10%! (Online Code: LASTCHANCE10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-22 in #news
    December 22nd Advent Offer: Shop Today & Save 10%! (Online Code: LASTCHANCE10)

    With the holidays just right around the corner, it's time to treat yourself to something nice! By this time, you're probably finished with all of your holiday shopping. Why not grab something warm to drink and head on over to the Online Shop? You can save a bundle with today's Advent deal of the day!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Monday Moodboard: Dotted Typography by Xavier Casalta

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-24 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: Dotted Typography by Xavier Casalta

    If you're a fan of beautiful typography, I'm sure you'll find the works of a young French illustrator impressive -- and even inspiring if you also dabble in typography and handlettering!

  • UK Workshops and Events: August

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-20 in #events
    UK Workshops and Events: August

    The sun is shining and we are in the mood for some fun! If you're planning a trip to London this coming month, then why not book yourself for one of our special market workshops? We'll be heading off to Brick Lane, Portobello Rd and the Columbia Flower Market to shoot all the sights on film. If you’re visiting London and staying in a hostel, just present proof of your booking and get to join a workshop for free! Book your space now.

    1
  • Awesome Albums: 250 B&W by bccbarbosa

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-23 in #news
    Awesome Albums: 250 B&W by bccbarbosa

    Today's featured awesome album is a collection of simple yet eye-catching black and white Polaroid photos. If you're in the mood for some patterns, bits and pieces of architecture, and dreamy seascapes in monochrome, you should check out this album!

  • Shop News

    Belair Camera

    Belair Camera

    Love medium format? This Belair baby will never fail you to satisfy your cravings for taking photographs in 120 format! Choose among the different variants of Belair cameras that will suit your tastes!

  • Exploring the joy of “Now”

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-07 in #lifestyle
    Exploring the joy of “Now”

    Have you ever had the feeling that you plan too much? It’s not a bad thing, really. It’s just that you may be missing out on some of the greater things happening at the precise moment you’re plotting your schedule, and you’re missing a lot if all you do is plan all the time.

  • Paddington Bear Trail with the Petzval lens

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-21 in #news
    Paddington Bear Trail with the Petzval lens

    If you visit London in the next few weeks,you might bump into a Paddington Bear sculpture more than once. Don't be alarmed, he's not following you around. There are hundreds of Paddington Bear sculptures dotted around the city in celebration of the launch of a new film. We captured a few using the glorious Petzval lens. Take a look here.

  • Out and About with the Russar+ and Voigtlander Bessa R2A

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-19 in #lifestyle
    Out and About with the Russar+ and Voigtlander Bessa R2A

    Ever wondered what your Russar+ compatible camera is capable of taking when equipped with this new lens? If you're a happy owner of a Voigtlander Bessa R2A, we have a gallery of stunning snaps around various locations to give you a preview!