Actionsampler Review – Not Quite my Cup of Tea

5

I got this camera few years ago as a gift when I ordered some film online. When I got it, I loved the look of it right from the start. However, I really can’t figure out where to use it.

Credits: jutei

“It’s light, it’s small, it looks great and I love it!” Those were my first reactions when I got this camera. I did some research online and found out that this camera actually takes four pictures in one frame. That sounded fun and I went shooting. The camera is very easy to use, load, shoot, and advance. With this easy mantra I completed to roll and I was really excited.

When I saw the results I was little disappointed. I knew that there would be four pictures in one frame, but it didn’t look as cool as I thought. But don’t get me wrong, the pictures exposed correctly in bright summer day, but I just didn’t get the idea to have four pictures in one frame. One way to use it, of course, is capture the action, but still this camera left me a little disappointed.

I didn’t want to abandon the camera and decided to make a mod to it. I cut out the four walls inside the camera and got the four images to overlap a bit. The results were better, but I still wasn’t completely happy with the camera.

Credits: jutei

So, my conclusion, I have nice little camera, which I don’t like that much. There’s really nothing wrong with this camera, but I just don’t like the concept. Try it yourself to see if it’s your cup of tea or not.

written by jutei on 2013-05-26 in #reviews #action-sampler-lomo-film-camera-mod-hack-modification

5 Comments

  1. stratski
    stratski ·

    I know the feeling.

  2. sirio174
    sirio174 ·

    try this camera in an amusement park, carousels or sport events!

  3. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    works best with action shots

  4. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    I thought it would be great but I got disappointed with it too...

  5. fartstorm
    fartstorm ·

    It's a one trick pony for sure.

More Interesting Articles

  • What Else Can You Do with Lactase?

    written by pasadena85 on 2014-06-21 in #gear #tipster
    What Else Can You Do with Lactase?

    A few months ago, I thought I had an intolerance against the milk sugar lactose. I got stomach aches every time I ate something with milk in it so I used lactase to prevent it. But when I consulted a doctor to be tested, they said it was something else.

    3
  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Shop News

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Love: The Sprocket Rocket is the world’s first wide-angle camera dedicated to sprockets. It shoots 18 panoramas on a standard 35mm roll and exposes the whole width of film including sprocket holes. Use its dual winding knobs for easy multiple exposures and generate perfect nighttime shots with the bulb setting.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    6
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Trending LomoHomes of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Trending LomoHomes of May 2015

    With all the fantastic lomographs they shared the entire month, it's no wonder these lomographers won our hearts and eyes over!

    3
  • Awesome Albums: Polar Coordinates by Buckshot

    written by kenaz on 2015-05-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Polar Coordinates by Buckshot

    Twist your world into kaleidoscopic planets using this nifty visual trick.

  • Friday Movie Flashback: Blue Valentine

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Friday Movie Flashback: Blue Valentine

    To show, not just tell, how love withers is Derek Cianfrance and Andrij Parekh's poetic mission in Blue Valentine.

    1
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    12
  • Top Photo Likers of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Photo Likers of May 2015

    Guess who had been bitten hard by the "I like this photo" bug.

    8
  • Trending Newcomers of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Trending Newcomers of May 2015

    What's your fondest memory as a newcomer in the community?

    7