Actionsampler Review – Not Quite my Cup of Tea

5

I got this camera few years ago as a gift when I ordered some film online. When I got it, I loved the look of it right from the start. However, I really can’t figure out where to use it.

Credits: jutei

“It’s light, it’s small, it looks great and I love it!” Those were my first reactions when I got this camera. I did some research online and found out that this camera actually takes four pictures in one frame. That sounded fun and I went shooting. The camera is very easy to use, load, shoot, and advance. With this easy mantra I completed to roll and I was really excited.

When I saw the results I was little disappointed. I knew that there would be four pictures in one frame, but it didn’t look as cool as I thought. But don’t get me wrong, the pictures exposed correctly in bright summer day, but I just didn’t get the idea to have four pictures in one frame. One way to use it, of course, is capture the action, but still this camera left me a little disappointed.

I didn’t want to abandon the camera and decided to make a mod to it. I cut out the four walls inside the camera and got the four images to overlap a bit. The results were better, but I still wasn’t completely happy with the camera.

Credits: jutei

So, my conclusion, I have nice little camera, which I don’t like that much. There’s really nothing wrong with this camera, but I just don’t like the concept. Try it yourself to see if it’s your cup of tea or not.

written by jutei on 2013-05-26 in #reviews #action-sampler-lomo-film-camera-mod-hack-modification

5 Comments

  1. stratski
    stratski ·

    I know the feeling.

  2. sirio174
    sirio174 ·

    try this camera in an amusement park, carousels or sport events!

  3. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    works best with action shots

  4. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    I thought it would be great but I got disappointed with it too...

  5. fartstorm
    fartstorm ·

    It's a one trick pony for sure.

More Interesting Articles

  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • German TV Show Taff Cites the Konstruktor as No. 1 DIY Trend

    written by dopa on 2015-07-30 in #gear #news
    German TV Show Taff Cites the Konstruktor as No. 1 DIY Trend

    German ProSieben magazine TV show "taff" has confirmed something that we already know: the Konstruktor camera is the No.1 DIY trend for summer 2015!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Kyoto in a Heartbeat

    written by kenaz on 2015-07-30 in #gear #lifestyle
    Kyoto in a Heartbeat

    Like a cluster of cherry blossoms, the temples in Kyoto can stop visitors in their tracks. These people assume the pose of a statue, a camera dangling from their neck and hands. On a first visit especially, the impulse to photograph every angle is constant. The Kinkaku-ji Temple and the torii-lined Fushimi Inari-Taisha are always packed; one would think the tourists would hurry along. But really, many are busy taking snatches of Kyoto with them.

  • Introducing The New Lomo'Instant Kyoto Edition!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-07-30 in #gear #news
    Introducing The New Lomo'Instant Kyoto Edition!

    Inspired by summertime in bloom, the new Lomo’Instant Kyoto Edition is the latest addition to our creative instant photography line-up! With its intricate floral and peach design, this special edition camera is reminiscent of beautiful summer sunsets in Kyoto, a city adored for its picturesque shrines, temples and nature scenery.

  • LomoMission: Silly Summer Selfies Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-07-29 in #world #news
    LomoMission: Silly Summer Selfies Winners

    Who's the goofiest among the beach bums in our community?

    4
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • On Music, Travel and Photography: Alex Grünig of Old Gypsy Man's Hat

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-30 in #people #lomoamigos
    On Music, Travel and Photography: Alex Grünig of Old Gypsy Man's Hat

    Alex Grünig is a world traveler and he has taken his La Sardinia across Canada. Old Gypsy Man's Hat's frontman is making music and roaming around Montréal. in this exclusive interview, he recounts how Lomo and Photography have been with him along the way.

  • Summer Hotspots: Praia do Barril

    written by Hugo Pereira on 2015-07-29 in #world #locations
    Summer Hotspots: Praia do Barril

    I live near the coastline so it’s not hard to find awesome beaches nearby. But Praia do Barril is unique in many ways. It is heaven on earth.

  • Lomo takes ONA on the Road

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-29 in #world #news #lifestyle #competitions
    Lomo takes ONA on the Road

    Lomography has been home to a family of handcrafted photography and art tools for decades. That’s why we’re so excited to team up with a line of premium, handcrafted camera bags: ONA, a company making the perfect bag to stow your camera and little mementos.

    1