Actionsampler Review – Not Quite my Cup of Tea

5

I got this camera few years ago as a gift when I ordered some film online. When I got it, I loved the look of it right from the start. However, I really can’t figure out where to use it.

Credits: jutei

“It’s light, it’s small, it looks great and I love it!” Those were my first reactions when I got this camera. I did some research online and found out that this camera actually takes four pictures in one frame. That sounded fun and I went shooting. The camera is very easy to use, load, shoot, and advance. With this easy mantra I completed to roll and I was really excited.

When I saw the results I was little disappointed. I knew that there would be four pictures in one frame, but it didn’t look as cool as I thought. But don’t get me wrong, the pictures exposed correctly in bright summer day, but I just didn’t get the idea to have four pictures in one frame. One way to use it, of course, is capture the action, but still this camera left me a little disappointed.

I didn’t want to abandon the camera and decided to make a mod to it. I cut out the four walls inside the camera and got the four images to overlap a bit. The results were better, but I still wasn’t completely happy with the camera.

Credits: jutei

So, my conclusion, I have nice little camera, which I don’t like that much. There’s really nothing wrong with this camera, but I just don’t like the concept. Try it yourself to see if it’s your cup of tea or not.

written by jutei on 2013-05-26 in #reviews #action-sampler-lomo-film-camera-mod-hack-modification

5 Comments

  1. stratski
    stratski ·

    I know the feeling.

  2. sirio174
    sirio174 ·

    try this camera in an amusement park, carousels or sport events!

  3. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    works best with action shots

  4. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    I thought it would be great but I got disappointed with it too...

  5. fartstorm
    fartstorm ·

    It's a one trick pony for sure.

More Interesting Articles

  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    8
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the Lubitel 166+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-29 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the Lubitel 166+

    The Lubitel 166+ is Lomography's very own feature-packed recreation of the Soviet classic. In this feature, we're listing 10 ways on how you can make the most out of this camera!

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Emily Soto Artist Talk at NYC Gallery Store

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-06-30 in #world #news #events #lomoamigos

    Join us for an evening with NYC-based fashion photographer Emily Soto. Concurrent with her exhibition at our Gallery Store, "Petzval Portrats: Bloom," Emily will discuss her work and experience using the New Petzval Art Lens in her work. Gather insight into the creative process of one of New York's favorite photographers. This event will take place on July 9 at 6:00 p.m.

  • Photo of the Day by chrisaragon

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-29 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by chrisaragon

    A woman is at her most beautiful when she's laughing heartily.

    1
  • Photo Stories: 'This is Art' by waggrad00

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: 'This is Art' by waggrad00

    By going on a photo walk waggrad00 was not only able to de-stress, she also had the chance to meet several interesting people along the way. One of them was this homeless fellow who made her as well as many others' day better with a small but thoughtful gesture.

    2
  • Shop News

    La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack

    La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack

    The La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack allows you to take dynamic, wide-angled flash-infused photos on the go!

  • Beautiful Belair Instant Snaps Rumble Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-29 in #world #news #competitions
    Beautiful Belair Instant Snaps Rumble Winners

    Enjoy crisp details and vivid colors on instant film with the Belair Instant Camera!

    2
  • Photo Stories: Turquoise Garden by gocchin

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-06-29 in #gear #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Turquoise Garden by gocchin

    LomoChrome Turquoise turns a zoo horse into a mythical creature. What a potion!

  • Win Tickets for Melt! Festival in Germany

    written by petit_loir on 2015-06-29 in #world #competitions
    Win Tickets for Melt! Festival in Germany

    There is nothing more refreshing than escaping one's everyday life for to unpack a camping tent and spend a wonderful weekend with friends for a few days during summer. Some of the coolest festivals are calling and there's a special one in Germany that is a must-see in July: Melt! festival. Win two tickets for this spectacular event to be held from July 17 to 19. Show us your most beautiful festival moments.