Actionsampler Review – Not Quite my Cup of Tea

5

I got this camera few years ago as a gift when I ordered some film online. When I got it, I loved the look of it right from the start. However, I really can’t figure out where to use it.

Credits: jutei

“It’s light, it’s small, it looks great and I love it!” Those were my first reactions when I got this camera. I did some research online and found out that this camera actually takes four pictures in one frame. That sounded fun and I went shooting. The camera is very easy to use, load, shoot, and advance. With this easy mantra I completed to roll and I was really excited.

When I saw the results I was little disappointed. I knew that there would be four pictures in one frame, but it didn’t look as cool as I thought. But don’t get me wrong, the pictures exposed correctly in bright summer day, but I just didn’t get the idea to have four pictures in one frame. One way to use it, of course, is capture the action, but still this camera left me a little disappointed.


I didn’t want to abandon the camera and decided to make a mod to it. I cut out the four walls inside the camera and got the four images to overlap a bit. The results were better, but I still wasn’t completely happy with the camera.
Credits: jutei

So, my conclusion, I have nice little camera, which I don’t like that much. There’s really nothing wrong with this camera, but I just don’t like the concept. Try it yourself to see if it’s your cup of tea or not.

written by jutei on 2013-05-26 in #reviews

5 Comments

  1. stratski
    stratski ·

    I know the feeling.

  2. sirio174
    sirio174 ·

    try this camera in an amusement park, carousels or sport events!

  3. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    works best with action shots

  4. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    I thought it would be great but I got disappointed with it too...

  5. fartstorm
    fartstorm ·

    It's a one trick pony for sure.

More Interesting Articles

  • What Else Can You Do with Lactase?

    written by pasadena85 on 2014-06-21 in #gear #tipster
    What Else Can You Do with Lactase?

    A few months ago, I thought I had an intolerance against the milk sugar lactose. I got stomach aches every time I ate something with milk in it so I used lactase to prevent it. But when I consulted a doctor to be tested, they said it was something else.

    3
  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Shop News

    The Perfect Portrait Lens

    The Perfect Portrait Lens

    The New Petzval Lens comes in 2 lens mount variations. You can purchase a New Petzval Lens with Canon EF mount, or one with a Nikon F mount. The lens works with both analogue and digital cameras with this type of lens mount. There also is a range of adapters available in our Online Shop to use your Petzval Lens on various other (d)SLRs or even compact system cameras!

  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    Coinciding with the relaunch of the Lomography community website is the debut of one of the Magazine's newest series, Meet the Innovators. Here, we'll be talking to some of the game changers in the field of photography to get a closer look on what they do as well as find out their personal insights. For our opening salvo we proudly introduce Cat Ong, Lomography's very own Head of Optic Product Development who counts the research and development of the LC-A family, Russar and Petzval Art Lenses, Diana F+, and Lomo'Instant, among many others, as some of his projects.

    7
  • 'Magnum - Contact Sheets' Opens in Istanbul

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #events
    'Magnum - Contact Sheets' Opens in Istanbul

    An ongoing exhibit in Istanbul, Turkey sheds light on the creative process behind some of the world's iconic photographs from the prestigious Magnum Photos.

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Photo of the Day by gaz

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-28 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by gaz

    Have you ever dreamed of hugging a sky filled with fluffy clouds? Turn it into reality using double exposure!

  • Community Picks: LC-A Family

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #gear #news
    Community Picks: LC-A Family

    The people have spoken: the royal LC-A family continues to rule the Lomography community!

  • Trending LomoHomes of February 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-27 in #world #news
    Trending LomoHomes of February 2015

    So, what does it take to have a "trending" LomoHome?

    5
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Trending Photos of February 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-27 in #world #news
    Trending Photos of February 2015

    These lomographs were the talked of the town this month of love. Have a look and see if your favorites made it to the list!

    2
  • Trending Albums of February 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-27 in #world #news
    Trending Albums of February 2015

    Ready for an enticing visual treat? In this month's recap, we are running down the best albums that caught the community's attention.

    2
  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-27 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2015

    Filled with juicy conversations, the shoutbox is definitely a fun place to chat with fellow lomographers across the globe!

    3