Fuji Neopan Professional (35mm, 1600 iso) User-Review

20

Ultra high speed black and white film that never fails you when it comes to street photography and portrait.

An all-rounder ultra high speed film that is suitable for shooting in the day and night without under or overexposing your pictures. It can produced high contrast, sharp and low grain images. These film is highly recommended for those lomographers whose into street photography and portrait as it is able to ‘add’ more feelings to the images you took. It’s adaptable to a wide range of speeds with excellent push/pull characteristics. So far I’ve tested quite a few black and white films but this film never disappoint me when it comes to night street shots when I used with my Lomo LC-A+.

written by renaishashin on 2010-01-02 in #reviews #professional #lomo-lca #fuji-neopan-1600 #street-photography #portrait

20 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I want some of this sooo badly. You got some nice shots here.

  2. lawypop
    lawypop ·

    gr8 review bro !! will luv 2 try this film !!

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great shots in the gallery! :)

  4. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    sharo b&w's!

  5. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    this is a cool film - managed to get some overdue cheaply-cheap and got very decent results :)

  6. satomi
    satomi ·

    awesome, AWESOME shots as usual. should be this year's first film review of the week!

  7. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    Thx all~ :D

  8. stouf
    stouf ·

    Wonderful shots ! I wanna try it now !!!

  9. jeabzz
    jeabzz ·

    amazing gallery, great job :))

  10. stijn_b
    stijn_b ·

    Awesome shots! First I've used a neopan I was very impressed by its fine grain, definitely worth trying! .

  11. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    awesome black and white series!

  12. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    Thx all~ Btw, Happy 2010!!!!!!

  13. fantastick
    fantastick ·

    amazing!

  14. recurving
    recurving ·

    great review – and my favorite film by far right now – you can't do wrong with the 1600 fuji neopan…

  15. randychicken
    randychicken ·

    You have some beautiful shots here, and what a fantastic review!

  16. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    Thx for the kind comments~ :D Grab this film now!

  17. juznobsrvr
    juznobsrvr ·

    very nice captures... well done

  18. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    @juznobsrvr : Thx for the comment :DD

  19. nicolas_noir
    nicolas_noir ·

    Love image 4, I've got a roll of this in the fridge waiting to be shot!

  20. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    @nicolas-noir : You'll love the results :DD

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    written by reiga on 2015-01-07 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    For those of you who are still looking for good black and white film, you might want to try aerial film as it offers good contrast and tonality.

    2
  • Shop News

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    An analogue camera inspired by Tara Mcpherson, A highly recommended gear for Lomography beginners and visual art lovers! With this edition see how Tara Mcpherson’s art joins the world of analogue cameras. Get it now for a special price!

  • Photo of the Day by earlybird

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Photo of the Day by earlybird

    Our community will never run out of ideas when it comes to doubles and film swaps. Case in point, this mind-boggling self-portrait that indeed screams how much he is into film photography. Congratulations to earlybird for having our Photo of the Day!

    1
  • Sublime BW Snapshots Taken with Lomography Orca 110 BW Film

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-23 in #lifestyle
    Sublime BW Snapshots Taken with Lomography Orca 110 BW Film

    This film may be teeny-tiny in size, but it packs quite a punch when it comes to black and white shots!

  • Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    written by melwyn on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    Summer is full of color so using black and white film might not be the first thing that comes to mind. Yet the summer sun works out beautifully on black and white film. Like to give it a try? I've come across the best light at the train station during rush hour!

  • Shop News

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • 10 Reasons Why the Horizon is Perfect for Street Photography

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-05-12 in #people #lifestyle
    10 Reasons Why the Horizon is Perfect for Street Photography

    We all know that the Horizon cameras are fantastic when it comes to taking photos of spectacular scenery— but did you know that they're great for street photography too? Allow us to share with you 10 reasons why you should try it the next time you're on the streets.

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    4
  • Shop News

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply without hurting your budget. At 30% off you can now experiment with 8 sequential shots in one 35mm print! Tell stories in 2.5 seconds with 8 scenes in one shot!

  • Renowned photographer Steve McCurry dishes out tips on packing for trips

    written by chooolss on 2014-04-25 in #lifestyle
    Renowned photographer Steve McCurry dishes out tips on packing for trips

    We may be far from being the jetsetting professional photographers that Steve McCurry and David Alan Harvey already are, but we sure can still learn a thing or two from this video when it comes to packing our photography gear for our own trips!

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    written by edwinchau on 2015-03-25 in #world #events
    Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    Lomography Singapore plays host to Parallel Planets’ first exhibition, "Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition," featuring all-analog photography: a sea of black and white film portraits. This exhibition serves as a platform where both local and international photographers can express themselves by injecting individual perspectives into their craft. It also encourages viewers to look through the lens of the photographers, to see the subjects as who they are – flawed, alive, and breathing – and to also see beyond the façades we all choose to don.

    5