Lomography Diana F+ - Staff Review

2

If the Diana+ is the faithful reproduction of the 1960s Diana, then the Diana F+ is the improved version of the Diana+ - equipped with the talent to 'flash.'

The 1960s Diana camera was sought-after for a good reason – besides the classic good looks, it made ordinary images a lot dreamier with a soft-focus look and overall lo-fi appeal. However, 35mm instamatic cameras put a threat to the medium-format Diana’s days under the spotlight. As artists and photographers in the West discovered its creative potential, the quantity was fast diminishing. Luckily, the Lomography headquarters in Vienna decided to keep the supply flowing by creating the Diana+ – a faithful reproduction of the ’60s classic, enhanced with more features.

The Diana+ retained the best features – from the looks to the quirks. It was lightweight, with the plastic lens that produces the same dream-like quality as the original. Two shutter speeds – ‘N’ and ‘B’ are available for daytime and nighttime, respectively. You can choose to do multiple exposures, and as for the enhancements – panoramic shots and pinhole photography is also possible (by twisting off the lens). While the Diana+ can be used for nighttime long-time exposures, it doesn’t have an option to use flash. But the hardworking team in Lomography Vienna decided to pimp up the Diana+ with a flash – and the Diana F+ is born.

The Diana F+ camera looks, feels, and functions just like its ancestors. The Diana flash was created to resemble the original – with a reflective silver face, and the body dipped in blue. Simply plug the included hotshoe adaptor into the camera body, and you’re ready to fire the flash. A small packet of color gel filters is included – so that you can slip one in the flash and wash your subjects with color. You can also shoot your subject crisp and clear against a background of streaming lights, if you use the flash with the camera in ‘B’ setting. The flash can also be used with any standard hotshoe camera using the included hotshoe adapter. The Diana+ & Diana F+ camera were also tweaked to accommodate new accessories such as the Diana+ Splitzer, Diana+ 35mm Back, and Diana+ lenses.

The first few times that I used this camera, I was a bit skeptical about it, but when my prints arrived, I was blown away with the vignette and the overall dreamy look. Personally, I would say that Diana works best when it’s very sunny – the colors and saturation pop out most especially when used with slide film. With the Diana Flash attached, expect some compliments – it looks so retro-cool and demands to be noticed!

Because of its lightweight plastic body, sometimes it’s easy to forget that you’re lugging it inside your bag, so remember to handle the Diana F+ carefully! The weather icon switch can move and slide (as well as the shutter) without you knowing, so check your settings before taking a photo – or not, if you prefer “happy accidents”. Recently, I had a whole roll of super-blurry Close-Up portraits because I didn’t notice it was set on Pinhole!

As with other Lomographic cameras, it is best to experiment with different kinds of film to discover the look/effect that you like – Diana can make black & white images look extra dramatic with its’ signature soft-focus look and vignetting, and images taken with x-pro’ed slides express a vintage feel. Slap on a new lens or take it off, slice images with the Splitzer, or load the 35mm Back to use 35mm film – the creative possibilities are endless with the Diana F+.

written by shhquiet on 2008-10-29 in #reviews #lomography #medium-format #120 #review #diana-f #staff

2 Comments

  1. bravopires
    bravopires ·

    Beautiful gallerie!

  2. freefall21km
    freefall21km ·

    i really agree with what you said about the Diana F+. It's a really disarming camera, which makes it so good for taking photos of strangers :)

  3. nattykins
    nattykins ·

    I LOVE mine. I have the 35mm back and I'm constantly amazed by the images it creates. Some of the shots come out with a cross pro look even though its just ordinary film and processed at a regular lab.

More Interesting Articles

  • Diana F+ Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    written by dopa on 2014-06-27 in #reviews
    Diana F+  Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    The original Diana F is a plastic beauty from 1960s Hong Kong. The Diana F+ is a reinterpretation, which is in no way inferior to the old Diana. It´s so versatile with all the optional accessories and lenses like no other lomography camera. And because of this, I will show you what makes this camera so special.

    3
  • Meet Our New LomoAmigo: Mø

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-08-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Meet Our New LomoAmigo: Mø

    Direct from Denmark, we bring you our latest LomoAmigo MØ ! or Karen Marie Ørsted. She is a talented Danish singer-songwriter whom we invited to shoot with the Diana F+ on her last concert tour in Canada .

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-26 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    Pinhole photography is too simple, you say? Shake things up a little and push the limits of your creativity with the Diana Multi Pinhole Operator!

  • Shop News

    110 Experiment Kit

    110 Experiment Kit

    With this bundle, you can choose a camera, film and accessories to spice up your 110 shooting experience!

  • Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    written by dopa on 2014-09-02 in #reviews
    Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    Lomography has announced that shipping of the Lomo’Instant will begin in December, but if you want to use a lomographic instant camera with an interchangeable lens system, among other possibilities immediately, you should try the Diana F+ Instant Camera!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    written by ichdaschaos on 2015-01-06 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    Lomography ran a vote for the backers of the Lomo’Instant Kickstarter project to decide which design the Lomo’Instant Strap should have. Below is my little review about it.

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • December 4th Advent Offer: Looking for a terrific camera for the holidays? (Online Code: BRIGHTDELIGHT15)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-04 in #news
    December 4th Advent Offer: Looking for a terrific camera for the holidays?  (Online Code: BRIGHTDELIGHT15)

    It's that time again — the Lomography Advent deal of the day! If you're in search of a beautiful gift for creative folks or looking to get into the game yourself, we've got your back. Today's super deal is on our Diana F+ and Diana Mini, as well as a continued discount on our plastic bodied cameras.

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Lomography x National Portrait Gallery Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-21 in #competitions
    Lomography x National Portrait Gallery Rumble

    Lomography has teamed up with the National Portrait Gallery to give you the chance to win tickets to the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2014 and an exhibition catalogue. This annual exhibition showcases the work of some of the most talented emerging young photographers from around the world, alongside that of established professionals, photography students and gifted amateurs. On top of this fantastic prize you could win a Diana F+ camera and a cool tote bag from the Photographic Portrait Prize range. Click here to join the competition.

    2
  • Lomography x FotoFilmic '14

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-03 in #events
    Lomography x FotoFilmic '14

    Lomography is proud to be a sponsor of Fotofilmic '14, a global film photography publication and curation platform dedicated to emerging and unknown photographic talents attached to film worldwide. Come celebrate with us at the opening reception in Vancouver! In the meantime, here's a sneak peek of the top winners of Fotofilmic '14!

  • Photographers on Why They Still Shoot Film (Part 2)

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    Photographers on Why They Still Shoot Film (Part 2)

    It is Film Photography Day, and we are counting the ways the activity fuels the imagination. One photographer likens it to the soulful sound of an LP. Another chases its risk or does it with a leap of faith. But the consensus is clear: Film photography keeps people on their toes for the best possible shot!