Fuji Instax 200 Wide Camera: Instant Review

There are various instant cameras present today, and a lot of people have been using them recently. This article focuses on the Instax Wide 200 instant film camera. For me, nothing beats the instant wideness of the Instax Wide.

The Instax Wide 200 camera is second instant camera variant released by Fuji. It uses a wider instant film compared to the Instax Mini. It’s one of the bulkier models of the instax series but it makes up for it with the wide instant film size.

The technical details are as follows:

  • Lens: 95mm (2-element lens)
  • Aperture Range: Fixed (f/14)
  • Film Type: Instax Wide Film 800ASA
  • Frame Size: 3.9 × 2.4″ (99 × 62mm)
  • Focusing Range: Two modes; 3-9.8’ (0.9-3 m), 9.8’ (3 m) to Infinity
  • Shutter Speed: 1/64 to 1/200 second
  • Flash : Auto Flash with Override, Recycle time 4 sec
  • Flash Range: 3-9.8’ (0.9-3 m)
  • Batteries: 4x AA batteries
  • Dimensions: 7 × 3.7 × 4.6″ WxHxD

The dimensions might fool you; this is a fairly light camera compared to cameras with similar dimensions. It’s generally not as popular as its tiny sibling, but I find it better and cheaper since the film pack costs roughly the same as a pack of Instax Mini while having twice the film size.

It’s great for portraits which is why most of my shots are of people.

It’s also a good all around camera and that multiple exposure trick for Instaxes also works for the Instax Wide.

Its only downside is the viewfinder; If you’re near your subject, there’s a big chance that you’ll have a parallax error. This is happens especially if you ask another person (who’s not used to it) to take your photo. You’ll get used to it eventually and you’ll learn to avoid it.

Pro Tip: When asking another person to take your photo, compose the photo first and tell him/her to hold the camera at that position and to just press the shutter.

If you don’t mind the size of the camera itself, I highly recommend getting one! It’s a lot of fun to shoot instant film! It’s even cheaper than the impossible project film while almost having the same size! Happy shooting!

All information for this article were taken from the B & H, My Digital Life.

written by feelux on 2013-04-17 in #reviews #instax #wide #review #lomography #feelux #instant

More Interesting Articles

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1
  • Now In Stock: Fuji Instax Mini Film Stripe, Candypop, and Rainbow + Instax Wide Double Pack

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-09 in #gear #news
    Now In Stock: Fuji Instax Mini Film Stripe, Candypop, and Rainbow + Instax Wide Double Pack

    Make your instant photographs look extra sweeter and vibrant by loading one of these colorful Instax Mini or Wide Film, now available at the Online Shop, into your favorite instant camera!

    1
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-04 in #gear #news
    A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    There are many possible reasons for taking pictures. It could be to document an event, to capture breathtaking scenery, to preserve a fond memory, or simply, to have a snapshot of someone close to your heart. Whatever the reason, there's almost always a story behind a picture, no matter how significant or trivial it may be. And for lomographers, nothing beats the feeling of having that story unfold in your hand, in the form of a print. If you want a quick keepsake from that treasured moment or a snapshot of that special someone though, you can have it instantly, through Lomo'Instant Stories!

    1
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Family Photos with the Lomo'Instant

    written by ciscoswank on 2014-12-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Family Photos with the Lomo'Instant

    Instant cameras are useful during birthday parties, Christmas celebrations, or even just simple family gatherings Mai Masuno, former staff member of Lomography Japan, became a mother nine months ago. She photographed her beautiful baby recently using the Lomo'Instant, and shares the lovely snapshots in this feature.

  • Lomo’Instant Quick Shots: Hannah Brown

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-28 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant Quick Shots: Hannah Brown

    There are so many exciting things you can do with the Lomo'instant camera it's hard to know where to start! We've been giving this lovable Lomo camera the full test drive so that you can experience the full potential of this camera in an instant! Here are some top tips on shooting graffiti and doubles with Hannah Brown.

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    written by dop on 2015-07-18 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    There are quite a lot of festivals to choose from every summer and for sure everyone has his favorite. This June @danika, @hinny and @tomas_bates joined me for one of my favorites: Electric Castle Festival. Armed with loads of films & cameras, good mood and a lot of patience for the road to the heart of Romania, we set off to discover Electric Castle. Read on to find out what this off the radar festival has to offer!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Photo of the Day by lomomowlem

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-28 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by lomomowlem

    A miniature airplane landing on a swan? With double exposure, anything is possible!

    1