Fuji Instax 200 Wide Camera: Instant Review

There are various instant cameras present today, and a lot of people have been using them recently. This article focuses on the Instax Wide 200 instant film camera. For me, nothing beats the instant wideness of the Instax Wide.

The Instax Wide 200 camera is second instant camera variant released by Fuji. It uses a wider instant film compared to the Instax Mini. It’s one of the bulkier models of the instax series but it makes up for it with the wide instant film size.

The technical details are as follows:

  • Lens: 95mm (2-element lens)
  • Aperture Range: Fixed (f/14)
  • Film Type: Instax Wide Film 800ASA
  • Frame Size: 3.9 × 2.4″ (99 × 62mm)
  • Focusing Range: Two modes; 3-9.8’ (0.9-3 m), 9.8’ (3 m) to Infinity
  • Shutter Speed: 1/64 to 1/200 second
  • Flash : Auto Flash with Override, Recycle time 4 sec
  • Flash Range: 3-9.8’ (0.9-3 m)
  • Batteries: 4x AA batteries
  • Dimensions: 7 × 3.7 × 4.6″ WxHxD

The dimensions might fool you; this is a fairly light camera compared to cameras with similar dimensions. It’s generally not as popular as its tiny sibling, but I find it better and cheaper since the film pack costs roughly the same as a pack of Instax Mini while having twice the film size.

It’s great for portraits which is why most of my shots are of people.

It’s also a good all around camera and that multiple exposure trick for Instaxes also works for the Instax Wide.

Its only downside is the viewfinder; If you’re near your subject, there’s a big chance that you’ll have a parallax error. This is happens especially if you ask another person (who’s not used to it) to take your photo. You’ll get used to it eventually and you’ll learn to avoid it.

Pro Tip: When asking another person to take your photo, compose the photo first and tell him/her to hold the camera at that position and to just press the shutter.

If you don’t mind the size of the camera itself, I highly recommend getting one! It’s a lot of fun to shoot instant film! It’s even cheaper than the impossible project film while almost having the same size! Happy shooting!

All information for this article were taken from the B & H, My Digital Life.

written by feelux on 2013-04-17 in #reviews #review #lomography #instax #wide #feelux #instant

More Interesting Articles

  • Now In Stock: Fuji Instax Mini Film Stripe, Candypop, and Rainbow + Instax Wide Double Pack

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-09 in #gear #news
    Now In Stock: Fuji Instax Mini Film Stripe, Candypop, and Rainbow + Instax Wide Double Pack

    Make your instant photographs look extra sweeter and vibrant by loading one of these colorful Instax Mini or Wide Film, now available at the Online Shop, into your favorite instant camera!

    1
  • How the Very First Commercial Instant Camera Came to Be

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-19 in #world #lifestyle
    How the Very First Commercial Instant Camera Came to Be

    Children, ever curious and with an innate sense of wonder, ask a lot of questions. Often they're easy enough to answer, but sometimes there are those that leave the adults stumped and mulling over them. The history of the instant camera as we know it began with one such question.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 in #gear #competitions #videos
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    8
  • A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-04 in #gear #news
    A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    There are many possible reasons for taking pictures. It could be to document an event, to capture breathtaking scenery, to preserve a fond memory, or simply, to have a snapshot of someone close to your heart. Whatever the reason, there's almost always a story behind a picture, no matter how significant or trivial it may be. And for lomographers, nothing beats the feeling of having that story unfold in your hand, in the form of a print. If you want a quick keepsake from that treasured moment or a snapshot of that special someone though, you can have it instantly, through Lomo'Instant Stories!

    2
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 in #gear #news #videos
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

  • A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    written by dop on 2015-07-18 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    There are quite a lot of festivals to choose from every summer and for sure everyone has his favorite. This June @danika, @hinny and @tomas_bates joined me for one of my favorites: Electric Castle Festival. Armed with loads of films & cameras, good mood and a lot of patience for the road to the heart of Romania, we set off to discover Electric Castle. Read on to find out what this off the radar festival has to offer!

  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Reflections: 15 Composition Varieties

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-10 in #world #lifestyle
    Reflections: 15 Composition Varieties

    Let's spread the world around the frame.

    2
  • Photo of the Day by fotolucid

    written by lomography on 2016-02-10 in #world
    Photo of the Day by fotolucid

    Photography gives us the license to let our imagination run loose.

    2