Reviews on Rewind: Lubitel 166+

3

If you take a peek at some of the community's camera wishlists, we're pretty sure that you'll see the Lubitel 166+ written in big and bold letters. What's the fuss about, you ask? Well, let this edition of Reviews on Rewind show you!

Credits: sixsixty

My Analogue Wishes …Lubitel Love! by sixsixty

This may be one of Lomography’s higher priced cameras, but when you realize how much this camera does and how many formats it offers, it is a true value.

Credits: lisamariesimpson

Lubitel 166+ in Galata by lisamariesimpson

Its mirror is sharply clean, just like its old fellows. You adore what you see. Focusing ease is the most distinctive function for it among the others.

Photos by adam_g2000

Four Years on the Lubitel 166+ by adam_g2000

The closer focusing is one of the reasons I wanted to upgrade. […] This improvement makes a big difference to me, it makes the camera a more flexible tool and once you’ve used it, you don’t want to swap back.

Photos by weihsuan

Lubitel 166+: The Camera That Does Two Formats with Accuracy by weihsuan

The full manual capability of the Lubitel 166+ enables the photographer control to the aperture and shutter speed for the best suitable exposure setting. No more under exposed photos!

Photos by strange_ojisan and yopanic

But if you want a more comprehensive look on this twin-reflex wonder, then you will definitely like this series of reviews by our regular contributor yopanic.

Introduction to the Lubitel 166+ Series
Lubitel 166+ Series #01: Tech Specs – Lens
Lubitel 166+ #02: Tech Specs – Viewfinder
Lubitel 166+ #03: Tech Specs - 35mm Format
Lubitel 166+ Series #04: Tech Specs - Other Features

The Lubitel 166+ is a loving recreation of the Soviet-era classic. Based on a design that dates back over 60 years, this camera is updated with new features like the ability to shoot both 120 and 35mm film. Shoot mind-blowing images with the Lubitel 166+, available in our Online Shop.

written by geegraphy on 2013-03-20 in #reviews #lomography #lubitel-166 #review #reviews-on-rewind-series #medium-format

3 Comments

  1. strange_ojisan
    strange_ojisan ·

    This is a photo I took

    www.lomography.com/homes/strange_ojisan/photos/16530055

  2. yopanic
    yopanic ·

    @strange_ojisan yeah, sorry I forgot to put the "various author" tag in the original article I wrote. Actually I found the image Googling the words "Lubitel 166+", so I didn't know it was yours... I will try to contact the magazine and put the "various author" tag... :)

  3. lisamariesimpson
    lisamariesimpson ·

    aww thanks!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Photo of the Day by alexandra_krolikowski

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-07 in #news
    Photo of the Day by alexandra_krolikowski

    If you are a fan of horror movies, we're pretty sure you'll agree that this is reminiscent of the twins from The Shining! Congratulations alexandra_krolikowski for having our Photo of the Day!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Inspiring Pinhole Photography Reads for World Pinhole Photography Day!

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-27 in #lifestyle
    Inspiring Pinhole Photography Reads for World Pinhole Photography Day!

    In celebration of World Pinhole Photography Day today, we've decided to make a compilation of all the amazing pinhole-related stuff we've seen, written, and read here in the Lomography website through the years. We're sure many of you will be out to take pinhole snaps throughout the day in celebration of the occasion, but in case you're itching for some more inspiring reads on pinhole photography, you might as well read on and check out our compilation!

  • How to Browse Photos on the New Site

    written by Andreas Bischoff on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    How to Browse Photos on the New Site

    BIG NEWS: We've done a proper overhaul of how you browse photos on the Lomography site. We're pretty proud of the result and we hope you like it too! Check out the breakdown of the new features.

    10
  • Explore: Seoul, South Korea

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-06 in #world #locations
    Explore: Seoul, South Korea

    Avid travelers are always on the lookout for their next great adventure, and if you're one of them, might we suggest the bustling city of Seoul? We're sure you'll be planning a trip here once you see the wanderlust-inducing lomographs by our fellow community members!

  • Shop News

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • An Interview With Malin Fabbri About Alternative Photography

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-14 in #lifestyle
    An Interview With Malin Fabbri About Alternative Photography

    We recently had the opportunity to chat with founder and editor of AlternativePhotography.com, Malin Fabbri, and we are pleased to now share it with you! Our goal was to better understand the inner workings of the Alternative Photography community and its formation, as well as get a sneak peek into the life of its founder. Malin was generous in sharing her knowledge, wisdom and history and we are grateful for it, as we're certain you will be also!

  • Swirl-tastic! Fresh swirly photographs taken with the Petzval Art Lens

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-15 in #lifestyle
    Swirl-tastic! Fresh swirly photographs taken with the Petzval Art Lens

    Take control of your shooting when you snap on the Lomography x Zenit Petzval Art Lens! Let these photos from the community show you the way of the swirl!

  • Pieces of Berlin Make Their Way to NYC

    written by efrost on 2014-09-29 in #people #events
    Pieces of Berlin Make Their Way to NYC

    Photographer Florian Reischauer is no stranger to the Lomography community. In 2013, our LomoAmigo took a Lubitel 166+ out for a spin and told us about his famous blog, "Pieces of Berlin". A few years earlier, he took time to take part in the 5 Questions on Analogue Photographyseries. Now, we’re here to give you the latest scoop on Florian Reischauer and his next appearance in NYC to present his new book which was based off of his blog, "Pieces of Berlin 2009-2013".

  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • Fresh Portraits Taken with the New Petzval Art Lens

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-26 in #lifestyle
    Fresh Portraits Taken with the New Petzval Art Lens

    As you may have already heard of, the Lomography X Zenit Petzval Art Lens works not only with Canon EF and Nikon F mount SLRs, but with their digital counterparts as well. In this gallery post, we're putting the spotlight on these lovely portraits that our DSLR and Petzval-lens toting community members have taken!

    4
  • Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    Did you enjoy shooting with Cine200 Tungsten Film when it launched? Or were you one of the unlucky many who missed out on this ultra-limited edition emulsion? Well, we’re thrilled to say we have an exciting follow-up to Cine200 which will launch in just a few days! And as the other film sold out so fast, we wanted to give you the opportunity to sign-up to our list to get the news as soon as it happens.

    1
  • Adventurous Photography: The Lomography x Stilpirat Competition

    written by petit_loir on 2015-03-20 in #world #competitions
    Adventurous Photography: The Lomography x Stilpirat Competition

    You are probably already familiar with our German Petzval LomoAmigo Steffen Böttcher, aka Stilpirat. He recently released his very first audio book about his adventures as photographer, "Abenteuer Fotografie," featuring the beautiful Petzval lens on the cover. Through this competition, our German-speaking community gets the chance to win three of his audio books as well as his photo book about Ghana. So what do you need to do? Show us your lomographic adventures!