Instax Mini 55 Review by Liad

2

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid's demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid’s demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

I can honestly say that after spending some time shooting with the Instax Mini 55, my hope in instant photography has returned.

Over the past week and a half, I’ve been wandering around town with friends and co-workers, shooting the backstreets of Brooklyn and Manhattan. The camera was always quick to respond, adjusts to light and dark with the press of a button, and turns a walk in the park into a memorable event with beautiful souvenirs to show for it.



This sleek, elegant snapshot wonder brought the simplicity of point and shoot photography, the 2-minute gratification of instant photography, and the brilliant colors and tones of Fuji film into the palm of my hand. There’s a close-up attachment, two shutter releases for different positions, and you can even hold a fisheye lens in front of the lens and get awesome fisheye perspective shots on mini Instax film!

written by ouroborosx on 2008-07-11 in #news #instax-mini-55 #fisheye-cheki #review

2 Comments

  1. mandi
    mandi ·

    fisheye lens = great idea!

  2. fotoglove
    fotoglove ·

    very cool stuff liad.. good work

More Interesting Articles

  • Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    written by sirio174 on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    In my early adolescence, I liked to play table football. For my 12th birthday, my parents gifted me with a wonderful Subbuteo table soccer game set that I had wished for many months! This was my favorite toy until I discovered other interesting hobbies, like ham radio and electronics. So after some years, I gave away this game to other kids. I always remembered this game with pleasure and a hint of nostalgia.

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    I have been constantly returning to the Sahara, and my last visit was the fifth in a row. Every visit was full of excitement and surprises. I feel like this place has become my second home. This year, I decided to travel there for a fortnight.

    10
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    written by billseye on 2015-05-11 in #gear #reviews
    Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    Though I am not a professional, photography is in my genes. My father was a photographer and technician in the Air Force and accumulated a number of cameras during his life. This is a story about one of those cameras, a Yashica 635 TLR. I brought the camera—after being in storage for about 55 years—back to life with a roll of Portra 160 during the golden hour at Bellevue Botanical Gardens in Washington.

    4
  • Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-25 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    My wife and I suffered a family loss in October 2013 so we decided to shift things around and have a celebration of life—a wedding, actually—to associate our loss with the beginning of something positive and memorable. We have been together for nearly 13 years and after getting married, we headed off on a three-month trip to South America and a few other stops to complete a round-the-world loop back to Australia.

    11
  • Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    written by nickpage on 2015-09-19 in #world #lifestyle
    Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    It had been five years since my last visit to the Côte d'Azur in France. During this period, I took to film photography again. And so for my return, I was looking forward to capturing, with my handy film cameras, some of that special light and blue sea that had drawn so many artists to the Riviera.

  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-29 in #people #lifestyle
    Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    While many of us can only dream of working with musicians and photographing them, Angela Izzo's job entails exactly that. Apparently, this is a fulfillment of her own dream that she had when she was younger. In this interview, Izzo talks about her beginnings which, of course, included going to as many shows and festivals as she possibly can; some of her most memorable on-the-job-experiences with the likes of The Doors, Lykke Li, Jack White, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, and Chris Robinson Brotherhood; her inspirations and other interests; and her love for film photography and Diana Mini. And to those looking into fulfilling their own dreams of working in the same industry, Izzo also shares helpful advice based on her own experiences.

  • Photo Stories: We Must Celebrate Water by disdis

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-03 in #world #locations
    Photo Stories: We Must Celebrate Water by disdis

    One of the things that make a trip to a far-flung place truly memorable is getting the chance to interact with the locals and share fun moments with them. Five years ago, disdis was able to do exactly that on a trip to Zinguinchor, Senegal, and it goes without saying that it was most certainly one for the books.

  • The Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens Meets the Masses

    written by shhquiet on 2015-06-01 in #gear #news
    The Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens Meets the Masses

    The Lomo LC-A Minitar 1 Art Lens 2.8/32 mm has not been roaming the streets for long, but word has spread like wildfire and they’ve gone fast — we’re sorry to say we’re all out of stock for July delivery. But the good news is you can pre-order now for the next delivery scheduled for August!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-04 in #gear #news
    A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    There are many possible reasons for taking pictures. It could be to document an event, to capture breathtaking scenery, to preserve a fond memory, or simply, to have a snapshot of someone close to your heart. Whatever the reason, there's almost always a story behind a picture, no matter how significant or trivial it may be. And for lomographers, nothing beats the feeling of having that story unfold in your hand, in the form of a print. If you want a quick keepsake from that treasured moment or a snapshot of that special someone though, you can have it instantly, through Lomo'Instant Stories!

    2
  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    5