Instax Mini 55 Review by Liad

2

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid's demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid’s demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

I can honestly say that after spending some time shooting with the Instax Mini 55, my hope in instant photography has returned.

Over the past week and a half, I’ve been wandering around town with friends and co-workers, shooting the backstreets of Brooklyn and Manhattan. The camera was always quick to respond, adjusts to light and dark with the press of a button, and turns a walk in the park into a memorable event with beautiful souvenirs to show for it.



This sleek, elegant snapshot wonder brought the simplicity of point and shoot photography, the 2-minute gratification of instant photography, and the brilliant colors and tones of Fuji film into the palm of my hand. There’s a close-up attachment, two shutter releases for different positions, and you can even hold a fisheye lens in front of the lens and get awesome fisheye perspective shots on mini Instax film!

written by ouroborosx on 2008-07-11 in #news #instax-mini-55 #fisheye-cheki #review

2 Comments

  1. mandi
    mandi ·

    fisheye lens = great idea!

  2. fotoglove
    fotoglove ·

    very cool stuff liad.. good work

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2015-01-29 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    2014 has been a year of many travels for me. Lucky, I know. Let me show you a few photos that I have taken during my adventures far away from home.

    4
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    written by sirio174 on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    In my early adolescence, I liked to play table football. For my 12th birthday, my parents gifted me with a wonderful Subbuteo table soccer game set that I had wished for many months! This was my favorite toy until I discovered other interesting hobbies, like ham radio and electronics. So after some years, I gave away this game to other kids. I always remembered this game with pleasure and a hint of nostalgia.

  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Lomography x Oxjam Clapham Rumble!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-11 in #competitions
    Lomography x Oxjam Clapham Rumble!

    Oxjam music events raise money to help Oxfam combat poverty and suffering around the world. Last year, their emergency and development work reached a staggering 15 million people in 55 countries! In line with this year’s Oxjam Clapham which takes place in October,with have collaborated with the event's organizers for a very exciting rumble! The Oxjam Clapham Rumble gives you the chance to win some tickets, a Sprocket Rocket with a Flash, and to be a part of something exciting. Join the competition and grab the chance to win!

    1
  • Most Popular Photos Uploaded in 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Most Popular Photos Uploaded in 2014

    Hundreds of thousands of photographs have been shared in the community for the past twelve months and we cannot help but commend those that really stood out and captured everyone's attention. Let's take a look back at this great year through this selection of landscapes and portraits that make up the most popular photos of 2014.

    6
  • Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    written by billseye on 2015-05-11 in #gear #reviews
    Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    Though I am not a professional, photography is in my genes. My father was a photographer and technician in the Air Force and accumulated a number of cameras during his life. This is a story about one of those cameras, a Yashica 635 TLR. I brought the camera—after being in storage for about 55 years—back to life with a roll of Portra 160 during the golden hour at Bellevue Botanical Gardens in Washington.

    4
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-25 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    My wife and I suffered a family loss in October 2013 so we decided to shift things around and have a celebration of life—a wedding, actually—to associate our loss with the beginning of something positive and memorable. We have been together for nearly 13 years and after getting married, we headed off on a three-month trip to South America and a few other stops to complete a round-the-world loop back to Australia.

    11
  • Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-29 in #people #lifestyle
    Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    While many of us can only dream of working with musicians and photographing them, Angela Izzo's job entails exactly that. Apparently, this is a fulfillment of her own dream that she had when she was younger. In this interview, Izzo talks about her beginnings which, of course, included going to as many shows and festivals as she possibly can; some of her most memorable on-the-job-experiences with the likes of The Doors, Lykke Li, Jack White, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, and Chris Robinson Brotherhood; her inspirations and other interests; and her love for film photography and Diana Mini. And to those looking into fulfilling their own dreams of working in the same industry, Izzo also shares helpful advice based on her own experiences.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Buraco (A Tribute to Alfred Eisenstaedt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-09-21 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Buraco (A Tribute to Alfred Eisenstaedt)

    Alfred Eisenstaedt was one of Life Magazine's greatest photographers, known for his ability to immortalize the storytelling moment of many public events in history. To write this tribute to him, I chose a subject that he photographed in different places and times: card players in public places. The photos in this article were taken at the Patronal Feast of my city Como, during a series of buraco's lessons held by a local card players club.