Instax Mini 55 Review by Liad

2

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid's demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid’s demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

I can honestly say that after spending some time shooting with the Instax Mini 55, my hope in instant photography has returned.

Over the past week and a half, I’ve been wandering around town with friends and co-workers, shooting the backstreets of Brooklyn and Manhattan. The camera was always quick to respond, adjusts to light and dark with the press of a button, and turns a walk in the park into a memorable event with beautiful souvenirs to show for it.



This sleek, elegant snapshot wonder brought the simplicity of point and shoot photography, the 2-minute gratification of instant photography, and the brilliant colors and tones of Fuji film into the palm of my hand. There’s a close-up attachment, two shutter releases for different positions, and you can even hold a fisheye lens in front of the lens and get awesome fisheye perspective shots on mini Instax film!

written by ouroborosx on 2008-07-11 in #news

2 Comments

  1. mandi
    mandi ·

    fisheye lens = great idea!

  2. fotoglove
    fotoglove ·

    very cool stuff liad.. good work

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2015-01-29 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    2014 has been a year of many travels for me. Lucky, I know. Let me show you a few photos that I have taken during my adventures far away from home.

    2
  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Verano! Sonar Festival 2014, Barcelona

    written by mr_fish on 2014-06-24 in #lifestyle
    Verano! Sonar Festival 2014, Barcelona

    Summer is about to begin, and Barcelona has just launched the hottest season of the year with a sonic boom - a three-day and -night festival of booming music, velvet curtains, and sweaty bodies. An event where more than 100,000 sun-burnt souls find relief for their bass addiction.

  • How Street Photography is Forcing My Eyes Open

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-14 in #lifestyle
    How Street Photography is Forcing My Eyes Open

    While I have been making attempts to do some street photography in the past two years, I must confess that I've let my introverted side take over countless times, resulting in half-baked (and sometimes half-hearted) snaps. However, once I started letting go of my inhibitions and just immerse myself in the task and experience, I found that street photography forcing my eyes open on so many things.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Lomography x Oxjam Clapham Rumble!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-11 in #competitions
    Lomography x Oxjam Clapham Rumble!

    Oxjam music events raise money to help Oxfam combat poverty and suffering around the world. Last year, their emergency and development work reached a staggering 15 million people in 55 countries! In line with this year’s Oxjam Clapham which takes place in October,with have collaborated with the event's organizers for a very exciting rumble! The Oxjam Clapham Rumble gives you the chance to win some tickets, a Sprocket Rocket with a Flash, and to be a part of something exciting. Join the competition and grab the chance to win!

    1
  • Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    written by dermanu on 2014-03-19 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    Just recently I asked myself why I would want to write about a film like the Fuji Instax Mini, because usually this film is the only one available for Fuji Instax cameras. But then it hit me! It can be an alternative to many other instant films, since I can load almost any film into my Diana F+, other medium and 135 format cameras, and of course the Fuji Instax Mini.

  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • Most Popular Photos Uploaded in 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Most Popular Photos Uploaded in 2014

    Hundreds of thousands of photographs have been shared in the community for the past twelve months and we cannot help but commend those that really stood out and captured everyone's attention. Let's take a look back at this great year through this selection of landscapes and portraits that make up the most popular photos of 2014.

    6
  • Awesome Albums: Trip to Laspi on Mountain by lomovan

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-21 in #news
    Awesome Albums: Trip to Laspi on Mountain by lomovan

    Since many fun cycling events have been happening around the world this month, it's about time for us to take a look at some lovely snaps taken by our community's cyclers during their biking trips! Today's awesome album

  • A Fresh Start with an Old and a New Camera

    written by wesco on 2014-05-02 in #lifestyle
    A Fresh Start with an Old and a New Camera

    In December, two new cameras came into my possession: from the bag of Sinterklaas, the Dutch Santa Claus, came a classic Minolta SRT100 with two lenses and a flash, and I also picked up the Horizon Perfekt that I had won in the "Eliza was here" rumble. By now the first rolls have been shot and developed!