The Film Photography Project Reviews the Diana Baby 110

1

Last year, the 110 film format celebrated a glorious comeback with the Diana Baby, the Fisheye Baby and various films. The resurrection of the discontinued format took the analogue photography world by storm. One of the people excited by the cameras and film format is Michael Raso, producer and host of the Film Photography Podcast. Read on for his thoughts on the Diana Baby and a video review!

All images © Michael Raso / FilmPhotographyProject.com

Last year, Lomography resurrected the pocket film format of 110 film. Right now, there are four types of film and two 110 cameras available, the Diana Baby and the Fisheye Baby. Many people were surprised by the comeback of 110 film. One of these people was Michael Raso, owner of The Film Photography Project and producer/host of the long-running The Film Photography Podcast (FPP) – the internet radio show for people who love to shoot film. This week, he released a video review of the Diana Baby (see below). Reason enough for us to ask him some questions on 110 film, the Diana Baby and his projects.

What was your initial reaction when you heard of the comeback of 110 pocket film?

When I heard that Lomography was bringing back 110 pocket film I literally jumped out of my seat and shouted “YES!” I immediately called Lomography New York to find out as much info as possible – the hows, the whys and whens! A fantastic day indeed! I was actually at Lomography, London for a FPP Meet-Up the month that the first batch of 110 BW Orca was released. Little did I know that three additional 110 films were to be released in 2012!

All images © Michael Raso / FilmPhotographyProject.com

How would you describe the characteristics of 110 film to someone who has never used it?

110 film has its roots in the early 1970s and was designed by Kodak to replace the existing 126 cartridge format. The much smaller 110 cartridges yield a smaller negative and therefore will usually produce a grainier, grindier looking image. In many cases, the 110 images look vintage due to the fact that no other film format produces such a look. Certainly a very different look in an age of clean, crisp, video. Everyone shooting film should return or try 110 film!

What was your experience with the Diana Baby like? Are there any characteristics you’d especially like to point out?

The Baby Diana is an excellent addition to the existing lines of 110 cameras and perhaps the first 110 camera to produce a square image! The beauty of the Baby Diana is the interchangeable lenses and the fact that it has a PC port that allows you to attach a flash. Brilliant! My Baby Diana is always in my pocket!

The Film Photography Project includes its website, podcast, Youtube channel, Facebook and Twitter outlets. How did the project get started?

One weekend in late 2008, I cleaned out a closet in my home to discover all of my 35mm film gear. Unused for 10 years, I was anxious to get out and shoot but soon realized that the world had gone digital and film was hard to come by in a local brick and mortar store. Upon doing a Google search, I discovered Flickr.com and found a film-frenzied online community of devoted film-only photographers. My background is in film and audio production so, just for fun, I started producing a monthly show called The Film Photography Podcast – an Internet radio show about the love and discovery of shooting film. I inducted pals John Fedele and Mat Marrash to co-host and before long I had a small gang of volunteers!

What was the weirdest or funniest encounter or story you can tell us about that resulted from the project being started?

It’s both weird and funny that this little radio show soon became my entire life! I had no idea back in ’08 that there was such a large, world-wide audience who were interested in listening to guys from Jersey discuss their love of film. What made and still makes the podcast exciting is that we do not broadcast “to” our audience – we are talking “with” them. Even though we’re not a live show, so many of our listeners feel like they’re “in the room” or “part of the conversation” during any one of our podcasts.Listener letters and feedback are a huge part on the show.

All images © Michael Raso / FilmPhotographyProject.com

The show has also been a great source of discovery for both me and the audience listening. When I started the podcast I had only shot 35mm and Instamatic film formats. Since podcasting began, both me and the audience have ventured into instant photography, medium format and upwards to large format film photography. Perhaps the greatest thing that has happened is the in-person meet-ups with listeners. Both our New York and London meet-ups have taken place at Lomography stores with the awesome help of all the kind folks at lomography. In 2013, the podcast and website are going strong! I encourage everyone reading this to come and check out the world of The Film Photography Podcast!

With 110 film having been resurrected, what other technologies of film photography do you see as being in jeopardy or would like to enjoy a comeback? Why so?

Clearly, the next format deserving a comeback is the 126-cartridge film format. Introduced by Kodak in 1963, there are millions of existing cameras in the world with no available film. The 126 film format is the same size as 35mm but produces a square image. If anyone can do it, Lomography can!

written by bohlera on 2013-03-06 in #reviews #analogue-photography #film-photography-project #35mm-films #diana-baby #art #film #pocket-film #110 #video #sample #analogue-cameras #test #diana #camera #120-films #accessories #review

One Comment

  1. adam_g2000
    adam_g2000 ·

    The FPP is a great shoe (what shoe?)! 126 would be cool, though never had the chance to use it. Would development be an issue at modern labs?

More Interesting Articles

  • Carlos Somonte and his Affair with the Diana

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-05-18 in #people #lifestyle
    Carlos Somonte and his Affair with the Diana

    Carlos Somonte is an award-winning and prolific photographer whose experience spans over three decades of personal and professional work. Aside from photos that have been used in various advertising campaigns by some of the world’s most recognized advertising firms, he has done work for publications, and even film and theater. Mr. Somonte has worked with the likes of directors Alfonso and Jonas Cuaron, and producer Cameron Mackintosh. He has photographed the stills from their productions and his photos have appeared on numerous publicity posters.

  • Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-02 in #people #competitions
    Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    Film Photography Day 2015 is an exciting event happening on Sunday, April 12. To celebrate this day, Lomography has teamed up with Skillshare to launch a series of FREE classes to help you make the most of your Lomo cameras. To throw in a little more fun, we're also hosting a competition to win a Diana Deluxe Kit and a full year of premium membership to Skillshare to take tons of awesome photography classes. Read on to find out more!

    2
  • Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-08 in #people #lifestyle
    Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    "At the edge of the Earth" is an ongoing yearlong project by documentary photographer Markus Andersen in which he captures the coastline of Sydney, Australia on black and white film with the Diana and Lomo LC-A cameras. In this interview, the Sydney-based photographer opens up to Lomography about his latest endeavor as well as on shooting on the streets of his city and the importance of photographing in analog.

    3
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    written by lomographysg on 2014-07-30 in #events
    August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    This August, we bring you back to your roots and explore the wonders of nature! First, we cook up a storm with a film soup experiment. Followed by nature photowalks at beautiful scenic parks in Singapore to unearth the tips & tricks of trouble exposure, as well as the unique methods to perfect our macro shots. To cap off the learning month, we'll gather on a cozy Friday night for a new special sharing series by the Lomography Community -- with Sharing Session #1: Nature.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-29 in #lifestyle
    Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    Stephan has more than 20 cameras in his collection but the Lubitel 166+ remains his favorite because of its versatility as a medium format camera. Read on why Stephan Kaps, aka mephisto19, regards the Lubitel 166+ as the perfect camera for his multiple exposure projects, portraiture, and other personal photography experiments in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Sprocket Rocket Workshop at The London Analogue Festival

    written by dribri on 2014-08-29 in #events
    Sprocket Rocket Workshop at The London Analogue Festival

    The London Analogue Festival celebrates everything analogue, from music art, film and of course photography too! This year’s festival takes place at the OXO Tower in London from September 12 to 14. Lomography will be hosting a special Sprocket Rocket Workshop on Saturday, September 13. It’s completely free to attend but booking in advance is advised. Read on for details.

  • LomoAmigo: Paul White

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-20 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Paul White

    Paul White is a South East London-based hip-hop producer with tons of energy and a penchant for film photography. He recently released his fifth album on the mighty R&S label. We decided to arm him with a Sprocket Rocket to shoot his adventures with. Read the full interview and see his images here.

  • Lomo'Instant LomoAmigo: Britta Burger

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #people #lomoamigos
    Lomo'Instant LomoAmigo: Britta Burger

    Britta Burger is a photographer and long time fan of film photography. She is the fashion editor for Cooler Magazine and founder of Cheap Tricks magazine. Lomography UK lent her a Lomo'instant camera, which she took on a trip to Austria. Catch a glimpse of her scenic instant shots.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    written by edwinchau on 2015-03-25 in #world #events
    Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    Lomography Singapore plays host to Parallel Planets’ first exhibition, "Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition," featuring all-analog photography: a sea of black and white film portraits. This exhibition serves as a platform where both local and international photographers can express themselves by injecting individual perspectives into their craft. It also encourages viewers to look through the lens of the photographers, to see the subjects as who they are – flawed, alive, and breathing – and to also see beyond the façades we all choose to don.

    5
  • LomoAmigo Charlie Wagers's First Rolls of LomoChrome Purple

    written by charliewagers on 2014-06-05 in #reviews
    LomoAmigo Charlie Wagers's First Rolls of LomoChrome Purple

    A LomoAmigo who usually shoots Medium-Format with a Diana, Charlie Wagers went on two tours through the East Coast of the USA and shot his first rolls of LomoChrome Purple 120. Take a look at his first shots with the new film.

  • Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-01 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    His best friend and fellow lomographer weleasewoger72 used to make him feel bad about using an IPhone to take pictures. However, after trying out a Diana F+, our Newcomer of the Week, life_on_acetate, decided to ditch the digital territory and try his hand at analogue photography. Read on to find out more about this fascinating story of friendship and film photography!

    2