The Film Photography Project Reviews the Diana Baby 110


Last year, the 110 film format celebrated a glorious comeback with the Diana Baby, the Fisheye Baby and various films. The resurrection of the discontinued format took the analogue photography world by storm. One of the people excited by the cameras and film format is Michael Raso, producer and host of the Film Photography Podcast. Read on for his thoughts on the Diana Baby and a video review!

All images © Michael Raso /

Last year, Lomography resurrected the pocket film format of 110 film. Right now, there are four types of film and two 110 cameras available, the Diana Baby and the Fisheye Baby. Many people were surprised by the comeback of 110 film. One of these people was Michael Raso, owner of The Film Photography Project and producer/host of the long-running The Film Photography Podcast (FPP) – the internet radio show for people who love to shoot film. This week, he released a video review of the Diana Baby (see below). Reason enough for us to ask him some questions on 110 film, the Diana Baby and his projects.

What was your initial reaction when you heard of the comeback of 110 pocket film?

When I heard that Lomography was bringing back 110 pocket film I literally jumped out of my seat and shouted “YES!” I immediately called Lomography New York to find out as much info as possible – the hows, the whys and whens! A fantastic day indeed! I was actually at Lomography, London for a FPP Meet-Up the month that the first batch of 110 BW Orca was released. Little did I know that three additional 110 films were to be released in 2012!

All images © Michael Raso /

How would you describe the characteristics of 110 film to someone who has never used it?

110 film has its roots in the early 1970s and was designed by Kodak to replace the existing 126 cartridge format. The much smaller 110 cartridges yield a smaller negative and therefore will usually produce a grainier, grindier looking image. In many cases, the 110 images look vintage due to the fact that no other film format produces such a look. Certainly a very different look in an age of clean, crisp, video. Everyone shooting film should return or try 110 film!

What was your experience with the Diana Baby like? Are there any characteristics you’d especially like to point out?

The Baby Diana is an excellent addition to the existing lines of 110 cameras and perhaps the first 110 camera to produce a square image! The beauty of the Baby Diana is the interchangeable lenses and the fact that it has a PC port that allows you to attach a flash. Brilliant! My Baby Diana is always in my pocket!

The Film Photography Project includes its website, podcast, Youtube channel, Facebook and Twitter outlets. How did the project get started?

One weekend in late 2008, I cleaned out a closet in my home to discover all of my 35mm film gear. Unused for 10 years, I was anxious to get out and shoot but soon realized that the world had gone digital and film was hard to come by in a local brick and mortar store. Upon doing a Google search, I discovered and found a film-frenzied online community of devoted film-only photographers. My background is in film and audio production so, just for fun, I started producing a monthly show called The Film Photography Podcast – an Internet radio show about the love and discovery of shooting film. I inducted pals John Fedele and Mat Marrash to co-host and before long I had a small gang of volunteers!

What was the weirdest or funniest encounter or story you can tell us about that resulted from the project being started?

It’s both weird and funny that this little radio show soon became my entire life! I had no idea back in ’08 that there was such a large, world-wide audience who were interested in listening to guys from Jersey discuss their love of film. What made and still makes the podcast exciting is that we do not broadcast “to” our audience – we are talking “with” them. Even though we’re not a live show, so many of our listeners feel like they’re “in the room” or “part of the conversation” during any one of our podcasts.Listener letters and feedback are a huge part on the show.

All images © Michael Raso /

The show has also been a great source of discovery for both me and the audience listening. When I started the podcast I had only shot 35mm and Instamatic film formats. Since podcasting began, both me and the audience have ventured into instant photography, medium format and upwards to large format film photography. Perhaps the greatest thing that has happened is the in-person meet-ups with listeners. Both our New York and London meet-ups have taken place at Lomography stores with the awesome help of all the kind folks at lomography. In 2013, the podcast and website are going strong! I encourage everyone reading this to come and check out the world of The Film Photography Podcast!

With 110 film having been resurrected, what other technologies of film photography do you see as being in jeopardy or would like to enjoy a comeback? Why so?

Clearly, the next format deserving a comeback is the 126-cartridge film format. Introduced by Kodak in 1963, there are millions of existing cameras in the world with no available film. The 126 film format is the same size as 35mm but produces a square image. If anyone can do it, Lomography can!

written by bohlera on 2013-03-06 in #reviews #videos #diana #art #pocket-film #film #test #film-photography-project #35mm-films #analogue-photography #video #sample #analogue-cameras #diana-baby #accessories #110 #120-films #review #camera

One Comment

  1. adam_g2000
    adam_g2000 ·

    The FPP is a great shoe (what shoe?)! 126 would be cool, though never had the chance to use it. Would development be an issue at modern labs?

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Abstract Visions and Phantasmic Monochromes by Ian Llewellyn

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-08-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    Abstract Visions and Phantasmic Monochromes by Ian Llewellyn

    As a wildlife cameraman and photographer, Ian Llewellyn has worked on a number of television projects. The UK-based lensman breaks free from the strict confines of his profession by engaging in monochrome photography. His personal work is a plethora of abstract and experimental imagery, created in a style distinctly his own. Llewellyn is an ardent user of a Leica Monochrom camera, on which he mounted the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Lens, producing the most imaginative, phantasmic results.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Taking on the Dinosaurs in Jurassic World with a Diana Mini

    written by givesmehell on 2015-06-24 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Taking on the Dinosaurs in Jurassic World with a Diana Mini

    The new movie Jurassic World is taking the world by storm. As the film progresses, it tells the story of a fictional dinosaur park called Jurassic World and the adventure that unfolds when man attempts to tame the wild creatures. And coincidentally, the Lomography Diana Mini camera makes a special appearance.

  • Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-02 in #people #competitions
    Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    Film Photography Day 2015 is an exciting event happening on Sunday, April 12. To celebrate this day, Lomography has teamed up with Skillshare to launch a series of FREE classes to help you make the most of your Lomo cameras. To throw in a little more fun, we're also hosting a competition to win a Diana Deluxe Kit and a full year of premium membership to Skillshare to take tons of awesome photography classes. Read on to find out more!

  • Petzval Lomographer of the Week: stephoebe

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-21 in #world #news
    Petzval Lomographer of the Week: stephoebe

    Our Petzval Lomographer of the Week takes the New Petzval 85 lens on a vintage garden party and showcases the lens' analog prowess by matching its signature swirly bokeh with various films.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • An Interview with the Founders of Revolog: Magical Handmade Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-29 in #people #lifestyle
    An Interview with the Founders of Revolog: Magical Handmade Film

    When the founders of Revolog started working on ways to create special effects film as a college project, little did they know that it would blossom into a full blown international business. Meet Hannah Pribitzer and Michael Krebs — the passionate Vienna-based photographers behind the wonderful analog film company, Revolog!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

  • Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-08 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    "At the edge of the Earth" is an ongoing yearlong project by documentary photographer Markus Andersen in which he captures the coastline of Sydney, Australia on black and white film with the Diana and Lomo LC-A cameras. In this interview, the Sydney-based photographer opens up to Lomography about his latest endeavor as well as on shooting on the streets of his city and the importance of photographing in analog.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • A Salute to the Masters: R.I.P. (A Tribute to George Krause)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-06-20 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: R.I.P. (A Tribute to George Krause)

    This article is dedicated to the multifaceted American photographer George Krause and to his series depicting funeral monuments realized between 1962 and 1963. I was able to know about this series thanks to an important essay on photography written by former Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) Director of Photography, John Szarkowski. For this tribute, I loaded my trusty Praktica camera with a roll of Ilford film and took a series of photos in the Monumental Cemetery in my city, Como. Take a look!

  • The World in Infrared

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-28 in #world #lifestyle
    The World in Infrared

    Scenes on land and by the water turn into places straight out of fantasy films with unnatural colors dominating the landscape, the results of color infrared photography.

  • Petzval Artist Shima Eleven Talks About The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2015-06-18 in #gear #news #videos
    Petzval Artist Shima Eleven Talks About The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    We'd like to introduce you to our latest Petzval Artist, Shima Eleven - a professional photographer based in Hong Kong. He specializes in large format photography and first got a glimpse of the Petzval Lens 5 to 6 years ago. In this video he talks about his Petzval passion, and shares his thoughts on the new Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens!