Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens: A Review with a Twist

2

There are many, many reviews of the LC-A. This one is different. This one is about the LC-A Russian Lens. This one steps back and looks at the heart of the LC-A and why you should want one.

The photos I’ve chosen for this article are my favourite of those I’ve shot, their aim is to show you how great this little point and shoot is.

It seems strange to write a review for the LC-A aimed at Lomographers. Amongst our ilk, the camera is ubiquitous. The go-to tool.

I think the thing to highlight is that it does have competitors, there are other LC-A’s. You can ebay an original, you can choose a completely new one with Chinese glass, or you can choose the wide version and maybe you will. This review is intended to explain why you may not want to.

Credits: adam_g2000

Let’s get the obvious out of the way. No LC-A, no Lomography. It’s the camera that started it all. Is this a good enough reason to buy one? I think so. Jeremy Clarkson of English Top Gear says you can’t be a petrol head unless you’ve owned an Alpha Romeo. You can’t be a Lomographer without owning a Lomo camera. Yes there are other cameras, like the Olympus Trip or the XA series, you may have one, but does that make you a Lomographer? I don’t know. You may have the spirit, but you don’t have the tool.

Credits: adam_g2000

Why the LC-A? The LC-A has some, not unique, but definitely fascinating attributes and perhaps the combination of them is unique.

The lens enhances the contrast of colours in colour photography. This makes for wonderful, colourful shots, it enhances reality.

The distance of the film in the camera to the lens causes a vignetting effect. This draws the eye to the middle of the picture, which really frames snapshot photography.

Credits: adam_g2000

Ease of use, the camera is automatic, except for focussing and this is a simple operation.

The LC-Wide is simply a tricked out, wider version of an LC-A but in truth, it isn’t an LC-A; it’s a hybrid, an excellent hybrid, but we don’t have to talk about it here anymore.

Many of my Lomography friends are sticklers for ‘original’ — they want or have an original LC-A , the full Russian deal. They struggle with light leaks and jamming. I don’t. My LC-A is reliable I can also shoot a wider range of film types. But to an extent, I am like them. I want the original but I want reliability. I get the best of both worlds with the Russian Lens version.

Credits: adam_g2000

So in essence you have a reliable camera that can produce shots more interesting than any digital camera (these strive for perfection), is as easy to use as any auto point and shoot (analogue or otherwise), and one that lets you into a club of thousands of like-minded, creative artistic people.

Credits: adam_g2000

Why wouldn’t you want one?

The Lomo LC-A+ RL has all the features we know and love, authentic Russian lens, and a back that’s now interchangeable with the Instant Back+. Explore analogue possibilities with the LC-A+ RL!

written by adam_g2000 on 2013-03-18 in #reviews #film #ease-of-use #lc-a #reliable #russian-lens #automatic #club #lomography #user-review #olympus

2 Comments

  1. neanderthalis
    neanderthalis ·

    I have the new lens model and a LC-Wide. I am happy with them. (Not that I do not wish to get an original or RL models) Nice article.

  2. istionojr
    istionojr ·

    I love your article, you boost up the positive energy for taking the RL. :)

More Interesting Articles

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to New York City

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-12 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to New York City

    New York City is the busiest and most populous city in the USA. Home to 8.5 million people, it is a massive melting pot. The city embraces many different cultures, which makes it home to many immigrants, too. Let's take a look at NYC through the lens of the Lomo LC-A!

    1
  • Orangebird and her Weapons of Choice: Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-A+ Wide-Angle Lens

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-26 in #lifestyle
    Orangebird and her Weapons of Choice: Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-A+ Wide-Angle Lens

    There's no doubt that the Lomo LC-A+ is a favorite among newbies and longtime lomographers alike. However, Asumi Mizuno, aka orangebird, prefers to pair this reinvention of the legendary LC-A with the Lomo LC-A+ Wide Angle-Lens. Find out why in this edition of Weapon of Choice!

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • This Is What An LC-A Instant Looks Like

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-01 in #gear #news
    This Is What An LC-A Instant Looks Like

    Anything can happen in an instant, right? This is also true with instant snapshots taken with the Lomo LC-A+ camera and LC-A Instant Back+ accessory. Here's a quick look at the bizarre, unpredictable world of LC-A+ Instants!

    1
  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    written by shibuya on 2014-10-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    Sonia pushed the Petzval lens test one step further by shooting with expired black and white film. The results are amazing, and the grain gave life to these beautiful Petzval portraits! Learn more about this photographer and her love for films, and catch a glimpse of her photos, taken in romantic Paris.

  • LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2014-11-11 in #gear #tipster
    LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    If you're the happy owner of a Lomo LC-Wide, you are probably overwhelmed and frustrated at not being able to use your three different frames on one film. But this tipster will let you make magic happen!

  • A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    written by ichdaschaos on 2015-01-06 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    Lomography ran a vote for the backers of the Lomo’Instant Kickstarter project to decide which design the Lomo’Instant Strap should have. Below is my little review about it.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Taking Back Tipsters: Go Lomo Loco with the LC-Wide

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-14 in #gear #tipster
    Taking Back Tipsters: Go Lomo Loco with the LC-Wide

    With its ultra-wide and ultra-dependable Minigon lens, the Lomo LC-Wide is an easy contender for Lomography favorite among our community members. Learn a trick or two on using the LC-Wide and why it makes an easy favorite through this compilation of quick tipsters