Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens: A Review with a Twist

2

There are many, many reviews of the LC-A. This one is different. This one is about the LC-A Russian Lens. This one steps back and looks at the heart of the LC-A and why you should want one.

The photos I’ve chosen for this article are my favourite of those I’ve shot, their aim is to show you how great this little point and shoot is.

It seems strange to write a review for the LC-A aimed at Lomographers. Amongst our ilk, the camera is ubiquitous. The go-to tool.

I think the thing to highlight is that it does have competitors, there are other LC-A’s. You can ebay an original, you can choose a completely new one with Chinese glass, or you can choose the wide version and maybe you will. This review is intended to explain why you may not want to.

Credits: adam_g2000

Let’s get the obvious out of the way. No LC-A, no Lomography. It’s the camera that started it all. Is this a good enough reason to buy one? I think so. Jeremy Clarkson of English Top Gear says you can’t be a petrol head unless you’ve owned an Alpha Romeo. You can’t be a Lomographer without owning a Lomo camera. Yes there are other cameras, like the Olympus Trip or the XA series, you may have one, but does that make you a Lomographer? I don’t know. You may have the spirit, but you don’t have the tool.

Credits: adam_g2000

Why the LC-A? The LC-A has some, not unique, but definitely fascinating attributes and perhaps the combination of them is unique.

The lens enhances the contrast of colours in colour photography. This makes for wonderful, colourful shots, it enhances reality.

The distance of the film in the camera to the lens causes a vignetting effect. This draws the eye to the middle of the picture, which really frames snapshot photography.

Credits: adam_g2000

Ease of use, the camera is automatic, except for focussing and this is a simple operation.

The LC-Wide is simply a tricked out, wider version of an LC-A but in truth, it isn’t an LC-A; it’s a hybrid, an excellent hybrid, but we don’t have to talk about it here anymore.

Many of my Lomography friends are sticklers for ‘original’ — they want or have an original LC-A , the full Russian deal. They struggle with light leaks and jamming. I don’t. My LC-A is reliable I can also shoot a wider range of film types. But to an extent, I am like them. I want the original but I want reliability. I get the best of both worlds with the Russian Lens version.

Credits: adam_g2000

So in essence you have a reliable camera that can produce shots more interesting than any digital camera (these strive for perfection), is as easy to use as any auto point and shoot (analogue or otherwise), and one that lets you into a club of thousands of like-minded, creative artistic people.

Credits: adam_g2000

Why wouldn’t you want one?

The Lomo LC-A+ RL has all the features we know and love, authentic Russian lens, and a back that’s now interchangeable with the Instant Back+. Explore analogue possibilities with the LC-A+ RL!

written by adam_g2000 on 2013-03-18 in #reviews #lc-a #ease-of-use #automatic #olympus #reliable #film #lomography #club #user-review #russian-lens

2 Comments

  1. neanderthalis
    neanderthalis ·

    I have the new lens model and a LC-Wide. I am happy with them. (Not that I do not wish to get an original or RL models) Nice article.

  2. istionojr
    istionojr ·

    I love your article, you boost up the positive energy for taking the RL. :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to New York City

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-12 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to New York City

    New York City is the busiest and most populous city in the USA. Home to 8.5 million people, it is a massive melting pot. The city embraces many different cultures, which makes it home to many immigrants, too. Let's take a look at NYC through the lens of the Lomo LC-A!

    1
  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • This Is What An LC-A Instant Looks Like

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-01 in #gear #news
    This Is What An LC-A Instant Looks Like

    Anything can happen in an instant, right? This is also true with instant snapshots taken with the Lomo LC-A+ camera and LC-A Instant Back+ accessory. Here's a quick look at the bizarre, unpredictable world of LC-A+ Instants!

    1
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    written by shibuya on 2014-10-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    Sonia pushed the Petzval lens test one step further by shooting with expired black and white film. The results are amazing, and the grain gave life to these beautiful Petzval portraits! Learn more about this photographer and her love for films, and catch a glimpse of her photos, taken in romantic Paris.

  • A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    written by ichdaschaos on 2015-01-06 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    Lomography ran a vote for the backers of the Lomo’Instant Kickstarter project to decide which design the Lomo’Instant Strap should have. Below is my little review about it.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2014-11-11 in #gear #tipster
    LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    If you're the happy owner of a Lomo LC-Wide, you are probably overwhelmed and frustrated at not being able to use your three different frames on one film. But this tipster will let you make magic happen!

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • Petzval History Series: The Invention of the First Petzval Lens

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-06-11 in #gear #lifestyle
    Petzval History Series: The Invention of the First Petzval Lens

    Not long after Joseph Petzval's move to Vienna in 1837, he joined the race to create a faster camera lens. He succeeded in 1840 with what became known as the Petzval Lens. Let's take a step back and look more closely at the development of this ground-breaking lens.