Kodak Ektacolor Pro 160 (120, iso 160) User-Review

11

Looking for an alternative film and reasonable priced for your Holga or Diana? here comes the Kodak Ektacolor Pro 160.

When I went shopping for 120 film at a local shop (probably one of the last shops here in Saigon that still sell and develop medium format films), this film got into my shopping cart just because its price wouldn’t hurt my pocket as much as other films they have in there. I got a few rolls of Kodak Ektarcolor and some other Fuji as well. I feed my Holga 120GCFN and go shoot right away.

When I got these developed I was very happy with the result: strong blue, nice warm yellow and deep red, the results was very impressive! The good thing is this film got 160 iso compared to the 100 iso of the other brand I got, and I always feel more comfortable shooting with higher speed film, because I am limited in terms of shutter speed or aperture settings on my Holga. Although there’s an aperture switch on the Holga but I’d keep it in “cloudy” all the time.

This film is great when you shoot outdoor on a sunny day, very nice grain, the sky is more blue and the skin tone is perfect. I shoot a lot at night, long exposure, indoor with the color flash and I’m very happy with the result. If you are looking for some alternative film choice for your Holga or Diana, this film is for you.

written by longcg on 2010-01-30 in #reviews #kodak-ektacolor-pro-160 #120 #long-exposure #portrait #vietnam #made-in-china #holga-120

11 Comments

  1. paramir
    paramir ·

    impressive gallery, looks like a very nice film

  2. smclemon
    smclemon ·

    Weird colours for a CN film!

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Great shots!

  4. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    great review and gallery :)

  5. larslau
    larslau ·

    Beautiul pictures!

  6. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    indeed an affordable film with a very good quality :) we've shoot it all way long in China :) the holga aperture switch might be neutralized, so in fact the switch doesn't matter

  7. stouf
    stouf ·

    Surprising results ! Love it !

  8. takezzo
    takezzo ·

    nice review and nice gallery...

  9. stickyvinny
    stickyvinny ·

    Great gallery

  10. heshanj
    heshanj ·

    i just got a holga and found this film to be cheap too. i m currently living in saigon too.. im assuming u bought this film from saigon photo center? its the only store selling a good range of film that ive found

  11. andrejemomcilovic
    andrejemomcilovic ·

    Great!

More Interesting Articles

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Instant Back+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #people
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Instant Back+

    Bring your Diana F+ experience to instant photography territory with the Diana Instant Back+! Curious? Here's a selection of community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    14
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • C.S. Muncy of The Photo Brigade Reviews the LC-A 120

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-10 in #gear #reviews
    C.S. Muncy of The Photo Brigade Reviews the LC-A 120

    Remember C.S. Muncy? He's the New York-based freelance photojournalist who gave the New Petzval Lens a spin. Now he's got his hands on the Lomo LC-A 120 and we stumbled upon his detailed review on The Photo Brigade website. Here's an excerpt!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • 10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-09 in #lifestyle
    10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    Looking for the perfect analogue companion during the holidays? Well, look no further as we list down 10 reasons why the Diana F+, Mini, and Baby are perfect for capturing those bright and festive scenes, happy reunions, and exciting trips on film!

  • December 10th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-10 in #news
    December 10th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    With the holidays just around the corner, now is the time to stockpile all your favorite films! That's we're giving you yet another opportunity to do so with our super Advent deal on all our films today. Whether you're looking to get wild colors and huge contrast with our X-Pro film, or want to create slick cinematic classics with Lomography Cine400 Tungsten, we've got just the film for you!