Kodak Ektacolor Pro 160 (120, iso 160) User-Review

10

Looking for an alternative film and reasonable priced for your Holga or Diana? here comes the Kodak Ektacolor Pro 160.

When I went shopping for 120 film at a local shop (probably one of the last shops here in Saigon that still sell and develop medium format films), this film got into my shopping cart just because its price wouldn’t hurt my pocket as much as other films they have in there. I got a few rolls of Kodak Ektarcolor and some other Fuji as well. I feed my Holga 120GCFN and go shoot right away.

When I got these developed I was very happy with the result: strong blue, nice warm yellow and deep red, the results was very impressive! The good thing is this film got 160 iso compared to the 100 iso of the other brand I got, and I always feel more comfortable shooting with higher speed film, because I am limited in terms of shutter speed or aperture settings on my Holga. Although there’s an aperture switch on the Holga but I’d keep it in “cloudy” all the time.

This film is great when you shoot outdoor on a sunny day, very nice grain, the sky is more blue and the skin tone is perfect. I shoot a lot at night, long exposure, indoor with the color flash and I’m very happy with the result. If you are looking for some alternative film choice for your Holga or Diana, this film is for you.

written by longcg on 2010-01-30 in #reviews #120 #portrait #vietnam #made-in-china #kodak-ektacolor-pro-160 #long-exposure #holga-120

10 Comments

  1. paramir
    paramir ·

    impressive gallery, looks like a very nice film

  2. smclemon
    smclemon ·

    Weird colours for a CN film!

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Great shots!

  4. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    great review and gallery :)

  5. larslau
    larslau ·

    Beautiul pictures!

  6. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    indeed an affordable film with a very good quality :) we've shoot it all way long in China :) the holga aperture switch might be neutralized, so in fact the switch doesn't matter

  7. stouf
    stouf ·

    Surprising results ! Love it !

  8. takezzo
    takezzo ·

    nice review and nice gallery...

  9. stickyvinny
    stickyvinny ·

    Great gallery

  10. heshanj
    heshanj ·

    i just got a holga and found this film to be cheap too. i m currently living in saigon too.. im assuming u bought this film from saigon photo center? its the only store selling a good range of film that ive found

More Interesting Articles

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

    written by geekteacher on 2014-04-27 in #reviews
    DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

    Ever wondered how to get that cool sprocket look in your photos without resorting to digital trickery? The DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask makes scanning sprockets and panoramas a cinch!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last day of the free camera deal today! Grab films now worth 99 EUR/USD/GBP and get your free Diana Mini or Diana F+ Love Letters for free!

  • Surreal Travel Photos in Kodak Aerochrome EIR by Jordan Janisse

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-20 in #lifestyle
    Surreal Travel Photos in Kodak Aerochrome EIR by Jordan Janisse

    Every photographer seeks to make his or her travel photos extra special or memorable, and for those who still shoot film, slide films are often reserved for these occasions. If you happen to have a few rolls of infrared films left, the photos of a Canadian photographer will surely make you want to save them for your next adventure!

    1
  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • C.S. Muncy of The Photo Brigade Reviews the LC-A 120

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-10 in #gear #reviews
    C.S. Muncy of The Photo Brigade Reviews the LC-A 120

    Remember C.S. Muncy? He's the New York-based freelance photojournalist who gave the New Petzval Lens a spin. Now he's got his hands on the Lomo LC-A 120 and we stumbled upon his detailed review on The Photo Brigade website. Here's an excerpt!

  • Shop News

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    Grab this lovely accessory at discounted price! LC-A instant Back is iideal for your summer getaways to capture memories instantly with your LC-A cameras in hand!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • 10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-09 in #lifestyle
    10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    Looking for the perfect analogue companion during the holidays? Well, look no further as we list down 10 reasons why the Diana F+, Mini, and Baby are perfect for capturing those bright and festive scenes, happy reunions, and exciting trips on film!

  • December 10th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-10 in #news
    December 10th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    With the holidays just around the corner, now is the time to stockpile all your favorite films! That's we're giving you yet another opportunity to do so with our super Advent deal on all our films today. Whether you're looking to get wild colors and huge contrast with our X-Pro film, or want to create slick cinematic classics with Lomography Cine400 Tungsten, we've got just the film for you!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3