Blue Love: Kodak Ektachrome VS (120, 100ISO) User-Review

8

The VS is a very versatile film, producing amazing, super saturated colors, with blue tones that make me so happy...

If you like bright colors – this film is for you. I fell in love with this film from the first photo. When developed normally, it produces saturated colors, with this amazing psychedelic blue I like so much, and it has a creamy, fine grain. When crossed, it leans towards the green/turquoise in general, even though I got some surprising red shifts in a few photos!

As 100ISO film, it loves the bright sunlight, but it yields quite impressive results even on cloudy days, delivering deep, dark colors. Also at night I was very happy with the results of long exposures and flash.

So, if you never tried one yet, go get it and go crazy!

written by paramir on 2010-01-12 in #reviews #x-processed #cross #e100vs #slide #120 #kodak

8 Comments

  1. nural
    nural ·

    3&4 are really good
    I should get a roll of this ASAP!!!

  2. supralph
    supralph ·

    great album!!

  3. satomi
    satomi ·

    nice

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Probably the best color film in 120. But needs tons of light... Superb gallery ! Perfect and simple text.

  5. supralph
    supralph ·

    I better get me some of those Ektachrome 100 VSs!!!! Lovin it!

  6. tallgrrlrocks
    tallgrrlrocks ·

    nice one paramir! such a direct and non-frilly review. and what an awesome gallery. I hope to work with this film someday

  7. paramir
    paramir ·

    Thank you very much fellow lomofreaks! this is my first review and i am very excited!

  8. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    wow I like 2 3 4 5 6! Nice! Congrats on your first review! This film is awesome too!

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Dreamy Shots with LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-20 in #gear #news
    Dreamy Shots with LomoChrome Turquoise

    Here is another amazing collection of lovely shots taken with the LomoChrome Turquoise film. Have a look at these photos that take color tones to another level!

    2
  • Going Monochrome with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-06-26 in #gear
    Going Monochrome with the Lomo'Instant

    If you've ever used the Lomo'Instant camera, you know that the Fujifilm Instax Mini film ensures amazing and sharp results with vivid colors and natural skin tones. And although we love it the way it is, we also love to experiment. This time we ventured out with monochrome on our minds and got some pretty crazy results — check it out!

    1
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Newcomer of the Week: gazeofslate

    written by lomography on 2016-02-07 in #world
    Newcomer of the Week: gazeofslate

    Aside from photography, newcomer Dmitri Berenger enjoys a multitude of hobbies including gardening, watching movies, and discovering music. In this interview, he talks about his photographic style, his inspirations, choosing film cameras over digital gear, and many more.

    2
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    It took nearly 20 years for this work of art to be completed.

    1
  • Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world
    Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Lomographer Carina, or landei in the community, regards the Sprocket Rocket as a "versatile plastic camera." For her, it doesn't only take great travel snapshots but makes an interesting conversation starter as well. In this interview, Carina expounds more on what makes the Sprocket Rocket her go-to camera.

    2
  • Inside the Closed World of State Mental Hospitals

    written by Lomography on 2016-02-06 in #people #locations
    Inside the Closed World of State Mental Hospitals

    Architectural photographer Christopher Payne takes us on a historical journey through the abandoned psychiatric hospitals that were once a distinctive feature of the American landscape.

    2
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Lubitel Is Back In Stock

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-06 in #gear #news
    Lubitel Is Back In Stock

    No need to miss Lubitel this Valentine's, you budding camera collector. The Lomography Shop is fully stocked with the twin-lens classic.

    1
  • A Salute to the Masters: Santa Barbara 2015 (A Tribute to Bruce Davidson)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-02-06 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Santa Barbara 2015 (A Tribute to Bruce Davidson)

    This article is dedicated to Bruce Davidson, one of the most important American documentary photographers and a leading figure of the Magnum agency. Recalling his photos of the Worcester Fire Department in 1999, I'll show you my coverage of Como Fire Department's public demonstration, an annual event commemorating St. Barbara.

  • Djdhmikey25 is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world #news
    Djdhmikey25 is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratualtions to djdhmikey25 for winning Home of the Day!