The Film That Keeps You Guessing: Foma Fomapan (120, 100 iso) User-Review

11

Fomapan is a trippy film that will keep you guessing from one roll to the next!

I first used Fomapan because my friend lent me a roll of it saying that I’d like it. Truer words had never been spoken.

Fomapan 100 is known for being a very sharp film which can be good with a Diana or Holga when you need a break from creamy colours. It came out out as sharp as a razor when put in a Rolleiflex or Yashica TLR. Fomapan is a very lenient film too. It has a wide exposure latitude so you can get nice results when over exposing it by 1 stop and under exposing it by 2 stops all without changing its developing times. All of this combined when combined with a Holga results in perfectly printable shot almost every time. A match made in heaven.

But wait! There’s more! When you develop Fomapan in a developer like T-max (T-max is the only developer I use but I’m sure it works on others) your developer will turn a Kool-Aid blue and so will your negatives. All this from a black and white film and black and white developer? It is a mystery! Nevertheless it is a great effect. When you bring it to your lab or if you’re developing and scanning at home, make sure they’re scanned as colour negatives rather than black and white and let the colours fly. I’ve noticed that dark parts in the photo will turn a greenish tint and if something is over exposed in the picture it sometimes turns a slight red-ish tint to it. But these effects differ from camera to camera. Sometimes in my Holga the photos turn out in a blue when scanned in colour and reversed.

So give Fomapan a try and share your colour shifting experiences!

written by fivedayforecast on 2010-01-27 in #reviews #yashica #crazy #fomapan-100 #trippy #holga #black-white

11 Comments

  1. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    pretty good!

  2. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    love the gallery.

  3. satomi
    satomi ·

    wow nice b+w gallery! Love #11! amazing shots!

  4. nicolas_noir
    nicolas_noir ·

    Love the gallery too, and 11 is ace too. Have seen some fomapan quite cheap, well have to get some once I've cleared out my fridge a bit. Lovely.

  5. stouf
    stouf ·

    Stunning gallery !

  6. paramir
    paramir ·

    great gallery! this sounds like something to try indeed. very informative review!

  7. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    quality!

  8. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    Indeed it is fun stuff. The negatives turn out really really really blue and will make your developer look more like listerine

  9. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    Which is sort of a problem because I keep my old developer in a listerine bottle.

  10. lomoha402
    lomoha402 ·

    lookin good!

  11. kippysmallsocks
    kippysmallsocks ·

    I imagine the colour is probably the result of the anti-halation backing. Adox CMS 100 gives a really rich colour blue as well. Do you not pre-soak?
    Nice set of images btw, #9 is my favourite.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Shop News

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    With your overwhelming support, we have run out of Belair Instant Backs! We'll restock it in April, but don't worry because the Belair Instant Camera is readily available to satisfy your instant cravings!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Guess That Tag! Rumble: Sprocketed Snapshots Winners Announcement

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-09 in #competitions
    Guess That Tag! Rumble: Sprocketed Snapshots Winners Announcement

    Hold you guesses for the next round. Here are the winners of <a href="http://www.lomography.com/magazine/competitions/2014/11/11/guess-that-tag-rumble-sprocketed-snapshots">Guess That Tag! Rumble: Sprocketed Snapshots</a>!

    1
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ Starter Pack

    LC-A+ Starter Pack

    With the LC-A+ Starter Pack, Pair the LC-A+ with a 35mm; whatever combo you end up selecting, they're sure to be mindblowing!

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • Photo of the Day by panichkin

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-29 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by panichkin

    Is the cold and colorless day keeping you from taking photographs? Try shooting with a redscale film!

    3
  • November Workshops & Events at the Lomography Gallery Store NYC

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-29 in #events
    November Workshops & Events at the Lomography Gallery Store NYC

    Say goodbye to October and hello to November. The weather is getting colder but we have a bunch of workshops that will keep you warm! We have a lot in store for us, from a walk in the park with the Petzval to creating light painting masterpieces.