The Film That Keeps You Guessing: Foma Fomapan (120, 100 iso) User-Review

11

Fomapan is a trippy film that will keep you guessing from one roll to the next!

I first used Fomapan because my friend lent me a roll of it saying that I’d like it. Truer words had never been spoken.

Fomapan 100 is known for being a very sharp film which can be good with a Diana or Holga when you need a break from creamy colours. It came out out as sharp as a razor when put in a Rolleiflex or Yashica TLR. Fomapan is a very lenient film too. It has a wide exposure latitude so you can get nice results when over exposing it by 1 stop and under exposing it by 2 stops all without changing its developing times. All of this combined when combined with a Holga results in perfectly printable shot almost every time. A match made in heaven.

But wait! There’s more! When you develop Fomapan in a developer like T-max (T-max is the only developer I use but I’m sure it works on others) your developer will turn a Kool-Aid blue and so will your negatives. All this from a black and white film and black and white developer? It is a mystery! Nevertheless it is a great effect. When you bring it to your lab or if you’re developing and scanning at home, make sure they’re scanned as colour negatives rather than black and white and let the colours fly. I’ve noticed that dark parts in the photo will turn a greenish tint and if something is over exposed in the picture it sometimes turns a slight red-ish tint to it. But these effects differ from camera to camera. Sometimes in my Holga the photos turn out in a blue when scanned in colour and reversed.

So give Fomapan a try and share your colour shifting experiences!

written by fivedayforecast on 2010-01-27 in #reviews

11 Comments

  1. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    pretty good!

  2. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    love the gallery.

  3. satomi
    satomi ·

    wow nice b+w gallery! Love #11! amazing shots!

  4. nicolas_noir
    nicolas_noir ·

    Love the gallery too, and 11 is ace too. Have seen some fomapan quite cheap, well have to get some once I've cleared out my fridge a bit. Lovely.

  5. stouf
    stouf ·

    Stunning gallery !

  6. paramir
    paramir ·

    great gallery! this sounds like something to try indeed. very informative review!

  7. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    quality!

  8. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    Indeed it is fun stuff. The negatives turn out really really really blue and will make your developer look more like listerine

  9. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    Which is sort of a problem because I keep my old developer in a listerine bottle.

  10. lomoha402
    lomoha402 ·

    lookin good!

  11. kippysmallsocks
    kippysmallsocks ·

    I imagine the colour is probably the result of the anti-halation backing. Adox CMS 100 gives a really rich colour blue as well. Do you not pre-soak?
    Nice set of images btw, #9 is my favourite.

More Interesting Articles

  • A 52-Week Film Project Will Keep You Shooting

    written by zombiesinmygarden on 2014-03-01 in #gear #tipster
    A 52-Week Film Project Will Keep You Shooting

    Here's one idea for a 52-week film project, you simply shoot and develop one roll of film, every week for a year. It will keep you shooting film throughout the year, saving you from falling into a photography slump. It will also allow you to experiment with your ever growing camera collection.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Linuxbcn and His Weapon of Choice: Lomography Redscale ISO 100 (120 mm)

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-04-17 in #lifestyle
    Linuxbcn and His Weapon of Choice: Lomography Redscale ISO 100 (120 mm)

    Awed by the eye-popping fiery red shade the film produces, Joan brands the Lomography Redscale 100 (120 mm) as the most original emulsion in Lomography's catalogue. Aside from this, he also enjoys experimenting with the film's ISO to produce a variety of stunning results. Read on to find out why linuxbcn chose the Lomography Redscale 100 as his Weapon of Choice!

    2
  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Shop News

    Change the View in an Instant

    Change the View in an Instant

    Extend the Borders of Instant Photography with the World’s Most Creative Instant Camera System Packed With Fun Features and say hello to the Lomo'Instant Camera! The Lomo'Instant is the perfectly sized Instant Camera to take wherever you go! It’s the most creative way to shoot fantastic photos which you can share anywhere and with everyone in an instant.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Lovely Views Taken with the Lomography CN 400 ISO 120

    written by chooolss on 2014-03-06 in #lifestyle
    Lovely Views Taken with the Lomography CN 400 ISO 120

    Make sure to pack extra rolls of film when you head out this weekend for non-stop analogue fun!

    6
  • DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

    written by geekteacher on 2014-04-27 in #reviews
    DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

    Ever wondered how to get that cool sprocket look in your photos without resorting to digital trickery? The DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask makes scanning sprockets and panoramas a cinch!

  • Shop News

    Carry your Cameras with Style

    Carry your Cameras with Style

    No matter what size or cut - the ZKIN bags will always securely hold your cameras, accessories and personal things. Find the right one for you still today and never hustle with digging out photo gear from the deep, dark and dangerous corners of your regular bags!

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • March of Film to accept submissions for 2014

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-02-27 in #news
    March of Film to accept submissions for 2014

    If you are a film photography enthusiast and you want to participate in a theme-based project that will help inspire creativity in others and keep analogue photography alive, then March of Film is just for you.

  • A Quality Character: The New Lomography Mystery Product Part 1

    written by hembot on 2014-04-03 in #news
    A Quality Character: The New Lomography Mystery Product Part 1

    Attention! Soon, we will introduce you to a new character here at Lomography. And not only that, this is someone rather special – head past the jump to find out more and start guessing what could be on the way!

    7