A Review on the All-Rounder Slide Film, Expired Provia 400X


It is an explorer in the morning, a hunter at night. Provia 400X, a Power slide film that does it all.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Three months ago, I got a few expired roll of Provia 400X from a local photographer. However I only started exposing with my Olympus Trip 35 and La Sardina (my favourite analogue cameras of all time) recently.
Although it does not produce that extreme contrast, saturated tone like the other slide film does, I am totally surprised with its versatility. Read on and you will get the gist of it.

I love how its interaction with the sunlight, no matter it is a cloudy or sunny day, when the sun is out, the chemistry produces a very soothing tone. It gives a very peaceful feeling to the photos.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Unlike its iso 100 brother, Provia 400X has sacrificed the strong contrast and vibrant color for a better performance under low light condition. I am extremely satisfied with the results it has done with the following photos. No lights escape its scrutiny in the seconds when the shutter clicks.

Credits: an_lai_drew

In spite of its fast speed, it is very generous to allow double exposure which yielded very nice results.

Credits: an_lai_drew

I lowered down the exposure level of the flash, so that my friends would not miss their noses due to over exposure. Look at these portraits, aren’t my friends beautiful, despite of their awkward expressions! XD

Credits: an_lai_drew

It is an all-rounder film that does very good results at all time. If you get bored with the heavy color of the slide films usually produce, why not picking up a roll of Provia 400X from the nearby store to refresh yourself? Try it and you will love it!

written by an_lai_drew on 2013-02-13 in #reviews #400x #expired #review #film #provia #slide


  1. headlock
    headlock ·

    Were these photo's cross-processed?

  2. an_lai_drew
    an_lai_drew ·

    @headlock, yea, they were all cross-processed

More Interesting Articles

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • How To Boost Your Creativity With The Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-25 in #gear #tipster
    How To Boost Your Creativity With The Nikon F2

    I have been the owner of a Nikon F2 for six months. Known as one of the most powerful, all-mechanical 35mm SLRs, it is indeed the type of camera that will follow you at world’s end.

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-07-16 in #people #lifestyle #locations #events
    Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    Made in Heights is at it again. In May 2015, Alexei Saba Mohajerjasbi and Kelsey Bulkin released their album "Without My Enemy What Would I Do." This album tests the boundaries of genre by pulling from all forms of music to create a paradigm shift of preconceived notions.

  • LomoLocations: Tokyo, Japan

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-09-17 in #world #locations
    LomoLocations: Tokyo, Japan

    Common advice tells us that Tokyo is best experienced at night. The neon lights of Ginza come on, Shibuya Crossing gets crammed, Ropponggi lets loose. Reverse the advice and we’ll get something like a palate cleanser. The Imperial Palace, Shinjuku Gyoen and small parks peppered around the city offer relief, from morning until late afternoon. Even ordinary streets appeal to tourists. We suspect those secret ramen spots add to the charm.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Twenty-haitch and his Weapon of Choice: Minolta SRT 201

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-08 in #gear #lifestyle
    Twenty-haitch and his Weapon of Choice: Minolta SRT 201

    Packing all his essentials in a van, Michael Roy Harris is currently on a road trip around South Africa with his beloved girlfriend before heading to Sri Lanka to exhaust his hard-earned travel fund. To continue exploring the world, he wholeheartedly does all sorts of jobs - from delivering pizza to cleaning barnacles off expensive yachts. In this interview, he shares why the Minolta SRT 201 is the perfect match for his adventurous soul and carefree lifestyle.

  • Photographers on Why They Still Shoot Film (Part 2)

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    Photographers on Why They Still Shoot Film (Part 2)

    It is Film Photography Day, and we are counting the ways the activity fuels the imagination. One photographer likens it to the soulful sound of an LP. Another chases its risk or does it with a leap of faith. But the consensus is clear: Film photography keeps people on their toes for the best possible shot!

  • Serendipity Exhibition by Toby Mason

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2015-09-10 in #world #events
    Serendipity Exhibition by Toby Mason

    Toby Mason (aka fotobes) is a Brighton-based photographer who embraces the aesthetics of film photography. He mostly shoots with the LC-A+ using a range of slide films, cross processing them to create rich, highly saturated colours. His work has been featured on the BBC website and Hungry Eye Magazine. Join us for the opening night on Thursday, September 17 from 6 p.m.