Review: Fuji Pro 160S 35mm - The Film that Makes you Think

This roll of film made me think very carefully how and which camera it should be used with. And so should you.

I obtained this roll during a short getaway holiday in Bangkok, Thailand. I had wanted to use it there but ended up not being able to. So after months of sitting in my film chest I decided to run it through my camera. But being an ISO 160 film I didn’t want to use any camera. Also research on the internet showed that it is best used for portraits.

And here’s my dilemma I seldom shoot portraits on film nowadays. But I do take quite a few snaps of people during my photo walks. So after much thought I loaded it in my Olympus PEN EE2 for some casual outdoors and indoors snapping. I simply set it to ISO 160 and fired away.

Here’s what I noticed when used with the Olympus PEN EE2.

For outdoors street shots, some photos will turn out dull even in bright daylight. I suspect this could be due to the camera’s automatic exposure system.

I found the film to be ‘soft’, which could be due to camera shake. Even so, it can produce a sharp photo in uneven lighting.

Indoors photos are acceptable. In fact, it has a certain look to the film.

Candid snaps of people came out well if there is a good light source, even when indoors.

I only have and shot one roll of this film. Based on this one experience I really can’t say that I can see the color difference in the photos. However, the film seems to have softer tones. If this is what you’re after then do give it a try.

written by uncle_jay on 2013-02-04 in #reviews #fuji #test #review #fuji-pro-160s-35mm #singapore #snaps #olympus-pen-ee-2 #iso160 #street-photography

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    Adi, Ekeu, and I did a lomowalk around downtown Bandung last Saturday, the beginning of November. We planned to use our Lubitel cameras with only one roll of film each. We were inspired by the One Roll of Film Project by four Tokyo-based photographers with their Hasselblad cameras. This is about the one roll of film I shot with the Lubitel 166U, which made me love shooting in medium format even more.

    8
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Fisheye No. 2 Gold

    Fisheye No. 2 Gold

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Taking Back Tipsters: Go Wild With These Film Destroying Tips!

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-05 in #gear #tipster
    Taking Back Tipsters: Go Wild With These Film Destroying Tips!

    Fancy yourself a very adventurous lomographer? Well, better prepare those acids, bleaches, fire, and almost everything you could think of applying on your emulsions and take on these extreme film destroying tips! Remember to be careful, though!

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Snap Up This Incredible Invention: Introducing The Brand New Lomochrome Turquoise Film!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-20 in #news
    Snap Up This Incredible Invention: Introducing The Brand New Lomochrome Turquoise Film!

    We are very excited to present you with our new film, Lomography LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400! This emulsion develops in C-41 in 35mm and 120 formats. Limited stock of 5,000 rolls for pre-order are available, so reserve your rolls now; delivery of first stock estimated for April 2015.

    9
  • An Overview of the LomoKino and Steps on Preparing It For Use

    written by mmxi on 2015-05-05 in #gear #tipster
    An Overview of the LomoKino and Steps on Preparing It For Use

    In this article I’m going to review the LomoKino's key features, show you how to load the film, and share some tips on shooting and editing a movie. I will also show you a short stop motion movie that I made with this camera.

    2
  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    5
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-13 in #news
    Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    Turn ordinary scenes into cinematic moments with the new Lomography Cine400 Tungsten Film. Made from authentic cine material that we specially treated for use with 35mm cameras, this Color Negative film will produce photos that look like stills from a movie.

    1
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Picture-Perfect Lomo LC-A+ Lomographs From the Community

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-10 in #gear #news
    Picture-Perfect Lomo LC-A+ Lomographs From the Community

    Find out why many analog enthusiasts are so smitten with this lomographic classic through these wonderful images that we've sorted out from the community's most popular (also, find out how you can earn piggies and have your very own photographs be featured on the Online Shop)!