A Review on Kodak Ektar 100

1

The film claims itself as the world's finest film. Let's take a look at what the film is capable of.

The first time I ever fell in love with this film was after I have taken this shot:

This shot was taken by a La Sardina. Despite of its plastic lens, the reflection of the building on the surface of the water on the ground was actually captured by the film. Then I am totally persuaded by its label on the box “Finest film in the world”. After that experience, I picked out a few from the local photography store, so that I could load this film up with my camera anytime when I wish to take a very nice shot with negative film.

Credits: an_lai_drew

The film gives very precise results, judged by my naked eyes. It is a very good film in producing landscape, especially with the greenery. All kind of situation does not scare off the film. In fact it is very ‘honest’ in replicating the scenery in which I have seen. The only downside is, the photos turn out somewhat like someone has dimmed the brightness setting.

Credits: an_lai_drew

I also like how it performs in the indoor condition. With dependent light source and flash, it’s capable of creating very nice portraits.

Credits: an_lai_drew

All in all, the film has produced fantastic photos with Olympus Trip 35, but I still love how it performs with my La Sardina. I love how the punchy colors by the plastic lens. I will definitely take this roll of film when I want to take landscape shots.

written by an_lai_drew on 2013-01-28 in #reviews #100 #kodak #finest #review #film #ektar

One Comment

  1. mercrid
    mercrid ·

    Yeh, Ektar 100 is fantastic. I like.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • A Look at Photographs on Auction at Lempertz

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-27 in #world #lifestyle
    A Look at Photographs on Auction at Lempertz

    Two days from now, Lempertz will hold a sale of 195 photographic prints. The lineup is as varied as the history of photography itself. An 1856 print by an anonymous photographer is in the same group as a top-valued Joseph Szabo shot. A deceptively simple shot of a flower vase is joined by the complex textures of Lucien Hervé. Take a look at the fascinating mix.

  • Lomopedia: Leica AF-C1

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-30 in #reviews

    Leica is known for its ingenuity and craftsmanship as a camera manufacturer. Let's take a closer look at its first autofocus camera, the Leica AF-C1, in this installment of Lomopedia.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Light is Magical: A Talk With Li Hui

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #people #news #lifestyle
    Light is Magical: A Talk With Li Hui

    Photography is not only an act of documentation or communication, it is also a way of seeing the world. The camera opens our eyes and lets us see what lies behind the obvious, and we start looking at things as potential subjects of a photograph. Every leak of light unveils secrets that talented photographers turn into a piece of art. Li Hui is one of those gifted artists. We talked to her about her work and her sensitive photographs that picture a wonderful vulnerability.

    8
  • Monday Moodboard: The World’s Smallest Instant Portrait Studio

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-07 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: The World’s Smallest Instant Portrait Studio

    As far as superlatives go, having a claim to the smallest instant portrait studio in the world is actually a big thing.

    1
  • Shop News

    LomoKino Basic Package Services

    LomoKino Basic Package Services

    Process your LomoKino films the right way! Get scans, movie and negatives. This is the easiest way to turn those movie rolls into completed masterpieces! Check this service now!(Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Most Popular Photo Last Year: October 26, 2013

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-26 in #news
    Most Popular Photo Last Year: October 26, 2013

    Let's take a walk along side this lady and see what lies ahead at the end of the tunnel.

    3
  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • The Lomo LC-A+ Goes To Hong Kong

    written by candilsw on 2015-04-06 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A+ Goes To Hong Kong

    The Lomo LC-A+ is always the best companion for traveling and wandering around. Hong Kong lies on the southern coast of China and is well known as a metropolitan city and where the Eastern and Western cultures meet and mix. Let the LC-A+ take you around and feel the hustle and bustle of one of the world's busiest cities!

    3
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Petzval History Series: The Invention of the First Petzval Lens

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-06-11 in #gear #lifestyle
    Petzval History Series: The Invention of the First Petzval Lens

    Not long after Joseph Petzval's move to Vienna in 1837, he joined the race to create a faster camera lens. He succeeded in 1840 with what became known as the Petzval Lens. Let's take a step back and look more closely at the development of this ground-breaking lens.

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Photographs of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade from the 1920s

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-26 in #lifestyle
    Photographs of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade from the 1920s

    On Thursday, the streets of Manhattan will once again be filled with much revelry as the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade takes place. With only a day left, let us look back at the history of this American tradition through these photographs taken during its early years.