Reviews: Kodak Ektar 100 35mm: Pushing the Limits for Grainless Photos


What happens when you shoot a roll of what Kodak touts as the world's finest ISO 100 film with the Lomo camera that started it all?

Credits: uncle_jay

I’ve not shot with a roll of Kodak Ektar 100 color negative film before. So before I went blasting a roll, I did a bit of homework to see what I could expect from the film. When used with an SLR, the results I saw were great. The colors came out nice based on what I saw online. But I don’t normally shoot in the open and in even lighting.

So I decided to use the film with my LC-A+ Russia Day as this would make an interesting combination. I wanted to know what the results would be like when used with a camera known to saturate colors. This was a risk I decided to take as this roll of film is not cheap compared to a normal roll of Fuji or Kodak film.

What I discovered about the film and camera when used on a cloudy day, at a day funfair, indoors and at night were photos that turn out better than expected.

For street photography, this can be both a good and bad film to use. If you like to take more landmarks and structures than people in the street with your LC-A+, then this is a good film to use.

Credits: uncle_jay

But obviously, this is not the film to use if you want to catch and freeze action in the streets. Unless you do want some blurred motion in your photos.

Credits: uncle_jay

That said, if you time it well, you can freeze the action when your subject strike a pose.

Credits: uncle_jay

Or when a celeb poses with a fan.

<George Young, a local celeb, posing with a fan>

Yet, and I contradict myself here because the LC-A+ is such a versatile and unpredictable camera, you can get some great on-the-fly snaps that are sharp. But timing plays a major role here. Not to mention how well you can judge the distance with your zone focused camera.

Credits: uncle_jay

Chances are, you will also be taking quite a fair number of indoor photos. If you support your camera well enough without a tripod or rest it on flat surface, the results are still acceptable.

Credits: uncle_jay

But when you’re caught with half a roll in your LC-A+ and it’s already night time, fret not as this is where the film lives up to its promise. These snaps surprised me a lot as I didn’t think it would turn out well. But they did.

Credits: uncle_jay

Based on this test roll, the results are impressive even in less than ideal lighting conditions for an ISO 100 film. In fact, I feel that this film has great potential as a film of choice for long night exposures.

written by uncle_jay on 2013-01-14 in #reviews #singapore #funfair #kodak #kodak-ekta-100 #ngee-ann-city #cheerleaders #events #george-young #food #night-photography #children-charity-fair #orchard-road

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Vintage Cameras and their Proud Owners

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-04-11 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Cameras and their Proud Owners

    Camera owners are rejoicing all around the world! As an ode to Lomography events happening today, here are 11 spectacular photos of vintage cameras and their excited owners.

  • Creative Ways: LomoChrome Turquoise Exposed!

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-04-09 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways: LomoChrome Turquoise Exposed!

    What happens when you take one crazy film guy, some new and interesting Lomography film, and see what it can do? Magic is what happens, and that is why you need to try some of these techniques when shooting the LomoChrome Turquoise yourself!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

  • The Rescued Film Project

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-10 in #world #lifestyle
    The Rescued Film Project

    The Rescued Film Project collects, develops and archives undeveloped or unwanted film from all over the world. Recently, the group acquired 31 rolls at an auction in Ohio, which, as it turns out, were from World War 1 and featured some amazing photographic footage of that time. Founder and film technician Levi Bettwieser talks about this exciting project.

  • How To Boost Your Creativity With The Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-25 in #gear #tipster
    How To Boost Your Creativity With The Nikon F2

    I have been the owner of a Nikon F2 for six months. Known as one of the most powerful, all-mechanical 35mm SLRs, it is indeed the type of camera that will follow you at world’s end.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Taking on the Dinosaurs in Jurassic World with a Diana Mini

    written by givesmehell on 2015-06-24 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Taking on the Dinosaurs in Jurassic World with a Diana Mini

    The new movie Jurassic World is taking the world by storm. As the film progresses, it tells the story of a fictional dinosaur park called Jurassic World and the adventure that unfolds when man attempts to tame the wild creatures. And coincidentally, the Lomography Diana Mini camera makes a special appearance.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Light is Magical: A Talk With Li Hui

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #people #news #lifestyle
    Light is Magical: A Talk With Li Hui

    Photography is not only an act of documentation or communication, it is also a way of seeing the world. The camera opens our eyes and lets us see what lies behind the obvious, and we start looking at things as potential subjects of a photograph. Every leak of light unveils secrets that talented photographers turn into a piece of art. Li Hui is one of those gifted artists. We talked to her about her work and her sensitive photographs that picture a wonderful vulnerability.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Awesome Albums: Mystery Photos by My Late Uncle Herbert by Herbert-4

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-04-10 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Mystery Photos by My Late Uncle Herbert by Herbert-4

    In 1987, Herbert Morris combed through the files of his uncle, the late Herbert Habeeb. The things he left behind suggest that Mr. Habeeb was a man of staggering talent. He was an all-around science man who took excellent photos. But the mystery remains: Where did Uncle Herbert take his camera? What was the purpose of his travels? His namesake, fellow Lomographer Herbert, clues us in as to what his uncle might have been up to.