Reviews: Kodak Ektar 100 35mm: Pushing the Limits for Grainless Photos

1

What happens when you shoot a roll of what Kodak touts as the world's finest ISO 100 film with the Lomo camera that started it all?

Credits: uncle_jay

I’ve not shot with a roll of Kodak Ektar 100 color negative film before. So before I went blasting a roll, I did a bit of homework to see what I could expect from the film. When used with an SLR, the results I saw were great. The colors came out nice based on what I saw online. But I don’t normally shoot in the open and in even lighting.

So I decided to use the film with my LC-A+ Russia Day as this would make an interesting combination. I wanted to know what the results would be like when used with a camera known to saturate colors. This was a risk I decided to take as this roll of film is not cheap compared to a normal roll of Fuji or Kodak film.

What I discovered about the film and camera when used on a cloudy day, at a day funfair, indoors and at night were photos that turn out better than expected.

For street photography, this can be both a good and bad film to use. If you like to take more landmarks and structures than people in the street with your LC-A+, then this is a good film to use.

Credits: uncle_jay

But obviously, this is not the film to use if you want to catch and freeze action in the streets. Unless you do want some blurred motion in your photos.

Credits: uncle_jay

That said, if you time it well, you can freeze the action when your subject strike a pose.

Credits: uncle_jay

Or when a celeb poses with a fan.

<George Young, a local celeb, posing with a fan>

Yet, and I contradict myself here because the LC-A+ is such a versatile and unpredictable camera, you can get some great on-the-fly snaps that are sharp. But timing plays a major role here. Not to mention how well you can judge the distance with your zone focused camera.

Credits: uncle_jay

Chances are, you will also be taking quite a fair number of indoor photos. If you support your camera well enough without a tripod or rest it on flat surface, the results are still acceptable.

Credits: uncle_jay

But when you’re caught with half a roll in your LC-A+ and it’s already night time, fret not as this is where the film lives up to its promise. These snaps surprised me a lot as I didn’t think it would turn out well. But they did.

Credits: uncle_jay

Based on this test roll, the results are impressive even in less than ideal lighting conditions for an ISO 100 film. In fact, I feel that this film has great potential as a film of choice for long night exposures.

written by uncle_jay on 2013-01-14 in #reviews #kodak #ngee-ann-city #children-charity-fair #orchard-road #cheerleaders #events #kodak-ekta-100 #george-young #singapore #night-photography #funfair #food

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Vintage Cameras and their Proud Owners

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-11 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Cameras and their Proud Owners

    Camera owners are rejoicing all around the world! As an ode to Lomography events happening today, here are 11 spectacular photos of vintage cameras and their excited owners.

    2
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Creative Ways: LomoChrome Turquoise Exposed!

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-04-09 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways: LomoChrome Turquoise Exposed!

    What happens when you take one crazy film guy, some new and interesting Lomography film, and see what it can do? Magic is what happens, and that is why you need to try some of these techniques when shooting the LomoChrome Turquoise yourself!

    6
  • Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    Did you enjoy shooting with Cine200 Tungsten Film when it launched? Or were you one of the unlucky many who missed out on this ultra-limited edition emulsion? Well, we’re thrilled to say we have an exciting follow-up to Cine200 which will launch in just a few days! And as the other film sold out so fast, we wanted to give you the opportunity to sign-up to our list to get the news as soon as it happens.

    1
  • Introducing The Konstruktor F: The Flash-Enabled Konstruktor Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-11 in #news
    Introducing The Konstruktor F: The Flash-Enabled Konstruktor Camera

    From the moment you start building this lovable SLR camera to when you start shooting those dreamy shots, it’s a sensational adventure! We wanted to take this to the next level so we upgraded the Konstruktor to be flash-enabled for endless creative possibilities! Yes, you read it right - the world’s first 35mm Do It Yourself SLR Camera is now flash enabled!

    6
  • Shop News

    Fisheye No. 2 Gold

    Fisheye No. 2 Gold

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • Shoot Awesome Panoramic Videos With The Spinner Motorizer and Smartphone Combo!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-04 in #news
    Shoot Awesome Panoramic Videos With The Spinner Motorizer and Smartphone Combo!

    The Spinner 360 Motorizer does a superb job when used with the Spinner 360 camera. Even when shooting from afar or indoors, you'll get breathtaking panoramic photos with this pairing. Now, see what happens when you attach a smartphone to the Spinner 360 Motorizer.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • The Rescued Film Project

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-10 in #world #lifestyle
    The Rescued Film Project

    The Rescued Film Project collects, develops and archives undeveloped or unwanted film from all over the world. Recently, the group acquired 31 rolls at an auction in Ohio, which, as it turns out, were from World War 1 and featured some amazing photographic footage of that time. Founder and film technician Levi Bettwieser talks about this exciting project.