A Latecomer's Review on Lomography RedScale 100 35mm

2

I was a Latecomer who missed lots of the RedScale fun. And now I am falling deeply in love with the film!

Credits: an_lai_drew

I became officially indulged in Lomography since April this year, and before then, I have no knowledge about films, the ISO, positive negative film, redscale, etc. After wandering a while in the Lomography website, I always bumped into the beautiful red tinted Lomographs that attracted me so much. I then started the search of RedScale film.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Occasionally, I was told that Lomography had stopped the production of the film. I was quite upset by the news, it was “like if you had never tried RedScale, you had never been into Lomo!” kind of thing. But miracles happened in Lomography (don’t they?)! I realized that the “add to cart” button magically reappeared itself in the Lomography online shop. Immediately I pressed, then checked out and waited for its arrival. Soon after I received my RedScale, the “product unavailable” kicked in.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Being a ISO 100 film, it does not show its true potential under cloudy sky. I had a few underexposed shots, and could barely remember what I was taking. Suggestion is to take your shots with B mode (hold still your camera!) under cloudy condition or even late afternoon. And remember a flash at night.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Its versatility slowly slipped in while the surrounding light conditions started to change. That is one of the best features about RedScale I love and it truly expresses the ‘unexpected’ element of Lomography. I will describe the film as a woman’s lips. Someday, you see her protruding sexy-red-hot-lips; some other time you see she wears just a sweet lip gloss; the next day, it is a whole new look again.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Overall, I love this film so much that I bear not to use the rest of the RedScale! I did not regret purchasing RedScale. The only thing I regretted is, I should have added 10 of these into my cart!

written by an_lai_drew on 2012-12-27 in #reviews #review #film-review #sardina #iso100m #redscale #film-35mm

2 Comments

  1. jazz_cafe
    jazz_cafe ·

    Nice set of photos.

    Have you not tried making your own Redscale films?

  2. an_lai_drew
    an_lai_drew ·

    @jazz_cafe
    Thanks for the compliment! I have tried loading an iso 200 film invertedly into a Holga 120, but it turns out not very well, only silhouettes are captured.
    www.lomography.com/homes/an_lai_drew/albums/1922452-experim…

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    The latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family! Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, Get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    written by mmxi on 2015-07-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    My friends and I teamed up with Photo Art Pro to spread analog love to the Zaporozhye community. Last month, we hosted a Yeti Scavenger Hunt and had a LomoKino camera as prize. We challenged participants to shoot a roll of film based on a checklist. It was tremendous fun!

  • Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-20 in #people #lifestyle
    Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    New York is an infinitely photographable city in spite—or because—of its innate chaos. And even when the medium is film, praised nowadays for the virtue of slowness, the photographer must keep up with the city’s pace. Ricardo Lozano, 35mm photographer and Lomography community member, managed to do it for the series OK Commuter, now a book by A Love Token Press.

  • Explore Osaka with Yamanaka Yuko's AM Renault

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-24 in #gear #lifestyle #locations #reviews #lomoamigos
    Explore Osaka with Yamanaka Yuko's AM Renault

    As a core member of Yamanaka Yuko, a local hiking group based in Hong Kong, AM Renault is deeply in love with nature. He is also part of the creative photography group Six Dimen Boy and is good at intertwining photography with art and design elements -- making photos not only useful for documenting what we see, but also as a means to tickle the imagination. The young and talented AM tried out the New Russar+ lens while traveling in Japan with his father. He talks about his experience and shares the sights from his journey in this Lomography Magazine exclusive.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Christopher Logan's First Impression of the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-06-12 in #people
    Christopher Logan's First Impression of the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Years ago, a young Christopher Logan moved to Milan after obtaining a Photography degree from The Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale. Falling in love with the European aesthetic which would later manifest in his photos, he was commissioned by a number of fashion houses, further developing his craft. He is now based in yet another fashion capital - New York City - and is still immersed in the world of fashion.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1
  • KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    Lomography is always on the lookout for experimental and creative film, because we want to keep the love for analogue alive! We’re devoted to continually adding new and exciting films to our ever-expanding collection of photography products, both from our own production line and partnering together with likeminded companies. So in our ongoing quest to do so, we have teamed up with our friends at KONO! The Reanimated Film to share a totally new and exciting film with you — KONO! Donau 35mm Film!