A Latecomer's Review on Lomography RedScale 100 35mm

2

I was a Latecomer who missed lots of the RedScale fun. And now I am falling deeply in love with the film!

Credits: an_lai_drew

I became officially indulged in Lomography since April this year, and before then, I have no knowledge about films, the ISO, positive negative film, redscale, etc. After wandering a while in the Lomography website, I always bumped into the beautiful red tinted Lomographs that attracted me so much. I then started the search of RedScale film.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Occasionally, I was told that Lomography had stopped the production of the film. I was quite upset by the news, it was “like if you had never tried RedScale, you had never been into Lomo!” kind of thing. But miracles happened in Lomography (don’t they?)! I realized that the “add to cart” button magically reappeared itself in the Lomography online shop. Immediately I pressed, then checked out and waited for its arrival. Soon after I received my RedScale, the “product unavailable” kicked in.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Being a ISO 100 film, it does not show its true potential under cloudy sky. I had a few underexposed shots, and could barely remember what I was taking. Suggestion is to take your shots with B mode (hold still your camera!) under cloudy condition or even late afternoon. And remember a flash at night.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Its versatility slowly slipped in while the surrounding light conditions started to change. That is one of the best features about RedScale I love and it truly expresses the ‘unexpected’ element of Lomography. I will describe the film as a woman’s lips. Someday, you see her protruding sexy-red-hot-lips; some other time you see she wears just a sweet lip gloss; the next day, it is a whole new look again.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Overall, I love this film so much that I bear not to use the rest of the RedScale! I did not regret purchasing RedScale. The only thing I regretted is, I should have added 10 of these into my cart!

written by an_lai_drew on 2012-12-27 in #reviews #redscale #film-35mm #sardina #film-review #review #iso100m

2 Comments

  1. jazz_cafe
    jazz_cafe ·

    Nice set of photos.

    Have you not tried making your own Redscale films?

  2. an_lai_drew
    an_lai_drew ·

    @jazz_cafe
    Thanks for the compliment! I have tried loading an iso 200 film invertedly into a Holga 120, but it turns out not very well, only silhouettes are captured.
    www.lomography.com/homes/an_lai_drew/albums/1922452-experim…

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    written by mmxi on 2015-07-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    My friends and I teamed up with Photo Art Pro to spread analog love to the Zaporozhye community. Last month, we hosted a Yeti Scavenger Hunt and had a LomoKino camera as prize. We challenged participants to shoot a roll of film based on a checklist. It was tremendous fun!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    written by odio-et-amo on 2014-09-10 in #lifestyle
    Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    Durham is a beautiful but tiny university city in the north of England famous for its amazing cathedral, which is one of Britain's best loved buildings. When I was studying at the university, I loved to go for crisp, autumnal walks around the cathedral and the river, kicking the leaves and basking in the golden glow of the season. The Lomography Redscale film perfectly captures the beauty of this time of year.

  • Christopher Logan's First Impression of the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-06-12 in #people
    Christopher Logan's First Impression of the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Years ago, a young Christopher Logan moved to Milan after obtaining a Photography degree from The Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale. Falling in love with the European aesthetic which would later manifest in his photos, he was commissioned by a number of fashion houses, further developing his craft. He is now based in yet another fashion capital - New York City - and is still immersed in the world of fashion.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • My First Lomo Affair: lupideeloop and the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip 100

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: lupideeloop and the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip 100

    lupideeloop had a blast shooting with his first two rolls of the Lomography XPro Sunset Strip. He loved and enjoyed its unexpected colors so much that he chose to save his final Sunset Strip roll for a special occasion. Read on to know more about lupideeloop's First Lomo Affair with the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip!

    2
  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2