A Latecomer's Review on Lomography RedScale 100 35mm

2

I was a Latecomer who missed lots of the RedScale fun. And now I am falling deeply in love with the film!

Credits: an_lai_drew

I became officially indulged in Lomography since April this year, and before then, I have no knowledge about films, the ISO, positive negative film, redscale, etc. After wandering a while in the Lomography website, I always bumped into the beautiful red tinted Lomographs that attracted me so much. I then started the search of RedScale film.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Occasionally, I was told that Lomography had stopped the production of the film. I was quite upset by the news, it was “like if you had never tried RedScale, you had never been into Lomo!” kind of thing. But miracles happened in Lomography (don’t they?)! I realized that the “add to cart” button magically reappeared itself in the Lomography online shop. Immediately I pressed, then checked out and waited for its arrival. Soon after I received my RedScale, the “product unavailable” kicked in.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Being a ISO 100 film, it does not show its true potential under cloudy sky. I had a few underexposed shots, and could barely remember what I was taking. Suggestion is to take your shots with B mode (hold still your camera!) under cloudy condition or even late afternoon. And remember a flash at night.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Its versatility slowly slipped in while the surrounding light conditions started to change. That is one of the best features about RedScale I love and it truly expresses the ‘unexpected’ element of Lomography. I will describe the film as a woman’s lips. Someday, you see her protruding sexy-red-hot-lips; some other time you see she wears just a sweet lip gloss; the next day, it is a whole new look again.

Credits: an_lai_drew

Overall, I love this film so much that I bear not to use the rest of the RedScale! I did not regret purchasing RedScale. The only thing I regretted is, I should have added 10 of these into my cart!

written by an_lai_drew on 2012-12-27 in #reviews #iso100m #redscale #review #film-35mm #film-review #sardina

2 Comments

  1. jazz_cafe
    jazz_cafe ·

    Nice set of photos.

    Have you not tried making your own Redscale films?

  2. an_lai_drew
    an_lai_drew ·

    @jazz_cafe
    Thanks for the compliment! I have tried loading an iso 200 film invertedly into a Holga 120, but it turns out not very well, only silhouettes are captured.
    www.lomography.com/homes/an_lai_drew/albums/1922452-experim…

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Cinematic Combo with the Lomo LC-A and Cine200 Tungsten Film

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-25 in #lifestyle
    Cinematic Combo with the Lomo LC-A and Cine200 Tungsten Film

    The classic Lomo LC-A is a great camera that deserves equally astounding film. Load a roll of Cine200 Tungsten Film in your LC-A and fall in love with this lovely analogue combo!

  • Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    written by odio-et-amo on 2014-09-10 in #lifestyle
    Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    Durham is a beautiful but tiny university city in the north of England famous for its amazing cathedral, which is one of Britain's best loved buildings. When I was studying at the university, I loved to go for crisp, autumnal walks around the cathedral and the river, kicking the leaves and basking in the golden glow of the season. The Lomography Redscale film perfectly captures the beauty of this time of year.

  • Playing with grain, shadows, and light with the Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film!

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-30 in #lifestyle
    Playing with grain, shadows, and light with the Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film!

    110 film photography can be as fun as 35mm and 120 film photography! Need a little more convincing? Take a look at these monochrome shots that play with shadows and light taken with the B&W Orca 110 film!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • My First Lomo Affair: lupideeloop and the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip 100

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: lupideeloop and the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip 100

    lupideeloop had a blast shooting with his first two rolls of the Lomography XPro Sunset Strip. He loved and enjoyed its unexpected colors so much that he chose to save his final Sunset Strip roll for a special occasion. Read on to know more about lupideeloop's First Lomo Affair with the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip!

    2
  • Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

    written by gothcupcake on 2014-07-07 in #reviews
    Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

    Mary had the opportunity to take a ride in a hot air balloon and thought it was the perfect time to try out some Lomography Color Tiger 200 film!

    1
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1