Review: Experiencing yellowish of Lomography Color X-Pro Sunset Strip 100 35mm

14

It is a type of film that if you like it then you will fall for it, otherwise, you might be frightened by the grainy texture. Well, it is really nice to have a chance to try a new film during my short vacation in Malacca - a town full with historical taste.. In my point of view, Sunset strip has given Malacca another flavour... with the yellowish power and artistic taste ;)

Sunset Strip is an interesting film and can always surprise you. When i first got my roll scanned, I was so impressed on the colour tone although I noticed the coarse grainy texture from this film. I thought it was my skill, or the lab problem in the first place. But it seems everyone has same comment on that.

I have tried some indoor and night shooting with this film

A little blur without flash, but i like the blurry feeling. If the place has a lot of yellowish objects – it will emphasize the yellow, giving a very unique feeling on the whole photo. I like the picture that I was sitting in the Starbucks and staring at the picture on the wall.

I brought my LC-Wide to Malacca trip too. With a bunch of crazy friends standing at the middle of the road staring at the mirror for shooting. It kind of faded when there is sunlight. Do not expect blue sky and it is slightly less saturated compared to Chrome 100 in my view.

And I have tried double exposure with Sunset strip and I think this is quite a satisfying one :) the double has reduced the graininess…

Also, tried with fritz-the-blitz flash with yellow filter, double with river light. Not grainy… very nice…

In short, I think this is great film except a little imperfection on the graininess. But somehow i find that it is a style in some of my photos.

written by yijing on 2012-12-28 in #reviews #lomography-color-x-pro-sunset-strip-100-35mm #slide #holiday #malacca #malaysia #x-pro #double #iso100 #review

14 Comments

  1. hxloon
    hxloon ·

    I love this film and Tungsten X :-)

  2. yijing
    yijing ·

    @hxloon, sunset strip is giving yellowish warm feeling, I like Chrome 100 and wanna try Tungsten but it seems both films are already discontinued?

  3. hxloon
    hxloon ·

    @yijing I love the autumn gold kind of feel to it. Yupe both films been discontinued.

  4. jetnz81
    jetnz81 ·

    All come out yellow yellow? so warm eh

  5. yijing
    yijing ·

    @jetnz81 yeah yellow when there is yellow object... ;)

  6. jetnz81
    jetnz81 ·

    @yijing Wahahahahaha~

  7. yijing
  8. kage
    kage ·

    The film was cross processed or not?

  9. yijing
    yijing ·

    @kage , it is cross processed.

  10. kage
    kage ·

    Thanx! I have a pack and I'll try soon

  11. yijing
    yijing ·

    great.. share with us when you have developed the film.. :) @kage

  12. kage
    kage ·

    Sure @yijing :D

  13. aidarodrigues
    aidarodrigues ·

    Nice review!
    I just developed my 1st roll of this film, and as you, I thought it was my skills or the lab because of the graininess.. Good to know that it's not! haha
    I'm still getting used to this film...

  14. yijing
    yijing ·

    @aidarodrigues , thanks very much on your comment. glad that it helped you ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Blown-up Snapshots Taken with the Diana F+ and Close-Up Lens

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-09 in #lifestyle
    Blown-up Snapshots Taken with the Diana F+ and Close-Up Lens

    Are you the type of shooter that pays attention to detail? Capture a lot of it on 120 film with the Diana F+ and the Close-Up Lens!

  • Lomo'Instant + Splitzer: The Duo at Their Peak!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-30 in #gear #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant + Splitzer: The Duo at Their Peak!

    With a Lomo'Instant Camera and a Splitzer, you can get absolutely funny and creative images. I took it to the highest level and exposed my shots from 4 to 8 times! What you'll see next is an impressive mix of colors, textures, places and people captured in a very surreal way!

  • Back from the dead: Hack your Polaroid 80-series camera to take Fuji FP film

    written by stratski on 2014-06-24 in #gear #tipster
    Back from the dead: Hack your Polaroid 80-series camera to take Fuji FP film

    It's a great feeling when you get a camera back to work even though you thought it was already unusable because its particular type of film is no longer in production. Here's how you can do it with a Polaroid camera from the 80-series.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 1

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-02 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 1

    Here’s a random and rather mysterious tale for you folks. Just the other day, I was at a local bar with a few friends. It was much like any other evening; we were sipping a couple of cocktails, recounting our adventures, falling over ourselves with laughter and half-drunkenly meditating on the meaning of life (a scientist once told me it’s 42 by the way). But then something truly strange happened. Read on to hear my story and please make a comment with your guess at the end!

    31
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos. Take a look after the jump!

    1
  • The Film Photography Day 2015 Competition Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-06 in #world #news #competitions
    The Film Photography Day 2015 Competition Winners

    Did you have a blast celebrating all things analog last Film Photography Day? We highly suggest bringing out more bottles of champagne and tossing the confetti once more. The party is just starting for our winners!

    8
  • Intriguing Portraits of the Sennett Bathing Beauties

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Intriguing Portraits of the Sennett Bathing Beauties

    In the early decades of cinema, a group of girls assembled by influential actor and director Mack Sennett rose to fame as the Sennett Bathing Beauties.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Swirling in Bokeh: Ines Rehberger Tests the New Petzval Art Lens

    written by zonderbar on 2015-05-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Swirling in Bokeh: Ines Rehberger Tests the New Petzval Art Lens

    Although she is a trained photographer, Ines quit her job and continued with photography only as a hobby. Luckily she always has enough time for that. Ines creates beautiful, expressive portraits. Recently she did this in her hometown, Brunswick, and transformed the city to a real dream setting with a unique swirly bokeh. Her weapon of choice? The New Petzval Art Lens, of course!

    3
  • Down in the Streets with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-06 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Down in the Streets with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    Whether analogue or digital, the LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens brings life, love and color to every shot. Here is a little taste of the power the Minitar-1 has on the streets!

  • Top 5 Analog Tricks For An Aged Photo Look

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Top 5 Analog Tricks For An Aged Photo Look

    Film has soul, that second layer of grain and haze. It is a time capsule if we're sentimental, a happy pill if nostalgic. But what if we exaggerate this time-worn look? Imperfection becomes a creative element.

    2