Film Review of the Week

4

Are you feeling Lucky punk? If so, try our Film Review of the Week for starters!

Black & white photos just tend to be grittier, with nice levels of contrast as well as simplifying things for the viewer and removing any distracting colors from your intended subject. It’s a whole new experience shooting with it as well, since you have to adapt to the strengths and weaknesses of your film, whether it be indoors, outdoors, or even strobes. You need to think about how each different color out there translates into mono. Or not. Just shoot and surprise yourself with the results! You can prepare yourself before shooting though! adi_totp gives quick tips and pointers in shooting with the Lucky SHD emulsion to make your experience a breeze. For that, he wins this week’s award. Congrats!

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s winner? Then submit you film review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-11-17 in #reviews

4 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Da lens-licker rocks !!! Congrats brooo !!! 8D

  2. quaisoir
    quaisoir ·

    hehe lens licker...congrats adi!! :)

  3. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    @stouf
    thanks broo!! lens licker hell yeaaaah! haha

  4. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    @quaisoir
    thanks shareen! let's go goo goo!! oink-spend-hard time!! lol

More Interesting Articles

  • Share Your Lomo’Instants With The World! Fantastic Prizes Up For Grabs

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-30 in #news
    Share Your Lomo’Instants With The World! Fantastic Prizes Up For Grabs

    We’re so excited that the first Lomo’Instant cameras are now shipping to our Kickstarter backers around the globe. If you are one of the lucky folks who backed the Lomo'Instant on Kickstarter, we have some special competitions for you to enjoy over the next couple of weeks when you receive your camera!

    4
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    written by reiga on 2015-01-07 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    For those of you who are still looking for good black and white film, you might want to try aerial film as it offers good contrast and tonality.

    2
  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Candy Kittens Rumble Winners

    written by dribri on 2014-09-11 in #news
    Candy Kittens Rumble Winners

    The submissions are in and it's been tough narrowing them down to three winners. Thanks to everyone who submitted photos for the Candy Kittens Rumble. Read on to find out if you are one of the lucky ones!

    1
  • Lazy Oaf Winners Announced

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-11 in #news
    Lazy Oaf Winners Announced

    The submissions are in and it's been a tough narrowing it down to three winners. Thanks to everyone who submitted photos for the Lazy Oaf rumble. Read on to find out if you are one of the lucky ones!

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-01 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    His best friend and fellow lomographer weleasewoger72 used to make him feel bad about using an IPhone to take pictures. However, after trying out a Diana F+, our Newcomer of the Week, life_on_acetate, decided to ditch the digital territory and try his hand at analogue photography. Read on to find out more about this fascinating story of friendship and film photography!

    2
  • Lomography One Must Dash Rumble Winners

    written by dribri on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Lomography One Must Dash Rumble Winners

    One more rumble, one more set of winners! Thanks to everyone who submitted photos for the Lomography x One Must Dash Rumble. Read on to find out if you are one of the lucky winners!

    2
  • Kino Stories: 'Good Morning Good Bye' by cyberoctopus

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-20 in #lifestyle
    Kino Stories: 'Good Morning Good Bye' by cyberoctopus

    We all have that place we do not call home, yet feel so strongly connected to that we constantly look forward to returning to it. Check out our featured LomoKino film of the week!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Wild Colors and Wide Panoramas: Xpro Photos with the Horizon Cameras

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-08 in #lifestyle
    Wild Colors and Wide Panoramas: Xpro Photos with the Horizon Cameras

    Learning new techniques and combos can be so much fun. For starters, take these wild and wide panoramas made by the Horizon and Xpro film combo!

    2
  • Creating a Greek Theater-Inspired LomoKino Short with LomoAmigo maria_vlachou

    written by chooolss on 2014-04-05 in #lifestyle
    Creating a Greek Theater-Inspired LomoKino Short with LomoAmigo maria_vlachou

    If you frequent our Movies section, chances are you've already seen her popular "Shadow Play" LomoKino film which is equal parts entertaining and educational. It turns out that she bought the LomoKino specifically to shoot it! Meet our LomoKino LomoAmigo for this week, who hails all the way from Kastoria, Greece!

    3
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!