The Digital Camera Magazine Review on The Belair X 6-12

A reporter from China's "The Digital Camera Magazine" has tried our new Belair X 6-12 for size! Intrigued to hear what they thought? The review is as follows...

The Vintage Design
The most special point of this camera is the accordion. When you want to take a photo just push the button and the accordion will jump out! The advantage of this kind of design is that the 120mm camera basically stealthily masquerades as a small brick (but not as heavy) when you’re not taking photos! Yes…It composed as a brick. The size doesn’t reduce too when the accordion is closed. So bring your camera bags with it. Overall the Belair X 6-12 is different from the classic 135mm cameras, such as LC-A+.

Owing to the cool body of this camera, I don’t think too many people will leave and forget it inside their camera bags. This accordion camera will give you a totally new idea and perspective on vintage cameras.

Image via China Digital Camera

The Lomography Lens

The LOMO lenses are famous for their extreme color and the framing of each photo, not their resolution. The lens of the Belair X 6-12 followed the rules of LOMO lens, with an even wider angle. So we can expect a clear depth and rich image as a result.

58mm lens and 90mm lens: one is good for landscape while the other one is prefect for portrait. Due to the limited amount of time we had to spend with the Belair we only took a few rolls of black and whites but we’re nonetheless surprised with the powerful result of the Belair’s wide angle and large focal length. The multiple-exposure itechnique is cool to try with it too! The only thing I would say is that there’s only two ISOs that can be set: F8 and F16.

Image via China Digital Camera

Operating

Lomography cameras are always user-friendly. The Belair X 6-12 follows that standard too! Put the film in, open the accordion, set the focus, push the shutter, and that’s all! The auto-exposure system is a little bit tricky. So I suggest to turn the ISO lower for optimal lighting. The most interesting thing about this camera is the view finder. With special formats: 6×12, 6×9 and 6×6.

If you want to know more information, please check BELAIR 6×12胶片相机上手测

Magazine › Reviews
¶ Finally Unboxed My Long Anticipated Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter
December 04, 2012
I am happy to announce that I am one of the four lucky Belair testers in Taiwan and thus I’m one of the pioneers to have the Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter in my hands! Now, let’s get ready to unbox my treasure with me!

I have long been shooting with Lomographic cameras and am always keeping an eye out for new cameras from Lomography. This time, they launched a new treasure in the form of the medium format Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter. It’s a lightweight camera that’s operated with an auto-exposure system. It can shoot in 3 formats (6×12, 6×9, and 6×6). It also comes with 2 interchangeable lenses.

Though the lenses are made of plastic they are high quality optical lenses which reduces the weight of the camera yet retains the sharpness of the images that glass lenses produce. From now on, we don’t need to bring our heavy medium-format cameras everywhere and still be able to enjoy shooting in 120 format, the “lighter way”.
1/4|previous photo|next photo|show all photos

Do you see that little round hole to the right of the lens? That’s for light-detecting. So mind the hole and be sure not to block it with your finger when shooting!

Remember to change the mask (there are 3 masks that come with the camera) when shooting photos of different format; one of them has already been inserted into the Belair!

Two interchangeable lenses, which are 90mm and 58mm respectively, have to be changed with the corresponding viewfinder; otherwise parallax occurs.

When looking through the viewfinder you can see some tooth-like markers which mark the view corresponding to shots that would be taken with different formats. The inner tooth correspond to 6×6 while the peripheral ones correspond to 6×9, which is quite easy to remember.

This is where we put the LR44 batteries. It’s easily opened. Note the marker +/- on the pole and beware not to put the batteries in the wrong position (though you could still shoot in a brightly lit environment even if you put the batteries in the wrong way!)

The upper part of the photos shows the door to the battery compartment, and the round thing you see is the wheel for ISO adjustment which should be done before shooting. ISO ranges from 50 to 1600, with bulb mode.

There are 2 little windows for viewing the film at the back of the camera, the upper one for 6×9 and the lower one for 6×6 and format.

YEAH! Our unboxing ceremony for my Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter has come to an end. So please, look forward to our photos taken with the Belair! :)

We all love medium format photography, and that’s why we developed the brand new Belair X 6-12 camera. With the smart auto exposure system and the ability to shoot in 3 formats: 6 × 12、6 x 9、6 x 6, Belair X 6-12 enables you to shoot the most stunning analogue masterpieces ever. Get your own Belair X 6-12 camera from our Online Shop now!

written by 李碩 and translated by memorydusts

written by memorydusts on 2012-12-04 in #reviews #review #china #analogue-photography #street-photography #belair-x-6-12

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12 City Slicker: my very own black magic

    written by guanatos on 2014-04-11 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12 City Slicker: my very own black magic

    Automatic shutter settings on a 120mm camera? Yes, please! The Lomography Belair X 6-12 City Slicker brings that thing you love from the legendary LC-A to a medium format camera.

  • In Focus: Belair X 6-12

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-01 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Belair X 6-12

    Prepare for liftoff! The Lomography Belair X 6-12 cameras are here to take you on a jet setting tour of the most amazing analogue scenes on 120 film!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • The Belair X 6-12 City Slicker: a camera for surprises and serious shots

    written by wesco on 2014-05-03 in #reviews
    The Belair X 6-12 City Slicker: a camera for surprises and serious shots

    When the Belair X 6-12 was introduced last year, I was pretty excited. A medium format camera with 6x12 size negatives and automatic exposure for a reasonable price, that sounds promising. More of my photos, experiences and tips after the jump.

  • 18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    Think the Belair X 6-12 medium-format camera is only limited to snapping square shots? Nope! It also gives you the option to shoot other photo formats, such as 6x12. We compiled some of the most impressive photos in this format for your inspiration!

    2
  • Shop News

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Want to be more creative and level up your bokeh shots? A wide selection of special apertures for Petzval are here to blend with your artistic side and give your Petzval images some analog twists!

  • Lomography x Nixon Photo Exhibition Soho

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-04 in #events

    Lomography France recently collaborated with Nixon and gave some top surfers a bundle of our cameras and lenses to document the Nixon Surf Challenge event in Russia. These stunning surfing shots will be on exhibit at the Lomography Gallery Soho and you're invited to the opening night. Come to the store on July 24th from 6:00 to 9:00 pm for drinks, live music and a chance to win a limited edition Nixon Watch.

  • Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    written by shawnlin on 2014-05-07 in #gear #tipster
    Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    I participated in the Kickstarter campaign and purchased my very own new Petzval lens. I can't wait to use with with my digital camera to experience its wonderful bokeh effect. I also wanted to try its effects when using a film camera but the lens has an EF mount. I didn't have a Canon camera. See what I did with it after the jump.

    8
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #people #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-19 in #gear #tipster
    Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    Wide-angle lens are further divided into sub-classifications: Wide, ultra-wide and ultra-ultra-wide. Based on current standards, wide lenses for 35mm cameras are those with focal lengths ranging from 24 to 35mm. Lenses are considered ultra-wide if they have focal lengths from 17 to 21 mm, and ultra-ultra-wide if from 12 to 16mm. The New Russar+ is a 20mm lens; hence it falls under the ultra-wide classification. If you have an ultra-wide lens or if you intend to get the Russar+, you might as well make the most out of your precious investment. Read on for a few guidelines on shooting with ultra-wide lenses.

    2
  • Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-22 in #people #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    His love affair with analog photography started with a Zenit 12 which he received as a birthday present. Almost a decade has passed since but he still continues to capture his everyday life and the spirit of Istanbul's streets on film. Get to know our newcomer of the week from Turkey, Can Ortak also known in the community as psychedelica!

    8