The Digital Camera Magazine Review on The Belair X 6-12

A reporter from China's "The Digital Camera Magazine" has tried our new Belair X 6-12 for size! Intrigued to hear what they thought? The review is as follows...

The Vintage Design
The most special point of this camera is the accordion. When you want to take a photo just push the button and the accordion will jump out! The advantage of this kind of design is that the 120mm camera basically stealthily masquerades as a small brick (but not as heavy) when you’re not taking photos! Yes…It composed as a brick. The size doesn’t reduce too when the accordion is closed. So bring your camera bags with it. Overall the Belair X 6-12 is different from the classic 135mm cameras, such as LC-A+.

Owing to the cool body of this camera, I don’t think too many people will leave and forget it inside their camera bags. This accordion camera will give you a totally new idea and perspective on vintage cameras.

Image via China Digital Camera

The Lomography Lens

The LOMO lenses are famous for their extreme color and the framing of each photo, not their resolution. The lens of the Belair X 6-12 followed the rules of LOMO lens, with an even wider angle. So we can expect a clear depth and rich image as a result.

58mm lens and 90mm lens: one is good for landscape while the other one is prefect for portrait. Due to the limited amount of time we had to spend with the Belair we only took a few rolls of black and whites but we’re nonetheless surprised with the powerful result of the Belair’s wide angle and large focal length. The multiple-exposure itechnique is cool to try with it too! The only thing I would say is that there’s only two ISOs that can be set: F8 and F16.

Image via China Digital Camera

Operating

Lomography cameras are always user-friendly. The Belair X 6-12 follows that standard too! Put the film in, open the accordion, set the focus, push the shutter, and that’s all! The auto-exposure system is a little bit tricky. So I suggest to turn the ISO lower for optimal lighting. The most interesting thing about this camera is the view finder. With special formats: 6×12, 6×9 and 6×6.

If you want to know more information, please check BELAIR 6×12胶片相机上手测

Magazine › Reviews
¶ Finally Unboxed My Long Anticipated Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter
December 04, 2012
I am happy to announce that I am one of the four lucky Belair testers in Taiwan and thus I’m one of the pioneers to have the Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter in my hands! Now, let’s get ready to unbox my treasure with me!

I have long been shooting with Lomographic cameras and am always keeping an eye out for new cameras from Lomography. This time, they launched a new treasure in the form of the medium format Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter. It’s a lightweight camera that’s operated with an auto-exposure system. It can shoot in 3 formats (6×12, 6×9, and 6×6). It also comes with 2 interchangeable lenses.

Though the lenses are made of plastic they are high quality optical lenses which reduces the weight of the camera yet retains the sharpness of the images that glass lenses produce. From now on, we don’t need to bring our heavy medium-format cameras everywhere and still be able to enjoy shooting in 120 format, the “lighter way”.
1/4|previous photo|next photo|show all photos

Do you see that little round hole to the right of the lens? That’s for light-detecting. So mind the hole and be sure not to block it with your finger when shooting!

Remember to change the mask (there are 3 masks that come with the camera) when shooting photos of different format; one of them has already been inserted into the Belair!

Two interchangeable lenses, which are 90mm and 58mm respectively, have to be changed with the corresponding viewfinder; otherwise parallax occurs.

When looking through the viewfinder you can see some tooth-like markers which mark the view corresponding to shots that would be taken with different formats. The inner tooth correspond to 6×6 while the peripheral ones correspond to 6×9, which is quite easy to remember.

This is where we put the LR44 batteries. It’s easily opened. Note the marker +/- on the pole and beware not to put the batteries in the wrong position (though you could still shoot in a brightly lit environment even if you put the batteries in the wrong way!)

The upper part of the photos shows the door to the battery compartment, and the round thing you see is the wheel for ISO adjustment which should be done before shooting. ISO ranges from 50 to 1600, with bulb mode.

There are 2 little windows for viewing the film at the back of the camera, the upper one for 6×9 and the lower one for 6×6 and format.

YEAH! Our unboxing ceremony for my Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter has come to an end. So please, look forward to our photos taken with the Belair! :)

We all love medium format photography, and that’s why we developed the brand new Belair X 6-12 camera. With the smart auto exposure system and the ability to shoot in 3 formats: 6 × 12、6 x 9、6 x 6, Belair X 6-12 enables you to shoot the most stunning analogue masterpieces ever. Get your own Belair X 6-12 camera from our Online Shop now!

written by 李碩 and translated by memorydusts

written by memorydusts on 2012-12-04 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12 City Slicker: my very own black magic

    written by guanatos on 2014-04-11 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12 City Slicker: my very own black magic

    Automatic shutter settings on a 120mm camera? Yes, please! The Lomography Belair X 6-12 City Slicker brings that thing you love from the legendary LC-A to a medium format camera.

  • In Focus: Belair X 6-12

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-01 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Belair X 6-12

    Prepare for liftoff! The Lomography Belair X 6-12 cameras are here to take you on a jet setting tour of the most amazing analogue scenes on 120 film!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • The Belair X 6-12 City Slicker: a camera for surprises and serious shots

    written by wesco on 2014-05-03 in #reviews
    The Belair X 6-12 City Slicker: a camera for surprises and serious shots

    When the Belair X 6-12 was introduced last year, I was pretty excited. A medium format camera with 6x12 size negatives and automatic exposure for a reasonable price, that sounds promising. More of my photos, experiences and tips after the jump.

  • Exciting swirling bokeh effects - DC Watch's test shots with the Lomography X Zenit Petzval Lens

    written by ciscoswank on 2014-03-27 in #reviews
    Exciting swirling bokeh effects - DC Watch's  test shots with the Lomography X Zenit Petzval Lens

    This new Petzval lens is a revival of a lens that was created in the 19th century. The optics has come to life again with the help of a crowdfunding website and all the backers that have supported this project. The production is done by one of Russia’s lens companies – Zenit. We lent out our prototype Petzval lens to DC Watch, one of the largest digital camera online magazines in Japan. Check out their results after the jump.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography x Nixon Photo Exhibition Soho

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-04 in #events

    Lomography France recently collaborated with Nixon and gave some top surfers a bundle of our cameras and lenses to document the Nixon Surf Challenge event in Russia. These stunning surfing shots will be on exhibit at the Lomography Gallery Soho and you're invited to the opening night. Come to the store on July 24th from 6:00 to 9:00 pm for drinks, live music and a chance to win a limited edition Nixon Watch.

  • Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    written by shawnlin on 2014-05-07 in #gear #tipster
    Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    I participated in the Kickstarter campaign and purchased my very own new Petzval lens. I can't wait to use with with my digital camera to experience its wonderful bokeh effect. I also wanted to try its effects when using a film camera but the lens has an EF mount. I didn't have a Canon camera. See what I did with it after the jump.

    8
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-19 in #gear #tipster
    Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    Wide-angle lens are further divided into sub-classifications: Wide, ultra-wide and ultra-ultra-wide. Based on current standards, wide lenses for 35mm cameras are those with focal lengths ranging from 24 to 35mm. Lenses are considered ultra-wide if they have focal lengths from 17 to 21 mm, and ultra-ultra-wide if from 12 to 16mm. The New Russar+ is a 20mm lens; hence it falls under the ultra-wide classification. If you have an ultra-wide lens or if you intend to get the Russar+, you might as well make the most out of your precious investment. Read on for a few guidelines on shooting with ultra-wide lenses.

    2
  • Austrian-based creative firm releases Lomography X Zenit Petzval Art Lens video

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-03-05 in #news
    Austrian-based creative firm releases Lomography X Zenit Petzval Art Lens video

    The brass-clad optical beauty that is the new Petzval Lens goes beyond being an eye-catching spectacle on one’s camera; it delivers high-quality photos and video, as seen in the samples we've come across since it found its way to photographers and videographers. If you haven’t seen what the new Petzval Lens can do, check out this footage shot by Martin Lachmair of Austrian firm Creative Director.

  • Petzval Lens Launch Party Soho

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-12 in #events
    Petzval Lens Launch Party Soho

    The time has come to launch our amazing new Lomography Art Lens - the Petzval lens. What better way to celebrate than by throwing a party on August 21 at the Lomography Gallery Store Soho? There will be live music from London-based folk singer Denai Moore, lots of bubbly and the chance to meet the lens face-to-face! Read on for full details.