Olympus OM 1 Review

8

This SLR is quite small to be called SLR but it fits in 35mm film. It is one of the greatest SLR cameras the Olympus has ever produced! :-)

I bought an Olympus OM-1 camera from a friend which you can also do for a fair price. This camera has three basic set-ups. It includes ASA meters ranging from 25 to 1600, aperture of f/1,8 to f/16 and a shutter speed from 1" to 1/1000 (includes B setting too).

One thing I like with this camera is even when you have cranked the film, you can still adjust the settings so no worries (unlike old rangefinders… we know the drill, right?). One of the funniest parts of this camera is its rewind crank. You have to steady your fingers on the “R” which can be found in the front of the camera. While the “R” is switched, rewind the film crank clockwise. When you remove your hands from the “R” switch, the film won’t move back.

Another tricky part is that you can do some double exposure with this camera. How to? Take a photo first. Then, before advancing, switch down the “R” button. Crank the film slowly. Now, you’re on the mode to shoot again, which will do multiple exposure. No film window too so better be classic and remember the film inside! ;-)

It is great to have an SLR. And this one can give you enough importance if you are learning the basics of photography. Anyway, the OM-1 is practically a manual camera so better get those “Sunny 16 Rule” in your pocket and other things that can help you grab some good shots! ;-)

written by ethermoon on 2009-11-27 in #reviews

8 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Awesome gallery ! A great camera for sure !!!

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    I've got this cam as a present too. Thanks for the double exposure tip. I think it's the all-mighty cam. There are lots of knobs to learn about. I think the lens maybe even supports tilt-shifting - need to check.

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great gallery! And the OM series are really fantastic cameras. I have an OM 20 and it's with this camera that I learned all the basics of photography... love it! :))

  4. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Cool review and great shots. I have its brother the OM10 and I love it. I learned photography on it so these series cameras will always hold a special place in my heart.

  5. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    oh wow - i love this monster.

  6. lomovan
    lomovan ·

    great cam, and amazin' shots!!!

  7. sexyinred
    sexyinred ·

    very nice gallery u got there!

  8. amaan
    amaan ·

    great article. ive been trying to get a deal on this camera for a month now.
    awesome camera to learn the basics.

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomopedia: Olympus OM2000

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-02 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Olympus OM2000

    The last OM body produced by Olympus, the Olympus OM2000 was released in 1997. Despite the OM series being a popular line, this particular model did not fare well with Olympus fans. Find out why in this installment of Lomopedia!

    2
  • Influential Photographs: Jimi Hendrix playing at Bakersfield, California 1968

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-01 in #lifestyle
    Influential Photographs: Jimi Hendrix playing at Bakersfield, California 1968

    Jimi Hendrix will forever be known as one of the greatest musicians to have ever lived. This photo of the musician during one of his performances will be an enduring reminder of his self-defined persona.

  • Introducing The Konstruktor F: The Flash-Enabled Konstruktor Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-11 in #news
    Introducing The Konstruktor F: The Flash-Enabled Konstruktor Camera

    From the moment you start building this lovable SLR camera to when you start shooting those dreamy shots, it’s a sensational adventure! We wanted to take this to the next level so we upgraded the Konstruktor to be flash-enabled for endless creative possibilities! Yes, you read it right - the world’s first 35mm Do It Yourself SLR Camera is now flash enabled!

    6
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Flying the Canon Flag with the Canon EOS-1N

    written by chilledvondub on 2014-08-26 in #reviews
    Flying the Canon Flag with the Canon EOS-1N

    Who do you think deserves the crown for the best 35mm SLR camera? Canon and Nikon will always be in a two-horse race to the top spot in the consumer to prosumer SLR/DSLR market, having developed reputations as two of the biggest go-to brands. Representing the Canon corner, I can safely say the Canon EOS-1N is by far the best SLR I have ever used.

    5
  • Lomopedia: Minox 35 ML

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-16 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Minox 35 ML

    Hailing from a long line of small cameras that pack quite a punch, the Minox 35 ML can be a great addition to any film enthusiast’s collection. Don’t let its small package fool you. Read on to find out more about what the Minox 35 ML can do.

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Today in History (1936): Margaret Mitchell's 'Gone with the Wind' is Officially Released

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-30 in #lifestyle
    Today in History (1936): Margaret Mitchell's 'Gone with the Wind' is Officially Released

    On this day 78 years ago, the American reading public was introduced to what would later on be hailed as one of the greatest works of literature ever written.

    1
  • Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-11 in #lifestyle
    Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Calling the Sprocket Rocket as Peter Atwood's go-to camera would be an understatement. He owns half a dozen of it that he simultaneously shoots with different films. He even considers the Sprocket Rocket as his dream machine. Let's hear what clickiemcpete has to say about this camera in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    10
  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Pentax Auto 110: the undisputed master of 110 photography!

    written by sandravo on 2014-03-19 in #reviews
    Pentax Auto 110: the undisputed master of 110 photography!

    Being an addict of large and spacious 6x6 negatives on 120 film, I never would have thought I'd own a 110 camera someday. But when I came across the Pentax Auto 110 on an auction site, it was just too darn cute not to buy it. So I placed a bid, won the auction, and am now the proud owner of the tiniest SLR ever made!

    2
  • Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    written by dermanu on 2014-03-19 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    Just recently I asked myself why I would want to write about a film like the Fuji Instax Mini, because usually this film is the only one available for Fuji Instax cameras. But then it hit me! It can be an alternative to many other instant films, since I can load almost any film into my Diana F+, other medium and 135 format cameras, and of course the Fuji Instax Mini.

  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7