Olympus OM 1 Review

8

This SLR is quite small to be called SLR but it fits in 35mm film. It is one of the greatest SLR cameras the Olympus has ever produced! :-)

I bought an Olympus OM-1 camera from a friend which you can also do for a fair price. This camera has three basic set-ups. It includes ASA meters ranging from 25 to 1600, aperture of f/1,8 to f/16 and a shutter speed from 1" to 1/1000 (includes B setting too).

One thing I like with this camera is even when you have cranked the film, you can still adjust the settings so no worries (unlike old rangefinders… we know the drill, right?). One of the funniest parts of this camera is its rewind crank. You have to steady your fingers on the “R” which can be found in the front of the camera. While the “R” is switched, rewind the film crank clockwise. When you remove your hands from the “R” switch, the film won’t move back.

Another tricky part is that you can do some double exposure with this camera. How to? Take a photo first. Then, before advancing, switch down the “R” button. Crank the film slowly. Now, you’re on the mode to shoot again, which will do multiple exposure. No film window too so better be classic and remember the film inside! ;-)

It is great to have an SLR. And this one can give you enough importance if you are learning the basics of photography. Anyway, the OM-1 is practically a manual camera so better get those “Sunny 16 Rule” in your pocket and other things that can help you grab some good shots! ;-)

written by ethermoon on 2009-11-27 in #reviews #olympus-om-1 #ethermoon #philippines

8 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Awesome gallery ! A great camera for sure !!!

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    I've got this cam as a present too. Thanks for the double exposure tip. I think it's the all-mighty cam. There are lots of knobs to learn about. I think the lens maybe even supports tilt-shifting - need to check.

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great gallery! And the OM series are really fantastic cameras. I have an OM 20 and it's with this camera that I learned all the basics of photography... love it! :))

  4. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Cool review and great shots. I have its brother the OM10 and I love it. I learned photography on it so these series cameras will always hold a special place in my heart.

  5. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    oh wow - i love this monster.

  6. lomovan
    lomovan ·

    great cam, and amazin' shots!!!

  7. sexyinred
    sexyinred ·

    very nice gallery u got there!

  8. amaan
    amaan ·

    great article. ive been trying to get a deal on this camera for a month now.
    awesome camera to learn the basics.

More Interesting Articles

  • Introducing The Konstruktor F: The Flash-Enabled Konstruktor Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-11 in #news
    Introducing The Konstruktor F: The Flash-Enabled Konstruktor Camera

    From the moment you start building this lovable SLR camera to when you start shooting those dreamy shots, it’s a sensational adventure! We wanted to take this to the next level so we upgraded the Konstruktor to be flash-enabled for endless creative possibilities! Yes, you read it right - the world’s first 35mm Do It Yourself SLR Camera is now flash enabled!

    6
  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Flying the Canon Flag with the Canon EOS-1N

    written by chilledvondub on 2014-08-26 in #reviews
    Flying the Canon Flag with the Canon EOS-1N

    Who do you think deserves the crown for the best 35mm SLR camera? Canon and Nikon will always be in a two-horse race to the top spot in the consumer to prosumer SLR/DSLR market, having developed reputations as two of the biggest go-to brands. Representing the Canon corner, I can safely say the Canon EOS-1N is by far the best SLR I have ever used.

    5
  • Lomopedia: Minox 35 ML

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-16 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Minox 35 ML

    Hailing from a long line of small cameras that pack quite a punch, the Minox 35 ML can be a great addition to any film enthusiast’s collection. Don’t let its small package fool you. Read on to find out more about what the Minox 35 ML can do.

    1
  • Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-11 in #lifestyle
    Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Calling the Sprocket Rocket as Peter Atwood's go-to camera would be an understatement. He owns half a dozen of it that he simultaneously shoots with different films. He even considers the Sprocket Rocket as his dream machine. Let's hear what clickiemcpete has to say about this camera in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    10
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Today in History (1936): Margaret Mitchell's 'Gone with the Wind' is Officially Released

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-30 in #lifestyle
    Today in History (1936): Margaret Mitchell's 'Gone with the Wind' is Officially Released

    On this day 78 years ago, the American reading public was introduced to what would later on be hailed as one of the greatest works of literature ever written.

    1
  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • A Quick Rundown of the Lomography 110 Films

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-26 in #reviews
    A Quick Rundown of the Lomography 110 Films

    Until a few years ago, using 110 cameras and film cartridges was a difficult thing because the only available films in the market had already been expired for several years. But now everything is easier thanks to Lomography; it has breathed new life into our small 110 cameras. Read on to discover the 110 film family.

  • Lomopedia: Minolta XG-E

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-12 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Minolta XG-E

    Another trusty 35mm SLR camera from the late 1970s, the Minolta XG-E was the first model in the XG series produced by Minolta until the early 1980s. Find out more about this analogue beauty in this installment of Lomopedia!