Belair Globetrotter Edition Review: Come to me Baby!

3

My baby has finally arrived here in Canada! I will go through the process of me opening the box and first set up for my Belair Globetrotter!

Finally! My Belair is here!

I was told that I am getting my Belair around mid-December by Lomography, I was, okay, I can wait.
But! I got email last week, it said it was already shipped!!!!!

Way to go, Lomography and Lomography Toronto!!XD

I was out for work yesterday, so could not receive it, so I went to pick it up this morning.

And, here it is:))

It is pretty light weight, well, got to check it out inside!!
I love the way Lomography put the holiday greeting sticker on the box!XD

Awww, so happy.

So, get to work! Open the box..

…..
Paper cushion…
!!!!!!!!!!!
Season’s greetings from Lomography… What a gift!
Tag…for christmas tree?
Here we go!

so, packaging is pretty nice, I guess this is my first, official, purchase on Lomography product as new and all boxed:)

Cut the clear wrapping
YAY!
Limited, Globetrotter!
Opened…
∩(´∀`)∩yay♪

All the items are wrapped with this black clothes, very high class style(well their presentation is quite nice, honestly), I firstly grabbed my new baby camera body…

Awwww Gawd!!!!

So light! And nice and clean…style wise…

Welcome to my life…XD

Try browsing other parts.. First disappointment appears.

Dirt on the view finder.

Well, I guess I can simply clean it up, so not biggy… (And I did clean it up, so it is all good now)

Dig more…

Hellllooooo all the goodies!

Sample photos are attached, and….hm? Oh yeaaaahhh!!

Mine is 213

Kind of funny, I mean, it is cool that serial number for Globetrotter is hand written. Thank you so much for doing this, whoever wrote all these numbers!

Open sesame!

Couple of things, I like to mention.

Please do read the operation manual, if you are new to cameras, or, even intermediate level, or even advance, I am not beginner, but not pro, but I had to look the manual through, and even had to ask Mr. Google to find out how to for certain things.

Scary to open LOL

You just need to feel and remember how little force you need to put on the camera and open the bellows.
You have to press the button on the bottom, and slowly open it.

Careful to close

You press two bottons on the metal cross parts by above the bellows and below the bellows, and slowly push close the bellows. Again, you kind of need to know that you need to press the bellows gently..

Battery compartment

I was really scared to break the case cover for battery compartment, does not give us much visual instruction on the manual (I would be happy to see them), so they just asked you to open… I was like HOW?? LOL
So, I asked Mr. Google, and Lomography page helped me out, thanks Lomo community:)

To be honest, it is easy, but you need to spend some minutes to figure it out how it all works out:)

Inside of camera body

Ok, so you basically “pull down” the switch by two sides together, and you will hear the click, and you can take the back off of Belair.

Hmmm, plastic.

I guess it is a good thing of Lomo camera, made by plastic, so it is light. Hmm, when I wind this plastic winder, it clicks and…. honestly, sounds cheap…LOL But hey, it is a toy camera, I mean, it is a Lomo camera, that is the taste, and I like that.:) (It just made me laugh when I winded, because it made the plastic click sound…:))

inside and outside of the back side of Belair
The clip part of different format framing

So, 6×12 framing is on the body when you received.
You can clip it off, and you can find the other frame format in your box(6×6 and 6×9)

Talking about different frame formats, you should take a look on the manual about lens spec, will tell you how lens focal length varies on different format:

90mm lens:

  • 6×12→ 32mm (35mm equivalent)
  • 6×9 → 40mm (35mm equivalent)
  • 6×6 → 52mm (35mm equivalent)

58mm lens:

  • 6×12 → 21mm (35mm equivalent)
  • 6×9 → 26mm (35mm equivalent)
  • 6×6 → 35mm (35mm equivalent)

I was thinking about carrying all the parts of Belair when I go shoot, but I guess there would be many options to carry out the combination of lenses and format frames.

Viewfinder

There are three frames on the screen, you can easily find out which one is for which framing (6×6, 6×9, and 6×12)

All installed. Make sure to put the batteries!

Bulb works, slow shutter works, sounds great, and looks great.. Here is another happy boy in Canada to receive Globetrotter!:)

Good looking.

I will try the test roll in a bit.
Thank you for your time and read through, hope this helps and inspire some lomo users!:)

Cheers,

whynotwinnipeg

written by whynotwinnipeg on 2012-12-18 in #reviews #fim #globetrotter #6x6 #air #canada #hand-on #whynotwinnipeg #bel #limit #winnipeg #photography #edition #photo #120-film #manitoba #lomo #camera #review #lomography #limited #handon #medium-format #baby #6x9 #6x12 #belair

3 Comments

  1. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    thanks for sharing the unboxing! :)

  2. iandevlinphoto
    iandevlinphoto ·

    So jelous tried to get one but were sold out :(

  3. whynotwinnipeg
    whynotwinnipeg ·

    Thanks for the comment, @vicuna, @iandevlinphoto!:)

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    written by ldelaurentiis on 2014-11-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    Going away for the weekend is always fun, especially if, like me, you live abroad and go back to visit your home city! For my walk through Milan, I decided to bring with me the Lomo’Instant because well, I just love it! Here are my thoughts after this special weekend!

  • Marcus DeSieno on Merging the Old and New, Manifesting the Unseen, and Exploring the Vastness of the Universe with Photography

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-04 in #people #lifestyle
    Marcus DeSieno on Merging the Old and New, Manifesting the Unseen, and Exploring the Vastness of the Universe with Photography

    Marcus DeSieno is a Tampa-based photographer who specializes in merging early and modern photographic processes for his body of work. In this exclusive follow-up feature, DeSieno opens up about his process and gives a detailed walk through on his odd yet undeniably fascinating series, "Cosmos," which was previously featured here on the Lomography Magazine, and "Parasites."

    5
  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 3

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-04 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 3

    “Let me tell you about my life turning blue”. Those were the first words the guy on the bench said as he sat down beside me whilst I was eating my lunch. Usually, I prefer to eat alone but there was something about this opening sentence which really intrigued me; so I told him “Sure buddy, go ahead. Tell me about your life in blue”.

    23
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • My First Indisposable Project

    written by stitch on 2014-07-24 in #lifestyle
    My First Indisposable Project

    The idea behind this project was to shoot 24 moments in one week's time using a disposable camera. Incidentally, a friend from Seattle sent me two disposable cameras so I was finally able to participate. Disposable cameras aren't sold in Manila anymore. I timed my shoot during the week wherein I had to go out several times, also hoping for good weather.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Lomo’Instant Sanremo Update – Pre-Orders Now Open For Next Shipment Batch

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-12-03 in #news
    Lomo’Instant Sanremo Update – Pre-Orders Now Open For Next Shipment Batch

    Have you been eying up the beautiful Lomo’Instant Sanremo Edition? Well, now’s the time to place your order! We are starting to ship the current batch of pre-orders right now (the delivery date will depend on your location) and are now taking pre-orders for the next batch which we estimate will be ready to ship by December 12th. This next batch of pre-order cameras will be the last stock we have for delivery before the upcoming holidays and will be delivered on a first come, first served basis; so place your pre-order now to secure your place in the queue and avoid disappointment!

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • The World, According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World, According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    6
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • La Sardina: My Story With My Old Best Friend

    written by abecd on 2014-07-10 in #reviews
    La Sardina: My Story With My Old Best Friend

    This is a story of me and Sardine, my first ever analogue camera. We've been traveling for thousands of miles and met a lot of friends. Even though I have better cameras, Sardine is the one camera that will always be in my heart! So once again, this is my story with Sardine

    2
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    1
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!