Konica Minolta Centuria 800 (35mm, 800 iso) User-Review

5

This film comes loaded in the legendary Konica WaiWai camera.

When I first started (re)shooting film, one of the very first cameras I was given was a “disposable” Konica WaiWai. This crazy little super-wide lens camera came loaded with a fast Konica Centuria 800 film. Unfortunately Konica has stopped making films a few years ago so it’s no longer available, but occasionally you can find them in markets or internet auctions.

When I got my photos developed, I was really impressed with the results. Some of the blue skies had an amazingly deep xpro-style tone to them (this effect was possibly helped by the wide lens on the camera). The 800 speed of the film meant it was fast enough to shoot in dull conditions – dusk and grey days came out well.

I really like this film. If I can find more, I will definitely use it again!

written by dazb on 2009-11-29 in #reviews #konica #discontinued #negative #waiwai #blue #c41

5 Comments

  1. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    beautiful and it does not look grainy at all... how did you do it? 800 and higher films hate me :(

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Yeah agreed with mephisto19, the relative absence of grain is surprising ! Cool review !

  3. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    I heart no. 2

  4. tallgrrlrocks
    tallgrrlrocks ·

    Great gallery! My fave is #4. I'm pleasantly surprised these weren't crossed at all. Beautiful!

  5. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    good photos! Yesterday I bought 10 of these films:)

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-13 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    Wide-angle shooters will surely like this one. Made to be a disposable camera, the modification-ready Konica Wai Wai has made many film photography enthusiasts swoon with its distinctive wide-angle shooting and remarkable effects. Read on to find out more about this peculiar-looking camera in this installment of Lomopedia.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    written by marioman112 on 2014-09-01 in #reviews
    Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but whoever said that must have never shot with a Konica C35. This 46-year-old beauty can definitely hang with the big boys. Come see why this camera is one of my favorites, and why it should be one of yours, too.

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Theblues and her Weapon of Choice: Konica C35 Automatic

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-04-11 in #gear
    Theblues and her Weapon of Choice: Konica C35 Automatic

    Looking for a dependable camera for street photography? For Agathe, or theblues in the community, the Konica C35 Automatic rangefinder is the perfect companion for her daily photowalk in Paris. Find out why in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    3
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Make Loading Your Horizon Camera Much Easier with This Simple Tip

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-12-10 in #gear #tipster
    Make Loading Your Horizon Camera Much Easier with This Simple Tip

    Do you love taking photos with your Horizon panoramic camera, but loading the film makes you crazy? Try this tipster to make your favorite Horizon or similar swing lens camera a joy to load and shoot.

    2