Fuji T64 Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

6

Last October I bought two rolls of Fuji T64 at my favourite camera shop in town, Richmond Camera. They had just these two rolls, expired (score!) so they were half price! I decided that I'd save them for a special occasion, and I'm very glad I did. I had the great opportunity to go back to London and re-trace a few of my steps from the world congress, and make a side trip and go back to Manchester as well. Needless to say I had a blast and could write for hours about how great it was to get back over to the UK... but I’ ll save you from that.

Last October I bought two rolls of Fuji T64 at my favourite camera shop in town, Richmond Camera. They had just these two rolls, expired (score!) so they were half price! I decided that I’d save them for a special occasion, and I’m very glad I did. I had the great opportunity to go back to London and re-trace a few of my steps from the world congress, and make a side trip and go back to Manchester as well. Needless to say I had a blast and could write for hours about how great it was to get back over to the UK… but I’ ll save you from that.

I shot through my first roll in Manchester, in the area near the Urbis gallery and inside it as well. Usually I have a very good idea of what I’m going to get when using my trusty LC-A, but for the first time in a long while it felt like I was shooting in the dark. I have an older LC-A, so I actually set it on “64” (which I thought was pretty cool, I’ve never been able to set my ISO to the exact number on the film canister because i usually shoot 100 and 200…) I loaded the second roll as I exited the tube at Waterloo because gosh-darn-dagnabit, the sky was AMAZING, so I booked it over to the closest tourist attraction, Big Ben and then over to Buckingham Palace.

I didn’t get these films processed until I returned back to Richmond, VA in March, and I was totally surprised at the amazing green tint and the occasional yellow that popped in there. The only disappointment was that blue wasn’t very punchy, so that amazing sky I came upon didn’t really show up at brilliantly as I had hoped.

I really do love this film, if I find more of it anywhere, I’m buying the whole lot (that is… if it doesn’t break the bank)

written by plaidleaf on 2008-07-14 in #reviews

6 Comments

  1. larslau
    larslau ·

    Argh... And now it's available in the filmshop... Just after I bought a 5-pack at a ridiculous high price...!

    Well on my next order I'll use each and every piggy on T64..!

  2. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    I got a 30 metre bulk roll of this way cheap on ebay, not used it yet but the colouring looks superb, looking forward to it!

  3. raw
    raw ·

    I just love that London sky, stunning. You have some sublime photos. I have a roll of T64 in the fridge ready to process, I was just wondering if I should cross it or not but you solved it for me, X-pro all the way! Thanks.

  4. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    sweet!

  5. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    Big B. Just took pics of penguins.
    will cross process them.
    am excitied.

  6. spiritedly
    spiritedly ·

    I love your photos. Just finished roll of t64 and hope it will turn out well!

More Interesting Articles

  • My First Lomo Affair: lupideeloop and the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip 100

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: lupideeloop and the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip 100

    lupideeloop had a blast shooting with his first two rolls of the Lomography XPro Sunset Strip. He loved and enjoyed its unexpected colors so much that he chose to save his final Sunset Strip roll for a special occasion. Read on to know more about lupideeloop's First Lomo Affair with the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip!

    2
  • Latvia at the Zenith (Or, Chasing Vintage Moustaches)

    written by natalya_solnechnaya on 2014-07-09 in #world #locations
    Latvia at the Zenith (Or, Chasing Vintage Moustaches)

    I wish to narrate my adventures in beautiful, sunny Latvia to all my Lomo friends. These events took place in May 2014 and left a bright trace in my soul. Well, let us go ahead and find some vintage moustaches!

    2
  • A Fresh Start with an Old and a New Camera

    written by wesco on 2014-05-02 in #lifestyle
    A Fresh Start with an Old and a New Camera

    In December, two new cameras came into my possession: from the bag of Sinterklaas, the Dutch Santa Claus, came a classic Minolta SRT100 with two lenses and a flash, and I also picked up the Horizon Perfekt that I had won in the "Eliza was here" rumble. By now the first rolls have been shot and developed!

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • My First Indisposable Project

    written by stitch on 2014-07-24 in #lifestyle
    My First Indisposable Project

    The idea behind this project was to shoot 24 moments in one week's time using a disposable camera. Incidentally, a friend from Seattle sent me two disposable cameras so I was finally able to participate. Disposable cameras aren't sold in Manila anymore. I timed my shoot during the week wherein I had to go out several times, also hoping for good weather.

  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Shop News

    Instant Scanning, Instant Sharing

    Instant Scanning, Instant Sharing

    The Smartphone Film Scanner offers Lomographers and analog lovers a quick, easy and portable way to scan 35mm films. Simply turn on the Smartphone Film Scanner back-light, insert your film, take a photo of it using your Smartphone and use your phone's camera or the specially-developed App (iPhone and Android versions available) to edit and share.

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    written by dermanu on 2014-09-22 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand, located at the Danish west coast, with my brothers and parents. I stopped going there as I grew up. In 2012 however, we hit the road again. It was my first return visit in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In part two of my journey log, I'm going to show you the pictures I took with my Lomography cameras.

  • Shop News

    A Very Special Portrait Lens

    A Very Special Portrait Lens

    Photos shot with a New Petzval lens are immediately recognizable for their super-sharp focus areas and wonderful swirly bokeh effect. Each New Petzval lens is crafted from brass (just like the original Petzval lens) and features premium glass optics. Together with Lomography, the lenses have been designed and constructed by a team of optics specialists at the Zenit factory in Russia. Zenit are master lens manufacturers and have the skill to build the Petzval lens for use with today’s SLR cameras.

  • New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by zonderbar on 2014-11-11 in #reviews
    New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    Two years ago I swore to myself, I'll be coming back soon!" This October my chance finally came and I flew for the second time to New York City to visit my dear colleagues in the Lomography Gallery Store New York. What I didn’t see coming, though, is the opportunity to test a new secret film during my trip.

  • Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-28 in #news
    Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    You probably don't feel like leaving your comfy sofa to go out and fight the cold and the crowds for a great deal, do you? We don't blame you! Instead, grab a plate of leftover turkey with all the fixin's and check out these gorgeous black and white photos from the classic LC-Wide camera. When you're done, scoot on over to the Online Shop to save a sweet 30% on it and other choice analogue deals!

    2
  • An Afternoon in Tagaytay Highlands

    written by stitch on 2014-07-28 in #world #locations
    An Afternoon in Tagaytay Highlands

    I have good memories of Tagaytay Highlands. There had been times when some of my friends and I would spend the weekend there, playing all sorts of sports and having our bodies healed in the warm and lapping jacuzzi pool. But those were distant memories. I was able to go back to this place, but only for an afternoon, and tried to remember the good old days.