Fuji T64 Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

6

Last October I bought two rolls of Fuji T64 at my favourite camera shop in town, Richmond Camera. They had just these two rolls, expired (score!) so they were half price! I decided that I'd save them for a special occasion, and I'm very glad I did. I had the great opportunity to go back to London and re-trace a few of my steps from the world congress, and make a side trip and go back to Manchester as well. Needless to say I had a blast and could write for hours about how great it was to get back over to the UK... but I’ ll save you from that.

Last October I bought two rolls of Fuji T64 at my favourite camera shop in town, Richmond Camera. They had just these two rolls, expired (score!) so they were half price! I decided that I’d save them for a special occasion, and I’m very glad I did. I had the great opportunity to go back to London and re-trace a few of my steps from the world congress, and make a side trip and go back to Manchester as well. Needless to say I had a blast and could write for hours about how great it was to get back over to the UK… but I’ ll save you from that.

I shot through my first roll in Manchester, in the area near the Urbis gallery and inside it as well. Usually I have a very good idea of what I’m going to get when using my trusty LC-A, but for the first time in a long while it felt like I was shooting in the dark. I have an older LC-A, so I actually set it on “64” (which I thought was pretty cool, I’ve never been able to set my ISO to the exact number on the film canister because i usually shoot 100 and 200…) I loaded the second roll as I exited the tube at Waterloo because gosh-darn-dagnabit, the sky was AMAZING, so I booked it over to the closest tourist attraction, Big Ben and then over to Buckingham Palace.

I didn’t get these films processed until I returned back to Richmond, VA in March, and I was totally surprised at the amazing green tint and the occasional yellow that popped in there. The only disappointment was that blue wasn’t very punchy, so that amazing sky I came upon didn’t really show up at brilliantly as I had hoped.

I really do love this film, if I find more of it anywhere, I’m buying the whole lot (that is… if it doesn’t break the bank)

written by plaidleaf on 2008-07-14 in #reviews #fuji #tungsten #x-pro

6 Comments

  1. larslau
    larslau ·

    Argh... And now it's available in the filmshop... Just after I bought a 5-pack at a ridiculous high price...!

    Well on my next order I'll use each and every piggy on T64..!

  2. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    I got a 30 metre bulk roll of this way cheap on ebay, not used it yet but the colouring looks superb, looking forward to it!

  3. raw
    raw ·

    I just love that London sky, stunning. You have some sublime photos. I have a roll of T64 in the fridge ready to process, I was just wondering if I should cross it or not but you solved it for me, X-pro all the way! Thanks.

  4. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    sweet!

  5. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    Big B. Just took pics of penguins.
    will cross process them.
    am excitied.

  6. spiritedly
    spiritedly ·

    I love your photos. Just finished roll of t64 and hope it will turn out well!

More Interesting Articles

  • My First Lomo Affair: lupideeloop and the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip 100

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: lupideeloop and the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip 100

    lupideeloop had a blast shooting with his first two rolls of the Lomography XPro Sunset Strip. He loved and enjoyed its unexpected colors so much that he chose to save his final Sunset Strip roll for a special occasion. Read on to know more about lupideeloop's First Lomo Affair with the Lomography Xpro Sunset Strip!

    2
  • My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-06-25 in #gear #reviews
    My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    I love my Lomo LC-A series cameras. They are so easy to use and take such amazing photos. I don’t ever go shooting without at least one of them in my bag. Here are some of my favorite shots.

    13
  • The World According to Herr Willie: North Korea

    written by wil6ka on 2015-08-20 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: North Korea

    This might be a bit melodramatic but, hey, it's the Internet. But yes, I went to North Korea. Even better, I came back safe and sound and with some 80 rolls of film in my rucksack.

    39
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    written by dermanu on 2014-09-22 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand, located at the Danish west coast, with my brothers and parents. I stopped going there as I grew up. In 2012 however, we hit the road again. It was my first return visit in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In part two of my journey log, I'm going to show you the pictures I took with my Lomography cameras.

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by zonderbar on 2014-11-11 in #reviews
    New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    Two years ago I swore to myself, I'll be coming back soon!" This October my chance finally came and I flew for the second time to New York City to visit my dear colleagues in the Lomography Gallery Store New York. What I didn’t see coming, though, is the opportunity to test a new secret film during my trip.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • My Day in Analog: Bike Rides with My Dad

    written by mmxi on 2015-04-28 in #world #lifestyle
    My Day in Analog: Bike Rides with My Dad

    My dad and I have been riding our bicycles for as long as I can remember. We had no camera back then, so I only have the pictures from our recent rides. Each ride to the island of Khortitsa today is like a reunion with my childhood and my father's care.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    written by mmxi on 2015-07-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    My friends and I teamed up with Photo Art Pro to spread analog love to the Zaporozhye community. Last month, we hosted a Yeti Scavenger Hunt and had a LomoKino camera as prize. We challenged participants to shoot a roll of film based on a checklist. It was tremendous fun!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    written by billseye on 2015-05-11 in #gear #reviews
    Testing a Yashica TLR Camera After 55 Years in Storage

    Though I am not a professional, photography is in my genes. My father was a photographer and technician in the Air Force and accumulated a number of cameras during his life. This is a story about one of those cameras, a Yashica 635 TLR. I brought the camera—after being in storage for about 55 years—back to life with a roll of Portra 160 during the golden hour at Bellevue Botanical Gardens in Washington.

    4
  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4