Fuji Superia 800: Another (Very) Non-Technical Review from a Beginner

I recently bought some 800 ISO Fujifilm, and I was more than pleased with the results. Take a look!

Credits: joefrank

I always think, higher ISO, lower quality. Lower ISO, higher quality. But I’ve discovered that this is not necessarily true. Higher and lower grain, yes. Quality? Not necessarily. I shoot a lot of pictures with my Minolta SR-T 101 with a 50mm 1.7 lens. A lot of what I shoot is indoor, which, obviously, means lower light. I’ve discovered that even when I expose properly with the fast lens and everything, using 200 speed film, my shots still come out looking kind of dull. There is also a tendency for them to be blurred because of the need to use a slower shutter speed. But then something happened.

Credits: joefrank

Just kidding, nothing really happened, except that I bought some 800 speed film from Walmart, completely on a whim. But the results have been fantastic. With the higher ISO, I’m able to use a faster shutter speed, which has resulted in much sharper images. We went to Five Guys Burgers And Fries for my brother’s birthday, and I took my camera along. When I got this roll back, I was blown away. The shots were crisp and clear, had a nice, subtle amount of grain, and had vivid, warm colors. Take a look for yourself and see what you think!

Credits: joefrank

I’m no expert, but it seems as tho these indoor shots turned out much, much better than anything I’ve shot with 100 or 200 speed film. And I’m not talking about merely the absence of motion blur. These shots seem to have much more contrast and detail than ones shot on the slower films. I know that with film, it is better to overexpose than it is to underexpose, and in my limited experience, underexposed shots look very drab and lack contrast. So perhaps with this film I’m erring more on the side of overexposing than underexposing, which is resulting in higher contrast. Again, I’m no expert, but it seems to me that having that extra boost of exposure translates to a boost in contrast, which helps my indoor shots out tremendously.

Thanks for reading! Feel free to comment – constructive criticism is welcome.

written by joefrank on 2012-11-22 in #reviews #fuji #minolta #superia-800

More Interesting Articles

  • 'Stilpirat' Steffen Böttcher Lures the Lomography Petzval Lens to France

    written by zonderbar on 2014-10-17 in #people #lomoamigos
    'Stilpirat' Steffen Böttcher Lures the Lomography Petzval Lens to France

    Steffen Böttcher's blog is already home to some very beautiful portraits taken with the New Petzval Lens. But the Petzval does so much more than just taking beautiful portraits; Böttcher recently took the lens with him on a mobile home adventure across the South of France. Find out more about the German photographer and his road trip in this exclusive interview.

  • Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    I recently had the opportunity to take the world’s most creative instant camera — the Lomo'Instant — for a stroll on an unusually warm and sunny November day. My goal was to acquaint myself with the endlessly cool features and infinite possibilities the camera possesses while creating some beautiful photographs in the meantime. Read on to see the results!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-05 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    Read on dear friend and I will weave a story for you. There may be more questions than answers raised by this peculiar tale. But if it’s clarity you seek, have no fear, things will become clear in time (they always do, don’t they?). So rub the Sandman’s dust from your sleepy eyes and take a journey with me. If you think you have an answer when we reach the end, please do share it in the comments!

    8
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Photo Stories: Aboard the Southwest Chief by grazie

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-05 in #world #locations
    Photo Stories: Aboard the Southwest Chief by grazie

    Thanksgiving is marked by families gathering to share a hearty meal and simply enjoy being around one another. More than a year ago, grazie had to spend the holiday on the Amtrak's Southwest Chief en route to Chicago. She might have been away from her own family on such an important day, but grazie was fortunate to find good company with her fellow travelers.

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Art Hunter Sardinas x STEEN

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-09-12 in #people #lomoamigos
    Art Hunter Sardinas x STEEN

    We asked some of New York’s hottest designers to lend their talent in designing some of our La Sardina DIY cameras, and we are very excited to share with you Steen of Steen Drawings. Steen is a New York based illustrator who likes to create her own fantasy world and creates stories from her wild imagination. Take a look at Steen's wonderful work and get inspired to do your own DIY project.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Lomography X Crispy Wallet Lightness Competition

    written by petit_loir on 2015-07-31 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X Crispy Wallet Lightness Competition

    Whether it embodies something that's light as a feather or dreaming on cloud nine, show us your best analog shots in relation to the theme "lightness" and be rewarded with great products from the creative start-up Crispy Wallet as well as prizes from Lomography.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Mel Brackstone of Australia Shoots With the New Petzval 85 Art Lens

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-31 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    Mel Brackstone of Australia Shoots With the New Petzval 85 Art Lens

    Mel Brackstone introduced herself as an "old woman with a love of the surreal." Her energy is palpable; with the soft delicacy in her photos, she comes across as an old soul that sees through young eyes. She is self taught and lives in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, She discovered the Petzval Lens in 2014.

  • Lantern Slides from Early 19th Century Norway

    written by kenaz on 2015-07-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Lantern Slides from Early 19th Century Norway

    In the early part of the 19th century, lantern shows were the equivalent of movies. Photographs were hand-printed or transferred on glass plates, which were then projected on to a wall or cloth screen.

  • Summer in an Instant Competition Winners

    written by anamartaml on 2015-07-30 in #world #news #competitions
    Summer in an Instant Competition Winners

    Ready to go on a spontaneous summer trip?

    1