Gakken Lens x Pinhole Kit Assembled and Reviewed

4

This earlier Gakken camera kit allows you to switch from Lens to Pinhole and back from roll to roll, essentially making this a 2 in 1 camera.

Many Lomography members are familiar with Gakken camera kits. The most popular being the TLR in its original and clone forms. The next most popular would be the Stereo Pinhole Kit. I have both, but learned there was an earlier model that allows the photographer to switch between pinhole and lens use and even includes a couple apertures.

Credits: neanderthalis
I know these are digital, but it was a matter of necessity

This is a clone, the Jr. Scientist Kit, came in English, but Gakken is printed on the camera.

The kit is super easy to put together compared to the other Gakken models I have. More like the snap together models many young boys had in the 1970’s & 80’s. The directions were poor and did not instruct you to put in the tripod fitting.

Credits: neanderthalis

The kit has the body of the camera and two separate aperture holders: Lens and Pinhole. Each is shaped different at the barrel and they click into the body by two hooks that are depressed and release to aperture holder. The Pinhole holds only the unlabeled size pinhole aperture disc. The Lens version has the option of no aperture (lens only), small and large apertures. The book recommends switching any of these options only between rolls, but if you are willing to risk a frame, I imaging you could get away with changing them mid roll.

Credits: neanderthalis

The camera comes with a “Preview Pane” that you can insert in the camera before loading film to preview your first shot through the camera as if you were to see what is imprinted on the negative. It is a fun learning device. You will be unable to use after loading the film and it does not remain in the camera will using film.

Credits: neanderthalis

The finished camera assembled on my floor.

Credits: neanderthalis

The camera also comes with an informative book with some basic shooting instructions and fun projects to try like long exposure and multiple exposures. It also has a lengthy cartoon that expounds the history and life of Thomas Edison.

Credits: neanderthalis

My assessment of the camera

The camera was easy enough to put together despite simplistic instructions and like any other Gakken, a lot of fun to use if you are patient and take it for what it is: a kit and not a pro camera. There are a few points that I would really like to stress about the camera:

  • There is no take up spool. The film has a metal guide that helps the film naturally wind in the camera. It does not appear to be large enough of a chamber to hold a whole 36 frame roll. I ended up only getting 32 exposures before the pressure was threatening to open the camera from the inside.
  • The Lens Barrel has a bulb and shutter switches, but I found that they did not move smoothly. The shutter release has a small wedge foot that is releases the shutter when pressed both in and down. It stuck halfway open or slid slowly about ever third time and doing the activation took a lot of pressure and may have caused shutter shake. I tried to take it apart and shave the parts with little improvement. I set it aside and went straight to the pinhole use.
  • The book gives guide lines for Pinhole, Small, Large and No Aperture use based on 400 ISO film. It does not indicate aperture sizes or shutter speed.
  • The Pinhole Barrel does not have a shutter. You must remove and replace the cap for each exposure. It is fairly snug, but a rubber band around the cap and body insured no lost frames.

Do not get me wrong, once I started using the pinhole. I had a lot of fun. The camera offers a few pluses too:

  • Though there is no frame counter, there is a click wheel frame marker when advancing the film. This was consistent with even frame spacing. Since I track my frames on paper with notes of exposure times, I did not really need the frame counter.
  • The camera allows you to “telescope” extending the barrel to allow a longer F stop. They print that it focuses in on your subject.
  • The body has both a standard tripod fitting and a small foot that extends out to prop the camera at an upward angle.

I do not think I will ever use the lens mode. I take the camera as an addition to my pinhole collection and so do not regret my purchase, but I will probably only run 24 frame rolls through in the future to prevent the back bulging open.

Here are some of my test shots with some Lomography CN 100:

Credits: neanderthalis

Aloha

written by neanderthalis on 2012-11-15 in #reviews #kit #gakken #interchangeable #review #pinhole

4 Comments

  1. clownshoes
    clownshoes ·

    Looks fun!

  2. adam_g2000
    adam_g2000 ·

    Knowing that in advance, using 24 shot film is the solution! I like the look of this, like a holga to the nth degree.

  3. jeffreythree
    jeffreythree ·

    I just assembled one of these and the first shots(pinhole) are hanging to dry. I had the same shutter issues, but you can't beat a 35mm pinhole for ~$13US delivered! Thanks for the tip on no room for 36 exposure rolls.

  4. jeffreythree
    jeffreythree ·

    Oh, and if anyone else picks up one these, the sticky shutter can be fixed. The spring holding the shutter leaf is installed upside down on the shutter leaf causing it to hang up. If it still hangs, leave out the bulb setting piece and just use the other front piece for pinhole with the cap.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Lomography x Alfred and Wilde Rumble Winners!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-07 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography x Alfred and Wilde Rumble Winners!

    We asked you to hashtag your #goldandwilde photos to be in with the chance to win a Fisheye 2 Gold camera and a wonderful mug from Alfred and Wilde. Find out the winners here!

    5
  • Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-12 in #world #news #competitions
    Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    When it’s cold outside and the rain is pouring, it can be the perfect time to sit down and build something. Lomography UK has teamed up with Technology Will Save Us, a company that makes build-it-yourself electronic kits, to bring you the perfect DIY Rumble. Get the chance to win a Konstruktor camera and a DIY Instrument Kit. Read on for details on how to enter this fab competition.

    7
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • The Diana F+ Metropolis: Urban Adventures and Pretty Pinholes

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-06-08 in #gear #reviews
    The Diana F+ Metropolis: Urban Adventures and Pretty Pinholes

    I have used my Diana F+ Metropolis for a couple of rolls now, and I am starting to get the hang of it. In this review, I will show you the quirks and capabilities of this beauty.

    3
  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Ron Lau

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-13 in #gear #news #reviews
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Ron Lau

    Ron Lau from Lomography's Camera and Lens Development team recently tested the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens. With Leica M2 and Voigtlander R2A cameras, he used the lens to capture scenes from his daily grind and beautiful seascapes from a recent trip. He shares the photos and talks of the Minitar and its capabilities in this brief yet informative interview.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos.

    1
  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-05 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    The best thing about working for Lomography is having first access to new products. Imagine everyone's excitement when the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens 2.8/32M was delivered to the headquarters in Vienna, where members of the Lomography team took turns testing this tiny yet powerful optic on various cameras. Meanwhile, Tom Bates from Marketing teased out the idyllic and colorful possibilities of shooting with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 lens on a trip to the UK countryside.

    4
  • The Making of Ondu Pinhole Cameras

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-25 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Making of Ondu Pinhole Cameras

    Elvis Halilović turns chestnut wood into heirloom-worthy cameras known as Ondu. As a countdown to Pinhole Photography Day happening tomorrow, we show you how these pieces are shaped, sanded and assembled. All this effort for the love of a good picture!

    1