A Lomo LC-A+ Review. Possibly the MOST FUN Compact Camera Around!

7

Are you looking for a compact camera? Want one that is endlessly fun? Ditch the digital grind and try the Lomo LC-A+ ! The LC-A+ is a minimalist camera with all the features that you need and none of the ones that will hinder you from having fun!

The LOMO LC-A+ has been a very good buddy of mine and has always been in my bag whenever i commune to and fro of school.

There are many things to like about this camera. The weight of the camera is pretty light and totally unnoticeable when lugging it around in my backpack. The construction of the camera is pretty darn solid for a compact. The film advance scroll wheel is pretty satisfying to scroll. Did I mention that the camera looks deliciously stunning :)

But the most astonishing feature of this camera would be the 32mm F2.8 Minitar Lens!

Here are some pictures :)

As you can see, there is a charming quality in this lens where by the colors rendered are of greater contrast and saturation as compared to other Lomography Camera (except for the Lubital or the LC-W but reviews for those will come at another day)

I have tried the same film from the same batch on other cameras but they would not render the colors as alluring from this atomic ant of a camera.

The LC-A+ too has some trick on it’s sleeve, being able to mount on new accessories such as a wide angle add on for a dazzlingly wider field of view!

As you can see this adds another dimension to the already amazing LC-A+.

Just like a sports coupe, which delivers all the driving pleasure with the barest minimum. The LC-A+ provides the enjoyment of photography with only what is needed and have nothing come between you and having fun with the camera.

All in all, this camera is great fun and will continue to be in my bag for a long long time.

P.S. I think I forgot to mention how cool this camera looked and many ladies ^^ have commented that they think so too and are extremely willing to strike a stunning pose for this camera :D

written by illegaltender on 2012-10-29 in #reviews #lca #lca #white #lomo #review #street #slide #singapore #xpro #car #wide #black #angle

7 Comments

  1. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    Great article and pics :) I wish i had the money for on e of these little gems but someday... lol I got a camera that is very similar to that, its the Chinon Bellami- I talk about it in my blog post, come check it out :)) -www.lomography.com/homes/110isnotdead/blog/88196-my-newest-… (also, pay no attention to all the spam in the comments, I have tried to get them to stop but they wont...)

  2. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @djramsay @jezzyjung @life_on_mars @renenob @xephryus @rjltrevisan @trincheiras @110isnotdead @vicker313 @aditotp Thanks for the visit and likes :)

  3. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @110isnotdead I tried looking at that camera but the page wouldn't open :(

  4. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    ah, i see what happened, there is a dash at the beginning of the link that needs taken out. sorry bout that.

  5. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    Here is the actual link, without the dash. www.lomography.com/homes/110isnotdead/blog/88196-my-newest-…

  6. notches
    notches ·

    I'm a noob with the LC-A, may I know how you achieved the motion blur effects with your camera, like the above shot taken at Bugis Street? Much thanks!

  7. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @notches Hiya! I got that effect from a faulty wide angle lens attachment on the LCA. Apprently the lens was not aligned correctly and as such the edges were all blurry. If you want to know how to do this drop me an email at kzhk_noir@hotmail.com

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    written by guanatos on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    One of my favorite things about summer is being able to splash and fool around in the pool with my family. When you add to that the possibility of using the LC-A, then the fun is doubled!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • Shop News

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Get both appealing LomoDices for your home! These cardboard cubes can be used for different things – they make great, stylish seats but you can also stash small items inside and fold them for storing!

  • How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    The Lomo LC-Wide is a compact shooter, yet it packs quite a punch. Learn to navigate your way around this camera with these video tutorials!

  • Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    written by dopa on 2014-09-02 in #reviews
    Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    Lomography has announced that shipping of the Lomo’Instant will begin in December, but if you want to use a lomographic instant camera with an interchangeable lens system, among other possibilities immediately, you should try the Diana F+ Instant Camera!

  • Carena Smartie: A Plastic Wonder

    written by ntulini on 2014-11-15 in #reviews
    Carena Smartie: A Plastic Wonder

    Compact, always in focus, equipped with flash and wide angle lens, and inexpensive - the Carena Smartie is all you need in one little package.

    2
  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #gear #lifestyle
    It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    So Spring has officially sprung! Say hello to brighter and longer days. The dark (and freezing) ones are finally behind and in order to celebrate that a new motto takes place in our lives: The more color the better! Colorsplashing totally changes our mood and the endless possibilities of compositions have never been so fun! Click through to dive into this vibrant and surreal pool after the jump.

    2
  • The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: I for ‘Immerse Yourself’

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-21 in #news
    The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: I for ‘Immerse Yourself’

    The Lomo LC-A is a great camera to bring during festivals, on vacation, or even when you’re just walking around looking for some street photography opportunities. But do you know that it can also do waters for underwater photography?

  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #people #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Shop News

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes with a 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    There's a lot that you can do with a Lomo LC-A+/Lomo LC-Wide and a Krab, besides the obvious (which is take it in the water with you). Get creative by trying various angles and perspectives; you'll be surprised how a slight tilt can make a dramatic difference to your photos. Take a look at the gallery below for some inspiration!

  • What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-12 in #lifestyle
    What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    As the mother of all modern wide-angle lenses, the New Russar+ Lens shoots sharp wide-angle photos bursting with character. The solid yet compact ultra-wide 20mm lens can be used to photograph practically anything, and is compatible with a variety of film and digital cameras. Certainly this is a lens that delivers, but like anything, you can reap its full potential by choosing ideal subjects and shooting from a creative perspective.

  • Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    I recently had the opportunity to take the world’s most creative instant camera — the Lomo'Instant — for a stroll on an unusually warm and sunny November day. My goal was to acquaint myself with the endlessly cool features and infinite possibilities the camera possesses while creating some beautiful photographs in the meantime. Read on to see the results!