A Lomo LC-A+ Review. Possibly the MOST FUN Compact Camera Around!

7

Are you looking for a compact camera? Want one that is endlessly fun? Ditch the digital grind and try the Lomo LC-A+ ! The LC-A+ is a minimalist camera with all the features that you need and none of the ones that will hinder you from having fun!

The LOMO LC-A+ has been a very good buddy of mine and has always been in my bag whenever i commune to and fro of school.

There are many things to like about this camera. The weight of the camera is pretty light and totally unnoticeable when lugging it around in my backpack. The construction of the camera is pretty darn solid for a compact. The film advance scroll wheel is pretty satisfying to scroll. Did I mention that the camera looks deliciously stunning :)

But the most astonishing feature of this camera would be the 32mm F2.8 Minitar Lens!

Here are some pictures :)


As you can see, there is a charming quality in this lens where by the colors rendered are of greater contrast and saturation as compared to other Lomography Camera (except for the Lubital or the LC-W but reviews for those will come at another day)

I have tried the same film from the same batch on other cameras but they would not render the colors as alluring from this atomic ant of a camera.

The LC-A+ too has some trick on it’s sleeve, being able to mount on new accessories such as a wide angle add on for a dazzlingly wider field of view!

As you can see this adds another dimension to the already amazing LC-A+.

Just like a sports coupe, which delivers all the driving pleasure with the barest minimum. The LC-A+ provides the enjoyment of photography with only what is needed and have nothing come between you and having fun with the camera.

All in all, this camera is great fun and will continue to be in my bag for a long long time.

P.S. I think I forgot to mention how cool this camera looked and many ladies ^^ have commented that they think so too and are extremely willing to strike a stunning pose for this camera :D

written by illegaltender on 2012-10-29 in #reviews

7 Comments

  1. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    Great article and pics :) I wish i had the money for on e of these little gems but someday... lol I got a camera that is very similar to that, its the Chinon Bellami- I talk about it in my blog post, come check it out :)) -www.lomography.com/homes/110isnotdead/blog/88196-my-newest-… (also, pay no attention to all the spam in the comments, I have tried to get them to stop but they wont...)

  2. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @djramsay @jezzyjung @life_on_mars @renenob @xephryus @rjltrevisan @trincheiras @110isnotdead @vicker313 @aditotp Thanks for the visit and likes :)

  3. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @110isnotdead I tried looking at that camera but the page wouldn't open :(

  4. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    ah, i see what happened, there is a dash at the beginning of the link that needs taken out. sorry bout that.

  5. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    Here is the actual link, without the dash. www.lomography.com/homes/110isnotdead/blog/88196-my-newest-…

  6. notches
    notches ·

    I'm a noob with the LC-A, may I know how you achieved the motion blur effects with your camera, like the above shot taken at Bugis Street? Much thanks!

  7. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @notches Hiya! I got that effect from a faulty wide angle lens attachment on the LCA. Apprently the lens was not aligned correctly and as such the edges were all blurry. If you want to know how to do this drop me an email at kzhk_noir@hotmail.com

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    written by guanatos on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    One of my favorite things about summer is being able to splash and fool around in the pool with my family. When you add to that the possibility of using the LC-A, then the fun is doubled!

  • Independent #filmphotographyday LomoMatrix Rumble

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-03-26 in #competitions
    Independent #filmphotographyday LomoMatrix Rumble

    Unplug from the digital grind and rediscover the beauty of analogue. Grab your Lomo-loving friends and capture the unparalleled fun and excitement of #filmphotographyday in a LomoMatrix!

    16
  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    The Lomo LC-Wide is a compact shooter, yet it packs quite a punch. Learn to navigate your way around this camera with these video tutorials!

  • Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    written by dopa on 2014-09-02 in #reviews
    Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    Lomography has announced that shipping of the Lomo’Instant will begin in December, but if you want to use a lomographic instant camera with an interchangeable lens system, among other possibilities immediately, you should try the Diana F+ Instant Camera!

  • Carena Smartie: A Plastic Wonder

    written by ntulini on 2014-11-15 in #reviews
    Carena Smartie: A Plastic Wonder

    Compact, always in focus, equipped with flash and wide angle lens, and inexpensive - the Carena Smartie is all you need in one little package.

    2
  • Shop News

    Belair Camera

    Belair Camera

    Love medium format? This Belair baby will never fail you to satisfy your cravings for taking photographs in 120 format! Choose among the different variants of Belair cameras that will suit your tastes!

  • The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: I for ‘Immerse Yourself’

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-21 in #news
    The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: I for ‘Immerse Yourself’

    The Lomo LC-A is a great camera to bring during festivals, on vacation, or even when you’re just walking around looking for some street photography opportunities. But do you know that it can also do waters for underwater photography?

  • Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    There's a lot that you can do with a Lomo LC-A+/Lomo LC-Wide and a Krab, besides the obvious (which is take it in the water with you). Get creative by trying various angles and perspectives; you'll be surprised how a slight tilt can make a dramatic difference to your photos. Take a look at the gallery below for some inspiration!

  • What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-12 in #lifestyle
    What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    As the mother of all modern wide-angle lenses, the New Russar+ Lens shoots sharp wide-angle photos bursting with character. The solid yet compact ultra-wide 20mm lens can be used to photograph practically anything, and is compatible with a variety of film and digital cameras. Certainly this is a lens that delivers, but like anything, you can reap its full potential by choosing ideal subjects and shooting from a creative perspective.

  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    I recently had the opportunity to take the world’s most creative instant camera — the Lomo'Instant — for a stroll on an unusually warm and sunny November day. My goal was to acquaint myself with the endlessly cool features and infinite possibilities the camera possesses while creating some beautiful photographs in the meantime. Read on to see the results!

  • Colorsplashing For Dummies

    written by shhquiet on 2014-05-09 in #gear #tipster
    Colorsplashing For Dummies

    Colorsplashing can do wonders to your image. It can alter the mood of your image, enhance colors, or introduce a totally new perspective! Advanced photography skills are not required here; all it takes is a Colorsplash Camera (or Flash) and your imagination. "Paint" your dog green, dye your friend's face with pink light ... the possibilities are endless! Here's a list of Colorsplashing techniques to try from daytime to nighttime.

  • Presenting the Lomo LC-A-to-Z

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-11 in #news
    Presenting the Lomo LC-A-to-Z

    Here at Lomography, we don’t only deliver the fantastic goodies, but we also try to provide you with the wisdom you’ll need on your lomo adventures. We gave you the 10 Golden Rules, didn’t we, and it has bestowed you with a cred and attitude hat lomographers are admired for. In celebration of the Lomo-LC-A’s 30th Anniversary, we are proud to present the Lomo LC-A-to-Z, brought to you by Professor Lomo van Graphy. Watch and learn!

    3