A Lomo LC-A+ Review. Possibly the MOST FUN Compact Camera Around!

7

Are you looking for a compact camera? Want one that is endlessly fun? Ditch the digital grind and try the Lomo LC-A+ ! The LC-A+ is a minimalist camera with all the features that you need and none of the ones that will hinder you from having fun!

The LOMO LC-A+ has been a very good buddy of mine and has always been in my bag whenever i commune to and fro of school.

There are many things to like about this camera. The weight of the camera is pretty light and totally unnoticeable when lugging it around in my backpack. The construction of the camera is pretty darn solid for a compact. The film advance scroll wheel is pretty satisfying to scroll. Did I mention that the camera looks deliciously stunning :)

But the most astonishing feature of this camera would be the 32mm F2.8 Minitar Lens!

Here are some pictures :)

As you can see, there is a charming quality in this lens where by the colors rendered are of greater contrast and saturation as compared to other Lomography Camera (except for the Lubital or the LC-W but reviews for those will come at another day)

I have tried the same film from the same batch on other cameras but they would not render the colors as alluring from this atomic ant of a camera.

The LC-A+ too has some trick on it’s sleeve, being able to mount on new accessories such as a wide angle add on for a dazzlingly wider field of view!

As you can see this adds another dimension to the already amazing LC-A+.

Just like a sports coupe, which delivers all the driving pleasure with the barest minimum. The LC-A+ provides the enjoyment of photography with only what is needed and have nothing come between you and having fun with the camera.

All in all, this camera is great fun and will continue to be in my bag for a long long time.

P.S. I think I forgot to mention how cool this camera looked and many ladies ^^ have commented that they think so too and are extremely willing to strike a stunning pose for this camera :D

written by illegaltender on 2012-10-29 in #reviews #angle #singapore #review #car #wide #xpro #lca #slide #black #white #lomo #lca #street

7 Comments

  1. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    Great article and pics :) I wish i had the money for on e of these little gems but someday... lol I got a camera that is very similar to that, its the Chinon Bellami- I talk about it in my blog post, come check it out :)) -www.lomography.com/homes/110isnotdead/blog/88196-my-newest-… (also, pay no attention to all the spam in the comments, I have tried to get them to stop but they wont...)

  2. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @djramsay @jezzyjung @life_on_mars @renenob @xephryus @rjltrevisan @trincheiras @110isnotdead @vicker313 @aditotp Thanks for the visit and likes :)

  3. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @110isnotdead I tried looking at that camera but the page wouldn't open :(

  4. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    ah, i see what happened, there is a dash at the beginning of the link that needs taken out. sorry bout that.

  5. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    Here is the actual link, without the dash. www.lomography.com/homes/110isnotdead/blog/88196-my-newest-…

  6. notches
    notches ·

    I'm a noob with the LC-A, may I know how you achieved the motion blur effects with your camera, like the above shot taken at Bugis Street? Much thanks!

  7. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @notches Hiya! I got that effect from a faulty wide angle lens attachment on the LCA. Apprently the lens was not aligned correctly and as such the edges were all blurry. If you want to know how to do this drop me an email at kzhk_noir@hotmail.com

More Interesting Articles

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-08 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    With features that allow one to be as creative as possible and a size compact enough to bring it anytime, anywhere, the LC-A+ is indeed an embodiment of our 10 Golden Rules. In this week's feature, we list down some of the ways you could up your photography game with this wonderful camera.

  • Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    written by guanatos on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    One of my favorite things about summer is being able to splash and fool around in the pool with my family. When you add to that the possibility of using the LC-A, then the fun is doubled!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    The Lomo LC-Wide is a compact shooter, yet it packs quite a punch. Learn to navigate your way around this camera with these video tutorials!

  • Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    written by dopa on 2014-09-02 in #reviews
    Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    Lomography has announced that shipping of the Lomo’Instant will begin in December, but if you want to use a lomographic instant camera with an interchangeable lens system, among other possibilities immediately, you should try the Diana F+ Instant Camera!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Carena Smartie: A Plastic Wonder

    written by ntulini on 2014-11-15 in #reviews
    Carena Smartie: A Plastic Wonder

    Compact, always in focus, equipped with flash and wide angle lens, and inexpensive - the Carena Smartie is all you need in one little package.

    2
  • The Lomo LC-A+ Goes To Hong Kong

    written by candilsw on 2015-04-06 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A+ Goes To Hong Kong

    The Lomo LC-A+ is always the best companion for traveling and wandering around. Hong Kong lies on the southern coast of China and is well known as a metropolitan city and where the Eastern and Western cultures meet and mix. Let the LC-A+ take you around and feel the hustle and bustle of one of the world's busiest cities!

    3
  • It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #gear #lifestyle
    It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    So Spring has officially sprung! Say hello to brighter and longer days. The dark (and freezing) ones are finally behind and in order to celebrate that a new motto takes place in our lives: The more color the better! Colorsplashing totally changes our mood and the endless possibilities of compositions have never been so fun! Click through to dive into this vibrant and surreal pool after the jump.

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    1
  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    3
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8