A Lomo LC-A+ Review. Possibly the MOST FUN Compact Camera Around!

7

Are you looking for a compact camera? Want one that is endlessly fun? Ditch the digital grind and try the Lomo LC-A+ ! The LC-A+ is a minimalist camera with all the features that you need and none of the ones that will hinder you from having fun!

The LOMO LC-A+ has been a very good buddy of mine and has always been in my bag whenever i commune to and fro of school.

There are many things to like about this camera. The weight of the camera is pretty light and totally unnoticeable when lugging it around in my backpack. The construction of the camera is pretty darn solid for a compact. The film advance scroll wheel is pretty satisfying to scroll. Did I mention that the camera looks deliciously stunning :)

But the most astonishing feature of this camera would be the 32mm F2.8 Minitar Lens!

Here are some pictures :)

As you can see, there is a charming quality in this lens where by the colors rendered are of greater contrast and saturation as compared to other Lomography Camera (except for the Lubital or the LC-W but reviews for those will come at another day)

I have tried the same film from the same batch on other cameras but they would not render the colors as alluring from this atomic ant of a camera.

The LC-A+ too has some trick on it’s sleeve, being able to mount on new accessories such as a wide angle add on for a dazzlingly wider field of view!

As you can see this adds another dimension to the already amazing LC-A+.

Just like a sports coupe, which delivers all the driving pleasure with the barest minimum. The LC-A+ provides the enjoyment of photography with only what is needed and have nothing come between you and having fun with the camera.

All in all, this camera is great fun and will continue to be in my bag for a long long time.

P.S. I think I forgot to mention how cool this camera looked and many ladies ^^ have commented that they think so too and are extremely willing to strike a stunning pose for this camera :D

written by illegaltender on 2012-10-29 in #reviews #wide #street #slide #lomo #black #singapore #lca #car #lca #review #angle #xpro #white

7 Comments

  1. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    Great article and pics :) I wish i had the money for on e of these little gems but someday... lol I got a camera that is very similar to that, its the Chinon Bellami- I talk about it in my blog post, come check it out :)) -www.lomography.com/homes/110isnotdead/blog/88196-my-newest-… (also, pay no attention to all the spam in the comments, I have tried to get them to stop but they wont...)

  2. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @djramsay @jezzyjung @life_on_mars @renenob @xephryus @rjltrevisan @trincheiras @110isnotdead @vicker313 @aditotp Thanks for the visit and likes :)

  3. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @110isnotdead I tried looking at that camera but the page wouldn't open :(

  4. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    ah, i see what happened, there is a dash at the beginning of the link that needs taken out. sorry bout that.

  5. 110isnotdead
    110isnotdead ·

    Here is the actual link, without the dash. www.lomography.com/homes/110isnotdead/blog/88196-my-newest-…

  6. notches
    notches ·

    I'm a noob with the LC-A, may I know how you achieved the motion blur effects with your camera, like the above shot taken at Bugis Street? Much thanks!

  7. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @notches Hiya! I got that effect from a faulty wide angle lens attachment on the LCA. Apprently the lens was not aligned correctly and as such the edges were all blurry. If you want to know how to do this drop me an email at kzhk_noir@hotmail.com

More Interesting Articles

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-08 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    With features that allow one to be as creative as possible and a size compact enough to bring it anytime, anywhere, the LC-A+ is indeed an embodiment of our 10 Golden Rules. In this week's feature, we list down some of the ways you could up your photography game with this wonderful camera.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • Awesome Albums: Turquoise Loves the Beach, So Do I! by umeshu

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-18 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Turquoise Loves the Beach, So Do I! by umeshu

    A fun day on the beach and around the city is documented in today's featured album.

    1
  • It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #gear #lifestyle
    It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    So Spring has officially sprung! Say hello to brighter and longer days. The dark (and freezing) ones are finally behind and in order to celebrate that a new motto takes place in our lives: The more color the better! Colorsplashing totally changes our mood and the endless possibilities of compositions have never been so fun! Click through to dive into this vibrant and surreal pool after the jump.

    2
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 in #world #lomoamigos
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    1
  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    5
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    3
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2