With Great Sadness, I Present to You A Review on the Lomo Redscale XR 50-200

11

A little late but surely this great film deserves a tribute. The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 has brought about great convenience to Lomographers who love the vintagey sepia-ish tone. Normally, the photographers would have to manually reverse the film in order to enjoy such delicious tones. Because this film is discontinued :(, this review would serve as a tribute (and a plea to Lomography to bring this film back)

Lomography Redscale XR 50-200.

This is truly a gorgeous film to shoot with. This film is truly unique as you can vary your ISO setting on your camera from ISO 50 to 200 where the results largely defers.

I have enclosed some really interesting shots i have done with Hirune, a fellow lomographer from Japan :) We both use the Olympus OM2N and the Lomography LC-W collaboratively for this roll of doubles :D

Here is an exquisite shot using the film at ISO 50

As you can see it does give a very vintagey look as if the photo has been aged overtime to achieve these earthy tones.

However, this film is a little tricky to shoot with as it loves photos to be over exposed in order for such tasty colors to be captured. Using the film at ISO 50 (or if you are truly stout hearted, try iso 25) would render pictures with a soft tint of orange like those of aged photos. But just a word of caution, it is very tricky to shoot with such low ISOs and the shutter timing for such ISO is generally pretty long.

On the other hand, if you choose to shoot at iso 200, the photos would result in an intense orange color cast and would be underexposed giving it a unique look, often with a silhouette.

It is quite unfortunate that this film is being discontinued and would definitely deserve a longer run as I am sure many others have yet to enjoy the fantastic hue provided by this film.

written by illegaltender on 2012-10-23 in #reviews #film #beauty #feel #redscale #history #end #discontinued #vintage #lomo #superb #great #red #singapore

11 Comments

  1. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    Now I know for sure it was discontinued… :(

  2. sixsixty
    sixsixty ·

    Is it confirmed that the Lomography Redscale 50 - 200 film is actually a different film stock than the Lomography Redscale 100? Just curious, heard somewhere that it's actually just the same film and different packaging.

  3. blablabla-anab
    blablabla-anab ·

    Different package or not it held great results for me, and it truly was my favourite film ... :(

  4. lokified
    lokified ·

    I have a packet of this in my fridge, waiting for my Bel-Air to arrive so I can have a play with the ISO settings. Great shots!

  5. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    Thank you @lokified !

  6. sapphire-st
    sapphire-st ·

    you have inspired me! I want to do a tribute for XR 50-200 too!

  7. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    @sapphire-st No Problem! I too, have a final roll which i intend to shoot at iso 50 although it is massively difficult to do so haha

  8. endjinn
    endjinn ·

    Discontinued? No!

  9. mcdenis13
    mcdenis13 ·

    @sixsixty Redscale 100 and Redscale XR 50-200 were both manufactured by Ferrania but they were not the same film. The 100 was redscaled Solaris FG Plus 100 while the XR 50-200 was rescaled Solaris FG Plus 400.

    I don't think that Lomography had plan to discontinue these films. They were simply forced because Ferrania ended film production a few years ago. That also means that Lomography can't bring these exact films back. The only current redscale film from Lomography I am aware of is the Redscale 100 in 120 which came back from death because Lomography found a new suplier for this film. However, this "new version" is not the same! Only it's package is. Lomography may re-introduce the Redscale XR 50-200 film later but in all cases, the film would not be 100% the same (exept if someon buy the Ferrania machinery and restart the production).

  10. gabysalas
    gabysalas ·

    Hey guys, fret not, we still have lots of Redscale in some of our online shops and we’re planning on producing more!

  11. illegaltender
    illegaltender ·

    At a faster speed please :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200: The Film with Warm Tones

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-14 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200: The Film with Warm Tones

    The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 is a full-range film, because we can expose from 50 to 200 ISO, achieving different effects and unique. Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Remarkable Redscales Shot with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-12 in #lifestyle
    Remarkable Redscales Shot with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200

    Test the limits of the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 and get a different, striking shot every time. Check out this fiery pool of lomographs taken by our fellow lomographers in the community!

  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 is a regular color negative film which gives fantastic results. Color tones transform from one color spectrum to the next, and in turn, create wild and wonderful outcomes! Let this colorful gallery inspire you to try out our limited-edition film!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-26 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    This article is a tribute to the photojournalist Bernard Cahier, the greatest Formula 1 photographer known as the "Cartier-Bresson of Motor Racing" for his great ability in capturing the right moment. Here, I'll feature a series of photos that I took at the Monza Grand Prix with a timeless black and white film! Take a look after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini Flash Bundle

    Diana Mini Flash Bundle

    Ready to dive into the world of Lomography? This Bundle will provide you with all that you need: a Diana Mini, a Diana flash, a flash adaptor and you're ready good to go!

  • A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #lifestyle
    A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    In 1958 the great photographer Robert Frank took a series of images of New York's street life with a Leica camera from a bus window, as in these series of photos that I took in my city Como with my trusty Lomo LC-A loaded with a Kodak Tri-X film. This is a tribute to a great camera and to a great photographer! Read more after the jump!

  • 'Aniki-Bòbò': A Tribute to Manoel De Oliveira

    written by sirio174 on 2015-04-08 in #world #lifestyle
    'Aniki-Bòbò': A Tribute to Manoel De Oliveira

    This article is a tribute to the great Portuguese film director Manoel de Oliveira, who died last April 2. With an old Praktica loaded with a roll of black and white film, I captured so enthusiastically his city Oporto (Porto) with its famous Ribeira district, the most characteristic of the Lusitanian town. It was here that more than 70 years ago, Manoel De Oliveira created a timeless masterpiece: "Aniki-Bòbò"!

    1
  • Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    Some weeks ago, I made a tribute to the great photographer Robert Frank and his 1958 black and white series taken in New York from a bus window. He is the master of the ordinary moments, capturing the essence of daily life in a series of free and random sequence of photos where nothing important happens! And as I've written there I wanted to take a similar experiment with color film, which would change the perception of the environment where people live. Read more after the jump!