Film Review Of The Week

6

Never scoff at what your friendly neighborhood photo lab assistant suggests to you! Chances are, you're going to get something great!

Our featured Film Review of the Week is one of serendipity. Lomographer jhen89 recounts how he last went to have his photos developed, the staff at the lab suggested he try out a new film. He wasn’t given any sample photos of its effects and whatnot, but he took a dive nonetheless and behold an explosion of color! The mystery film is none other than one of Kodak’s finer slides, Ektachrome! With eye-popping color that brings out the best in every hue, this is one welcome surprise that every Lomographer should try out at least once!

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s winner? Then submit you film review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-10-05 in #competitions #review #film-of-the-week #ektachrome

6 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Congratz ;)

  2. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    congrats jhen!!!! :D it;s truly a nice series!

  3. jhen89
    jhen89 ·

    thanks dogma and eva_eva. =)
    anyway, jhen89 is a she, instead of he.
    hahahaha.

  4. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    yeah! congrats!

  5. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    Congrats~

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    Well deserved !

More Interesting Articles

  • Spruce Up Boring Old Walls with Used Film Rolls

    written by yernieyip on 2014-08-02 in #gear #tipster
    Spruce Up Boring Old Walls with Used Film Rolls

    Decorate plain walls at home or at work using something close to your heart - used film rolls! Not only do they look great on your wall, you also get to show off your collection of used film rolls!

  • December 11th Advent Offer: Save 20% on Accessories Today! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-11 in #news
    December 11th Advent Offer: Save 20% on Accessories Today! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    With today's incredible Advent deal, you have the chance to make the Lomographers in your life very, very happy! Accessorize your gift-giving this year with a visit to our Online Shop where you can get a whopping 20% discount on Flashes, Lenses and other accessories. Feel free to grab something for yourself while you're at it!

  • December 19th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    December 19th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    Can you ever have enough film for your treasured cameras? Are you going to take a ton of awesome analogue photos this holiday season? If the answer is yes (and we know it is), then now is your last chance to save on our super selection of analogue films!

  • Shop News

    DIY Camera for Less!

    DIY Camera for Less!

    You can now have the Pinhole Art DIY 135 at 40% less! Start setting up your own camera, shoot in 35mm format and get those soft-focused wide-angled images.

  • Photo of the Day by satomi

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-13 in #news
    Photo of the Day by satomi

    Take your camera everywhere you go. You'll never know what adventures lie ahead. Congratulations satomi for having our Photo of the Day!

  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • Photo of the Day by diana3009

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-03 in #news
    Photo of the Day by diana3009

    What? You don't want mommy to take a photo of you? Well, you are out of luck kid because mommy is great at turning your playfulness into a stunning double exposure shot!

    1
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2014-11-11 in #gear #tipster
    LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    If you're the happy owner of a Lomo LC-Wide, you are probably overwhelmed and frustrated at not being able to use your three different frames on one film. But this tipster will let you make magic happen!

  • Phaidon x Lomography Hans Eijkelboom Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-07 in #competitions
    Phaidon x Lomography Hans Eijkelboom Rumble

    Hans Eijkelboom is a Dutch conceptual artist/street photographer who has just released a book titled Hans Eijkelboom: People of the Twenty-First Century published by Phaidon. We are love these photographs and are offereing you the chance to win a copy of this wonderful book and La Sardina Cubic to capture your very own amazing photos. Read on to enter this great competition!

    1
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-18 in #news
    Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    Last week we celebrated the arrival of the Lomo'Instant camera at the Lomography Soho Store with a huge launch party. We opened our doors late to showcase this exciting new compact instant camera! We gave you the chance to hold this beauty in your hands and have your photo taken in our instant photobooth. Read on to catch the event highlights.

  • Community LomoAmigo poepel

    written by zonderbar on 2014-05-19 in #people #lomoamigos
    Community LomoAmigo poepel

    Poepel's shots are so impressive that it's never a surprise to see at least a few of them every week in the best-of section. You simply cannot miss his photos. And so, without further ado, allow us to introduce Mario, better known as poepel, a new member of our community squad of LomoAmigos!

    2
  • Requested Posts for September 2014

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-09-01 in #news
    Requested Posts for September 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

    1