Film Review Of The Week

6

Never scoff at what your friendly neighborhood photo lab assistant suggests to you! Chances are, you're going to get something great!

Our featured Film Review of the Week is one of serendipity. Lomographer jhen89 recounts how he last went to have his photos developed, the staff at the lab suggested he try out a new film. He wasn’t given any sample photos of its effects and whatnot, but he took a dive nonetheless and behold an explosion of color! The mystery film is none other than one of Kodak’s finer slides, Ektachrome! With eye-popping color that brings out the best in every hue, this is one welcome surprise that every Lomographer should try out at least once!

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s winner? Then submit you film review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-10-05 in #competitions #ektachrome #review #film-of-the-week

6 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Congratz ;)

  2. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    congrats jhen!!!! :D it;s truly a nice series!

  3. jhen89
    jhen89 ·

    thanks dogma and eva_eva. =)
    anyway, jhen89 is a she, instead of he.
    hahahaha.

  4. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    yeah! congrats!

  5. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    Congrats~

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    Well deserved !

More Interesting Articles

  • Spruce Up Boring Old Walls with Used Film Rolls

    written by yernieyip on 2014-08-02 in #gear #tipster
    Spruce Up Boring Old Walls with Used Film Rolls

    Decorate plain walls at home or at work using something close to your heart - used film rolls! Not only do they look great on your wall, you also get to show off your collection of used film rolls!

  • December 11th Advent Offer: Save 20% on Accessories Today! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-11 in #news
    December 11th Advent Offer: Save 20% on Accessories Today! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    With today's incredible Advent deal, you have the chance to make the Lomographers in your life very, very happy! Accessorize your gift-giving this year with a visit to our Online Shop where you can get a whopping 20% discount on Flashes, Lenses and other accessories. Feel free to grab something for yourself while you're at it!

  • December 19th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    December 19th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    Can you ever have enough film for your treasured cameras? Are you going to take a ton of awesome analogue photos this holiday season? If the answer is yes (and we know it is), then now is your last chance to save on our super selection of analogue films!

  • Shop News

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Photo of the Day by satomi

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-13 in #news
    Photo of the Day by satomi

    Take your camera everywhere you go. You'll never know what adventures lie ahead. Congratulations satomi for having our Photo of the Day!

  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • Photo of the Day by diana3009

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-03 in #news
    Photo of the Day by diana3009

    What? You don't want mommy to take a photo of you? Well, you are out of luck kid because mommy is great at turning your playfulness into a stunning double exposure shot!

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    An analogue camera inspired by Tara Mcpherson, A highly recommended gear for Lomography beginners and visual art lovers! With this edition see how Tara Mcpherson’s art joins the world of analogue cameras. Get it now for a special price!

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2014-11-11 in #gear #tipster
    LC-Wide : Three Frames, One Film!

    If you're the happy owner of a Lomo LC-Wide, you are probably overwhelmed and frustrated at not being able to use your three different frames on one film. But this tipster will let you make magic happen!

  • Phaidon x Lomography Hans Eijkelboom Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-07 in #competitions
    Phaidon x Lomography Hans Eijkelboom Rumble

    Hans Eijkelboom is a Dutch conceptual artist/street photographer who has just released a book titled Hans Eijkelboom: People of the Twenty-First Century published by Phaidon. We are love these photographs and are offereing you the chance to win a copy of this wonderful book and La Sardina Cubic to capture your very own amazing photos. Read on to enter this great competition!

    1
  • Shop News

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last day of the free camera deal today! Grab films now worth 99 EUR/USD/GBP and get your free Diana Mini or Diana F+ Love Letters for free!

  • Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-18 in #news
    Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    Last week we celebrated the arrival of the Lomo'Instant camera at the Lomography Soho Store with a huge launch party. We opened our doors late to showcase this exciting new compact instant camera! We gave you the chance to hold this beauty in your hands and have your photo taken in our instant photobooth. Read on to catch the event highlights.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Community LomoAmigo poepel

    written by zonderbar on 2014-05-19 in #people #lomoamigos
    Community LomoAmigo poepel

    Poepel's shots are so impressive that it's never a surprise to see at least a few of them every week in the best-of section. You simply cannot miss his photos. And so, without further ado, allow us to introduce Mario, better known as poepel, a new member of our community squad of LomoAmigos!

    2