Reviews of the Week

1

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from this week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

“It was love at first click,” said cryboy, our featured camera reviewer for this week, on the Diana Baby 110. He took this teeny analogue shooter for a test with the Lomography Tiger 200 and found the results of this combination satisfying. He found one of Lomography’s newest babies as a camera “without too many pretensions,” and the photos intriguing with Diana’s typical square format.

Here are some of the photos he shared in his full review:

Photos by cryboy

Film

Whether you’re not sure which new film to try or you just want variety, our featured film reviewer megzeazez says the remedy comes in a convenient package. Referring to the Lomography Mixed Film Pack in medium format, our lomographer-reviewer says it’s a good option for those who are: 1. “on a budget and you want to mix it up without breaking the bank;” and 2. newbie Lomographers who just don’t know which kind of film to feed their brand new Diana F+ cameras.

Now, on to some photos our film-reviewer shared in her full review:

Accessory

Last but not the least, we have an accessory review by adam_g2000 on the DigitaLIZA 120, which he bought along with the DigitaLIZA 35. After initially finding the continuous scanning (as the mask doesn’t have divisions or spacers), our lomographer found himself surprised with a “side effect” of the DigitaLIZA 120: it holds the negatives a little tighter, avoiding the annoying problem of newton rings.

Here are some photos scanned using this Lomography accessory that he shared in his full review.

Credits: adam_g2000

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-10-13 in #reviews #camera-review #accessory-review #reviews-of-the-week #film-review #user-review #reviews #lomography

One Comment

  1. megzeazez
    megzeazez ·

    Woo hoo!! :]

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-08 in #competitions
    Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    Are you ready for our next challenge? Read on and find out what's in store for you in the second leg of our Lomography Community Cup!

    38
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    14
  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

    3
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Lomography & REMI Competition

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-03 in #people #competitions
    Lomography & REMI Competition

    Ladies and gentlemen, for this rumble, we’ve joined forces with Australian MC/singer REMI Kolawole. Since he is on tour now and will play in many different places this summer, we’re looking for your best, most exciting analogphotos which you feel best capture the essence of music festivals. Hot prizes are waiting for you!

  • Esbo and her Weapon of Choice: LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-11-13 in #lifestyle
    Esbo and her Weapon of Choice: LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    An ardent globetrotter, esbo takes pride in having been to different places and documenting each of these trips in analogue. Aside from her boyfriend dopa, she considers the LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400 as her most trusted companion in making her travels more magical. Read on and discover how she makes her photographs perfect with this fantastic film!

    3
  • Our New Website Is Launching Soon

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-28 in #news
    Our New Website Is Launching Soon

    We are thrilled to announce that next week our new community site will be launched! As the final step in the re-launch process, next Monday (2nd February) we will make the move over to the new site. This will mean that on Monday you will not be able to log-in and the site will be read-only for a period.

    12