Reviews of the Week

1

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from this week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

“It was love at first click,” said cryboy, our featured camera reviewer for this week, on the Diana Baby 110. He took this teeny analogue shooter for a test with the Lomography Tiger 200 and found the results of this combination satisfying. He found one of Lomography’s newest babies as a camera “without too many pretensions,” and the photos intriguing with Diana’s typical square format.

Here are some of the photos he shared in his full review:

Photos by cryboy

Film

Whether you’re not sure which new film to try or you just want variety, our featured film reviewer megzeazez says the remedy comes in a convenient package. Referring to the Lomography Mixed Film Pack in medium format, our lomographer-reviewer says it’s a good option for those who are: 1. “on a budget and you want to mix it up without breaking the bank;” and 2. newbie Lomographers who just don’t know which kind of film to feed their brand new Diana F+ cameras.

Now, on to some photos our film-reviewer shared in her full review:

Accessory

Last but not the least, we have an accessory review by adam_g2000 on the DigitaLIZA 120, which he bought along with the DigitaLIZA 35. After initially finding the continuous scanning (as the mask doesn’t have divisions or spacers), our lomographer found himself surprised with a “side effect” of the DigitaLIZA 120: it holds the negatives a little tighter, avoiding the annoying problem of newton rings.

Here are some photos scanned using this Lomography accessory that he shared in his full review.

Credits: adam_g2000

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-10-13 in #reviews

One Comment

  1. megzeazez
    megzeazez ·

    Woo hoo!! :]

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-06 in #reviews
    Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    If you too are fond of scenic shots and even if you cannot help but capture every place in 360º, then the Spinner 360º is the one that is right for you. Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Camera Collections: Compacts, SLRs, disposables and pinholes-- a healthy variety for _smg_

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-03-30 in #lifestyle
    Camera Collections: Compacts, SLRs, disposables and pinholes-- a healthy variety for _smg_

    For this week's Camera Collections, we present to you _smg_, our community member from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. _smg_, or Shaun in real life, is a coffee lover, avid lomographer and camera collector. His arsenal comprises of not only Lomo cameras, SLRs and compacts, but is composed of disposables and home-made pinhole cameras as well. Read on to find which his favorites are from a variety of almost 200 cameras.

    1
  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Shop News

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    The brazilian summer inspired camera is now at 20% off! You can now celebrate life in full color and treasure every culture in a snap! This summer is no exception; make sure you’re prepared to capture all the sporty action with the Fisheye No.2 Brazilian Summer Camera!

  • Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-08 in #competitions
    Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    Are you ready for our next challenge? Read on and find out what's in store for you in the second leg of our Lomography Community Cup!

    38
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    We are turning the spotlight on this tiny box made for our Community's most random thoughts, comments, suggestions, rants, and just about anything under the sun!

    3
  • Shop News

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Want to be more creative and level up your bokeh shots? A wide selection of special apertures for Petzval are here to blend with your artistic side and give your Petzval images some analog twists!

  • Interview: Gregor Servais and His Pinhole-d Seascapes

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-09 in #lifestyle
    Interview: Gregor Servais and His Pinhole-d Seascapes

    If you've stumbled upon last month's feature on Dutch photographer Gregor Servais, then you must be curious about his impressive pinhole works. Whether you're a pinhole aficionado or someone new to this craft, read on and find out more about the pinhole master in an insightful interview!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    Yesterday I picked up from my trusty photography shop in Como a developed and scanned color film roll containing images of the Sicilian festival held on May 1 at the city's historical center. A few hours ago, I made some scans of these images, which I'm pleased to show you in this article! Read more after the jump!

  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5