Reviews: Canon Prima Super 135 – Party On!

3

The Canon Prima Super 135, also known as the Sureshot Z135 in North America, is a pre-loved film camera that one of my relatives gave me last year. Here’s my take on this camera.

Last year I started to shoot film again. When one of my relatives learnt about this, he told me that he had an old compact point-and-shoot film camera and will be happy to give it to me if I wanted it. How could I say no?

A couple of weeks later, I got it in my hands. It was a Canon Prima Super 135. A quick inspection showed that it still had batteries (CR123A) in it and I could fire it up!

First impressions were mixed. Big but light and relatively comfortable to hold, had a quick mode dial at the back of the camera and a zoom length from 38 to 135mm. What’s more, it had an exposure compensation, self-timer, flash mode, film rewind and caption buttons hidden by a switch cover.

The negative aspects are its small view finder, which I felt was awkwardly located off centre to the right. It’s auto-DX coded, which means that I can’t select my ISO speed. Also, as someone who doesn’t like to use flash that much, switching the flash off can be fiddly. What’s more, the flash pops up whenever the camera is switch on.

I found a manual online but after a quick glance, I decided to just go out and shoot! Here’s what I found about the camera after shooting a couple rolls of film.

Because of the way the strap is looped, I initially thought that it would make a great shoot from the hip camera. I thought that I could just hang it as shown below and press the shutter with my left thumb.

I loaded it with a roll of ISO 800 film and went shooting from the hip. It so happened that there was a traveling night market near my place and decided to test out my theory there. Well, my idea didn’t work out as planned.

You have to keep the camera steady to shoot from the hip.

But used normally, then you will get rather decent photos as seen in my stories:
1. “Discovering a Historic World War II Site”: http://www.lomography.com/magazine/locations/2011/12/08/discovering-a-historic-world-war-ii-site
2. “Sculptured He(art)s”: http://www.lomography.com/magazine/locations/2012/01/24/sculptured-he-art-s.

My thoughts about this camera are mixed. But I know that this will be the camera I’ll use at parties. It’s so simple to use. Just point and shoot.

But here’s the kicker. A couple of weeks later, the same relative gave me another film camera. It was the Canon Prima Super 135 with a date function, creatively called Canon Prima Super 135N. N for New? Still, I am thankful for these cameras and I have learnt how to leverage their strengths.

written by uncle_jay on 2012-10-08 in #reviews #canon #35mm #hip-shot #mistakes #npz-800 #night-market #singapore

3 Comments

  1. jaszee
    jaszee ·

    Saw this model over at our local photography forum. tempted to buy too, but heard the noise of the film transport is unbearable tho. but looks like your model is a great set

  2. uncle_jay
    uncle_jay ·

    @jazee: Thanks. So far so good. But I use it outdoors so I don't really notice the film advance noise.

  3. mcneil
    mcneil ·

    @jazee as the manual describes (one ought to read manuals :)) the S-auto mode actually suppresses the transport and rewind noise for near silent shooting!

    This camera retailed for around $300 US when introduced in 1996. It was not intended as a throw away point and shoot. Of course you can use it as a point and shoot with an impressive range of features that can be harnessed for SLR results. It accepts up to 3200 ISO film, has shutter speeds down to 1/1,200 sec, and a relatively fast maximum aperture of 3.6. The X3.6 zoom range (38-135mm) is more than adequate for most normal photographic projects.

    This camera is very versatile and can be used creatively. It features seven programmed settings: auto, action (biased to fastest shutter speed), night (biased to maximum aperture which can be used to optimize bokeh effects if you suppress the flash), portrait (the camera automatically zooms in in the top half of the subject and the flash fires to add sparkle to the subject's eyes), macro (focal length is fixed to 94mm minimum distance 1.3 feet), spot (normal three spot focus is replaced with centre spot), S-auto (same as auto but camera runs silent).

    The camera offers +1.5 and -1.5 exposure compensation - a feature that allows the user to compensate for a back lit (+1.5) or a spot lit (-1,5) subject. The camera has a date display function and five optional display captions in four languages:

    I love you
    Thank you!
    Happy Birthday
    Season's Greeting
    Congratulations

    If you want to approach this camera with an SLR-mindset you need to intervene by actively turning the flash off at every setting. This will enable natural lighting and maximum aperture and a minimum depth of field (except for action mode) in the night mode. Alternatively you can just leave it in auto and trust the camera to give you the best results for the lighting available.

    I picked the camera up - in near mint condition - at a Thrift store for $2.99 on June 13, 2015. I installed two new lithium batteries ($20). I'll be posting images soon.

More Interesting Articles

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Happenings on Film: Mr. & Mrs., Tales of a Wedding

    written by jokelangens on 2014-11-06 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Mr. & Mrs., Tales of a Wedding

    In summer last year, my sister and her lover exchanged "I do's" after five colorful years of happiness and making future plans. It was the perfect occasion to grab some of my cameras and eternalize one of the most beautiful days not only of her life, but also mine.

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-16 in #news
    Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    Recently, we’ve been digging through all our LC-A 120 negatives from when we first started testing the new camera. During this search, we had our very own finding Vivian Maier moment when we unearthed a bunch of photos shot by the super-talented dopic whilst he was on vacation in Japan last year. We totally love these shots and couldn’t resist sharing them with you!

    3
  • Workshops and Events for January 2015 at Lomography UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-05 in #events
    Workshops and Events for January 2015 at Lomography UK

    Happy New Year Everyone. We're confident that our January 2015 workshops will help you dust off those January blues and get you smiling again. You'll be able to learn how to expose an image onto fabric or canvas with our LUMI paint workshop, learn the basics of our super Diana F+ camera and take to the streets with the Lomo'instant. There is also a great exhibition of analogue prints from photographer Arat “Huge” Komsawadichai. Find out more and book your spot by clicking here.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Travel Stories: Trekking Mount Papandayan by shufi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-04 in #people
    Travel Stories: Trekking Mount Papandayan by shufi

    There are about 127 active volcanoes in Indonesia, one of the most popular ones being Mount Papandayan, located 2,665 meters above sea level in Garut, West Java. My boyfriend and I usually go hiking together so we decided to spend our long weekend holiday (three days/two nights) at Mount Papandayan.

    7
  • Aton is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-04 in #world #news
    Aton is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to aton for winning Home of the Day!

    2
  • Vintage Gallery: European Actresses in their Early Roles

    written by kenaz on 2015-08-04 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Gallery: European Actresses in their Early Roles

    Young Helen Mirren playing a corset-clad model. Juliette Binoche and Julie Delpy in early training with Jean-Luc Godard. Lena Olin and Helena Bonham Carter in literary adaptations. Before crossover projects, these actresses had to pay their dues—in bit parts and breakout roles.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Photographing the Back

    written by kenaz on 2015-08-04 in #world #lifestyle
    Photographing the Back

    An ongoing exhibition at Pace/MacGill Gallery focuses on portraits taken from behind a subject.

  • Restaging the Tarot: Photographer Alice Smeets in Haiti

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-08-04 in #world #lifestyle
    Restaging the Tarot: Photographer Alice Smeets in Haiti

    A tableu project enlivens Haitian streets with prescient symbols and participative art.

  • A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-04 in #gear #news
    A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    There are many possible reasons for taking pictures. It could be to document an event, to capture breathtaking scenery, to preserve a fond memory, or simply, to have a snapshot of someone close to your heart. Whatever the reason, there's almost always a story behind a picture, no matter how significant or trivial it may be. And for lomographers, nothing beats the feeling of having that story unfold in your hand, in the form of a print. If you want a quick keepsake from that treasured moment or a snapshot of that special someone though, you can have it instantly, through Lomo'Instant Stories!

    1