Ifbaflex TTL 35mm - Camera Review by Zulupt

7

This camera was given to me by a friend on my birthday, he said that somebody he knew had it stored in a closet for many years and he wanted to get rid of it.

This camera was given to me by a friend on my birthday, he said that somebody he knew had it stored in a closet for many years and he wanted to get rid of it. The camera arrived in a old leather bag but in very good conditions, on its red velvet interior have found a camera that I’ve never heard or seen before, an Ifbaflex TTL along with three lens, cable release and filters, all in almost mint condition.

I have found almost nothing on the web about this camera, I even e-mailed some photos to an camera expert but even he didn’t knew what camera was this, according to him this is a copy of a old Cosina camera, other said that this was a copy of a Voigtlander VSL, but I really don’t care, it is a great camera.

Ifbaflex is a 35mm camera, it has a reflex body type with commutable lens (M42 screw mount type) and it is completely manual; It also has a built in accurate light meter with a needle indicator on the viewfinder, a tripod thread, a cable release thread, film type selector (colour/b&w/empty), ASA/ISO selector, X/Y flash cable entry (without hotshoe) and self-timer.
This camera is incredibly heavy, specially with the telephoto lens, the construction is solid, the camera is all made of metal and it seems quite rough and very well built, with a very reliable and simple mechanic.

I am starting to do some personal photos with this camera, especially B&W portraits and I am loving the experience the quality of the photos taken by this camera is awesome and, despite of being to heavy, it is a pleasure to use it, the sound and feeling of the shutter release is amazing, that hard “KLACK!” is music to my ears.
This camera is perfect for portraits, his light meter can stand high ISO films and it is very accurate.

What I like in this camera:

Quality
Light meter
Sharpness

What I dislike in this camera:

Very heavy
Lack of information about the camera

written by zulupt on 2009-10-18 in #reviews #ifbaflex #35mm #m42-screwmount #slr #ttl #b-w #reflex #fuji-x-tra #ilford

7 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    What an interesting camera. You may not know much about it, but the pictures speak for themselves.

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Pretty camera and nice shots ! Good job !

  3. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    I think your Ifbaflex is a rebadged Rollei-made Voightlander VSL(???) made in Singapore (or maybe Germany) in the middle 1970's for sale in France, exclusively. I got the info off eBay seller blurbs while shopping. The German version is 1/2 to 1/1000 & B, the Singapore version is 1 to 1/1000 & B with Copal (?) shutter. It's supposed to be a VERY good camera with FANTASTIC lenses. I don't know how reliable any of this is, but enjoy your wonderful windfall!!

  4. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Also, wonderful gallery!!!

  5. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    Thanks for commenting ppl ;)

    @herbert-4: This one is made in Japan, it is 1 to 1/1000 & B mode with Copal shutter, it also has an iso range from 25 to 1600.
    It seem to be VERY reliable, untill now it has taken all the punishment from a regular use.
    Thanks for the extra info m8 ;)

  6. rere_0211
    rere_0211 ·

    Looks like a repacked Cosina Hi-Lite. Are the following specifications correct?

    keepfreefromdust.com/camera_info.php?camera_id=387&comp…

    BTW: The Ifbaflex M 102 TM is the French version of the Voigtländer VSL 1 (TM).

    Regards, rere_0211

  7. rere_0211
    rere_0211 ·

    My fault, the Ifbaflex ifba TTL is a repacked Chinon CHINONFLEX TTL and the Ifbaflex T1000 is a repacked Cosina Hi-Lite. Hope this helps ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-01 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    I was given a roll of LomoChrome Purple 120 by a friend who was keen for me to try it out since he didn't have a medium format camera. I really didn't expect the results I got when I took it out for a test run on a bright winter's day in London.

  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    written by sirio174 on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    In my early adolescence, I liked to play table football. For my 12th birthday, my parents gifted me with a wonderful Subbuteo table soccer game set that I had wished for many months! This was my favorite toy until I discovered other interesting hobbies, like ham radio and electronics. So after some years, I gave away this game to other kids. I always remembered this game with pleasure and a hint of nostalgia.

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 2)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-03 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 2)

    Previously, I suggested that you walk around Ubud. For he second part of my Lomography Day Trip piece on Ubud, allow me to show you places that are worth visiting. Don't worry, you won't get lost! If you do want to get lost, just rent a bicycle and ride around!

  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    written by dermanu on 2014-08-31 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand located at the Danish west coast with my brothers and my parents. However, I didn't anymore when I grew up. But in 2012, we hit the road again. It was my first visit there in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In this article, I'm going to present to you the photos I took with my Nikon F-501 SLR.