Ifbaflex TTL 35mm - Camera Review by Zulupt

7

This camera was given to me by a friend on my birthday, he said that somebody he knew had it stored in a closet for many years and he wanted to get rid of it.

This camera was given to me by a friend on my birthday, he said that somebody he knew had it stored in a closet for many years and he wanted to get rid of it. The camera arrived in a old leather bag but in very good conditions, on its red velvet interior have found a camera that I’ve never heard or seen before, an Ifbaflex TTL along with three lens, cable release and filters, all in almost mint condition.

I have found almost nothing on the web about this camera, I even e-mailed some photos to an camera expert but even he didn’t knew what camera was this, according to him this is a copy of a old Cosina camera, other said that this was a copy of a Voigtlander VSL, but I really don’t care, it is a great camera.

Ifbaflex is a 35mm camera, it has a reflex body type with commutable lens (M42 screw mount type) and it is completely manual; It also has a built in accurate light meter with a needle indicator on the viewfinder, a tripod thread, a cable release thread, film type selector (colour/b&w/empty), ASA/ISO selector, X/Y flash cable entry (without hotshoe) and self-timer.
This camera is incredibly heavy, specially with the telephoto lens, the construction is solid, the camera is all made of metal and it seems quite rough and very well built, with a very reliable and simple mechanic.

I am starting to do some personal photos with this camera, especially B&W portraits and I am loving the experience the quality of the photos taken by this camera is awesome and, despite of being to heavy, it is a pleasure to use it, the sound and feeling of the shutter release is amazing, that hard “KLACK!” is music to my ears.
This camera is perfect for portraits, his light meter can stand high ISO films and it is very accurate.

What I like in this camera:

Quality
Light meter
Sharpness

What I dislike in this camera:

Very heavy
Lack of information about the camera

written by zulupt on 2009-10-18 in #reviews #ifbaflex #m42-screwmount #ilford #ttl #fuji-x-tra #reflex #35mm #b-w #slr

7 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    What an interesting camera. You may not know much about it, but the pictures speak for themselves.

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Pretty camera and nice shots ! Good job !

  3. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    I think your Ifbaflex is a rebadged Rollei-made Voightlander VSL(???) made in Singapore (or maybe Germany) in the middle 1970's for sale in France, exclusively. I got the info off eBay seller blurbs while shopping. The German version is 1/2 to 1/1000 & B, the Singapore version is 1 to 1/1000 & B with Copal (?) shutter. It's supposed to be a VERY good camera with FANTASTIC lenses. I don't know how reliable any of this is, but enjoy your wonderful windfall!!

  4. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Also, wonderful gallery!!!

  5. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    Thanks for commenting ppl ;)

    @herbert-4: This one is made in Japan, it is 1 to 1/1000 & B mode with Copal shutter, it also has an iso range from 25 to 1600.
    It seem to be VERY reliable, untill now it has taken all the punishment from a regular use.
    Thanks for the extra info m8 ;)

  6. rere_0211
    rere_0211 ·

    Looks like a repacked Cosina Hi-Lite. Are the following specifications correct?

    keepfreefromdust.com/camera_info.php?camera_id=387&comp…

    BTW: The Ifbaflex M 102 TM is the French version of the Voigtländer VSL 1 (TM).

    Regards, rere_0211

  7. rere_0211
    rere_0211 ·

    My fault, the Ifbaflex ifba TTL is a repacked Chinon CHINONFLEX TTL and the Ifbaflex T1000 is a repacked Cosina Hi-Lite. Hope this helps ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Anne Hollond On Vacation with her Lomo'Instant

    written by cecilialeitinger on 2015-08-27 in #gear #lomoamigos
    Anne Hollond On Vacation with her Lomo'Instant

    Anna Hollond got her fist camera on her 10th birthday, and she hasn't stopped carrying a camera ever since. About a year ago, she sought to document her memories for her journal but didn't want to do so digitally, and got her first Lomography camera. Next thing she knew, she had a trove of instant cameras, as well as a knack for instant photography.

    2
  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    written by sirio174 on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    In my early adolescence, I liked to play table football. For my 12th birthday, my parents gifted me with a wonderful Subbuteo table soccer game set that I had wished for many months! This was my favorite toy until I discovered other interesting hobbies, like ham radio and electronics. So after some years, I gave away this game to other kids. I always remembered this game with pleasure and a hint of nostalgia.

  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • How (Not) to Make It in New York

    written by Carly Brunatti (@carlybrunatti) on 2015-09-05 in #world #lifestyle
    How (Not) to Make It in New York

    Everything I had fit into eight boxes and two suitcases. That’s all I had collected in my 22 years on earth, eight boxes and two suitcases. My friends and I moved to Brooklyn in the dead of winter, just after a huge snowstorm. I came from California and had no real experience living in snow. All of it was magical to me.

    1
  • Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    written by nickpage on 2015-09-19 in #world #lifestyle
    Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    It had been five years since my last visit to the Côte d'Azur in France. During this period, I took to film photography again. And so for my return, I was looking forward to capturing, with my handy film cameras, some of that special light and blue sea that had drawn so many artists to the Riviera.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1
  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    It took nearly 20 years for this work of art to be completed.

    1
  • Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world
    Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Lomographer Carina, or landei in the community, regards the Sprocket Rocket as a "versatile plastic camera." For her, it doesn't only take great travel snapshots but makes an interesting conversation starter as well. In this interview, Carina expounds more on what makes the Sprocket Rocket her go-to camera.

    2
  • Inside the Closed World of State Mental Hospitals

    written by Lomography on 2016-02-06 in #people #locations
    Inside the Closed World of State Mental Hospitals

    Architectural photographer Christopher Payne takes us on a historical journey through the abandoned psychiatric hospitals that were once a distinctive feature of the American landscape.

    2