Camera Review of the Week

11

Featuring a camera that so few of us have seen or even heard of, the Camera Review of the Week takes Lomography beyond borders and into a whole new level!

Words fail us with this week’s featured Camera Review. For us mild-mannered folk, it behold wonder and excitement as it is probably the first time we ever saw one of its kind. For the ones in the dental industry however, its a whole different story. But the fact of the matter is, the Yashica Dental Eye is freaking awesome! blue-dog was able to procure one and boy, is it a sight to behold. While it is designed for mouths and teeth, such constraints never stopped enterprising Lomgoraphers before from making great photos before and here’s the best example you could hope for. Congrats!

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s featured shooter? Then submit you camera review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-09-21 in #competitions #yashica #dental #macro #ringflash #camera-review-of-the-week

11 Comments

  1. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    the flower shot is just fantastic! congrats!

  2. dogma
    dogma ·

    Yeaa well deserved, congrats!

  3. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  4. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    incredible - good stuff

  5. daveldude
    daveldude ·

    those pics are beauty's!! I want one!!

  6. deeseeohecks
    deeseeohecks ·

    nice one man!

  7. torium
    torium ·

    I can't sleep after I saw that bee picture. :--D

  8. stouf
    stouf ·

    Well deserved !

  9. alpacaangel
    alpacaangel ·

    congrats! this is a well writen article and full of beautiful eye candy

  10. blue-dog
    blue-dog ·

    Wow...Ahh really nice...thank you..

  11. blue-dog
    blue-dog ·

    Thank you cruzron for a great intro. for camera of the week..

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Happenings on Film: The White Night of Sport 2015

    written by sirio174 on 2015-07-12 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: The White Night of Sport 2015

    A few weeks ago Como hosted a festival called La Notte Bianca dello Sport from afternoon until midnight. In the late evening I documented some of the activities which were held simultaneously throughout the whole town. Take a look!

  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    1
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-30 in #world #locations
    In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    Fueled by wanderlust, a sense of wonder, and curiosity, lomographers have been through all corners of the world to explore and capture on film everything it has to offer. Lomographers have arguably seen it all—and by all we mean not just the beautiful vistas, but also those places that only the brave ones venture into. Here are but a few of them.

  • Food for Thought: Notes from the Community

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-06-11 in #world #lifestyle
    Food for Thought: Notes from the Community

    The Lomography Community is a treasure trove of inspired talent. And behind all that talent are great minds and voices that are not always heard on the Magazine. Thankfully, Lomohomes have a Notes feature that allows every community member to express himself freely.

    4
  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • March Workshops and Events at Lomography Chicago

    written by Lomography Chicago on 2015-02-24 in #world #news #events
    March Workshops and Events at Lomography Chicago

    It’s been a long and cold winter but we’re finally getting back into the swing of things here in Chicago. We’ve got a great month of events and workshops coming up, so dust off those cameras that have been sitting around all winter and let’s take some pictures together!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #gear #lifestyle
    It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    So Spring has officially sprung! Say hello to brighter and longer days. The dark (and freezing) ones are finally behind and in order to celebrate that a new motto takes place in our lives: The more color the better! Colorsplashing totally changes our mood and the endless possibilities of compositions have never been so fun! Click through to dive into this vibrant and surreal pool after the jump.

    2
  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • September 2015 Callout for Contributions

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-11 in #world #news
    September 2015 Callout for Contributions

    It's Tipstember! For this month, we will be awarding 25 fat piggies to every tipster article that gets published on the Lomography Magazine. You can share tips on composition, lighting, film experiments and camera modifications; or maybe techniques for shooting portraits, landscapes, still life and even wildlife! If you don't have tricks up your sleeve, however, you can still contribute to the Magazine and let your voice be heard. Here are some suggestions.

  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-21 in #world #news
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Are gender transition and coming of age themes that interest you? Have you ever heard of the Anthotype process? Here's a glimpse of last week --time to catch up on your reading.

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2