The "Shells & Cheese" 110 Camera - The Cheesiest Camera Review Ever!

11

What do you get when you combine a tasty meal, a vintage toy camera, and some expired 110 film? A cheesy serving of analogue grain with a side order of light leaks!

I recently rediscovered a film format from my youth, 110 format. You know, the little tiny cartridges? So of course I needed a retro camera to play with this film. hmm… what is this that I found by accident, but the cheesiest camera I have ever seen!

The Velveeta shells and cheese camera was a promotional offer from Kraft, to promote the tasty macaroni & cheese meal to kids. I don’t know the details of how you would have gotten one- maybe you had to send a few dollars, or maybe just a few UPC/bar codes from the boxes. But however it was done, what you got back in the mail was a bright yellow rectangle made of plastic, complete with plastic lens and red wrist strap, plastered with delicious looking photos of shells and cheese! Many years later I was able to rescue one for just a few dollars.

So, how does it work? Easy – just open the back, and pop in your 110 film cassette. It only fits one way, and it’s impossible to expose the film when loading, so this is perfect for young children to use.

Close the back door, and wind the film until you stop seeing X and start seeing number 1. You’ll feel the shutter cock,, then you know you’re ready for your first photo. There is no focus, no aperture, no shutter speed, no flash, so do be sure to have a nice sunny day!

Just aim the camera, and press the big red button to take your first cheesy photo! If you can make some mac&cheese from a box, you can take pictures with this camera even easier.

I had loaded mine up with some expired 110 from Fuji. 110 is so tiny, that when you scan or print the negatives you’ll generally see lots of grain and muted color, especially with a camera like this. It gives an instant vintage look.

I think the one I got might be made of Swiss Cheese, though, complete with holes! I got lots of light leaks on just about every photo, they look like red lines… I’ll have to figure out where the leak came from, unless the 110 cartridge itself had a crack.

If you scan your own film, you can choose to include the area next to each image that has the numbers. You might find some interesting bits in there!

So the final verdict? For only a few dollars of your hard earned cheddar, why not- I think this one is tons of fun! Just watch out, it will create a lot of conversations and might make you hungry…

written by abdukted1456 on 2009-10-07 in #reviews

11 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Yummy camera :D

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    So funny ! 8D

  3. larslau
    larslau ·

    Heheheh!

  4. chikapop
    chikapop ·

    adorable, i want one!

  5. zark
    zark ·

    I find it quite interesting that the area with the numbers on it are exposed as well. Nice work, 110 is an adorable format!

  6. quaisoir
    quaisoir ·

    that's a cute collectible.love the beach shots!

  7. trash-gordon-from-outer-space
    trash-gordon-from-outer-space ·

    #4 looks like a readymade book cover.

  8. renaishashin
    renaishashin ·

    Velveeta! Vivitar? Haha!

  9. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    ha ha cheesy!

  10. paperlullaby
    paperlullaby ·

    I love picture 7! The light leaks are...delicious.

  11. whyyoumailtome
    whyyoumailtome ·

    arhh so cute >

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoLit: Another day under the sun

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-28 in #lifestyle
    LomoLit: Another day under the sun

    Ernie still keeps his old SLR camera by his side when he sleeps. Maybe it’s the kind of affection you give to something that’s been part of you for so long that you treat it as an extension of your overworked human shell.

  • Lomo’Instant Sanremo Update – Pre-Orders Now Open For Next Shipment Batch

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-12-03 in #news
    Lomo’Instant Sanremo Update – Pre-Orders Now Open For Next Shipment Batch

    Have you been eying up the beautiful Lomo’Instant Sanremo Edition? Well, now’s the time to place your order! We are starting to ship the current batch of pre-orders right now (the delivery date will depend on your location) and are now taking pre-orders for the next batch which we estimate will be ready to ship by December 12th. This next batch of pre-order cameras will be the last stock we have for delivery before the upcoming holidays and will be delivered on a first come, first served basis; so place your pre-order now to secure your place in the queue and avoid disappointment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • #Filmphotographyday Mega Film Deals

    written by shhquiet on 2014-03-17 in #news
    #Filmphotographyday Mega Film Deals

    April 12th is Film Photography Day, a celebration of analogue experimentation and getting out there with your camera, unplugged, wild and free! In the run up to this great annual occasion we are giving you 30% off all Lomography film when you buy any camera and 3 for 2 deals on 100 ISO color negative 35mm, Lobster 110 film and 100 ISO color negative 120 film in our Online Shop and Gallery Stores!* But hurry because these deals only last until Sunday 23rd March!

  • Celebrate Black Friday with 30 Beautiful Black & White Photos from the LC-A+

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-27 in #lifestyle
    Celebrate Black Friday with 30 Beautiful Black & White Photos from the LC-A+

    Do you know the best way to celebrate the biggest shopping day of the year? Stay at home and marvel at these gorgeous black and white photos from the legendary LC-A+! There's no reason to stand in line for hours either, when you can get incredible deals here at Lomography without ever leaving the comfort and warmth of your own home. Check out these radiant shots from the LC-A+ and then head over to the Online Shop to save a fantastic 30% on this incredible camera and more!

  • Huge Vintage Camera Lot for Sale on eBay

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Huge Vintage Camera Lot for Sale on eBay

    Fancy building a camera museum or, well, simply have hundreds of cameras at your disposal? You might want to take a look at this newest camera lot to show up on eBay, which includes 600 cameras by various makers and carries a "Buy It Now" price tag of $34,900.00.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • LC-A 120 and I: chappelow

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #people #lifestyle
    LC-A 120 and I: chappelow

    For chappelow, 2015 is all about pushing the limits and improving his photographic style. To reach this resolution, he adds the LC-A 120 to his arsenal and set off on his analog adventure.

  • Creative Ways to Shoot the Lomography LomoChrome Purple Film

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-03-03 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot the Lomography LomoChrome Purple Film

    The LomoChrome Purple is easily one of the coolest films to come out in a very long time. The amazing colors and vibe it gives each shot and its wide range of exposures make it a must-have and must-shoot film. Here are some cool ways to help you get the most out of your LCP.

    3
  • To Russia with Love (Part 3)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-03 in #people #lifestyle #locations
    To Russia with Love (Part 3)

    In the third and final installment of his Russian love story, Herr Willie recalls some of the most memorable experiences from his trips to post-Soviet Russia, including traveling aboard the Trans-Siberian Railway and shooting with the La Sardina for Lomography on assignment, and waxes nostalgic about all the amazing people he had met.

    6
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Sizer77 is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Sizer77 is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to sizer77 for winning Home of the Day!

    1
  • Photo of the Day by zorki

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by zorki

    With its vivid colors and dramatic lighting, this photograph of a lone deer is definitely one for the books.

  • Snap Up This Brand New Instant Grand Slam Package - Lomo’Instant Boston Edition

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-03 in #gear #news
    Snap Up This Brand New Instant Grand Slam Package - Lomo’Instant Boston Edition

    We are very excited to introduce the latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family, the Lomo’Instant Boston Edition. The Boston only made it to first base when it appeared in our Kickstarter campaign but by the raucous applause we got from you guys, it’s in it for the homerun!

    3